DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim US 20200321551 (hereinafter Kim of Fig. 13a-b).
Regarding claim 1, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses an electronic device (device of Fig. 1) comprising:
a hinge structure (500/450 in Fig. 13a) including a first hinge plate (500 Fig. 13a), a second hinge plate (left 450 in Fig. 13a) rotatable with respect to the first hinge plate (500), and a third hinge plate (right 450 in Fig. 13a) rotatable with respect to the first hinge plate (500);
a display (100 in Fig. 13a), disposed on the hinge structure (500/450), foldable by movement of the second hinge plate (left 450) and the third hinge plate (right 450) with respect to the first hinge plate (500);
a layer (200 in Fig. 13a), attached to the display, including a first heat dissipation member (200a in Fig. 8d; see [0127] and [0147]) that includes a first segment (left 200a in Fig. 8d), a second segment (right 200a in Fig. 8d) spaced apart from the first segment (left 200a), and
a plurality of third segments (middle 200a in Fig. 8d) disposed between the first segment (left 200a) and the second segment (right 200a) and spaced apart from each other (as depicted in Fig. 8d); and
a first conductive member (213 in Fig. 8d; see [0147]) attached on a surface of the first hinge plate (500) facing the plurality of third segments (middle 200a),
wherein, in an unfolded state (of Fig. 13a) of the electronic device in which a direction in which a surface of the second hinge plate (left 450) faces is the same as a direction in which a surface of the third hinge plate faces (right 450),
when the display (100) is viewed in a second direction opposite to a first direction in which the surface of the first hinge plate (left 450) faces, the first conductive member (213) overlaps a portion of the first segment (left 200a) and a portion of the second segment (right 200a as depicted in Fig. 8d).
Regarding claim 2, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the layer (200) further includes: a first deformation member (211), extending across the hinge structure (500/450), being in contact with a surface of the first heat dissipation member (200a) facing the display (100); and
a second deformation member (300), extending across the hinge structure (500/450), being in contact with another surface of the first heat dissipation member (200a) opposite to the surface of the first heat dissipation member (200a).
Regarding claim 3, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a gap (gaps in middle 200a) between the plurality of third segments (middle 200a) changes as the display (100) is folded or unfolded by the second hinge plate (left 450) and the third hinge plate (right 450).
Regarding claim 4, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein another portion of the first segment (left 200a) faces the second hinge plate (left 450), and
wherein another portion of the second segment (right 200a) faces the third hinge plate (right 450).
Regarding claim 5, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive member (213) is deformable by the layer (200) when the display (100) is deformed.
Regarding claim 6, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the layer (200) has a shape corresponding to a shape of the display (100).
Regarding claim 7, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a width of the first conductive member (213) is greater than a width of the plurality of third segments (middle 200a).
Regarding claim 8, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first housing (left 400a in Fig. 13) including a first surface (inner surface of left 400a in Fig. 13) supporting a portion of the display (100) and a second surface (outer surface of left 400a in Fig. 13) opposite to the first surface (inner surface of left 400a); and
a second housing (right 400a in Fig. 13), including a third surface (inner surface of right 400a in Fig. 2) supporting another portion of the display (100) and a fourth surface opposite (outer surface of right 400a in Fig. 13) to the third surface (inner surface of right 400a), coupled to the first housing (left 400a) through the hinge structure (500/450) so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing (left 400a),
wherein a portion of the layer (200) is disposed on the first surface (inner surface of left 400a) and the third surface (inner surface of right 400a) across the hinge structure (500/450 as depicted in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the second housing (right 400a) is rotatable with respect to the first housing (left 400a) within a first angle range (as depicted in Fig. 13a), and
wherein the second hinge plate (left 450) is rotatable with respect to the first hinge plate (500) within a second angle range (as depicted in Fig. 13a-b) greater than the first angle range (as depicted in Fig. 13a-b).
Regarding claim 10, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the surface of the second hinge plate (left 450) is inclined with respect to the first surface (inner surface of left 400a) in a folded state (of Fig. 13b) of the electronic device in which the first surface (inner surface of left 400a) and the third surface (inner surface of right 400a) face each other (as depicted in Fig. 13b).
Regarding claim 16, Kim of Fig. 13 discloses an electronic device comprising:
a hinge structure (500/450 in Fig. 13a) including a hinge bracket (500 Fig. 13a),
a first hinge plate (left 450 in Fig. 13a) rotatable with respect to the hinge bracket (500), and
a second hinge plate (right 450 in Fig. 13a) distinct from the first hinge plate (left 450) and rotatable with respect to the hinge bracket (500);
a display (100), disposed on the hinge structure (500/450), being foldable by movement of the first hinge plate (left 450) and the second hinge plate (right 450) with respect to the hinge bracket (500 Fig. 13a-b);
a layer (200), attached to the display (100), including a first heat dissipation member (200a in Fig. 8d; see [0127] and [0147]) that includes a first segment (left 200a in Fig. 8d), a second segment (right 200a in Fig. 8d) spaced apart from the first segment (left 200a), and a plurality of third segments (middle 200a in Fig. 8d) disposed between the first segment (left 200a) and the second segment (right 200a) and spaced apart from each other;
a first conductive member (left 213 in Fig. 8d see [0147]) attached on a surface of the first hinge plate (left 450) facing the layer (200); and
a second conductive member (right 213 in Fig. 8d) attached on a surface of the second hinge plate (right 450) facing the layer (200),
wherein, in an unfolded state (of Fig. 13a) of the electronic device in which a direction in which the surface of the first hinge plate (left 450) faces is the same as a direction in which the surface of the second hinge plate (right 450) faces,
when the display (100) is viewed in a second direction opposite to a first direction in which the surface of the first hinge plate (left 450) faces, some of the plurality of third segments (middle 200a) at least partially overlaps the first conductive member (left 213) and the second conductive member (right 213 as depicted in Fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 17, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 16, further comprising:
a second heat dissipation member (left 300b; see [0127]) disposed between the first conductive member (left 213) and the first hinge plate (left 450); and
a third heat dissipation member (right 300b), spaced apart from the second heat dissipation member (left 300b), disposed between the second conductive member (right 213) and the second hinge plate (right 450).
Regarding claim 18, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 16,
wherein the layer (200) further includes:
a first deformation member (211), extending across the hinge structure (500/450), being in contact with a surface of the first heat dissipation member (200a) facing the display (100); and
a second deformation member (300), extending across the hinge structure (500/450), being in contact with another surface of the first heat dissipation member (200a) opposite to the surface of the first heat dissipation member (200a).
Regarding claim 19, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 16, further comprising:
a first housing (left 400a) including a first surface (inner surface of left 400a) supporting a portion of the display (100) and a second surface (outer surface of left 400a) opposite to the first surface (inner surface of left 400a); and
a second housing (right 400a), including a third surface (inner surface of right 400a) supporting another portion of the display (100) and a fourth surface (outer surface of right 400a) opposite to the third surface (inner surface of right 400a), coupled to the first housing (left 400a) through the hinge structure (500/450) so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing (left 400a),
wherein the surface of the first hinge plate (left 450) is inclined with respect to the surface of the second hinge plate (right 450) in a folded state (of Fig. 13b) of the electronic device in which the first surface (inner surface of left 400a) and the third surface (inner surface of right 400a) face each other.
Regarding claim 20, Kim of Fig. 13a-b discloses the electronic device of claim 19, further comprising:
a first reinforcement member (left 300a) disposed between the first surface (inner surface of left 400a) and the layer (200); and
a second reinforcement member (right 300a) disposed between the third surface (inner surface of right 400a) and the layer (200).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim US 20200321551 (hereinafter Kim of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 1, Kim of Fig. 3 discloses an electronic device (device of Fig. 1) comprising:
a hinge structure (300 in Fig. 1 and 3) including a first hinge plate (300b Fig. 3), a second hinge plate (left 300a in Fig. 3) rotatable with respect to the first hinge plate (300b), and a third hinge plate (right 300a in Fig. 3) rotatable with respect to the first hinge plate (300b);
a display (100 in Fig. 1 and 3), disposed on the hinge structure (300), foldable by movement of the second hinge plate (left 300a) and the third hinge plate (right 300a) with respect to the first hinge plate (300b);
a layer (200 in Fig. 3), attached to the display, including a first heat dissipation member (200a in Fig. 8b) that includes a first segment (left 200a in Fig. 8b), a second segment (right 200a in Fig. 8b) spaced apart from the first segment (left 200a), and
a plurality of third segments (middle 200a in Fig. 8b) disposed between the first segment (left 200a) and the second segment (right 200a) and spaced apart from each other (as depicted in Fig. 8b); and
a first conductive member (213 in Fig. 8b) attached on a surface of the first hinge plate (300b) facing the plurality of third segments (middle 200a),
wherein, in an unfolded state (of Fig. 3) of the electronic device in which a direction in which a surface of the second hinge plate (left 300a) faces is the same as a direction in which a surface of the third hinge plate faces (right 300a),
when the display (100) is viewed in a second direction opposite to a first direction in which the surface of the first hinge plate (left 300a) faces, the first conductive member (213) overlaps a portion of the first segment (left 200a) and a portion of the second segment (right 200a as depicted in Fig. 8b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim of Fig. 3 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Kim of Fig. 3 discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Kim of Fig. 3 does not explicitly disclose a second heat dissipation member, disposed on the surface of the second hinge plate, spaced apart from the layer; and
a second conductive member, interposed between the layer and the second heat dissipation member, facing the first segment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate parts and have a second heat dissipation member, disposed on the surface of the second hinge plate, spaced apart from the layer; and
a second conductive member, interposed between the layer and the second heat dissipation member, facing the first segment, in order to provide desired heat dissipation, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 12, Kim of Fig. 3 discloses the electronic device of claim 11, further comprising:
a first housing (left 400 in Fig. 1) supporting a portion of the display (100); and
a second housing (right 400 in Fig. 1), supporting another portion of the display (100 as depicted in Fig. 3), coupled to the first housing (left 400) through the hinge structure (300) so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing (left 400),
wherein the second heat dissipation member (duplicated heat dissipation member) extends from the first housing (left 400) to the surface of the second hinge plate (left 300a, as would be depicted in modified Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Kim of Fig. 3 discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Kim of Fig. 3 does not explicitly disclose a third heat dissipation member, disposed on the surface of the third hinge plate, spaced apart from the layer; and a third conductive member, interposed between the layer and the third heat dissipation member, facing the second segment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate parts and have a third heat dissipation member, disposed on the surface of the third hinge plate, spaced apart from the layer; and a third conductive member, interposed between the layer and the third heat dissipation member, facing the second segment, in order to provide desired heat dissipation, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 14, Kim of Fig. 3 discloses the electronic device of claim 13, further comprising:
a first housing (left 400 in Fig. 1) supporting a portion of the display (100); and
a second housing (right 400 in Fig. 1), supporting another portion of the display (100 as depicted in Fig. 3), coupled to the first housing (left 400) through the hinge structure (300) so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing (left 400),
wherein the third heat dissipation member (duplicated heat dissipation member) extends from the second housing (right 400) to the surface of the third hinge plate (right 300a, as would be depicted in modified Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kim of Fig. 3 discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Kim of Fig. 3 does not explicitly disclose a fourth heat dissipation member interposed between the first conductive member and the surface of the first hinge plate.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate parts and have a fourth heat dissipation member interposed between the first conductive member and the surface of the first hinge plate, in order to provide desired heat dissipation, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mok US 8971031 Fig. 8c-8f; Hou US 12242301 Fig. 1-3; Watanabe US 9910458 Fig. 1-7; Verschoor US 20130037228 Fig. 8a-b disclose an electronic device with hinge structure having first second and third hinge plates.
Shah US 20180284856 Fig. 3-4 discloses a multi layered flexible heat spreader.
Hong US 20200204666 Fig. 10a discloses an electronic device with a first hear dissipation member, a first conductive member, a second heat dissipation member and a second conductive member.
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841