DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 19/073853 filed March 7, 2025. Claims 1-7 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funayama et al. (US 2018/0345560) in view of Moore et al. (US 2015/0147467).
Regarding claim 1: Funayama et al. discloses enameled copper wire manufacturing equipment (100) which includes a coating application unit (120) followed by a curing furnace (130) which is a baking section, the coating application unit (120) having a coating application mechanism with a coating tank and applicator roll, as well as a die with an alignment mechanism (200) downstream of the applicator roll, the die (200) allowing the coated wire (300) to pass therethrough having a shape which removes excess coating material, resulting in the desired thickness of the coating material on the wire (300) (pars. 5, 37, 44-49 and figures 1-3). Funayama et al. fails to explicitly state that the applicators apply paint, and rather simple refer to the material as an enamel coating material containing one of various resins (par. 39). However, the inclusion of the material used by the apparatus does not impart further patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115), and as such the coating application roll of Funayama et al. can be considered a paint applicator configured to apply a paint.
Funayama et al. fails to explicitly disclose a second paint applicator and die applying a second coating after the first.
However, Moore et al. discloses a similar wire coating apparatus in which a wire passes through a primary coater (3) having a die and a secondary coater (6) having a die, with no curing device in between to perform a wet-on-wet application process (pars. 44-45, figure 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a secondary coating application unit downstream of the first like in the invention of Moore et al. because Moore et al. teaches that multi-layer coating applications are known and often preferred (par. 3), and using a known technique to improve a known device is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2: Funayama et al. and Moore et al. disclose the above combination, and Funuyama et al. teaches that the shape of the die (200) can be adjusted specifically to scrape off a desired amount of coating (par. 49) but fails to explicitly disclose that a theoretical second die can have a gap larger than the that of the first die. However, Moore et al. also teaches that die sizes and diameters can be different for each subsequent die, specifically showing a situation in which an inner diameter of the second die (d2/d3) is smaller than that of the first die (pars. 89-101, figure 7B). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a smaller die diameter for the first die than the second as shown by Moore et al. because Moore et al. teaches that these arrangements help ensure more uniform coatings (par. 100), because simple changes in size and shape are not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2144.04), and because trying from a finite number of solutions (same die size, first die smaller, first die larger) is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143E).
Regarding claim 3: Funayama et al. discloses that the wire (300) travels repeatedly through the coating application unit (120) in a position next to the previous cycle such that there are a plurality of the die units (200) in the path of the wire (300), each one including the coating applicator and die (200) (par. 41, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 4: Funayama et al. discloses that the die (200) is dividable into a number of pieces including a die (210), receiving member (220), bearing member (230), movable member (240) and guide member (250), all of which the wire (300) passes through and extend along an axial direction (pars. 47-48, figure 2).
Regarding claim 5: Funayama et al. discloses that the wire (300) travels repeatedly through the coating application unit (120) and curing furnace (130) in a position next to the previous cycle, and in the combination this would include both coating application units, where the wire (300) passes through a number of times depending on the desired total thickness (par. 41, figure 1B), the number of times being at least two or more, i.e. at least 12 as seen in figure 1B.
Regarding claim 6: Funayama et al. and Moore et al. teach that each of the two subsequent coating units (3, 6) have their own independent coating source (12, 14) separate from each other (Moore et al. figure 1).
Conclusion
/S.A.K/
Stephen KittExaminer, Art Unit 1717
7/31/2026
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717