DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Randolph (US2018/0025451).
To claim 1. Randolph teach a machine learning (a preamble with no link to claim body, carry no patentable weight) system for automatic photo labeling and filing, comprising:
a computing system; a claims estimation software application executed by the computing system, the claims estimation software application receiving a plurality of claim estimation photos relating to an insurance claim (paragraph 0008); and
a photo labelling and filing software module in communication with the claims estimation software application and executed by the computer system (paragraph 0013), the photo labelling and filing software module configured to:
retrieve a photo of the plurality of claim estimation photos; process the photo using object recognition to detect one or more features in the photo; generate a label for the photo based on the one or more features detected in the photo; assign the label to the photo (paragraph 0111);
determine a photo album of a claim file of the claims estimation software application in which to store the photo; and storing the photo in the photo album of the claim file (paragraph 0113).
To claim 14, Randolph teach a machine learning method for automatic photo labeling and filing (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claims 2 and 15, Randolph teach claims 1 and 14.
Randolph teach wherein the claims estimation software application receives user feedback relating to the one or more features detected in the photo (paragraphs 0019-0022, 0054, 0110, 0114, manually by user).
To claims 3 and 16, Randolph teach claims 2 and 15.
Randolph teach wherein the claims estimation software application refines the one or more features based on the user feedback (paragraphs 0019-0022, 0054, 0110, 0114).
To claims 4 and 17, Randolph teach claims 1 and 14.
Randolph teach wherein the system generates a user interface screen allowing a user to define, alter, or synchronize one or more profiles and to set preferences associated with an estimate (paragraphs 0019-0022, 0054, 0110, 0114).
To claims 5 and 18, Randolph teach claims 1 and 14.
Randolph teach wherein the system generates a user interface screen allowing a user to graphically define or sketch a floor plan of a room (paragraphs 0054, 0064, 0067).
To claims 6 and 19, Randolph teach claims 5 and 18.
Randolph teach wherein the system allows a user to add one or more items to the floor plan of the room (paragraphs 0054, 0064, 0067).
To claims 7 and 20, Randolph teach claims 1 and 14.
Randolph teach wherein the system allows a user to take a photo of an object in a room (paragraph 0119).
To claims 8 and 21, Randolph teach claims 7 and 20.
Randolph teach wherein the system automatically generates a label associated with the photo of the object (paragraph 0119).
To claims 9 and 22, Randolph teach claims 8 and 22.
Randolph teach wherein the system allows a user to take notes relating to the photo of the object (paragraphs 0110, 0114).
To claims 10 and 23, Randolph teach claims 9 and 22.
Randolph teach wherein the system associates the photo of the object with one or more of a date the photo was taken, an insurance claim number, a name of an insured party, a cause of loss of an object depicted in the photo, a level of a structure in which the object is located, a zone, a room associated with the object, or a description of the object (paragraphs 0110, 0114).
To claims 11 and 24, Randolph teach claims 1 and 14.
Randolph teach wherein the system displays a photo selection panel for allowing a user to conduct bulk editing of the plurality of claim estimation photos (paragraph 0131).
To claims 12 and 25, Randolph teach claims 1 and 14.
Randolph teach wherein the system generates a photo selection screen allowing a user to search for one or more photos by specifying a label (paragraph 0151).
To claims 13 and 26, Randolph teach claims 1 and 14.
Randolph teach wherein the system displays information about an insurance estimate associated with one or more of the plurality of claim estimation photos (paragraph 0057).
Conclusion
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 September 12, 2026