DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 5/12/2026 and 2/3/2026, are being considered by the examiner.
Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a cross-component linear model”, “a “CCLM prediction”, “CCLM parameter”, “CCLM mode”, “CCLM mode index”, “a first look-up table”, “a second look-up table”, “an LFNST transform kernel candidate set”, “an LFNST index”, “an LFNST intra prediction mode index”, “a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets”, “two or more preset LFNST transform kernels” must be shown or the feature must be canceled from the claims 1-20. No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 8, and 14 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of the U.S. Patent Application 12278948. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Table 1: Comparison of claims in the instant Application 19,073908 vs. the U.S. Patent 12,278,948 B2.
Instant Application 19,073908
U.S. Patent 12,278,948 B2
1. A transform method, for an encoder and comprising:determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block;determining a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM prediction is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;determining the intra prediction value of the current block according to the CCLM parameter, and calculating a residual value between the current block and the intra prediction value;determining a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter, setting an LFNST index, and signalling the LFNST index into a bitstream of a video, when LFNST is used for the current block; and transforming the residual value with the LFNST transform kernel.
1. A transform method, for an encoder and comprising:
determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block;
determining a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM prediction is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;
signalling the prediction mode parameter of the current block and the CCLM parameter into a bitstream of a video;
determining the intra prediction value of the current block according to the CCLM parameter, and calculating a residual value between the current block and the intra prediction value;determining a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter, setting an LFNST index, and signalling the LFNST index into the bitstream of the video, when LFNST is used for the current block; andtransforming the residual value with the LFNST transform kernel;
….
8. A transform method, for a decoder and comprising:parsing a bitstream to determine a prediction mode parameter of a current block; parsing the bitstream to determine a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;parsing the bitstream to determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index;determining an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block; andtransforming the transform coefficient with the LFNST transform kernel.
2. A transform method, for a decoder and comprising:
parsing a bitstream to determine a prediction mode parameter of a current block;
parsing the bitstream to determine a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;
parsing the bitstream to determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index;
determining an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block; and
transforming the transform coefficient with the LFNST transform kernel;
…
14. A decoder, comprising:at least one processor; anda memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing at least one computer executable instruction thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to:parse a bitstream to determine a prediction mode parameter of a current block;parse the bitstream to determine a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;parse the bitstream to determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index;determine an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block; andtransform the transform coefficient with the LFNST transform kernel.
3. A decoder, comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing at least one computer executable instruction thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to:
parse a bitstream to determine a prediction mode parameter of a current block;
parse the bitstream to determine a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value;
parse the bitstream to determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index;
determine an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block; and
transform the transform coefficient with the LFNST transform kernel;
…
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 5-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Independent claims 5, 10, and 12 recite “when LFNST is used for the current block comprises:” It is not clear from the claim language what “comprises:” Therefore, claims 5, 10, 12, and their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Patent 11,438,596 B2), (“Kim”), in view of Koo (US Patent 11,589,075 B2), (“Koo”), in view of JVET (Test Model 7 of Versatile Video Coding (VTM 7)), (“JVET”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A transform method (i.e. transform method) [Kim: col. 16, line 35; Fig. 8], for an encoder (i.e. encoder) [Kim: col. 16, line 3] and comprising: determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block ((i.e. transform kernel used for the transform block may be determined based on an intra prediction mode corresponding to the transform block) [Kim: col. 17, line 60-62]; (i.e. transform-related syntax elements may be information parsed from a video signal bitstream. The decoder may entropy-decode the video signal bitstream so as to obtain transform-related syntax elements) [Kim: col. 17, line 27-30]); determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter ((i.e. a method of determining a linear model of the CCLM according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 5, line 65-67]; (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18]) when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM prediction is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value (i.e. intra prediction is performed through the application of the Cross-Component Linear Model (CCLM)) [Kim: col. 6, line 5-8]; determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] the intra prediction value of the current block according to the CCLM parameter (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23], and calculating (i.e. the encoder or the decoder may calculate) [Kim: col. 30, line 65-66] a residual value between the current block and the intra prediction value (i.e. a residual value between the original picture and the predicted picture to obtain a transform coefficient value) [Kim: col. 8, line 32-34]; determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) transform kernel used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] according to the CCLM parameter (i.e. a Cross Component Linear Model (CCLM) method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 18, line 22-24; Fig. 10], (i.e. The encoder may entropy-code the transform-related syntax elements so as to generate a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 17, line 30-32], when LFNST is used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; and transforming the residual value with the LFNST transform kernel (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8].
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
setting an LFNST index, and signalling the LFNST index into a bitstream of a video.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koo further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
setting an LFNST index ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]), and signalling the LFNST index ((i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. mts_idx syntax (or syntax element) can be signaled through a residual syntax) [Koo: col. 45, line 58-59] – Note: Koo discloses that the mts_idx syntax can be signaled. It is noted that LFNST index is a multiple transform set (MTS) index (i.e. mts_idx syntax). Hence the Koo discloses that the LFNST index is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with Koo to program the system to implement the Koo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim with Koo will enable the system to implement efficient coding tools to process next-generation with high spatial resolutions, a high frame rate and high dimensionality of scene representation of video content [Koo: col. 1, line 31-42].
Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, JVET further discloses the deficient claim limitations from Kim as follows:
setting an LFNST index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59], and signalling the LFNST index into a bitstream of a video (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59].
an LFNST intra prediction mode index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim and Koo with JVET to program the system to implement the JVET’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim and Koo with JVET will enable the system to support VVC and improve coding efficiency [JVET: Introduction section on page].
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 15, Kim meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 8, and 14. Kim further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the CCLM parameter comprises a CCLM mode index ((i.e. Please see CCLM parameters in Figs. 10-18) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23; Figs 10-18]; (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]), wherein the CCLM mode index indicates a CCLM mode used for the current block ((i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]; (i.e. FIG. 18 illustrates prediction mode signaling for chroma intra prediction according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 6, line 18-20; Fig. 18]), and the CCLM mode indicates the use of CCLM (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18] to determine a calculation derivation manner of the intra prediction value of the current block (i.e. A length of the side of the current block to which the CCLM is applied may be one of 16, 32, 62, and 128. For example, when the sample included in the upper block is used and the width of the current block is 32 samples or larger, the CCLM may be applied. When the sample included in the left block is used and the height of the current block is 32 or larger, the CCLM may be applied) [Kim: col. 30, line 57-64; Figs. 10-18].
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 16, Kim meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 2, 9, and 15. Kim further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] the LFNST transform kernel (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter ((i.e. a method of determining a linear model of the CCLM according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 5, line 65-67]; (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18]), setting the LFNST index, and signalling the LFNST index into the bitstream of the video (i.e. The encoder may entropy-code the transform-related syntax elements so as to generate a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 17, line 30-32] comprises: determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a value of an LFNST intra prediction mode index according to a value of the CCLM mode index ((i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]; (i.e. a Cross Component Linear Model (CCLM) method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 18, line 22-24; Fig. 10]); selecting (i.e. the decoder may select) [Kim: col. 18, line 15-18; Figs 8-9] one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] according to the value of the LFNST intra prediction mode index; selecting (i.e. the decoder may select) [Kim: col. 18, line 15-18; Figs 8-9] from the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set a transform kernel (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] indicated by the LFNST index as the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; and setting a value of the LFNST index, wherein the value of the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block and indicates an index of the LFNST transform kernel in the LFNST transform kernel candidate set (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; wherein the LFNST transform kernel candidate set contains two or more preset LFNST transform kernels ((i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Figs. 8-9] – Note: Figs. 8-9 shows two transform kernels).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein determining the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter, setting the LFNST index, and signalling the LFNST index into the bitstream of the video comprises: determining a value of an LFNST intra prediction mode index according to a value of the CCLM mode index; selecting one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets according to the value of the LFNST intra prediction mode index; selecting from the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set a transform kernel indicated by the LFNST index as the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block; and setting a value of the LFNST index, wherein the value of the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block and indicates an index of the LFNST transform kernel in the LFNST transform kernel candidate set.
However, in the same field of endeavor JVET further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
setting the LFNST index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59], and signalling the LFNST index into the bitstream of the video (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59; For more details please refers to section 3.5.3] (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59] (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59]; the LFNST index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59] (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59; For more details please refers to section 3.5.3] and indicates an index of the LFNST transform kernel in the LFNST transform kernel candidate set (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59; For more details please refers to section 3.5.3];
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with JVET to program the system to implement the JVET’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim with JVET will enable the system to support VVC and improve coding efficiency [JVET: Introduction section on page].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Koo further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
setting an LFNST index ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]), and signalling the LFNST index ((i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. mts_idx syntax (or syntax element) can be signaled through a residual syntax) [Koo: col. 45, line 58-59] – Note: Koo discloses that the mts_idx syntax can be signaled. It is noted that LFNST index is a multiple transform set (MTS) index (i.e. mts_idx syntax). Hence the Koo discloses that the LFNST index is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim and JVET with Koo to program the system to implement the Koo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim and JVET with Koo will enable the system to implement efficient coding tools to process next-generation with high spatial resolutions, a high frame rate and high dimensionality of scene representation of video content [Koo: col. 1, line 31-42].
Regarding claims 4, 11, 17, Kim meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 3, 10, 16.Kim further meets the claim limitations as follow.
determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] the value of the LFNST intra prediction mode index corresponding to the value of the CCLM mode index through a first look-up table ((i.e. Please see CCLM parameters and indices in Figs. 10-18) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23; Figs 10-18]; (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]), wherein the first look-up table at least contains one or more different CCLM mode indexes corresponding to each of two LFNST intra prediction mode indexes with different values ((i.e. Please see CCLM parameters and different index values in Figs. 10-18) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23; Figs 10-18]; (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determining the value of the LFNST intra prediction mode index corresponding to the value of the CCLM mode index through a first look-up table, wherein the first look-up table at least contains one or more different CCLM mode indexes corresponding to each of two LFNST intra prediction mode indexes with different values.
However, in the same field of endeavor JVET further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
determining the value of the LFNST intra prediction mode index corresponding to the value of the CCLM mode index through a first look-up table (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59], wherein the first look-up table at least contains one or more different CCLM mode indexes corresponding to each of two LFNST intra prediction mode indexes with different values (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59; For more details please refers to section 3.5.3].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with JVET to program the system to implement the JVET’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim with JVET will enable the system to support VVC and improve coding efficiency [JVET: Introduction section on page].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Koo further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
determining the value of the LFNST intra prediction mode index ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. mts_idx syntax (or syntax element) can be signaled through a residual syntax) [Koo: col. 45, line 58-59] – Note: Koo discloses that the mts_idx syntax can be signaled. It is noted that LFNST index is a multiple transform set (MTS) index (i.e. mts_idx syntax). Hence the Koo discloses that the LFNST index is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim and JVET with Koo to program the system to implement the Koo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim and JVET with Koo will enable the system to implement efficient coding tools to process next-generation with high spatial resolutions, a high frame rate and high dimensionality of scene representation of video content [Koo: col. 1, line 31-42].
Regarding claims 5, 12, 18, Kim meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 2, 9, and 15.Kim further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18], setting the LFNST index, and signalling the LFNST index into the bitstream of the video (i.e. The encoder may entropy-code the transform-related syntax elements so as to generate a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 17, line 30-32], when LFNST is used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] comprises: selecting (i.e. the decoder may select) [Kim: col. 18, line 15-18; Figs 8-9] one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets(i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] according to a value of the CCLM mode index ((i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]; (i.e. a Cross Component Linear Model (CCLM) method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 18, line 22-24; Fig. 10]); selecting (i.e. the decoder may select) [Kim: col. 18, line 15-18; Figs 8-9] from the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set a transform kernel (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] indicated by the LFNST index as the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; and setting a value of the LFNST index, wherein the value of the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block and indicates an index of the LFNST transform kernel in the LFNST transform kernel candidate set (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; wherein the LFNST transform kernel candidate set contains two or more preset LFNST transform kernels ((i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Figs. 8-9] – Note: Figs. 8-9 shows two transform kernels).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
setting the LFNST index, and signalling the LFNST index into the bitstream of the video, when LFNST is used for the current block comprises: selecting one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets according to a value of the CCLM mode index; selecting from the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set a transform kernel indicated by the LFNST index as the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block; and setting a value of the LFNST index.
However, in the same field of endeavor JVET further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
setting an LFNST index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59], and signalling the LFNST index into a bitstream of a video (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59] …
(i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59] as the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59; For more details please refers to section 3.5.3]; and setting a value of the LFNST index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59], wherein the value of the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block and indicates an index of the LFNST transform kernel in the LFNST transform kernel candidate set (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59; For more details please refers to section 3.5.3];
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with JVET to program the system to implement the JVET’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim with JVET will enable the system to support VVC and improve coding efficiency [JVET: Introduction section on page].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Koo further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
setting an LFNST index ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]), and signalling the LFNST index ((i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. mts_idx syntax (or syntax element) can be signaled through a residual syntax) [Koo: col. 45, line 58-59] – Note: Koo discloses that the mts_idx syntax can be signaled. It is noted that LFNST index is a multiple transform set (MTS) index (i.e. mts_idx syntax). Hence the Koo discloses that the LFNST index is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim and JVET with Koo to program the system to implement the Koo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim and JVET with Koo will enable the system to implement efficient coding tools to process next-generation with high spatial resolutions, a high frame rate and high dimensionality of scene representation of video content [Koo: col. 1, line 31-42].
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 19, Kim meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 5, 12, and 18. Kim further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein selecting i.e. the decoder may select) [Kim: col. 18, line 15-18; Figs 8-9] one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from the plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] according to the value of the CCLM mode index comprises ((i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]; (i.e. a Cross Component Linear Model (CCLM) method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 18, line 22-24; Fig. 10]): determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a value of an LFNST transform kernel candidate set index corresponding to the value of the CCLM mode index ((i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]; (i.e. a Cross Component Linear Model (CCLM) method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 18, line 22-24; Fig. 10]) through a second look-up table (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18], and selecting (i.e. the decoder may select) [Kim: col. 18, line 15-18; Figs 8-9] an LFNST transform kernel candidate set (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] indicated by the value of the LFNST transform kernel candidate set index as the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23]); wherein the second look-up table at least contains one or more different CCLM mode indexes (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23] corre
sponding to each of two LFNST transform kernel candidate set indexes with different values.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the second look-up table at least contains one or more different CCLM mode indexes corresponding to each of two LFNST transform kernel candidate set indexes with different values.
However, in the same field of endeavor JVET further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the second look-up table at least contains one or more different CCLM mode indexes corresponding to each of two LFNST transform kernel candidate set indexes with different values (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59; More details described in section 3.5.3];
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with JVET to program the system to implement the JVET’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim with JVET will enable the system to support VVC and improve coding efficiency [JVET: Introduction section on page].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Koo further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
the second look-up table at least contains one or more different CCLM mode indexes corresponding to each of two LFNST transform kernel candidate set indexes with different values ((i.e. for each of horizontal EMT_TU_horizontal_flag) and vertical (EMT_TU_ vertical_flag) transforms, one of two transform candidates in
the confirmed transform subset is selected on the basis of explicit signaling using flags according to Table 3) [Koo: col. 16, line 63-67; Table 3 – Note: Table 3 shows two sets of different values for each index]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. Here, each of the transform configuration groups may have four transform combination candidates. The four transform combination candidates may be selected or determined using transform combination indexes 0 to 3 and a transform combination index may be encoded and transmitted from an encoder to a decoder) [Koo: col. 18, line 34-39; Figs. 6, 8]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim and JVET with Koo to program the system to implement the Koo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim and JVET with Koo will enable the system to implement efficient coding tools to process next-generation with high spatial resolutions, a high frame rate and high dimensionality of scene representation of video content [Koo: col. 1, line 31-42].
Regarding claim 7, Kim meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Kim further meets the claim limitations as follow.
after the determining (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] the CCLM parameter (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18], signalling the prediction mode parameter of the current block (i.e. The intra encoding information may include information on a reference sample) [Kim: col. 8, line 1-3] and the CCLM parameter ((i.e. a method of determining a linear model of the CCLM according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 5, line 65-67]; (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18]) into the bitstream ((i.e. transmits intra-BC encoding information to the entropy coding unit) [Kim: col. 8, line 21-22]; (i.e. Coding may be interpreted as encoding or decoding in some cases. In the present specification, an apparatus for generating a video signal bitstream by performing encoding (coding) of a video signal is referred to as an encoding apparatus) [Kim: col. 6, line 36-39]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A transform method (i.e. transform method) [Kim: col. 16, line 35; Fig. 8], for a decoder (i.e. decoder) [Kim: col. 14, line 31] and comprising: parsing a bitstream (i.e. decoding of a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 6, line 41] to determine a prediction mode parameter of a current block ((i.e. transform kernel used for the transform block may be determined based on an intra prediction mode corresponding to the transform block) [Kim: col. 17, line 60-62]; (i.e. transform-related syntax elements may be information parsed from a video signal bitstream. The decoder may entropy-decode the video signal bitstream so as to obtain transform-related syntax elements) [Kim: col. 17, line 27-30]); parsing a bitstream (i.e. decoding of a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 6, line 41] to determine (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter ((i.e. a method of determining a linear model of the CCLM according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 5, line 65-67]; (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18]) when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM prediction is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value (i.e. intra prediction is performed through the application of the Cross-Component Linear Model (CCLM)) [Kim: col. 6, line 5-8]; parsing a bitstream (i.e. decoding of a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 6, line 41] to determine (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a transform coefficient of the current block (i.e. The entropy decoding unit 210 entropy-decodes a video signal bitstream to extract transform coefficient information) [Kim: col. 9, line 24-25] and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index; determining an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] according to the CCLM parameter (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23] when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; and transforming the transform coefficient with the LFNST transform kernel (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8];
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low- frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index; determining an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koo further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]), and signalling the LFNST index ((i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. mts_idx syntax (or syntax element) can be signaled through a residual syntax) [Koo: col. 45, line 58-59] – Note: Koo discloses that the mts_idx syntax can be signaled. It is noted that LFNST index is a multiple transform set (MTS) index (i.e. mts_idx syntax). Hence the Koo discloses that the LFNST index is signaled.).
determining an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block ((i.e. Here, each of the transform configuration groups may have four transform combination candidates. The four transform combination candidates may be selected or determined using transform combination indexes 0 to 3 and a transform combination index may be encoded and transmitted from an encoder to a decoder) [Koo: col. 18, line 34-39; Figs. 6, 8]; (i.e. An encoder may determine (or select) a horizontal transform and/or a vertical transform based on at least one of a prediction mode) [Koo: col. 85, line 6-8; Fig. 46]) indicated by the LFNST index ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with Koo to program the system to implement the Koo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim with Koo will enable the system to implement efficient coding tools to process next-generation with high spatial resolutions, a high frame rate and high dimensionality of scene representation of video content [Koo: col. 1, line 31-42].
Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, JVET further discloses the deficient claim limitations from Kim as follows:
determine a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59]; …
determining an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim and Koo with JVET to program the system to implement the JVET’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim and Koo with JVET will enable the system to support VVC and improve coding efficiency [JVET: Introduction section on page].
Regarding claim 14, Kim meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A decoder (i.e. decoder) [Kim: col. 14, line 31], comprising: at least one processor (i.e. a processor) [Kim: col. 9, line 16]; and a memory (i.e. a recording medium) [Kim: col. 32, line 29] coupled to the at least one processor (i.e. a recording medium) [Kim: col. 32, line 29] and storing at least one computer executable instruction thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor (i.e. a recording medium a recording medium including computer-executable instructions such as a program module that is executed by a computer) [Kim: col. 32, line 29], causes the at least one processor to (i.e. a computer) [Kim: col. 32, line 31]:parse a bitstream (i.e. decoding of a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 6, line 41] to determine a prediction mode parameter of a current block ((i.e. transform kernel used for the transform block may be determined based on an intra prediction mode corresponding to the transform block) [Kim: col. 17, line 60-62]; (i.e. transform-related syntax elements may be information parsed from a video signal bitstream. The decoder may entropy-decode the video signal bitstream so as to obtain transform-related syntax elements) [Kim: col. 17, line 27-30]); parse a bitstream (i.e. decoding of a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 6, line 41] to determine (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a cross-component linear model (CCLM) parameter ((i.e. a method of determining a linear model of the CCLM according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Kim: col. 5, line 65-67]; (i.e. When a variable sps_cclm_enabled_flag is equal to 1, modes related to the CCLM may operate. The number of modes may be three. [Table 1] and [Table 2] of FIG.18 show intra_chroma_pred_mode indicating the chroma intra prediction mode.) [Kim: col. 31, line 10-11; Figs. 17-18]) when the prediction mode parameter indicates that CCLM prediction is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value (i.e. intra prediction is performed through the application of the Cross-Component Linear Model (CCLM)) [Kim: col. 6, line 5-8]; parse a bitstream (i.e. decoding of a video signal bitstream) [Kim: col. 6, line 41] to determine (i.e. the encoder or decoder may determine) [Kim: col. 21, line 63] a transform coefficient of the current block (i.e. The entropy decoding unit 210 entropy-decodes a video signal bitstream to extract transform coefficient information) [Kim: col. 9, line 24-25] and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index; determine an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8] according to the CCLM parameter (i.e. In [Table 2], the case in which the value is 4 may correspond to the CCLM) [Kim: col. 31, line 22-23] when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8]; and transform the transform coefficient with the LFNST transform kernel (i.e. This secondary transform may be referred to as a low frequency band non-separable transform (low frequency non-separable transform, LFNST)) [Kim: col. 17, line 2-4; Fig. 8].
Kim does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
parse the bitstream to determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index; determine an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block..
However, in the same field of endeavor Koo further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
parse the bitstream to determine a transform coefficient of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]); ..determine an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the CCLM parameter when the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block ((i.e. determine non-separable transform set index) [Koo: Fig. 25]; (i.e. In order to indicate a transform kernel among transform sets, an NSST index (NSST idx) can be coded) [Koo: col. 24, line 28-29]; (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure, NSST transform set mapping based on intra-prediction mode is introduced as shown in the following table 7. Although NSST is described below as an example of non-separable transform, another known terminology (e.g., LFNST) may be used for non-separable transform. For example, NSST set and NSST index may be replaced with LFNST set and LFNST index. Further, RST described in this specification may also be replaced with LFNST as an example of non-separable transform ( e.g., LFNST) using a non-square transform matrix having a reduced input length and/or a reduced output length in a square non-separable transform matrix applied to an at least a region ( 4x4 or 8x8 left top region or a region other than a 4x4 right bottom region in an 8x8 block) of a transform block.) [Koo: col. 30, line 20-36; Table 7]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with Koo to program the system to implement the Koo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim with Koo will enable the system to implement efficient coding tools to process next-generation with high spatial resolutions, a high frame rate and high dimensionality of scene representation of video content [Koo: col. 1, line 31-42].
Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, JVET further discloses the deficient claim limitations from Kim as follows:
a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index (i.e. Please see setting index in Table 3-11) [JVET: page 59]; …
the LFNST index indicates that LFNST is used for the current block (i.e. For each transform set, the selected non-separable secondary transform candidate is further specified by the explicitly signalled LFNST index. The index is signalled in a bit-stream once per Intra CU after transform coefficients) [JVET: Section 3.5.3.2 on page 59].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim and Koo with JVET to program the system to implement the JVET’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Kim and Koo with JVET will enable the system to support VVC and improve coding efficiency [JVET: Introduction section on page].
Regarding claim 20, Kim meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Kim further meets the claim limitations as follow.
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium (i.e. a recording medium) [Kim: col. 32, line 29, storing computer programs and a bitstream, wherein when executed by a processor, the computer programs cause the processor to implement the method of claim 1 to generate the bitstream ((i.e. a recording medium a recording medium including computer-executable instructions such as a program module that is executed by a computer) [Kim: col. 32, line 29].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information