DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species F (Figures 18-22) encompassed by claims 1-6, 8-17 and 19 in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged. Upon further examination, it appears that claim 13 is also directed to nonelected Figure 4. As such, claims 7, 13, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, the limitation “”A fluent material roller frame, comprising:” may need to be amended to - - A fluent material roller frame, the roller frame comprising: - -.
In claim 9, line 1, the limitation “A fluent material roller spindle assembly, comprising:” may need to be amended to - - A fluent material roller spindle assembly, the roller spindle assembly comprising: - -.
Claim 11, line 4 recites the alternative conjunctive form "and/or" rather than the conventional form of "at least one of [A], [B], and [C]."
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a chuck axial locator and a bearing axial locator in claim 14.
A review of the originally filed specification (paragraph [0053]) provides the following support:
With reference now to FIG. 22, the chuck 634 may be axially retained on the bearing 638. For example, the bearing 638 also may include a chuck axial locator 678 and the chuck 634 may include a bearing axial locator 680 that engages the chuck axial locator 678 to axially locate the chuck 634 on the bearing 638. More specifically, the chuck axial locator 678 of the bearing 638 may include a wall extending radially away from the radially outer bearing surface 640 of the bearing 638, and the bearing axial locator 680 of the chuck 634 may include the axially inboard flange 663 that may locate against the corresponding wall of the chuck axial locator 678. The bearing 638 also may include a roller cover axial locator 682 that may include a radially outward portion of the wall of the chuck axial locator 678 extending radially outwardly from the chuck axial locator 678 at the axially inboard chuck end 664.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuda (US 4,615,634).
As applied to claims 1 and 9, Matsuda teaches a fluent material roller frame, the roller frame comprising a handle (attached to handle connecting portion 39 but not shown in Fig. 6); a spindle assembly (31, Figs. 6 and 7); and a wire (37) having a handle portion (39) coupled to the handle (not shown), a spindle shaft on which the spindle assembly is rotatably mounted (threaded shaft portion 40 of holding member 38 on the inboard, threaded portion 45a of shaft 45 on the outboard), and an offset portion between the handle portion and the spindle shaft (Z-shaped portion of 37, Fig. 6), wherein the spindle assembly includes a bearing (horizontal portion of the inboard 38 on the right, outboard 45 on the left, Fig. 6) coupled to the spindle shaft of the wire against relative rotation therebetween and establishing a rotational axis and including a radially outer bearing surface circumscribing the rotational axis (outer surfaces of 38 and 45), a radially inner bearing surface circumscribing the rotational axis (passage 41 inside of 38 and inside the thread grooves of shaft portion 45a of 45), an axially outboard bearing end (45), and an axially inboard bearing end (38); and a chuck rotatably carried on the bearing about the rotational axis and including a radially outer chuck surface circumscribing the rotational axis (inboard chuck 42 on right, outboard chuck 43 on the left), a radially inner chuck surface circumscribing the rotational axis (inside of 42 and 43), an axially outboard chuck end (43 with flange 43b), and an axially inboard chuck end (42 with flange 42b), wherein a bearing portion of the radially inner chuck surface of the chuck is carried on a corresponding chuck portion of the radially outer bearing surface of the bearing (42 rotatable on 38 and 43 rotatable on 45, col. 5, lines 6-22).
As applied to claim 5, Matsuda teaches the invention cited including wherein the bearing includes a throughbore (41 and 34, Fig. 6) extending between the axially inboard and outboard bearing ends (ends of 38 and 45) and establishing the radially inner bearing surface, and wherein the axially outboard bearing end (45) extends axially beyond an axial outboard spindle shaft (extends to the left of shaft portion of 31) end of the spindle shaft of the wire (37).
As applied to claim 6, Matsuda teaches the invention cited including wherein the spindle shaft of the wire is smooth with no staked, swaged, or upset portions (smooth inside surface of 38 and 45, Fig. 6).
As applied to claim 8, Matsuda teaches the invention cited including wherein the bearing has an axial length that is at least 50% of an axial length of the spindle shaft of the wire (the axial surfaces of bearing portions of 38 and 45 are at least 50% of an axial length of the shaft portions of 38 and 45, Fig. 6).
As applied to claim 11, Matsuda teaches the invention cited including wherein an axial outboard bearing portion of the radially inner chuck surface (chuck 43) is carried on a corresponding axial outboard chuck portion of the radially outer bearing surface proximate the axially outboard bearing end of the bearing (outboard bearing 45) and the axially outboard chuck end of the chuck (43, Fig. 6).
As applied to claim 12, Matsuda teaches the invention cited including wherein axial outboard and inboard bearing portions of the radially inner chuck surface (bearing portions of inboard chuck 42 and outboard chuck 43) are carried on corresponding axial outboard and inboard chuck portions of the radially outer bearing surface (of inboard bearing 38 and outboard bearing 45, Fig. 6).
As applied to claim 14, Matsuda teaches the invention cited including wherein the bearing includes a chuck axial locator (flange 44 of bearing 38, flange 45b of bearing 45, Fig. 6) and the chuck includes a bearing axial locator (surface of the core portion 42a of chuck 42 that is in contact with 44; surface of the core portion 43a of chuck 43 that is in contact with 45b, Fig. 6) that engages the chuck axial locator to axially locate the chuck on the bearing (Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lallement et al. (FR 2739307 A1, hereinafter “Lallement”).
As applied to claims 1 and 9, Lallement teaches a fluent material roller frame (abstract), the roller frame comprising a handle (4, Figs. 1 and 6); a spindle assembly (Figs. 2a-2d); and a wire (3) having a handle portion (portion of 3) coupled to the handle (4), a spindle shaft (5, Fig. 2a) on which the spindle assembly is rotatably mounted, and an offset portion between the handle portion and the spindle shaft (U-shaped portion of 3, Fig. 2a), wherein the spindle assembly includes a bearing (21, 31) coupled to the spindle shaft (5) of the wire against relative rotation therebetween (clamped, abstract) and establishing a rotational axis (axis O-O, Fig. 2a) and including a radially outer bearing surface circumscribing the rotational axis (exterior of 21 and 31), a radially inner bearing surface circumscribing the rotational axis (interior of 21 and 31), an axially outboard bearing end (end of 21 farther from bend in frame 3; end of 31 farther from bend in frame 3), and an axially inboard bearing end (end of 21 closer to bend in frame 3, end of 31 closer to bend in frame 3); and a chuck (8’ and 8” on right and left, Fig. 2a) rotatably carried on the bearing (21, 31) about the rotational axis (axis O-O) and including a radially outer chuck surface circumscribing the rotational axis (outer surface 28 of chuck 8’, outer surface 28 of chuck 8”, Fig. 2a), a radially inner chuck surface circumscribing the rotational axis (interior of 8’ and 8” in rotational contact with 21 and 31), an axially outboard chuck end (end of 8 farther from bend in frame 3, end of 8” farther from bend in frame 3), and an axially inboard chuck end (end of 8’ closer to bend in frame 3, end of 8” closer to bend in frame 3), wherein a bearing portion of the radially inner chuck surface of the chuck is carried on a corresponding chuck portion of the radially outer bearing surface of the bearing (Figs. 2a-2d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (US 4,615,634) in view of Smith et al. (US 20090089952A1, hereinafter “Smith”).
As applied to claims 2-4 and 10, Matsuda teaches the invention cited including a fluent material roller frame including a bearing and chuck portions located axially outboard of the vertical portion of the wire but does not explicitly teach wherein the bearing includes a retention arm extending radially outwardly and coupled to the offset portion of the wire (as in claim 2), wherein the retention arm has a base portion that projects away from the radially outer bearing surface and a clip portion that extends transversely away from the base portion in an axially inboard direction and establishes a frame wire channel in which the wire is clipped therein (as in claim 3), wherein the bearing is coupled to the wire only by the retention arm and an intermediate portion of the radially inner bearing surface between the axially outboard and inboard bearing ends (as in claim 4), and wherein the bearing includes a retention arm extending away from the radially outer bearing surface proximate the axially inboard bearing end, and the bearing and chuck portions are located axially outboard of the retention arm (as in claim 10).
Smith teaches a paint roller (10, paragraphs [0026]-[0029]) including a frame (12) with handle (14) and a spindle/roller assembly (16 (Fig. 3) with a retention arm (18) extending radially outwardly and coupled to the offset portion of the wire (12), wherein the retention arm (18) has a base portion (horizontal portion) that projects away from the radially outer bearing surface (the outer surface of 28) and a clip portion that extends transversely away from the base portion in an axially inboard direction (vertical portion) and establishes a frame wire channel in which the wire is clipped therein (Figs. 3-5), and wherein the bearing (28) is coupled to the wire only by the retention arm (18) and an intermediate portion of the radially inner bearing surface (inside of 26 in contact with outside of 28, Figs. 2-5) between the axially outboard and inboard bearing ends.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the roller frame of Matsuda with the retention arm having the claimed structure and elements, as taught by Smith, as an effective means of attaching the retention means to the spindle bearing thus, allowing the handle to be stored in lock and unlock positions depending on the user’s desire.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martin et al. (US 7,654,001) teaches a paint roller including a wire frame with a handle supporting a plurality of bearings and a spindle assembly (abstract, Figs. 1-5)
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 04/09/2026