CTNF 19/073,999 CTNF 86747 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (1) as being anticipated by KOIZUMI TAKAAKI (JP 2024011064) . Claim 1, TAKAAKI teaches a wireless communication device that is mounted on a vehicle to perform wireless communication with an electronic key of the vehicle (abstract: communication device 100 communicates with portable device 101), the wireless communication device comprising: a substrate having a rectangular shape in a plan view (Fig. 4, substrate 8); a first antenna disposed at a position along a first side of the substrate at a predetermined distance away from one vertex of the substrate and extending along the first side (Fig. 4, first antenna 21 placed on left side of substrate 8); a second antenna disposed at a position along a second side of the substrate, which is different from the first side of the substrate, at a predetermined distance away from the vertex of the substrate and extending along the second side (Fig. 4, second antenna 31 placed on right side of substrate 8); and a first GND disposed near the vertex of the substrate (Fig. 4, first and second antennas are grounded). Claim 2, TAKAAKI teaches further comprising: a first power feeding line including a first power feeding line portion extending from the first antenna toward the vertex along the first side (Fig. 7 shows first antenna 21 includes power feeding line feeding into changeover switch 406); a second power feeding line including a second power feeding line portion extending from the second antenna toward the vertex along the second side (Fig. 7, shows second antenna 31 includes power feeding line feeding into changeover switch 406); and a changeover switch to which the first power feeding line and the second power feeding line are connected, wherein the first GND is disposed in a region surrounded by the changeover switch, the first power feeding line, the second power feeding line, and the vertex (see Fig. 7). Claim 7, TAKAAKI teaches wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are separated by a predetermined distance or more (see Fig. 4 shows antennas 21 and 31 are separated) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOIZUMI TAKAAKI in view of IWASAKI HISAO (JP H05114818) . Claim 3, TAKAAKI does not teach wherein an angle formed by a straight line that is an imaginary extension of the first power feeding line portion and a straight line that is an imaginary extension of the second power feeding line portion is 90 degrees. In the field of endeavor, HISAO teaches four antenna elements provided on a substrate with each antenna provided a power supply lines angle 90 degrees with each other (Claim 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify TAKAAKI’s antenna system to arrange the power supply lines at 90 degrees with each other as taught by HISAO for the purpose of preventing power loss of the power supply provided to the overall system due to mutual coupling (HISAO par. 7-8). Claim 4, TAKAAKI does not teach wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are patch antennas. In the field of endeavor, HISAO teaches the use of patch antennas (abstract). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to substitute TAKAAKI’s antenna elements with a patch type antenna as taught by HISAO, a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Claim 5, the combination teaches further comprising: a control circuit to which the changeover switch is connected, wherein the control circuit controls the changeover switch to switch between use of the first antenna and use of the second antenna (TAKAAKI Fig. 7, antenna drive circuit section: The antenna drive circuit 405 is configured to drive each of the first antenna 21 and the second antenna 31 separately by the switching unit 406 and transmit the modulated command as a radio wave). Claim 6, the combination teaches further comprising: a second GND disposed between the control circuit and the first antenna on the substrate; and a third GND disposed between the control circuit and the second antenna on the substrate (TAKAAKI Fig. 4 shows determination device 100 has many internal components 1-6, thus each of these components has a grounding connection). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to An T Nguyen whose telephone number is (571)270-5167. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9-5 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Zimmerman can be reached at 571-272-3059 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/073,999 Page 2 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 19/073,999 Page 3 Art Unit: 2686