DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beach et al. [US20210069548], hereinafter Beach, in view of Sooch [US20060252018].
Regarding claim 1, Beach discloses a system for generating a putter fitting recommendation (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a camera configured to capture a video of a golfer's putting stroke ([0062], “For example, the one or more input sources may be an optical launch monitor, a radar launch monitor, a motion sensor, a video camera, or another sensor for capturing data during a golf swing”),
a computing device communicatively coupled to the camera, the computing device comprising; at least one processor, and a memory storing instruction that, when executed by said at least one processor ([0062], “With reference to FIG. 3, server computer 300 is provided as part of a system configured to integrate data captured during a golf swing. Server computer 300 is communicably coupled to one or more input sources and to one or more user interface devices”), causes said system to perform operations comprising: generating a putter recommendation ([0031], “For example, Quintic Ball Roll and PuttView are camera systems that capture high speed images of a golfer's putting stroke and display putting metrics and recommendations based on processing the high speed images” and [0065], “the server may also provide club fitting recommendations, such a recommending a club to fill a distance gap in the user's equipment, suggesting loft, lie, flex and other club characteristics for new equipment, and even suggesting a different style of golf club based on the user's swing (e.g., recommending a user switch from a toe hang style of putter to a face balanced putter based on the user's putting stroke, recommending a golfer switch from a blade type iron to a cavity back or game improvement iron, or another recommendation)”).
However, Beach does not explicitly disclose said system to perform operations comprising assigning one or more markers to a specific area of interest as said golfer performs said putting stroke, determining a swingprint for said golfer based on a movement of said one or more markers, generating, based on said swingprint, a putter recommendation.
Nevertheless, Sooch teaches in a like invention, assigning one or more markers to a specific area of interest as said golfer performs said putting stroke, determining a swingprint for said golfer based on a movement of said one or more markers, generating, based on said swingprint, a recommendation ([0066], “For the side view, frames are played from start until the golf ball 20 is fully or partially covered. Following which, frames are continuously played until the golf ball 20 is clearly identified and the glove 14 on the hand is above the shoulder marker 15. The shoulder marker 15 is mathematically computed by drawing a straight line from the hip/leg marker 12 to the hat marker 13 and by marking upwards 60% of the distance from the hip/leg marker 12. Assuming this frame as frame `i`, 45 frames are stored before it (i-45) and 45 frames after it (i+45), and the others are discarded. From the start of the 3 seconds video, the video is forwarded until the ball 20 is fully recognized. Following which, the video is moved back 10 frames. This is the first frame” and [0069], “The analysis is conducted as the video is played. The video will automatically stop at relevant frames and reference lines are used to assess various aspects of the golf swing, such as described hereinafter. The golf swing can be analyzed at any frame of the golf swing in the front view video”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by Beach, to have the one or more markers to a specific area of interest assigned and a swingprint determined based on the movement of the markers, as taught by Sooch, in order to improve the analysis of the putting stroke and generating better putter fitting recommendation.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beach, in view of Sooch, further in view of Davis [US20160346605].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Beach and Sooch discloses the system of claim 1. However, the combination of Beach and Sooch does not explicitly disclose wherein said putter recommendation is based on an amount of arc in said golfer's putting stroke.
Nevertheless, Davis teaches in a like invention, a putter recommendation based on an amount of arc in said golfer's putting stroke ([0001], “Some fitting methods include an analysis of stroke shape; including anecdotal recommendations for more toe hang for strokes with dramatic arc and face balanced putters for strokes with little or no arc”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by the combination of Beach and Sooch, to have the putter recommendation based on an amount of arc in said golfer's putting stroke, as taught by Davis, in order to improve the analysis of the putting stroke and generating better putter fitting recommendation.
Claim(s) 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beach, in view of Sooch, further in view of Brekke et al. [US20170274256], hereinafter Brekke.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Beach and Sooch discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said memory further performs the operations comprising; measuring, by the camera, a ball shot data for each of a first plurality of putts taken with a first putter on a putting surface (Beach, [0067], “A predetermined number of shots may be captured the user and/or golf club(s). The initial launch parameters and/or other user data may be captured by a launch monitor, a motion sensor, a video camera, an instrumented ball, or by another data acquisition device”); simulating, by the at least one processor and based on the ball shot data of the first plurality of putts, a first plurality of simulated ball shot data (Beach, [0017], “The aggregated measurements may be utilized to better understand the captured data, such as to provide for more accurate trajectory models, roll models, algorithms interpreting data and images to accurately depict a shot, developing an artificial turf that replicates real grass club interaction and ball roll, and other algorithms and models used to analyze or simulate a golf shot and/or swing”); plotting, by the at least one processor, a first plurality of simulated putts onto a virtual putting surface, corresponding to the putting surface, respectively based on the first plurality of simulated ball shot data ([0079], “At 540, the system displays the associated initial launch conditions and identification data to the user and provides a fitting recommendation”).
However, the combination of Beach and Sooch does not explicitly disclose calculating, by the at least one processor, a first performance benefit value for the first putter based on the first plurality of simulated putts; and generating, based on the first performance benefit value, a putter recommendation.
Nevertheless, Brekke teaches in a like invention, calculating, by the at least one processor, a first performance benefit value for the first putter based on the first plurality of simulated putts; and generating, based on the first performance benefit value, a putter recommendation (Fig. 3A – 3I).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by the combination of Beach and Sooch, to have the performance benefit value calculated, as taught by Brekke, in order to quantitatively evaluate the putter fitting’s benefit to give users an objective measurement.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Beach, Sooch and Brekke discloses the system of claim 3, wherein said putter recommendation is based on both said first performance benefit value and said swingprint (Beach, title, “INTEGRATING MEASUREMENTS.” Sooch, [0066], “For the side view, frames are played from start until the golf ball 20 is fully or partially covered. Following which, frames are continuously played until the golf ball 20 is clearly identified and the glove 14 on the hand is above the shoulder marker 15. The shoulder marker 15 is mathematically computed by drawing a straight line from the hip/leg marker 12 to the hat marker 13 and by marking upwards 60% of the distance from the hip/leg marker 12. Assuming this frame as frame `i`, 45 frames are stored before it (i-45) and 45 frames after it (i+45), and the others are discarded. From the start of the 3 seconds video, the video is forwarded until the ball 20 is fully recognized. Following which, the video is moved back 10 frames. This is the first frame” and Brekke, Fig. 3A – 3I).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Beach, Sooch and Brekke discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the first performance benefit value comprises a first strokes gained value (Beach, [0031], “For example, Quintic Ball Roll and PuttView are camera systems that capture high speed images of a golfer's putting stroke and display putting metrics and recommendations based on processing the high speed images” and Brekke, Fig. 3A – 3I)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Beach, Sooch and Brekke discloses the system of claim 5, wherein: the ball shot data comprises path angle data and at least one of path length data or ball speed data; and the simulated ball shot data comprises simulated path angle data and at least one of simulated path length data or simulated ball speed data (Beach, [0019], “For example, launch monitors often measure ball speed, club head speed, launch angle, spin, club path, ball path, carry distance, total distance, shot dispersion, and other measurements”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Beach, Sooch and Brekke discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the calculating the first performance benefit value is further based on the ball shot data of the plurality of putts (Beach, [0067], “A predetermined number of shots may be captured the user and/or golf club(s)”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Beach, Sooch and Brekke discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise: measuring, by the camera, the ball shot data for each of a second plurality of putts taken with a second putter on the putting surface; simulating, by the at least one processor and based on the ball shot data of the second plurality of putts, a second plurality of simulated ball shot data; plotting, by the at least one processor, a second plurality of simulated putts onto the virtual putting surface respectively based on the second plurality of simulated ball shot data; calculating, by the at least one processor, a second performance benefit value for the second putter based on the second plurality of simulated putts, wherein the generating the putter recommendation is further based on the second performance benefit value (Beach, [0065], “even suggesting a different style of golf club based on the user's swing (e.g., recommending a user switch from a toe hang style of putter to a face balanced putter based on the user's putting stroke, recommending a golfer switch from a blade type iron to a cavity back or game improvement iron, or another recommendation)” and please refer to claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Beach, Sooch and Brekke discloses the system of claim 3, further comprising a display, wherein the operations further comprise: displaying, on the display, the virtual putting surface, and plotting, by the at least one processor, the first plurality of putts onto the virtual putting surface (Beach, [0031], “For example, Quintic Ball Roll and PuttView are camera systems that capture high speed images of a golfer's putting stroke and display putting metrics and recommendations based on processing the high speed images” and Brekke, Fig. 3D).
Conclusion
/YINGCHUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711