DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
A system for controlling attenuation in a fermentation process comprising:
a fermentation system configured to culture a fungus in a medium to produce a beer, wherein the fungus is at least one of Saccharomyces, Dekkera, Brettanomyce, Candida, or Aspergillus;
a killer toxin configured to be added to the beer in an amount effective to deactivate the fungus;
a first screening assay configured to be utilized on the beer before adding the killer toxin; and
a second screening assay configured to be utilized on the beer after adding the killer toxin.
In U.S. patent practice, the recitation of a "system" in a claim limitation is generally interpreted as an "apparatus" or machine limitation. While the term "system" implies a combination of multiple interacting elements, it is categorize under the apparatus category of patentable subject matter (35 U.S.C. § 101), rather than a method or a composition of matter.
However, the instant claims do not include any apparatus limitations. The instant claims recite the limitations of a “fermentation system configured to culture a fungus in a medium to produce a beer”, a killer toxin, a first screening assay and a second screening assay.
The killer toxin is a composition/product. The screening assay is a laboratory procedure.
A fermentation system, according to the instant specification, is a schematic description of a fermentation process.
It is further noted that every limitation is accompanied by phrase “configured to”, which does not require any active method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama et al (JP S63183506 A) in view of beervanablog.com (One of the World's Most Unusual Beers: Sake).
In regard to claim 1, Akiyama et al discloses a killer toxin-containing powder having good storage stability (page 1 of machine translation).
Akiyama et al discloses that a killer toxin-containing powder has many application including stopping the fermentation of fermented liquid by killing yeast that is responsible for fermentation:
The killer toxin-containing powder of the present invention is effective in the brewing industry for killing wild or contaminating microorganisms in fruit juice or mash before and during fermentation, for stopping fermentation by adding it at the end of fermentation to kill the yeast used as the starter yeast, and for preventing microbial contamination in storage and maturation processes after fermentation is completed, as well as in products filled into containers (page 1 of machine translation).
Furthermore, when added to moromi, fruit juice, or sake brewing, it exhibits a bactericidal effect or an anti-microbial contamination effect, and when added at the end of fermentation of moromi, it exhibits a fermentation stopping effect (page 3 of machine translation).
Hence, Akiyama et al discloses adding killer toxin to a fermentation liquid produced by fermentation of moromi with yeast.
In regard to claims 1, Akiyama et al discloses conducting screening assay:
The powders containing each type of killer toxin obtained by the three methods were placed in 5 ml glass vials (transparent glass) and stored at 3°C, 22°C, and 30°C, and the changes in killer activity over time were monitored by the following method. The results are shown in Table 1 (pages 3 of machine translation)..
Instead of the Saccharomyces cerevisiae epaneae strain used in the "Killer Activity Assay" shown in Example 1, the strains shown in Table 7 were used as test bacteria, and the effect of the above-mentioned spray-dried powder solution against these strains was examined in a manner similar to that of the "Killer Activity Assay". As shown in Table 7, the solution of the above powder exhibited a bactericidal action against Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Candida glabrata, Kluyveromyces lactis, Pichiaembranefascens, Rhodotorula rubra, and Hansenula anomala (pages 5-6 of machine translation).
Akiyama et al discloses comparison of the experiment where zero killer toxin has been added (page 5 of the machine translation). This reads on conducting a first assay on beer, i.e.. before adding a killer toxin.
In regard to claims 1 and 2, Akiyama et al discloses:
Table 6 Example 6 16 (7) Koshu fruit juice [reducing sugar 21.2% (11/v)] Nissartan and chromomyces cerevisiae .. +5kyf-5x105105 cells were inoculated at 7 ml each and fermentation was carried out at 15°C. When the extract content reached 4.5% (W/V), the same spray-dried powder as used in Example 4 was added to a concentration of 10 μg/m+, and after gentle stirring, the mixture was allowed to stand for 2 hours and observed. As a result, the generation of carbon dioxide gas ceased and fermentation was stopped (page 5 bottom paragraph, [page 6 top paragraph pf the machine translation).
Hence, the fermentation was carried out until extract content reached 4.5 4.5% (W/V).
In regard to claim 1, the machine translation from Japanese discloses fermentation of fruit juice, moromi and sake. Akiyama et al does not disclose beer. Beervanablog.com discloses similarities between beer and sake production. Beervanablog.com discloses that sake is essentially rice beer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Akiyama et al in view of beervanablog.com and to employ the fermentation stopping technique in the production of any alcoholic beverage including beer in order to obtain a fermented product having desired degree of alcohol. Beer is produced similarly to sake by fermentation of wort with yeast to produce alcoholic beverage. Therefore, to employ the same process in the production of beer would have been obvious.
In regard to claim 3, Akiyama et al discloses adding more than one type of killer toxin:
Killer yeasts that produce the killer toxin used in the present invention include those belonging to the genera Saccharomyces, Candida, Hansenula, Kluyveromyces, Pichia, and Cryptococcus. In addition, the killer toxins used in the present invention include various types of killer toxins such as type 1 to type 1 killer toxins or a new type killer toxin produced by Candida vinea sW55 (FERM P-8350) (page 2 of machine translation).
In regard to claim 4, Akiyama et al discloses directly adding the killer toxin to the fermented liquid:
The killer toxin-containing powder of the present invention is effective in the brewing industry for killing wild or contaminating microorganisms in fruit juice or mash before and during fermentation, for stopping fermentation by adding it at the end of fermentation to kill the yeast used as the starter yeast, and for preventing microbial contamination in storage and maturation processes after fermentation is completed, as well as in products filled into containers (page 1 of machine translation).
Furthermore, when added to moromi, fruit juice, or sake brewing, it exhibits a bactericidal effect or an anti-microbial contamination effect, and when added at the end of fermentation of moromi, it exhibits a fermentation stopping effect (page 3 of machine translation).
In regard to claim 5, Akiyama et al discloses
Example I Saccharomyces cerevisiae NCYC232 (K+ type killer), Saccharomyces cerevisiae AST20413 (PBRM P-8407, K2 type killer), Saccharomyces cerevisiae NCYC761 (Ni3 type killer), Hansenula murakii NCYC500 (K type killer), and Candida vinea SW55 (FBRM P-8350, new type killer) were each cultured at 25°C for 2 days in YEPD-CP medium (medium containing 2% glucose, 2% peptone, and 1% yeast extract dissolved in 0.1 M citratephosphate buffer with a pH of 4.8) and inoculated into an Erlenmeyer flask containing 50 mL of YBPD-CP medium (pH 4.8) to a bacterial concentration of 105 cells/m3, and cultured stationarily at 20°C for 3 days. After cultivation, each culture solution was filtered through a 0.45 μm cellulose acetate membrane filter, and 20% (1'i/v) cyclodextrin powder candy (manufactured by Toyo Brewing Co., Ltd.) and 5% (w/v) glucose were added to the resulting culture solution, which was then divided into three fractions of 159 ml each (fractions 11 to 11), and powdered (page 3 of machine translation).
In regard to claims 6-9, Akiyama et al discloses either killer yeast or killer toxin can be used in the process:
The powdering process is roughly divided into two steps: a step of adding one or more selected from polysaccharides, sugars, sugar alcohols, and ammonium sulfate to the culture medium of killer yeast or an aqueous solution of killer toxin and mixing it, and a step of concentrating and powdering the mixture (page 2 of machine translation).
In regard to claims 10-11, Akiyama et al discloses conducting screening assay:
The powders containing each type of killer toxin obtained by the three methods were placed in 5 ml glass vials (transparent glass) and stored at 3°C, 22°C, and 30°C, and the changes in killer activity over time were monitored by the following method. The results are shown in Table 1 (pages 3 of machine translation)..
Instead of the Saccharomyces cerevisiae epaneae strain used in the "Killer Activity Assay" shown in Example 1, the strains shown in Table 7 were used as test bacteria, and the effect of the above-mentioned spray-dried powder solution against these strains was examined in a manner similar to that of the "Killer Activity Assay". As shown in Table 7, the solution of the above powder exhibited a bactericidal action against Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Candida glabrata, Kluyveromyces lactis, Pichiaembranefascens, Rhodotorula rubra, and Hansenula anomala (pages 5-6 of machine translation).
In regard to claims 10-11, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to conduct screening essay at different stages of the process and to use various measurements in order to ensure killing activity of killer toxin.
In regard to claim 12, Akiyama et al discloses:
Example I Saccharomyces cerevisiae NCYC232 (K+ type killer), Saccharomyces cerevisiae AST20413 (PBRM P-8407, K2 type killer), Saccharomyces cerevisiae NCYC761 (Ni3 type killer), Hansenula murakii NCYC500 (K type killer), and Candida vinea SW55 (FBRM P-8350, new type killer) (page 3 of machine translation).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791