Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 discloses “the a pulltab card” whereas it should be “the pulltab card” (ie: remove the “a”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7 discloses “the vending machine” whereas it should be “the pulltab-card vending machine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 13-14 discloses “the vending machine” whereas it should be “the pulltab-card vending machine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 discloses “the vending machine” whereas it should be “the pulltab-card vending machine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the “valid” signal" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the drive belt" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz,II et al, US 5949042 (Dietz) in view of Campo et al., US 20140117618 (Campo).
Regarding Claim 1. Dietz discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry of a pulltab-card collector, cause the processing circuitry to:
receive, from a proximal sensor of the pulltab-card collector, a first signal indicative of a pulltab card positioned within the proximal sensor (Fig 4, elem 74; Col 6, lines 54-63. There is a positioning sensor for detecting the pulltab card.);
responsive to receiving the first signal from the proximal sensor, activate a stepper motor to advance the pulltab card into the pulltab-card collector (Col 6, lines 63-66. When a pulltab is determined to be in position, rollers are activated to feed the pulltab card into the machine.);
responsive to receiving the first signal from the proximal sensor, activate an optical scanner configured to scan an upper surface of the pulltab card as the stepper motor advances the pulltab card into the pulltab-card collector (Fig 5, elem 78; Col 6, line 63 to Col 7, line 32. A validation code reader is used for scanning the upper surface of the pulltab card to determine it legitimacy);
receive, from a distal sensor of the pulltab-card collector, a second signal indicative of the pulltab card positioned within the distal sensor (Fig 5, elem 82; Col 7, lines 15-32. A second sensor is used for feeding the card into a bin.).
Deitz failed to disclose responsive to receiving the second signal from the distal sensor, deactivate the stepper motor.
However, Campo discloses of a game card processing device in which can be fed game cards that can sense when a card is being fed into it to in order to initiate the spinning of motors so that the card could be advances the card into the feeder so that it could reach a second position where there is a sensor for sensing the cards presence so that the motors could be deactivated/stopped so that a scanner could be used to read a code on the card (para 49).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Campo’s teachings with Dietz because it would allow the pulltab-card collector of Dietz to be fed a pull-tab card wherein the driver rollers of Dietz could be deactivated when a second sensor senses the position of the pull-tab card within the pull-tab card collect as taught by Campo. Otherwise, if the driver rollers of Dietz is not deactivate, in instances where the pull-tab card is fed into the pull-tab card collector incorrectly, the validation code of the pull-tab card would not be in a proper position so that the validation code of the pull-tab card could be read by the validation code reader of Dietz.
Regarding Claim 2. Dietz and Campo disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 1, Dietz further disclosing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from the optical scanner, a prize-verification code indicative of a scannable code printed on the pulltab card (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32);
transmit the prize-verification code from the optical scanner to a hard drive of a pulltab- card vending machine (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5).
Regarding Claim 3. Dietz and Campo disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 2, Dietz further disclosing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from the hard drive of the pulltab-card vending machine, a "valid" signal indicating that the pulltab card is a valid, winning card (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5);
responsive to receiving the "valid" signal, activating the stepper motor to advance the pulltab card into a secure receptacle within the pulltab-card vending machine (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5).
Claims 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz,II et al, US 5949042 (Dietz) in view of Thielemans et al., US 20040212582 (Thielemans) and Campo et al., US 20140117618 (Campo)
Regarding Claim 6. A pulltab-card collector comprising:
a housing (Fig 2);
an optical scanner (Fig 5, elem 78);
a proximal sensor (Fig 5, elem 74);
a distal sensor (Fig 5, elem 82); and
processing circuitry configured to:
receive, from the proximal sensor, a first signal indicating that the a pulltab card is positioned within the proximal sensor (Fig 4, elem 74; Col 6, lines 54-63);
responsive to receiving the first signal, activate the stepper motor to advance the pulltab card into the housing (Col 6, lines 63-66), and
activate the optical scanner to scan an upper surface of the pulltab card (Fig 5, elem 78; Col 6, line 63 to Col 7, line 32);
receive, from the distal sensor, a second signal indicative of the pulltab card positioned within the distal sensor (Fig 5, elem 82; Col 7, lines 15-32).
While Dietz discloses of the implantation of rollers for to draw a pulltab card into the housing (Col 6, line 61 to Col 7, line 4), Dietz failed to disclose of a stepper motor; a drive belt configured to receive rotational motion from the stepper motor to draw a pulltab card into the housing.
However, Theilemans discloses that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill that stepper motors can be mechanically connected to rollers via well-known methods, such as belts, pulleys, gears, or a direct connection, thereby providing controlled rotation of rollers at a fixed rotational speed, or in controlled increments (para 56).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Thielemans’ teachings with Dietz because it would provide the rollers of Dietz with controlled rotation of rollers at a fixed rotational speed, or in controlled increments as taught by Thielemans.
Dietz and Thielemans failed to disclose responsive to receiving the second signal from the distal sensor, deactivate the stepper motor.
However, Campo discloses of a game card processing device in which can be fed game cards that can sense when a card is being fed into it to in order to initiate the spinning of motors so that the card could be advances the card into the feeder so that it could reach a second position where there is a sensor for sensing the cards presence so that the motors could be deactivated/stopped so that a scanner could be used to read a code on the card (para 49).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Campo’s teachings with Dietz and Thielemans because it would allow the pulltab-card collector of Dietz to be fed a pull-tab card wherein the driver rollers of Dietz could be deactivated when a second sensor senses the position of the pull-tab card within the pull-tab card collect as taught by Campo. Otherwise, if the belt driven rollers of Dietz and Thielemans’ invention is not deactivate, in instances where the pull-tab card is fed into the pull-tab card collector incorrectly, the validation code of the pull-tab card would not be in a proper position so that the validation code of the pull-tab card could be read by the validation code reader of Dietz.
Regarding Claim 7. Dietz and Theilemans and Campo disclose the pulltab-card collector of claim 6, Dietz further disclosing wherein the housing comprises a left sidewall, a right sidewall, and a top wall, and wherein the top wall defines a scanning aperture (Fig 2, elem 32; Fig 5, elem 78; Col 4, line 59 to Col 5, line 8. The figures depict the portion of the pull-tab collector in which a pull-tab card is inserted. This is interpreted as having a left sidewall, a right sidewall, and a top wall as it would allow for the pull-tab card to be easily fed into the pull-tab collector correctly. Furthermore, since the validation code reader (Fig 5, elem 78) is located at the top to where the pull-tab card is inserted, this is interpreted as the top wall defining a scanning aperture.).
Regarding Claim 14. Dietz and Theilemans and Campo disclose the pulltab-card collector of claim 6, Dietz further disclosing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive a prize-verification code from the optical scanner (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5);
transmit the prize-verification code to a hard drive of a pulltab-card vending machine (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5);
receive a "Verified" indication signal from the hard drive of the pulltab-card vending machine (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5); and
activate the stepper motor to advance the pulltab card into a secure receptacle (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz,II et al, US 5949042 (Dietz) and Thielemans et al., US 20040212582 (Thielemans) and Campo et al., US 20140117618 (Campo) as applied to Claim 6, in in further view of Janicki, US 9599459 (Janicki)
Regarding Claim 8. Dietz and Theilemans and Campo disclose the pulltab-card collector of claim 6, but failed to a scanner mounting bracket configured to retain the optical scanner at a predetermined orientation relative to the drive belt.
However, Janicki discloses that it is well known a variety of mounting brackets for the placement of optical sensors relative to a belt can be used and are generally known and understood in the art (Col 7, lines 1-7)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that, since Dietz is directed towards the implementation of an optical scanner for scanning pull-tab cards, and Thielemans is directed towards a belt for driving the rollers of Dietz, the combination would be directed towards a scanner mounting bracket configured to retain the optical scanner at a predetermined orientation relative to the drive belt as it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art as taught by Janicki.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz,II et al, US 5949042 (Dietz) and Thielemans et al., US 20040212582 (Thielemans) and Campo et al., US 20140117618 (Campo) as applied to Claim 6, and in further view of Yuasa, US 4636815 (Yuasa)
Regarding Claim 11. Dietz and Theilemans and Campo disclose the pulltab-card collector of claim 6, but failed to disclose a pair of spring-biased rollers positioned above the drive belt.
However, Yuasa discloses that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art that rollers could be spring-biased as it would help maintain tension of the belt (Col 2, lines 6-26).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the spring-bias teachings of Yuasa with Dietz, Thielemans, and Campo as it would help maintain tension of the belt as taught by Yuasa.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz,II et al, US 5949042 (Dietz), and in further view of Roberts et al., US 20060035698 (Roberts)
Regarding Claim 16.
Dietz discloses a pulltab-card vending machine comprising:
a pulltab-card collector (Fig 2);
a digital memory (Col 7, lines 51-58); and
processing circuitry (Col 7, lines 51-58) configured to:
receive, from the pulltab-card collector, a prize-verification code indicative of a scanned barcode printed on a pulltab card (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5);
compare the prize-verification code to a set of game data stored in the digital memory (Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 28);
locate a matching entry for the prize-verification code within the game data and confirm that the matching entry has not already been redeemed (Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 28).
Dietz failed to disclose determine, based on the game data, a cash prize associated with the pulltab card; and apply a number of credits toward purchasing additional pulltab cards from the vending machine in an amount corresponding to the cash prize.
However, Roberts discloses of a pull-tab machine in which winning pull-tab cards can be redeemed in which the winnings from one game can be used to create credits in the machine for buying tickets in a different game from the same machine (Abstract).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since Dietz discloses individuals being able to redeem pull-tab cards for awards, such awards can be used for purchasing more pull-tab cards as taught by Roberts.
Regarding Claim 17. Dietz and Roberts disclose the pulltab-card vending machine of claim 16, Dietz further disclosing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transmit a "Verified" signal to the card collector to cause the card collector to advanced the pulltab card into a secure receptacle of the vending machine (Col 6, line 54 to Col 7, line 32; Col 7, line 59 to Col 8, line 5).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz,II et al, US 5949042 (Dietz) and Roberts et al., US 20060035698 (Roberts), as applied to Claim 16, and in further view of Thielemans et al., US 20040212582 (Thielemans) Yuasa, US 4636815 (Yuasa)
Regarding Claim 20. Dietz and Roberts disclose the pulltab-card vending machine of claim 16, but failed to disclose wherein the pulltab-card collector further comprises a pair of spring-loaded rollers positioned above the drive belt.
While Dietz discloses of the implantation of rollers for to draw a pulltab card into the housing (Col 6, line 61 to Col 7, line 4), Dietz failed to disclose of a stepper motor; a drive belt configured to receive rotational motion from the stepper motor to draw a pulltab card into the housing.
However, Theilemans discloses that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill that stepper motors can be mechanically connected to rollers via well-known methods, such as belts, pulleys, gears, or a direct connection, thereby providing controlled rotation of rollers at a fixed rotational speed, or in controlled increments (para 56).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Thielemans’ teachings with Dietz and Roberts because it would provide the rollers of Dietz with controlled rotation of rollers at a fixed rotational speed, or in controlled increments as taught by Thielemans.
Furthermore, Yuasa discloses that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art that rollers could be spring-biased as it would help maintain tension of the belt (Col 2, lines 6-26).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the spring-bias teachings of Yuasa with Dietz and Roberts and Theilemans as it would help maintain tension of the belt as taught by Yuasa.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9-10, 12-13, 15 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fernandez-Dorado et al., US 20190018993. Code reader with extended reading range: discloses of optimal degrees in which a scanning device should be mounted so that it could read code accurately. While this reference is pertinent towards the claimed invention (namely Claims 9 and 18), the Examiner believes there lacks reasonable motivation to combine a code-reader device and teachings of Fernandez-Dorado with the primary reference of this Office Action (namely: Dietz,II et al, US 5949042) in the context of the instant invention as disclosed in the instant invention’s specification.
/JEFFREY K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715