DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ambrose et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2013/0122223.
Regarding claims 1-4, 8-12, 14, Ambrose discloses a substrate coated with a waterborne coating comprising a hydrogen-containing film-forming resin and a crosslinker [abstract and 0009]. See also reference claim 1. Paragraphs 0013 and 0019 disclose that the hydrogen-containing fil-forming resin can include polyurethane. Paragraph 0019 discloses polyester polyurethanes. Paragraphs 0031 and 0036 disclose that the composition can include a colorant in the form of discrete particles. Paragraph 0044 discloses that the substrate can include textiles, yarn, polymer fibers such as nylons, polyesters, polyethylene terephthalate, KEVLAR, polyamides, and nonwoven glass. Paragraph 0045 discloses an article of manufacture comprising footwear having components such as soles, midsole sand uppers. It is disclosed in paragraph 0046 that the coating can be on exterior surface and is visible on the exterior or outside of the final product. Paragraph 0048 discloses that the coating compositions can be applied to flexible substrates including textiles. Paragraph 0058 discloses that the composition is cured.
Regarding claim 6, paragraph 0033 discloses that the pigment can include carbon black.
Regarding claim 7, Ambrose discloses the same component of an article of footwear. The term “plate” in the claim does not limit the structure. The term “plate” is reciting purpose or intended use.
Regarding claim 13, paragraph 0044 discloses that the substrate can include nonwoven glass [bundle of fibers].
Claims 5 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ambrose et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2013/0122223, as evidenced by Wikipedia, Thermoplastic Polyurethane.
Regarding claims 5 and 15-20, Ambrose discloses a substrate coated with a waterborne coating comprising a hydrogen-containing film-forming resin and a crosslinker [abstract and 0009]. Paragraphs 0013 and 0019 disclose that the hydrogen-containing fil-forming resin can include polyurethane. Paragraphs 0031 and 0036 disclose that the composition can include a colorant in the form of discrete particles. Paragraph 0044 discloses that the substrate can include textiles, yarn, polymer fibers such as nylons, polyesters, polyethylene terephthalate, KEVLAR, polyamides, and nonwoven glass. Paragraph 0045 discloses an article of manufacture comprising footwear having components such as soles, midsole sand uppers. It is disclosed in paragraph 0046 that the coating can be on exterior surface and is visible on the exterior or outside of the final product. Paragraph 0048 discloses that the coating compositions can be applied to flexible substrates including textiles. Paragraph 0058 discloses that the composition is cured. The abstract, [0010], [0043] and [0044] discloses that the article of manufacture includes at least two different flexible substrates coated with the waterborne coating composition. Paragraph 0044 discloses that the substrate can include thermoplastic urethane [TPU]. Paragraph 0044 also discloses that the substrate can include textiles, yarn, polymer fibers such as nylons, polyesters, polyethylene terephthalate, KEVLAR, polyamides, and nonwoven glass. Paragraph 0043 discloses first and second flexible substrates different from each other. Wikipedia, Thermoplastic Polyurethane discloses that TPU is transparent.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,723,429. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application and the patented reference recite
A component of an article of footwear comprising: one or more fiber(s); and a cured coating disposed on the one or more fiber(s) as at least one coated fiber, the cured coating including a plurality of pigment particles entrapped in a matrix of crosslinked polyurethane homopolymers or copolymers or both, wherein the cured coating is an elastomeric cured coating, and wherein the at least one coated fiber is visible on or through an externally-facing surface of the article of footwear as per instant claims 1, 7 and 9-10 and patented claims 1 and 15.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the matrix of crosslinked polymers include crosslinked polyester polyurethane as per instant claims 2 and 11 and patented claim 2.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the one or more coated fibers include thermoplastic polyurethane fibers, thermoplastic polyamide fibers, thermoplastic polyester fibers, thermoplastic polyether fibers, thermoplastic polyolefin fibers and any combination thereof as per instant claim 2, 9 and 11 and patented claims 3, 11 and 16.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at one coated fiber includes glass fiber, carbon fiber, boron fiber and any combinations thereof as per instant claim 3 and patented claim 3.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is present in a yarn and the coating is disposed on an outer surface of the yarn, or wherein the one or more coated fibers are present in a textile and the coating s disposed on the externally facing of the textile as per instant claims 4 and 8 and 18 and patented claim 4.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is attached to a composite component and consolidated with a substantially transparent resin material, wherein the substantially transparent resin material is a substantially transparent thermoplastic polyurethane resin material or a substantially transparent cured epoxy resin material as per instant claims 6 and 15 and patented claim 5
. The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the pigment particles are selected from the group consisting of metal and metal oxide pigments, carbon pigments, clay earth pigments, ultramarine pigments and a combination thereof as per instant claim 6 and patented claim 10.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the component is a plate as per instant claim 7 and patented claims 1 and 11.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is present in the form of a tow as per instant claim 13 and patented claim 15.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9-13 and 15-19 of U.S. Patent No..12,266,274.
A component of an article of footwear comprising: one or more fiber(s); and a cured coating disposed on the one or more fiber(s) as at least one coated fiber, the cured coating including a plurality of pigment particles entrapped in a matrix of crosslinked polyurethane homopolymers or copolymers or both, wherein the cured coating is an elastomeric cured coating, and wherein the at least one coated fiber is visible on or through an externally-facing surface of the article of footwear as per instant claims 1 10 and patented claims 1, 11 and 20.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the matrix of crosslinked polymers include crosslinked polyester polyurethane as per instant claim 2 and patented claim 2.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the one or more coated fibers include thermoplastic polyurethane fibers, thermoplastic polyamide fibers, thermoplastic polyester fibers, thermoplastic polyether fibers, thermoplastic polyolefin fibers and any combination thereof as per instant claim 2, 9, 11 and 16 and patented claim 3 and 12
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at one coated fiber includes glass fiber, carbon fiber, boron fiber and any combinations thereof as per instant claim 3, 12 and 17 and patented claims 4 and 13.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is present in a yarn and the coating is disposed on an outer surface of the yarn, or wherein the one or more coated fibers are present in a textile and the coating s disposed on the externally facing of the textile as per instant claims 4, 8 and 18 and patented claims 5 and 6.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is attached to a composite component and consolidated with a substantially transparent resin material, wherein the substantially transparent resin material is a substantially transparent thermoplastic polyurethane resin material or a substantially transparent cured epoxy resin material as per instant claims 5, 15 and 19 and patented claims 7-9 and 20.
. The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the pigment particles are selected from the group consisting of metal and metal oxide pigments, carbon pigments, clay earth pigments, ultramarine pigments and a combination thereof as per instant claim 6 and patented claim 10.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the component is a plate as per instant claim 7 and patented claims 1 and 11.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is present in the form of a tow as per instant claim 13 and patented claim 15.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,464,281
A component of an article of footwear comprising: one or more fiber(s); and a cured coating disposed on the one or more fiber(s) as at least one coated fiber, the cured coating including a plurality of pigment particles entrapped in a matrix of crosslinked polyurethane homopolymers or copolymers or both, wherein the cured coating is an elastomeric cured coating, and wherein the at least one coated fiber is visible on or through an externally-facing surface of the article of footwear as per instant claims 1, 5 and 10 and patented claims 1, 11 and 20.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the matrix of crosslinked polymers include crosslinked polyester polyurethane as per instant claim 2 and patented claim 2.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the one or more coated fibers include thermoplastic polyurethane fibers, thermoplastic polyamide fibers, thermoplastic polyester fibers, thermoplastic polyether fibers, thermoplastic polyolefin fibers and any combination thereof as per instant claim 2, 9, 11 and 16 and patented claim 3 and 12
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at one coated fiber includes glass fiber, carbon fiber, boron fiber and any combinations thereof as per instant claim 3, 12 and 17 and patented claims 4 and 13.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is present in a yarn and the coating is disposed on an outer surface of the yarn, or wherein the one or more coated fibers are present in a textile and the coating s disposed on the externally facing of the textile as per instant claims 4, 8 and 18 and patented claims 5 and 6.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is attached to a composite component and consolidated with a substantially transparent resin material, wherein the substantially transparent resin material is a substantially transparent thermoplastic polyurethane resin material or a substantially transparent cured epoxy resin material as per instant claims 5, 15 and 19 and patented claims 7-9 and 20.
. The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the pigment particles are selected from the group consisting of metal and metal oxide pigments, carbon pigments, clay earth pigments, ultramarine pigments and a combination thereof as per instant claim 6 and patented claim 10.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the component is a plate as per instant claim 7 and patented claims 1 and 11.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is present in the form of a tow as per instant claim 13 and patented claim 15.
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-9 of U.S. Patent No.. 10,980,310.
A component of an article of footwear comprising: one or more fiber(s); and a cured coating disposed on the one or more fiber(s) as at least one coated fiber, the cured coating including a plurality of pigment particles entrapped in a matrix of crosslinked polyurethane homopolymers or copolymers or both, wherein the cured coating is an elastomeric cured coating, and wherein the at least one coated fiber is visible on or through an externally-facing surface of the article of footwear as per instant claims 1 10 and patented claim 1.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the matrix of crosslinked polymers include crosslinked polyester polyurethane as per instant claim 2 and patented claim 2.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the one or more coated fibers include thermoplastic polyurethane fibers, thermoplastic polyamide fibers, thermoplastic polyester fibers, thermoplastic polyether fibers, thermoplastic polyolefin fibers and any combination thereof as per instant claim 2, 9, 11 and 16 and patented claim 3.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at one coated fiber includes glass fiber, carbon fiber, boron fiber and any combinations thereof as per instant claim 3, 12 and 17 and patented claim 4.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is present in a yarn and the coating is disposed on an outer surface of the yarn, or wherein the one or more coated fibers are present in a textile and the coating s disposed on the externally facing of the textile as per instant claims 4, 8 and 18 and patented claim 6.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the at least one coated fiber is attached to a composite component and consolidated with a substantially transparent resin material, wherein the substantially transparent resin material is a substantially transparent thermoplastic polyurethane resin material or a substantially transparent cured epoxy resin material as per instant claims 5, 15 and 19 and patented claims 1 and 9.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the component is a plate as per instant claim 7 and patented claim 9.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786