CTNF 19/074,077 CTNF 88715 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to application 19/074,077 filed 3/7/2025. Claims 2-12 are presented for examination. Double Patenting 08-33 The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) - 706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based e-Terminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An e-Terminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about e-Terminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. Instant Application 19/067,045 independent claims 2, 11, 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims 1, 8, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12250433 and independent claims 1, 20, 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11863837 in combination with dependent claims (see table below). Instant Application 19/067,045 independent claims 2, 11, 12 are not patentably distinct from independent claims 1, 8, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12250433, Both the instant claim and the parent claims are directed to the same underlying invention of detecting a condition associated with content at an electronic device and, in response to that detection, presenting selectable content via a display device, including augmented reality content. Any differences between the claims relate only to the particular source of the detected condition (e.g., playback position versus camera capture) and the specific form of number of presented options, which constitute obvious design choices. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the parent claims (see table below). Instant Application 19/074,077 Parent Pat 12250433 Not Patentably Distinct Independent Claims 2, 11, 12: at an electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices: while playing a first content item, detecting that playback of the first content item has reached a respective playback position within the first content item; and in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item, displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content. Dependent Claims: Claims 3: Claims 4: Claims 5 Claims 6 Claims 7 Claims 8 Claims 9 Independent Claims 1, 8, 9: at a first electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices: while a live representation of what a camera of the first electronic device is currently capturing is visible via the display device, detecting that a respective portion of a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, is being captured by the camera of the first electronic device; and in response to detecting that the respective portion of the second electronic device is being captured by the camera of the first electronic device, displaying, via the display device, a selectable option displaying, via the display device, a selectable option that is selectable to initiate display of respective augmented reality content associated with the second electronic device. a selectable option that is selectable to initiate display of respective augmented reality content associated with the second electronic device. initiate display of respective augmented reality content associated with the second electronic device. Dependent Claims: Claim 11: Claim 12: Claim 10, 16 Claim 14, 20 Claim 15, 21 Claim 13, 19 Claim 9 Analysis: Same preamble environment (electronic device with display and inputs) Both detect a triggering condition; source differs (playback vs camera) but is an interchangeable variation. Both, in response to detection, display a UI element; plurality vs single option is a UI design variation. Both determine/reflect association with AR content; same functional association. Both require user selection/input to choose AR content. Both initiate display of AR content in response to the selection. Analysis: same same same same same same same Instant Application 19/074,077 Parent Pat 11863837 Not Patentably Distinct Independent Claims 2, 11, 12: at an electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices: while playing a first content item, detecting that playback of the first content item has reached a respective playback position within the first content item; and in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item, displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content. Dependent Claims: Claim 3 Claim 4 Claim 5 Claim 6 Claim 7 Claim 8 Claim 9 Claim 10 Independent Claims 1, 20, 21: at an electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices: detecting that playback of content has reached a respective playback position; and in response to detecting that the playback of the content has reached the respective playback position: in accordance with a determination that the respective playback position in the content is associated with respective augmented reality content corresponding to the content, and before initiating a process for displaying the respective augmented reality content, providing a notification for display on a second electronic device, separate from the electronic device, the notification of the respective augmented reality content available based on the playback of the content, wherein input directed to the notification on the second electronic device initiates the process for displaying of the respective augmented reality content, wherein the respective augmented reality content is different from the content being played back; and in accordance with a determination that the respective playback position in the content is not associated with the respective augmented reality content, forgoing providing the notification for display on the second electronic device. Dependent Claims: Claim 27, 44 Claim 26, 43 Claim 28, 45 Claim 29, 46 Claim 30, 47 Claim 31, 48 Claim 32, 49 Claim 22, 40 Analysis: Same preamble environment (electronic device with display and inputs). Same detection of playback position. Both respond to playback detection by presenting AR-related content. Both determine association with AR content. Both require user input to initiate AR display. Both control initiation/withholding of AR display Analysis: same same same same same same same same Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-4, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak et al., Pat No US 9,596,386 (hereafter Polak) and in view Perez et al., Pub No US 2012/0154557 (hereafter Perez) . Regarding Claim 2, Polak discloses a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices [col.6 lines 27-35: Discloses the host interface 170 can support communication with a hosting device … the host interface 160 can allow the media synchronization system 100 to access certain functions/features of the mobile device (e.g., microphone, speaker, processors, memory, storage, display, etc.). Thus, a device interfacing with a host device and accessing input/output components, corresponding to communication with display and input devices] : while playing a first content item, detecting that playback of the first content item has reached a respective playback position within the first content item [col.5 lines 11-13: Discloses the fingerprint matcher 130 can locate a timestamp corresponding to the reference acoustic fingerprint. Thus, teaches determining playback position via locating a timestamp. Corresponds to media content.] ; and in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item [col.5 lines 32-34: Discloses in some embodiments, the active media manager 140 can trigger the second media data based on the timestamp. Teaches triggering an action based on playback position (timestamp).] , Polak does not explicitly disclose the following (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Polak): in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item, displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content. However, in analogous art, Perez discloses the following: displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback [FIG.15B, para.0149: Discloses determine user's intent to interact with a choice displayed by a menu (block 756) and discloses receive user's selection of a menu choice based on the user's intent (block 758). Teaches a menu presenting multiple selectable choices, which correspond to a plurality of representations of additional content items available for selection and playback.] , wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item [FIGS.15A-15B, para(s).0143, 0149: Discloses extract augmented content related to identified object(s) (block 734) and retrieve augmented content/audio information related to the menu choice (block 760).Thus, teaches augmented content associated with identified objects and menu choices, corresponding to augmented reality content associated with a first content item, and multiple selectable representations including augmented content and other content.] ; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content [FIG.15B, para.0149: Discloses receive user's selection of a menu choice based on the user's intent (block 758). Teaches receiving a user selection of a menu choice via input devices, corresponding to selecting a representation of augmented reality content.] ; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content [FIGS.15A-15B, para(s).0145, 0149: Discloses retrieve augmented content/audio information related to the menu choice (block 760) and discloses project the augmented content over or near the identified object(s) (block 738).Thus, teaches augmented content in response to user selection and projecting the augmented content over identified objects, corresponding to initiating a process to display augmented reality content.] . Polak teaches detecting playback of media content reaching a particular position and triggering additional media based on a timestamp, thereby establishing a framework for context-based content activation. Perez teaches presenting multiple selectable content representations via a menu interface, receiving user selection input, retrieving augmented reality content associated with the selection, and projecting such augmented content over identified objects in an environment. It would have been obvious to combine these teachings to enhance user interaction by enabling context-aware triggering of selectable augmented reality content, allowing a user to select from multiple representations of content and initiate display of corresponding augmented reality content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak with these features, as taught by Perez in order to yield predictable result such as enhancing and optimizing the visualized information displayed to the user [Perez: para.0003]. Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Polak and Perez disclose the method of claim 2, and further discloses wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is not associated with the respective augmented reality content [Polak – col.10 lines 32-36: Discloses the reference acoustic fingerprint 240, which can be pre-generated from the reference audio file 210, can be downloaded (e.g., to a mobile device) separately or as part of the active audio file 220. In some situations, only a portion of the reference fingerprint 240 is associated with or embedded within the active audio file 220. Thus, Polak teaches that the reference content can be provided separately from the active content, and that only a portion of the reference content is associated with the active content, such that a remaining portion is not associated with the active content; and Perez – 0101-0103: Further discloses determining system behavior based on content conditions, including selectively triggering processing based on such determination.] , the set of the plurality of representations of content includes the one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item being played back [Polak – col.4 lines 4-7: Discloses the user can hear the downloaded audio file (e.g., dubbed in a different language) from the mobile device while watching the movie being played. Polak teaches additional content different from the primary content being played.] , and does not include the representation of the respective augmented reality content [Polak – col.4 lines 4-7: Discloses the user can hear the downloaded audio file (e.g., dubbed in a different language) from the mobile device while watching the movie being played. Thereby, providing a representation of content different from the primary content. In such an implementation, the downloaded audio constitutes an alternative content representation presented to the user, distinct from the primary content, without requiring representation of the corresponding primary audio representation.] . This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2. Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Polak and Perez disclose the method of claim 2, and Perez further discloses wherein displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content includes displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content in a user interface element that is dynamically updated to include respective representations of content [para.0097: Discloses that the application may present a graphical user interface that provides a consistent user experience when navigating different media types, and further that messages (e.g., pop-ups) may be rendered in an overlay, thereby indicating dynamically updated user interface elements.] based on a content consumption history of a user account associated with the electronic device [para.0098, 0133-0136: Discloses that users interact with media by watching movies and listening to music, and the user-specific information, including preferences and past interactions, is stored in a user profile database and later accessed to determine and present augmented content, thereby reflecting prior content consumption associated with the user account.] . Regarding Claim 11, Polak discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors [col.4 lines 35-45, and col.6 lines 30-36: Discloses processors.] ; memory [col.6 lines 34-35: Discloses memory.] ; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions [col.16 lines 1-10: Discloses the processor can execute computer instructions or computer code that is stored in memory to perform desired tasks.] for: while playing a first content item, detecting that playback of the first content item has reached a respective playback position within the first content item [col.5 lines 11-13: Discloses the fingerprint matcher 130 can locate a timestamp corresponding to the reference acoustic fingerprint. Thus, teaches determining playback position via locating a timestamp. Corresponds to media content.] ; and in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item [col.5 lines 32-34: Discloses in some embodiments, the active media manager 140 can trigger the second media data based on the timestamp. Teaches triggering an action based on playback position (timestamp).] , Polak does not explicitly disclose the following (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Polak): in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item, displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content. However, in analogous art, Perez discloses the following: displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback [FIG.15B, para.0149: Discloses determine user's intent to interact with a choice displayed by a menu (block 756) and discloses receive user's selection of a menu choice based on the user's intent (block 758). Teaches a menu presenting multiple selectable choices, which correspond to a plurality of representations of additional content items available for selection and playback.] , wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item [FIGS.15A-15B, para(s).0143, 0149: Discloses extract augmented content related to identified object(s) (block 734) and retrieve augmented content/audio information related to the menu choice (block 760).Thus, teaches augmented content associated with identified objects and menu choices, corresponding to augmented reality content associated with a first content item, and multiple selectable representations including augmented content and other content.] ; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content [FIG.15B, para.0149: Discloses receive user's selection of a menu choice based on the user's intent (block 758). Teaches receiving a user selection of a menu choice via input devices, corresponding to selecting a representation of augmented reality content.] ; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content [FIGS.15A-15B, para(s).0145, 0149: Discloses retrieve augmented content/audio information related to the menu choice (block 760) and discloses project the augmented content over or near the identified object(s) (block 738).Thus, teaches augmented content in response to user selection and projecting the augmented content over identified objects, corresponding to initiating a process to display augmented reality content.] . Polak teaches detecting playback of media content reaching a particular position and triggering additional media based on a timestamp, thereby establishing a framework for context-based content activation. Perez teaches presenting multiple selectable content representations via a menu interface, receiving user selection input, retrieving augmented reality content associated with the selection, and projecting such augmented content over identified objects in an environment. It would have been obvious to combine these teachings to enhance user interaction by enabling context-aware triggering of selectable augmented reality content, allowing a user to select from multiple representations of content and initiate display of corresponding augmented reality content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak with these features, as taught by Perez in order to yield predictable result such as enhancing and optimizing the visualized information displayed to the user [Perez: para.0003]. Regarding Claim 12, Polak discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform [col.16 lines 1-10: Discloses the processor can execute computer instructions or computer code that is stored in non-transitory computer readable storage medium to perform desired tasks.] a method comprising: while playing a first content item, detecting that playback of the first content item has reached a respective playback position within the first content item [col.5 lines 11-13: Discloses the fingerprint matcher 130 can locate a timestamp corresponding to the reference acoustic fingerprint. Thus, teaches determining playback position via locating a timestamp. Corresponds to media content.] ; and in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item [col.5 lines 32-34: Discloses in some embodiments, the active media manager 140 can trigger the second media data based on the timestamp. Teaches triggering an action based on playback position (timestamp).] , Polak does not explicitly disclose the following (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Polak): in response to detecting that the playback of the first content item has reached the respective playback position within the first content item, displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content. However, in analogous art, Perez discloses the following: displaying, via the display device, a set of a plurality of representations of content that are additional content items that are available for playback [FIG.15B, para.0149: Discloses determine user's intent to interact with a choice displayed by a menu (block 756) and discloses receive user's selection of a menu choice based on the user's intent (block 758). Teaches a menu presenting multiple selectable choices, which correspond to a plurality of representations of additional content items available for selection and playback.] , wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is associated with respective augmented reality content, different from the first content item, the set of the plurality of representations of content includes a representation of the respective augmented reality content and one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item [FIGS.15A-15B, para(s).0143, 0149: Discloses extract augmented content related to identified object(s) (block 734) and retrieve augmented content/audio information related to the menu choice (block 760).Thus, teaches augmented content associated with identified objects and menu choices, corresponding to augmented reality content associated with a first content item, and multiple selectable representations including augmented content and other content.] ; while displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content including the representation of the respective augmented reality content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the representation of the respective augmented reality content [FIG.15B, para.0149: Discloses receive user's selection of a menu choice based on the user's intent (block 758). Teaches receiving a user selection of a menu choice via input devices, corresponding to selecting a representation of augmented reality content.] ; and in response to receiving the representation of the respective augmented reality content, initiating a process to display the respective augmented reality content [FIGS.15A-15B, para(s).0145, 0149: Discloses retrieve augmented content/audio information related to the menu choice (block 760) and discloses project the augmented content over or near the identified object(s) (block 738).Thus, teaches augmented content in response to user selection and projecting the augmented content over identified objects, corresponding to initiating a process to display augmented reality content.] . Polak teaches detecting playback of media content reaching a particular position and triggering additional media based on a timestamp, thereby establishing a framework for context-based content activation. Perez teaches presenting multiple selectable content representations via a menu interface, receiving user selection input, retrieving augmented reality content associated with the selection, and projecting such augmented content over identified objects in an environment. It would have been obvious to combine these teachings to enhance user interaction by enabling context-aware triggering of selectable augmented reality content, allowing a user to select from multiple representations of content and initiate display of corresponding augmented reality content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak with these features, as taught by Perez in order to yield predictable result such as enhancing and optimizing the visualized information displayed to the user [Perez: para.0003] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak et al., Pat No US 9,596,386 (hereafter Polak) and in view Perez et al., Pub No US 2012/0154557 (hereafter Perez) and further in view of Carter et al., Pat No US 10,462,535 (hereafter Carter) . Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Polak and Perez disclose the method of claim 2, and Perez further discloses wherein initiating the process to display the respective augmented reality content [para.0061-0062: Discloses determining when and how to provide a virtual image to the user and sending instructions for display.] includes causing the respective augmented reality content to be displayed [para.0066-0067: Discloses inserting a virtual image into the user’s field of view based on determined conditions.] . The combined teachings do not explicitly disclose via a second electronic device, different from the electronic device. However, in analogous art, Carter discloses communicating and interacting across multiple devices, including initiating actions and displaying content via a different electronic device. For example, Carter teaches “the user's actions on a device of media center 105 can instigate an action on mobile device 135, or the user's actions on mobile device 135 can instigate an action on a device of media center 105 (col.6 lines 1-6, FIG.1). Carter further discloses that “the user can use internet enabled device 115 to initiate display of a video on the TV of media center 105. The initiation of the display of the video can prompt information regarding the video to be displayed on mobile device 135. As a second example, the user can use internet enabled device 115 to initiate display of a video on mobile device 135 (col.6 lines 6-13, FIG.1). Thus, Carter teaches initiating and causing display of content via a second electronic device different from the electronic device, thereby suggesting the claimed feature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak and Perez with displaying on a second electronic device, different from the electronic device, as taught by Carter in order to yield predictable result such as enabling seamless multi-device interaction and coordinated presentation of content across devices, thereby improving user accessibility and flexibility in consuming and interacting with video content (Carter: col.6 lines 1-13). This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2. Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Polak and Perez disclose the method of claim 2, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more representations of content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item being played back, include content recommended to a user account associated with the electronic device. However, in analogous art, Carter discloses determining and associating content for a user based on user-specific data, including “the user's video viewing preferences,” (col.10 lines 29-30), “user’s profile data” (col.9 lines 24-27), and “the user’s viewing history” (col.3-4). Carter further teaches that such data is used to identify and associate relevant video content for presentation to the user, thereby providing content tailored to the user (col.9 lines 7-8, col.10 lines 15-24). Thus, Carter teaches one or more representations of content including content recommended to a user account associated with the electronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak and Perez to include recommending content based on user account data, as taught by Carter in order to yield predictable result such as providing personalized and relevant content to the user, thereby improving user engagement and content accessibility (Carter: col.10 lines 20-40). Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Polak and Perez disclose the method of claim 2, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the set of representations of content includes displaying the set of representations of content overlaid on the first content item being played back. However, in analogous art, Carter discloses an overlay display that appears on the lower portion of the screen and overlays a portion of the still running video (ABSTARCT, col.1 lines 40-42). Thus, Carter explicitly teaches displaying overlay elements on top of a video while the video continues to play, which teaches displaying representations of content overlaid on a content item being played back. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak and Perez to include displaying the set of representations of content includes displaying the representations of content overlaid, as taught by Carter in order to yield predictable result such as providing personalized and contextually relevant information during playback, thereby improving user engagement and content accessibility (Carter: col.10 lines 20-40) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak et al., Pat No US 9,596,386 (hereafter Polak) and in view Perez et al., Pub No US 2012/0154557 (hereafter Perez) and further in view of Prada Gomez et al., Pat No US 10, 8,558,759 (hereafter Prada) . Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Polak and Perez disclose the method of claim 2, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content includes displaying a first representation of the set of the plurality of representations of content having focus, the method further comprising: while displaying the set of representations of content including the first representation having focus, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input; and in response to detecting the input: in accordance with a determination that the first representation corresponds to the respective augmented reality content, initiating the process for displaying the respective augmented reality content; and in accordance with a determination that the first representation corresponds to content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item being played back, initiating a process for displaying the content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item being played back. However, in analogous art, Carter discloses the following: wherein displaying the set of the plurality of representations of content includes displaying a first representation of the set of the plurality of representations of content having focus [col.15 lines 49-52: Discloses that a hand gesture can serve as a user interface of a head-mounted display (HMD), providing functionality to visually select an item or object viewable with the wearable HMD, and then apply some action to, or carry out some action. Under BRI, “having focus” encompasses a representation being singled out or selected among multiple presentations. Prada’s discloses of visually selecting an item from objects within the field of view (FOV) necessarily implies that one representation is emphasized or distinguished (i.e., in focus) relative to others.] , the method further comprising: while displaying the set of representations of content including the first representation having focus, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input [col.17 lines 12-13: Discloses video data from the video camera could be analyzed for the presence and/or occurrence of a hand gesture. Prada discloses detecting user input via camera-based gesture recognition while content is being viewed, which satisfies detecting an input via an input device during display of content.] ; and in response to detecting the input [col.17 lines 11-12: Discloses upon determining that a triggering event has occurred. Thus, explicitly performs operations in response to detected input (triggering event), satisfying this conditional response limitation.] : in accordance with a determination that the first representation corresponds to the respective augmented reality content, initiating the process for displaying the respective augmented reality content [Col.15 lines 51-53: Discloses apply some action to, or carry out some action in relation to, an image of the visually-selected item or object. The selected item corresponds to AR content within the FOV. Initiating an action based on that selected representation reasonably reads on initiating display or processing of AR content under BRI.] ; and in accordance with a determination that the first representation corresponds to content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item being played back, initiating a process for displaying the content, different from the respective augmented reality content and the first content item being played back [col.20 lines 31-32: Discloses the HMD generates an image of the FOV bounded by the gesture. Prada generates new content (captured image of FOV) that is distinct from any currently viewed or selected AR object, thus reasonably corresponding to displaying different content based on the selected representation.] . Thus, Prada teaches displaying a set of representations of content including a first representation having focus, detecting an input via one or more input devices while the representations are displayed, and performing operations in response to the detected input. In particular, Prada’s disclosure of gesture-based input and selection within a field of view teaches detecting user input and identifying a selected (i.e. focused) representation, while further initiating actions based on that selection. Under BRI, such selection of a representation reasonably corresponds to determining that the representation corresponds to particular content and initiating display of corresponding content, including augmented reality content or different content associated with the selected representation. Accordingly, Prada teaches or at least suggests the claimed sequence of detecting input and initiating content display based on a focused representation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak and Perez to include displaying a focused representation, detecting user input, and initiating display of corresponding content based on the selected representation, as taught by Prada in order to yield predictable result such as enabling intuitive gesture-based selection and context-driven presentation of content within an augmented reality environment (Prada: col.15 lines 51-53; col.20 lines 31-32). Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Polak, Perez and Prada disclose the method of claim 8, and Prada further discloses wherein initiating the process for displaying the respective augmented reality content [col.18 lines 12-14: Discloses the identified hand gesture could, in turn, be used to signal or trigger an associated action or application on the HMD. Thus, explicitly ties gesture input to initiating an application or action, which corresponds to initiating a process for displaying AR content.] includes: in accordance with a determination that an application for displaying the respective augmented reality content is accessible on the electronic device, displaying, via the display device, the respective augmented reality content [col.15 lines 49-53: Discloses that a hand gesture can serve as a user interface of the HMD, providing functionality to visually select an item or object viewable with the wearable HMD, and then apply some action to, or carry out some action in relation to, an image of the visually-selected item or object; and col.16 lines 44-49: Discloses that the HMD can recognize that a hand gesture is being or has been made, and may then identify or match the recognized hand gesture against a library of known hand gestures in order to determine one or more actions to take or invoke in response to the gesture. Prada further discloses performing functionality at the HMD device. Under BRI, Prada’s disclosure of recognizing a gesture and performing functionality at the HMD reasonably corresponds to determining that functionality for displaying augmented reality content is available at the device, which in turn corresponds to the claimed determination that an application for displaying the augmented reality content is accessible on the electronic device. Accordingly, Prada further teaches initiating display of augmented reality content in response to detected input and performing functionality at the device.] ; and in accordance with a determination that the application for displaying the respective augmented reality content is not accessible on the electronic device, causing the respective augmented reality content to be displayed via a second electronic device, different from the electronic device [col.20 lines 35-36: Discloses that the HMD can transmit the hand gesture image to an external system, such as a social networking service, in a message. Under BRI, transmitting generated content to an external system (i.e., a social networking service) reasonably corresponds to causing the content to be provided to and accessible by a second device distinct from the HMD for presentation or use, thereby satisfying the limitation of causing the respective content to be displayed via a second device.] . This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak et al., Pat No US 9,596,386 (hereafter Polak) and in view Perez et al., Pub No US 2012/0154557 (hereafter Perez) and further in view of Briggs et al., Pat No US 8,312,486 (hereafter Briggs) . Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Polak and Perez disclose the method of claim 2, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein detecting that the playback of the content has reached the respective playback position includes detecting that the playback of the content has reached a predetermined position from an end of the first content item being played back. However, in analogous art, Briggs discloses a plurality of predefined cue points and a selection-enabled portion that allows a viewer of the video player to interactively retrieve further information (claim 9 col.6 lines 63-67) and further discloses that information concerning an advertisement or a corresponding cue point is displayed in a timeline upon triggering of at least one of plurality of predefined cue points (claim 13 col.8 lines 14-18). Thus, Briggs teaches predefined cue points corresponding to specific playback positions along a content timeline and triggering events when those positions are reached. Under BRI, such predefined cue points correspond to predetermined playback positions along a content timeline, including positions defined relative to a boundary of the content, such as an end portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Polak and Perez to include detecting that playback has reached predefined position from an end of the first content item being played back, as taught by Briggs in order to yield a predictable result such as enabling time-based triggering of interactive content at defined playback positions (Briggs: col.8 lines 14-18) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al., (US 2013/0346168) – Discloses an augmented reality eyeglass communication device for facilitating shopping and a method for facilitating shopping using the augmented reality eyeglass communication device. The eyeglass communication device allows a user to visually access information by simply looking through eyeglass lenses configured as a display [para.0018]. Further discloses the user interacts with virtual objects visualized in the virtual touch screen environment [claim 46]. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ADIL OCAK whose telephone number is (571) 272-2774. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nasser Goodarzi can be reached on 571-272-4195. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system; contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 2 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 3 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 4 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 5 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 6 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 7 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 8 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 9 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 10 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 11 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 12 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 13 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 14 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 15 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 16 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 17 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 18 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 19 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 20 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 21 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 22 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 23 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 24 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 25 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 26 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 27 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 28 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 29 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 30 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 31 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 32 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 33 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 34 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/074,077 Page 35 Art Unit: 2426