DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. application No. 18/523,628, filed on 11/29/2023, now US patent No. 12,279,385; which is a continuation of U.S. application 18/157,502, filed on 01/20/2023, now US patent No. 11,889,642; and which is a continuation of U.S. application No. 17/349,050, filed on 06/16/2021, now US patent No. 11,602,062; and which is a continuation of U.S. application No. 16/744,564, filed on 01/16/2020, now US patent No. 11,071,218.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 03/07/2025 has been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 03/07/2025 is acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,889,642. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, The [US 11,889,642] discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a housing configured to move between expanded and unexpanded states (Claim 18, lines 2-3);
a display in the housing, wherein the display is configured to wrap around a portion of the housing in the unexpanded state (Claim 18, lines 4 and 6-8); and
a support structure that supports the display in the expanded state, wherein the support structure is configured to wrap around the portion of the housing in the unexpanded state (claim 18, lines 11-14).
These features as claimed are disclosed in the claim 18 of the US patent No. 11,889,642.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,279,385. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, The [US 12,279,385] discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a housing configured to move between expanded and unexpanded states (Claim 1, lines 2-3);
a display in the housing, wherein the display is configured to wrap around a portion of the housing in the unexpanded state (Claim 1, lines 4 and 6-8); and
a support structure that supports the display in the expanded state, wherein the support structure is configured to wrap around the portion of the housing in the unexpanded state (claim 1, lines 9-12).
These features as claimed are disclosed in the claim 1 of the US patent No. 12,279,385.
Regarding claim 3, The [US 12,279,385] discloses wherein the support structure extends from the support members of the housing (Claim 2 of the US 12,279,385).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 2 of the US patent No. 12,279,385.
Regarding claim 4, The [US 12,279,385] discloses wherein the support members comprise interdigitated support members (Claim 3 of the US 12,279,385).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 3 of the US patent No. 12,279,385.
Regarding claim 7, The [US 12,279,385] discloses wherein the support structure comprises linked segments (Claim 4 of the US 12,279,385).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 4 of the US patent No. 12,279,385.
Regarding claim 8, The [US 12,279,385] discloses wherein the portion of the housing is a curved portion of the housing (Claim 5 of the US 12,279,385).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 5 of the US patent No. 12,279,385.
Regarding claim 9, The [US 12,279,385] discloses wherein the portion of the housing is a roller (Claim 6 of the US 12,279,385).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 6 of the US patent No. 12,279,385.
Claims 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,602,062. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 10, The [US 11,602,062] discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a display configured to move between a first configuration with an expanded viewable area and a second configuration with an unexpanded viewable area (Claim 11, lines 2-5);
first and second housing portions configured to slide relative to each other as the display moves between the first and second configurations (Claim 11, lines 6-8);
a support structure coupled to the first housing portion and overlapped by the display, wherein the support structure comprises an elongated member that extends from the first housing portion and is received by a recess in the second housing portion (Claim 11, lines 9-14);
a first set of nesting members interposed between the first and second housing portions (Claim 11, lines 15-16); and
a second set of nesting members interposed between the first and second housing portions, wherein the support structure is interposed between the first and second sets of
nesting members (Claim 11, lines 17-21).
These features as claimed are disclosed in the claim 11 of the US patent No. 11,602,062.
Regarding claim 11, The [US 11,602,062] discloses wherein the first and second sets of nesting members extend along respective first and second opposing sides of the electronic device (Claim 12 of the US 11,602,062).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 12 of the US patent No. 11,602,062.
Regarding claim 12, The [US 11,602,062] discloses wherein the first and second sets of nesting members telescope as the display moves between the first and second configurations (Claim 13 of the US 11,602,062).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 13 of the US patent No. 11,602,062.
Regarding claim 13, The [US 11,602,062] discloses wherein the support structure supports the display in the first and second configurations (Claim 14 of the US 11,602,062).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 14 of the US patent No. 11,602,062.
Regarding claim 14, The [US 11,602,062] further discloses an additional support structure coupled to the second housing portion, wherein the support structure has protrusions and the additional support structure has additional recesses that retain the protrusions when the first and second housing portions slide relative to each other (Claim 15 of the US 11,602,062).
These features as claimed are disclosed in the claim 15 of the US patent No. 11,602,062.
Regarding claim 15, The [US 11,602,062] discloses a tensioner coupled to first housing portion and to the display (Claim 17 of the US 11,602,062).
This feature as claimed is disclosed in the claim 17 of the US patent No. 11,602,062.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. [US 2018/0102072].
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-11), comprising:
a housing (20 & 30, figures 1 and 3-5) configured to move between expanded state (figure 5) and unexpanded states (figures 1 and 3);
a display (10, figures 1-11) in the housing, wherein the display is configured to wrap around a portion of the housing in the unexpanded state (figure 3); and
a support structure (at least two elongated side members disposed both sides of a housing portion 30, figures 3 and 5) that supports the display in the expanded state, wherein the support structure is configured to wrap around the portion of the housing in the unexpanded state (figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al., disclose wherein the housing further comprises a first portion (20, figure 5), a second portion (30, figure 5), and support members that extend between the first portion and the second portion (figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al., disclose wherein the support structure extends from the support members of the housing (figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al., further disclose wherein the support members comprise interdigitated support members (figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al., further disclose wherein the support members comprise elongated support members (figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al., disclose wherein the elongated support members are formed on the first portion of the housing and are received in corresponding recess in the second portion of the housing (figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al., disclose wherein the portion of the housing is a curved portion of the housing (23, figure 8).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al., disclose wherein the portion of the housing is a roller (RO, figure 7).
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-11), comprising:
a housing (20 & 30, figures 1 and 3-5) comprising first and second housing portions (20 and 30, figure 5), wherein the first housing portion is configured to slide relative to the second housing portion between expanded state (figure 5) and unexpanded states (figures 1 and 3);
a display (10, figures 1-11) in the housing, wherein the display is configured to wrap around part of the second housing portion the unexpanded state (figures 1 and 3); and
an elongated support member (at least two elongated side members disposed both sides of a housing portion 30, figures 3 and 5) coupled to the second housing portion, wherein the elongated support member extends from the second housing portion to the first housing portion and supports the display in the expanded state (figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al., further disclose a support member that supports the display in the expanded state (325, figures 4-6), wherein the support member is configured to wrap around the part of the second housing portion in the unexpanded state (23, figure 8).
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al., disclose additional support members coupled to the first housing portion, wherein the elongated support member is interdigitated with the additional support members (322/325, figure 6).
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al., further disclose telescoping support members that extend between the first and second housing portions, wherein the elongated support member is interposed between the telescoping support members (figures 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Shin [US 2018/0188778].
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the support structure comprises linked segments.
Shin discloses an electronic device (figures 1-5) comprising a housing (170 & 120, figures 1-5), wherein the housing comprises first and second housing portions (170, figures 1-5) configured to slide relative to each other through a support structure (177, figures 1-5), and wherein the support structure comprises linked segments (323, figure 7).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a support structure design of Shin, in an electronic device of Lee et al., in order to provide strongest, vibration-resistant, and easy repairable structures for heavy electric loads in an electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim 16 discloses the combination features of “an additional support structure that supports the display in the first configuration, wherein the additional support structure is configured to wrap around a part of the first housing portion in the second configuration.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 10, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800