DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattangady et al. (US 11962546 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Hattangady teaches:
A method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input device: (FIG. 1)
while displaying, via the display generation component, a first indication corresponding to first content, (FIG. 3A, para 52: “As shown in the depicted example, the selected message 222 includes a body 302 through which the user has scrolled through at least a portion. ”) detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to generate content; (para 52: “As depicted, a summary selection 304 can be made by the user (e.g., a selection of a shortened summary 224 or user-input shortened summary). The summary selection 304, for example, triggers the second turn of the multi-turn process with the generative AI model 108 to generate a suggested draft reply 233 to the message 222.”)
in response to detecting the first input corresponding to the request to generate content, displaying, via the display generation component, second content corresponding to the first indication while maintaining display of the first indication corresponding to the first content, wherein the second content is different from the first content; (FIG. 3A, para 55: “With reference now to FIG. 3D, an example generated suggested draft reply 233 is shown surfaced in the application UI 106. As depicted, in some examples, the suggested draft reply 233 includes a high-quality complex response, rather than a generic response that requires extraneous editing by the user.” First indication 222 is still displayed.)
while displaying the second content corresponding to the first indication and the first indication corresponding to the first content, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input; (FIG. 3D, para 55: “According to examples, one or more customization options 316 are provided in the application UI 106 that allow the user to select between various options to reframe the prompt provided to the generative AI model 108, so that a next-generated suggested draft reply 233 will better match the user's intent, sentiment, etc. In some examples, the customization options 316 include various tone of voice options. Some non-limiting example tone of voice customization options 316 are depicted in FIG. 3E. For instance, example voice customization options 316 include a “serious” tone, an “excited” tone, a “cheeky” tone, a “congratulatory” tone, a “celebratory” tone, and other options.”)
in response to detecting the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, third content corresponding to the first indication while maintaining display of the first indication corresponding to the first content without displaying the second content, wherein the third content is different from the first content and the second content; (FIG. 3I shows an customized suggested draft reply 233 is displayed, while the 222 is still displaying, the 233 presented in FIG. 3D is not displaying.)
while displaying the third content and the first indication, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a third input; (para 57: “In some examples and as depicted in FIG. 3I, a continue option 311 is provided in the application UI 106. For instance, the user may select the continue option 311 upon determining the suggested draft reply 233 generally matches their intent.”) and
in response to detecting the third input: maintaining display of, via the display generation component, the third content; and ceasing display of, via the display generation component, the first indication. (FIG. 3J, content 233 is still on display, while the content of 222 is not there anymore.)
The above citations are from different examples. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the different examples of Hattangady to generate a user interface with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first indication includes text. (FIG. 3A, para 52: “As shown in the depicted example, the selected message 222 includes a body 302 through which the user has scrolled through at least a portion. ”)
Regarding claim 3, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the second content is a first generated image, and wherein the third content is a second generated image different from the first generated image. (para: “Messages can be in various formats, such as text, audio, images, and/or video. ”)
Regarding claim 4, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first indication, displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface element in conjunction with the first indication; (FIG. 3D.)
and while displaying the first user interface element and the first indication, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fourth input corresponding to the first user interface element; and in response to detecting the fourth input corresponding to the first user interface element, ceasing display of the first indication. (While a custom option is selected, FIG. 3G only shows the 233 but without the 222)
Regarding claim 5, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first indication of the first content, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input; (In FIG. 3D, selecting different customization options 316 will generate different draft reply.) and in response to detecting the fifth input, displaying, via the display generation component, a second indication corresponding to the first content, wherein the second indication is different from the first indication. (In FIG. 3D, selecting different customization options 316 will generate different draft reply FIG. 3I.)
Regarding claim 6, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first input is a tap input. (para 52: “As depicted, a summary selection 304 can be made by the user (e.g., a selection of a shortened summary 224 or user-input shortened summary). The summary selection 304, for example, triggers the second turn of the multi-turn process with the generative AI model 108 to generate a suggested draft reply 233 to the message 222.” Here user can tap the option.)
Regarding claim 8, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the third input is a tap input. (para 57: “In some examples and as depicted in FIG. 3I, a continue option 311 is provided in the application UI 106. For instance, the user may select the continue option 311 upon determining the suggested draft reply 233 generally matches their intent.” Here user can tap the option)
Regarding claim 9, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the third content without displaying the first indication of the first content, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a sixth input; and in response to detecting the sixth input, displaying, via the display generation component, the first indication of the first content. (para 59: “At operation 402, an indication of a selection of a message 222 in a message application 112 is received by the message generator 110. For instance, at operation 402, a user interacts with the message 222, such as by opening the message 222, focusing on the message 222,” After the reply message is sent. The user still can use this application as shown in FIG. 4 to reselect this message.)
Regarding claim 10, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first indication of the first content, displaying, via the display generation component, a second user interface element; (While in FIG. 3D, user can choose to select the second interface to show different tone options as shown in FIG. 3E. )while displaying the second user interface element, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a seventh input corresponding to the second user interface element; (While in FIG. 3E, user can select a tone to adjust the reply draft.) and in response to detecting the seventh input corresponding to the second user interface element, changing the second content from a first type of content to a second type of content different from the first type of content. (In FIG. 3E, after selecting a specific tone, the reply draft would be changed from e.g. 233 in FIG. 3D to 233 in FIG. 3I.)
Regarding claim 11, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first indication of the first content, displaying, via the display generation component, a third user interface element;(para: 56: “FIG. 3G shows concurrent display of the suggested draft reply 233 and the shortened summaries 224 in the application UI 106. In some examples, the user may determine the suggested draft reply 233 does not quite match what they want. …in some examples, a custom option 307 is provided for allowing the user to input a custom summary.”) and while displaying the third user interface element, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an eighth input corresponding to the third user interface element; (FIG. 3G, once user select the Custom option of 307. Para 56: “As depicted in FIG. 3H, the user may select the custom option 307. In some examples, when the custom option 307 is selected, a field 309 is provided in which the user can type, speak, or otherwise input a phrase or individual keywords in association with inputting a custom summary for the suggested draft reply 233.”) in response detecting the eighth input corresponding to the third user interface element, displaying, via the display generation component, an input mechanism; (FIG. 3G, once user select the Custom option of 307, the use input option 309 is shown.) while displaying the input mechanism, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a ninth input; (As shown in FIG. 3H, user can type requirements in 309. ) and in response to detecting the ninth input, displaying, via the display generation component, a third indication corresponding to the ninth input. (FIG. 3I. After the user input in FIG. 3H, the draft 233 is generated.)
Regarding claim 12, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein the first indication is displayed at a first location before displaying the third indication corresponding to the ninth input,(FIG. 3H, ) the method further comprising: in conjunction with displaying the third indication corresponding to the ninth input, displaying, via the display generation component, the first indication at a second location different from the first location. (FIG. 3J, the 222 is displayed at the very top of the screen.)
Regarding claim 13, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to detecting the third input, displaying, via the display generation component, a set of one or more indications that the third content is selected. (FIG. 3J, the options next to the option 313.)
Regarding claim 17, Hattangady teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for (Claim 1: “A system for generating a suggested reply message using a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model, the system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations”) The rest of claim 17 recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 18, Hattangady teaches:
A computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, comprising:one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (Claim 1: “A system for generating a suggested reply message using a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model, the system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations”) The rest of claim 18 recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus is rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattangady in view of Missig et al. (US 2014/0218372 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the second input (see claim 1)
However, Hattangady does not, but Missig teaches:
Input is a swipe input. ([0138], “n the desktop interface 402, various user interface objects are displayed. In some embodiments, the various user interface objects 406 include one or more of: icons (e.g., icons 404 for devices, resources, documents, and/or user applications), applications windows (e.g., email editor window 406), pop-up windows, menu bars, containers (e.g., a dock 408 for applications, or a container for widgets), and the like. The user manipulates the user interface objects, optionally, by providing various touch-based inputs (e.g., a tap gesture, a swipe gesture, and various other single-touch and/or multi-touch gestures) on the touch-sensitive display screen 246.”)
Hattangady teaches user input via input gesture. Missig teaches the input gesture can be a swipe gesture.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Hattangady with the specific teaching of Missig to use swipe gesture as input method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattangady in view of Gmail Friend (“How to Change Font Size in Gmail | Gmail Fiend 2023” : How to Change Font Size in Gmail | Gmail Fiend 2023)
Regarding claim 14, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 13, further comprising:
However, Hattangady does not, but Gmail Friend teaches:
while displaying the set of one or more indications and the third content at a first size, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a tenth input corresponding to the third content; (“
”) and in response to detecting the tenth input corresponding to the third content, displaying, via the display generation component, the third content at a second size different from the first size. (“
”)
Hattangady teaches editing an email. Gmail Friend teaches how to change the font size of the email.
it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Hattangady with the specific teaching of Gmail Friend to provide better UI to allow users to change email font size.
Regarding claim 15, Hattangady teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
However, Hattangady does not, but Gmail Friend teaches:
in response to detecting the third input, displaying, via the display generation component, a plurality of drawing tools; (“
Bottom has a list of drawing tools about size, italic”) and
while displaying the plurality of drawing tools, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an eleventh input corresponding to a respective tool of the plurality of drawing tools, wherein the computer system is configured to respond to an input detected via the one or more input devices in a first manner while detecting the first input; (“
”) and
in response to detecting the eleventh input corresponding to a respective tool:
in accordance with a determination that the respective tool is a first tool, configuring the computer system to respond to an input detected via the one or more input devices in a second manner different from the first manner;( change font to small size: “
”) and in accordance with a determination that the respective tool is a second tool, configuring the computer system to respond to an input detected via the one or more input devices in a third manner different from the second manner. (change font to large size “
”)
Hattangady teaches editing email. Gmail Friend teaches how to change the font size of the email.
it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Hattangady with the specific teaching of Gmail Friend to provide better UI to allow users to change email font size.
Regarding claim 16, Hattangady in view of Gmail Friend teaches:
The method claims 15, further comprising: before displaying the first indication, displaying, via the display generation component, the plurality of tools. (Hattangady The first indication is the received email content as shown in FIG. 3A. It have been well-known in the art that for an email service provider interface, e.g. gmail, that the interface provides a list tools, e.g. inbox… e.g. before one even opens an email. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Hattangady in view of Gmail Friend with the well-known knowledge to provide users an easy navigated user interface.)
Conclusion
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615