DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Species 9 (as depicted in Fig. 12) in the reply filed on 11/27/2025 is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/27/2025.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the various zipper configurations are not patentably distinct. MPEP 806.05 has set forth: "related inventions in the same statutory class are considered mutually exclusive, or not overlapping in scope, if a first invention would not infringe a second invention, and the second invention would not infringe the first invention." In this case, Species 1-9 are in the same statutory class and under a claimed genus, i.e., a separable garment, and they are related inventions. Further, each of Species 1-9 requires a mutually exclusive characteristic which is not required for the other species; that is, a first invention would not infringe a second invention and the second invention would not infringe the first invention. Therefore, Species 1-9 are patentably distinct.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Applicant, in the reply, indicated that claims 1-8 are readable on the elected Species 9, (as depicted in Fig. 12). However, after a full review of the instant application, it is noted that claims 3-5 each contain limitation(s) drawn to the non-elected Subspecies 3-4 (as depicted in Figs. 7A-7D). Accordingly, claims 3-5 and 9-30 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are being treated on merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed feature "a central longitudinal axis" in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
In claim 1, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "a central longitudinal axis".
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, last line, "either leg portion" appears to read "each of the first and second leg portions" for proper antecedent basis;
In claim 8, line 2, "wherein-unzipping" appears to read "wherein unzipping";
In claim 8, line 3, "both leg portions" appears to read "both of the first and second leg portions" for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the zipper". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted that the garment comprises a zipper secured on the single straight zipper track.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a central longitudinal axis". It is unclear which structure is being referred to and where the axis is located. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be a central longitudinal axis of the separable garment.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the zipper slider". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be a zipper slider.
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christoff (US 2011/0167537 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Christoff discloses a separable garment (pants 1; figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036; claim 1) comprising:
an upper portion (waistband region; figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036) including a waistband (waistband 13; figs. 1-4; para. 0035) configured to encircle a waist of the wearer (figs. 1-4);
a lower portion (below the waistband region; figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036) including a first leg portion (right leg 5; figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036) and a second leg portion (left leg 6; figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036) meeting at a crotch region (see figs. 1, 3-4 and annotated 2); and
a single straight zipper track (fastening zipper track around zipper 12; figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036) extending continuously from a front fly region (see figs. 1, 3-4 and annotated 2) of the garment, over the crotch region, and terminating at a rear waistband region (see figs. 1, 3-4 and annotated 2; paras. 0033-0036), wherein the zipper track defines a single linear separation path along which front and rear garment panels are separable when the zipper is unzipped (figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036), and wherein the zipper track is configured to permit removal or opening of the garment without requiring disassembly of either leg portion (figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036).
Annotated Fig. 2 from US 2011/0167537 A1
Regarding claim 2, Christoff discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the straight zipper track is aligned substantially along a central longitudinal axis (defined by a central seam; figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036) extending between the front fly region and the rear waistband region (figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036).
Regarding claim 6, Christoff discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the garment does not include any out-seam zipper or in-seam zipper mechanism, and separation occurs solely along the single straight zipper track (figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036).
Regarding claim 7, Christoff discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the zipper slider is configured to traverse the straight zipper track along its entire length between the front fly region and the rear waistband region (figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Christoff discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein-unzipping the straight zipper track permits the rear garment panel to separate from the front garment panel while leaving both leg portions intact and undetached (figs. 1-4; paras. 0033-0036).
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hochman (US 2016/0015093 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hochman discloses a separable garment (pants 210; fig. 5; para. 0038; claim 1) comprising:
an upper portion (at a waistband region; see annotated fig. 5) including a waistband (see annotated fig. 5) configured to encircle a waist of the wearer (see annotated fig. 5);
a lower portion (below the waistband region; see annotated fig. 5) including a first leg portion (leg 212; fig. 5; para. 0038) and a second leg portion (leg 214; fig. 5; para. 0038) meeting at a crotch region (see annotated fig. 5); and
a single straight zipper track (see annotated fig. 5; para. 0038) extending continuously from a front fly region (see annotated fig. 5) of the garment, over the crotch region (see annotated fig. 5), and terminating at a rear waistband region (see annotated fig. 5), wherein the zipper track defines a single linear separation path (fig. 5; para. 0038) along which front and rear garment panels are separable when the zipper is unzipped (fig. 5; para. 0038), and wherein the zipper track is configured to permit removal or opening of the garment without requiring disassembly of either leg portion (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Annotated Fig. 5 from US 2016/0015093 A1
Regarding claim 2, Hochman discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the straight zipper track is aligned substantially along a central longitudinal axis (a long a central seam; fig. 5; para. 0038) extending between the front fly region and the rear waistband region (see annotated fig. 5; para. 0038).
Regarding claim 6, Hochman discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the garment does not include any out-seam zipper or in-seam zipper mechanism (fig. 5; para. 0038), and separation occurs solely along the single straight zipper track (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 6, Hochman discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the zipper slider is configured to traverse the straight zipper track along its entire length between the front fly region and the rear waistband region (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 8, Hochman discloses the separable garment of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein-unzipping the straight zipper track permits the rear garment panel to separate from the front garment panel while leaving both leg portions intact and undetached (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant's summary for the Examiner interview on 11/26/2025, the examiner respectfully notes that the claim amendment filed 11/27/2025 is significantly different from the proposed claim amendment as discussed during the interview on November 26, 2025.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional relevant references cited on attached PTO-892 form(s) can be used to formulate a rejection if necessary. Combs (US 2013/0263353 A1), Malan (US 2015/0101105 A1) and Gray (GB 2127276 A) each can also be a 102 reference.
/AIYING ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732