DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are currently pending in the application. Claims 3-5 and 9-30 have been previously withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are being treated on merits.
Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 07/15/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features in claim 1:
the front fly region;
an upper end of the single straight zipper track;
the front interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the front fly region and a region adjacent an upper end of the single straight zipper track; and
the back interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the rear waistband region and a region adjacent the upper end of the single straight zipper track;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
In claim 1, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "the front interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the front fly region and a region adjacent an upper end of the single straight zipper track";
In claim 1, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "the back interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the rear waistband region and a region adjacent the upper end of the single straight zipper track";
In claim 1, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "wherein the front interior stretchable strap and the back interior stretchable strap are configured to apply an upward force that retracts the front garment panel and the rear garment panel upward when the zipper is unzipped."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the front interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the front fly region and a region adjacent an upper end of the single straight zipper track". The interior stretchable straps for the garment in the elected Fig. 12 are discussed in the original specification in paragraph 0221. The specification only includes "the zipper line 1201 may be integrated with interior stretchable straps (e.g., 712-713), similar to those described in FIG. 7B" and "[t]hese interior stretchable straps may be positioned along the inner fabric layers of the trousers 1200" in paragraph 0221." In addition, FIG. 7B actually depicts a front strap 712 is fixedly connected at a first point near the top V-portion of the in-seam zipper mechanism 706 and a second point at an upper portion 701 at the front waistband (para. 0126). The original disclosure fails to provide the exact location of the front interior stretchable strap in Fig. 12. Therefore, claiming the limitation must be cancelled from the claim, since the claim appears to be new matter.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the back interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the rear waistband region and a region adjacent the upper end of the single straight zipper track". The interior stretchable straps for the garment in the elected Fig. 12 are discussed in the original specification in paragraph 0221. The specification only includes "the zipper line 1201 may be integrated with interior stretchable straps (e.g., 712-713), similar to those described in FIG. 7B" and "[t]hese interior stretchable straps may be positioned along the inner fabric layers of the trousers 1200" in paragraph 0221." In addition, FIG. 7B actually depicts a back strap 713 is fixedly connected at a first point near the top V-portion of the in-seam zipper mechanism 706 along the rear section of the trousers and a second point at an upper portion 701 at the back waistband (para. 0127). The original disclosure fails to provide the exact location of the rear interior stretchable strap in Fig. 12. Therefore, claiming the limitation must be cancelled from the claim, since the claim appears to be new matter.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the front interior stretchable strap and the back interior stretchable strap are configured to apply an upward force that retracts the front garment panel and the rear garment panel upward when the zipper is unzipped." The interior stretchable straps for the garment in the elected Fig. 12 are discussed in the original specification in paragraph 0221. The specification only includes "[t]he interior stretchable straps preventing excessive fabric bunching when the zipper slider 1207 is engaged or disengaged" and "[t]he stretchable straps may also provide a level of controlled tension, facilitating that the fabric maintains its shape while the zipper slider 1207 is being operated" (paragraph 0221). The original disclosure fails to provide the function of the front and back interior stretchable straps as claimed. Therefore, claiming the limitation must be cancelled from the claim, since the claim appears to be new matter.
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochman (US 2016/0015093 A1) in view of Stradley (US 5,010,595 A) and further in view of Frazzini (US 2019/0328060 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hochman discloses a separable garment (pants 210; fig. 5; para. 0038; claim 1) comprising:
an upper portion (at a waistband region; see annotated fig. 5) including a waistband (see annotated fig. 5) configured to encircle a waist of the wearer (see annotated fig. 5);
a lower portion (below the waistband region; see annotated fig. 5) including a first leg portion (leg 212; fig. 5; para. 0038) and a second leg portion (leg 214; fig. 5; para. 0038) meeting at a crotch region (see annotated fig. 5); and
a single straight zipper track (see annotated fig. 5; para. 0038) including a zipper (zipper 220, 222; fig. 5; para. 0038) and a zipper slider (a zipper generally comprising a zipper slider; fig. 5; para. 0038), the single straight zipper track extending continuously from a front fly region (see annotated fig. 5) of the garment, over the crotch region (see annotated fig. 5), and terminating at a rear waistband region (see annotated fig. 5), wherein the single straight zipper track defines a single linear separation path (fig. 5; para. 0038) along which a front garment panel and a rear garment panel are separable when the zipper is unzipped (fig. 5; para. 0038), and wherein the single straight zipper track is configured to permit removal or opening of the garment without requiring disassembly of each of the first and second leg portions (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Annotated Fig. 5 from US 2016/0015093 A1
Hochman does not disclose a plurality of belt loops attached to the waistband. However, Stradley, in an analogous art, teaches a garment (trousers 10; fig. 1; col. 3, ll. col. 2, ll. 65-68; col. 3, ll. 1-2) comprising a plurality of belt loops (belt loops 37; fig. 1; col. 4, ll. 17-20) attached to a waistband (waistband 27; fig. 1; col. 3, ll. 39-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the garment as disclosed by Hochman, with a plurality of belt loops attached to the waistband as taught by Stradley, in order to provide means for secure a belt around the waistband.
Hochman does not disclose a front interior stretchable strap and a back interior stretchable strap each positioned along an interior of the garment, the front interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the front fly region and a region adjacent an upper end of the single straight zipper track, and the back interior stretchable strap connected between the waistband at the rear waistband region and a region adjacent the upper end of the single straight zipper track, wherein the front interior stretchable strap and the back interior stretchable strap are configured to apply an upward force that retracts the front garment panel and the rear garment panel upward when the zipper is unzipped. However, Frazzini, in an analogous art, teaches a garment (garment 100; fig. 3; para. 0048) comprising a single straight zipper track (zipper track 112; fig. 3; para. 0048) comprising interior elastic strips (elastic strips 306; paras. 0048), wherein each of the interior elastic strips are sewn into edges of the single straight zipper track (figs. 3; para. 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the garment as disclosed by Hochman, with attaching interior elastic strips to edges of the single straight zipper track as taught by Frazzini, in order to create a sturdy base for the single straight zipper track for long-term use (Frazzini; para. 0052). By this modification to Hochman, the elastic strips would form a front interior stretchable strap and a back interior stretchable strap, each positioned along an interior of the garment; the front interior stretchable strap would be connected between the waistband at the front fly region and a region adjacent an upper end of the single straight zipper track, and the back interior stretchable strap would be connected between the waistband at the rear waistband region and a region adjacent the upper end of the single straight zipper track, wherein the front interior stretchable strap and the back interior stretchable strap would be configured to apply an upward force that retracts the front garment panel and the rear garment panel upward when the zipper is unzipped.
Regarding claim 2, Hochman, Stradley and Frazzini, in combination, disclose the separable garment of Claim 1, and Hochman further discloses wherein the single straight zipper track is aligned substantially along a central seam of the garment (a long a central seam; fig. 5; para. 0038) extending between the front fly region and the rear waistband region (see annotated fig. 5; para. 0038).
Regarding claim 6, Hochman, Stradley and Frazzini, in combination, disclose the separable garment of Claim 1, and Hochman further discloses wherein the garment does not include any out-seam zipper or in-seam zipper mechanism (fig. 5; para. 0038), and separation occurs solely along the single straight zipper track (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 7, Hochman, Stradley and Frazzini, in combination, disclose the separable garment of Claim 1, and Hochman further discloses wherein the zipper slider is configured to traverse the single straight zipper track along its entire length between the front fly region and the rear waistband region (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 8, Hochman, Stradley and Frazzini, in combination, disclose the separable garment of Claim 1, and Hochman further discloses wherein unzipping the straight zipper track permits the rear garment panel to separate from the front garment panel while leaving both leg portions of the first and second leg portions intact and undetached (fig. 5; paras. 0038-0039).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIYING ZHAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732