DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation Under 35 USC §112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a first open/closed/expansion device" in claim 13, "a second open/closed/expansion device" in claims 13, "an expansion device" in claims 1 and 13.
Claim limitation “a first open/closed/expansion device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C.112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “open/closed/expansion” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Claim limitation “an expansion device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C.112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “expansion” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1 and 13 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
A first (second) open/closed/expansion device” treated as meaning a valve. See spec page 75.
An expansion device” treated as meaning a throttle valve. See par. 75.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claims 1-12 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation that the composition comprises "a first OCE" in page 1, line 19. However, it is unclear what OCE means, which renders the claim indefinite. Claims 2-12 are also indefinite for their dependency on claim 1 and lack of specifically clarifying what the first OCE is. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- a valve --.
Claim 1 recites “said condenser” in page 2, line 7. There is antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no mention of “said condenser” previously. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- the inner condenser --.
Claim 1 recites the limitation that the composition comprises "a second OCE" in page 2, line 4. However, it is unclear what OCE means, which renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 2-12 are also indefinite for their dependency on claim 1 and lack of specifically clarifying what the second OCE is. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- a valve --.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the generation" in page 2, lines 18-19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vapor state" in page 1, line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 calls for the limitation “an electrical power source” in line 2 which is confusing as it is unclear how it relates to the previous recitation of “an electrical power source” above in line 2 of claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- the electrical power source --.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the vapor state" in page 3, line 27. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites “said condenser” in page 4, lines 14, 27-28. There is antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no mention of “said condenser” previously. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as --the inner condenser --.
Claim 13 recites “said outside condenser” in page 4, line 14. There is antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no mention of “said outside condenser” previously. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- the outside heat exchanger --.
Claim 13 recites “said electrical power source” in page 4, line 14. There is antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no mention of “electrical power source” previously. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- an electrical power source --.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the generation" in page 5, lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Due to the excessive and numerous indefinite issues, the Examiner requests that the applicant proof-read all claims for any remaining issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 6 and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of Nemesh (US 2014/0096549 A1).
In regards to claim 1, HWANG discloses a heat transfer system (heat pump system for a vehicle) to alternatively and/or simultaneously provide heating and/or cooling in a mobile vehicle (par. 27) that includes an electrical power source (a battery 207) requiring heating and/or cooling during charging and/or operation and that includes a cabin (interior of the vehicle near air- conditioning case 150; par. 42) that requires heat input during low temperature ambient conditions (implicit normal operations), said system comprising:
a) a vapor compression refrigeration circuit (R) located in said mobile vehicle comprising:
(i) a heat transfer composition () comprising a first refrigerant (refrigerant in refrigeration circuit R),
(ii) a compressor (100) for compressing said first refrigerant in the vapor state from a first pressure to a higher second pressure (implicit normal operations),
(iii) an inner condenser (indoor heat exchanger 110) for selectively condensing during low temperature ambient conditions at least a portion of said first refrigerant vapor from said compressor (100) by rejecting heat to said cabin,
(iv) an outside heat exchanger (an outdoor heat exchanger 130) located downstream of said inner condenser (110) to selectively either
(1) condense (via condenser 110) during low temperature ambient conditions at least a portion of said higher pressure refrigerant vapor not condensed in said inner condenser (110) by rejecting heat, directly or indirectly, to ambient air and/or to a circulating coolant (cooling water in circuits W1 and W2) or
(2) evaporate (via heat exchanger 160) during high temperature ambient conditions low pressure refrigerant liquid from said inner condenser (110) vapor;
(v) a first OCE (valve 192) connected between said inner condenser (110) and said outside heat exchanger (130) for selectively
(1) providing in an expansion mode a flow of reduced pressure liquid refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) to said outside heat exchanger (130);
(2) allowing in an open mode said condensed high pressure refrigerant from said condenser (110) to pass to said outside condenser (130) without pressure drop to said outside heat exchanger (130); or
(3) preventing in a closed mode the flow of refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) to said outside heat exchanger (130);
(vi) an inside heat exchanger (evaporator 160) fluidly connectable to said refrigerant downstream of said inner condenser (110) for selectively providing heating to a flow of cabin air (air flow in air-conditioning case 150 during heating mode);
(vii) a chiller (180) fluidly connectable to said refrigerant downstream of said inner condenser (110) for selectively heating a flow of liquid coolant (via cooling water direction-changing valve 213);
(viii) a bypass channel system (R2) connected downstream of said outside heat exchanger (130) for selectively routing said refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) and/or from said outside heat exchanger (130)
(1) around said first expansion device (first expansion means 120) and to either
(A) a second OCE (valve 195) fluidly connected to said inside heat exchanger (160) for selectively
(a) providing (via line R3) in an expansion mode (corresponding to dehumidification mode) a flow of reduced pressure liquid refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) to said inside heat exchanger (160);
(b) allowing in an open mode said condensed high pressure refrigerant from said condenser (110) or from said outside heat exchanger (130) to pass without pressure reduction to said inside heat exchanger (160); or
(c) preventing (via closing valve 195) in a closed mode the flow of refrigerant to said inside heat exchanger (160); and/or
(B) an expansion device (expansion valve 185) fluidly connected to said chiller (180) for selectively
(a) providing (via R4) in an expansion mode a flow of reduced pressure liquid refrigerant to said chiller (180); or
(b) preventing (via closing valve 191 par. 125) in a closed mode the flow of refrigerant to said chiller (180); or
(2) through said first OCE operating in the expansion mode through said outside heat exchanger (130); and
b) a heat exchange network (water cooling circuit with refrigeration circuit) interconnected with said vapor compression refrigeration circuit (R) to selectively;
(i) deliver, directly or indirectly, at said outside heat exchanger (130) and/or at said chiller (180) evaporative heat from one or more of ambient air and/or heat associated with the generation or use of electrical power (via battery 207) within the vehicle and/or at said inside heat exchanger (160) either directly or indirectly from
(1) ambient air and/or
(2) said electrical power source (207) located in said vehicle.
HWANG fails to explicitly teach (viii) the bypass channel system being connected upstream of said first OCE. Nemesh teaches a vehicular heat pump system (Figs. 2-3) wherein the bypass channel system (corresponding to interconnection line 112) being connected upstream of said first OCE (corresponding to second isolation valve 111). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that the bypass channel system being connected upstream of said first OCE as taught by Nemesh in order to bypass the expansion valve and outdoor heat exchanger and configured to control the flow and the expansion of the refrigerant passing through the interconnection line (refer to par. 24 of Nemesh).
In regards to claim 6, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, HWANG teaches further comprising a refrigerant accumulator (170), wherein said compressor (100) is being connected upstream to said refrigerant accumulator (refer to par. 116).
In regards to claim 12, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, HWANG teaches wherein the heat exchange network comprises a coolant circuit (W1, W2) that comprises a coolant (water) that absorbs waste heat from an electrical power source (207) located in said vehicle during low temperature ambient conditions and rejects heat to said refrigerant in said chiller (180).
Claims 2-3, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of Nemesh (US 2014/0096549 A1), further in view of Leck et al. (US 2012/0267564 A1).
In regards to claim 2, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said first refrigerant comprises 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf). Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein said first refrigerant comprises 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said first refrigerant comprises 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
In regards to claim 3, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said first refrigerant further comprises from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R134a, R1132E, CO2 and combinations of two or more of these.
Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein said first refrigerant further comprises from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R134a, R1132E, CO2 and combinations of two or more of these (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said first refrigerant further comprises from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R134a, R1132E, CO2 and combinations of two or more of these as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
In regards to claim 5, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said first refrigerant comprises from about 65% to about 80% by weight of 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) and from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R1132E and combinations of these.
Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein said first refrigerant comprising from about 65% to about 80% by weight of 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) and from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R1132E and combinations of these (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein a first refrigerant comprising from about 65% to about 80% by weight of 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) and from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R1132E and combinations of these as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
In regards to claim 7, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R32. Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R32 (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R32 as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
In regards to claim 8, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises from about 75% to about 89% by weight of R-1234yf and about 21% by weight of R32. Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein said refrigerant comprises from about 75% to about 89% by weight of R-1234yf and about 21% by weight of R32 (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said said refrigerant comprises from about 75% to about 89% by weight of R-1234yf and about 21% by weight of R32 as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
Claim 4 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of in view of Nemesh (US 2014/0096549 A1), further in view of RACHED (US 2021/0115313 A1).
In regards to claim 4, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said first refrigerant comprises trans-I,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234ze(E)).
RACHED teaches an air-conditioning in a motor vehicle wherein said first refrigerant comprises trans-I,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234ze(E)) (refer to par. 20).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said first refrigerant comprises trans-I,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234ze(E)) as taught by RACHED in order to advantageously exhibit a good compromise between good energy performance qualities, low or zero flammability and low GWP (refer to par. 63 of RACHED).
Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of Nemesh (US 2014/0096549 A1) and Leck et al. (US 2012/0267564 A1), further in view of KUMAKURA et al. (US 2023/0029441 A2).
In regards to claim 9, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 8, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant further comprises CO2. KUMAKURA teaches a refrigeration cycle device wherein said refrigerant further comprises CO2 (refer to par. 70).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said refrigerant further comprises CO2 as taught by KUMAKURA in order to advantageously exhibit a good compromise between good energy performance qualities, low or zero flammability and low GWP (refer to par. 63 of RACHED).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of Nemesh (US 2014/0096549 A1), further in view of KUMAKURA et al. (US 2023/0029441 A2).
In regards to claim 10, TWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R1132(E). KUMAKURA teaches a refrigeration cycle device wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R1132(E), (refer to pars. 7-8 and 83).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R1132(E) as taught by KUMAKURA in order to advantageously exhibit a good compromise between good energy performance qualities, low or zero flammability and low GWP (refer to par. 63 of KUMAKURA).
In regards to claim 11, TWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises about 23% by weight of R1132(E). KUMAKURA teaches a refrigeration cycle device wherein said refrigerant comprises about 23% by weight of R1132(E), (refer to par. 779).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that said refrigerant comprises about 23% by weight of R1132(E) as taught by KUMAKURA in order to advantageously exhibit a good compromise between good energy performance qualities, low or zero flammability and low GWP (refer to par. 63 of KUMAKURA).
Claims 13-15 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of Leck et al. (US 2012/0267564 A1).
In regards to claim 13, HWANG discloses a mobile vehicle (abstract) having one or more electric traction motors (206) and one or more batteries (207) and/or capacitors providing electric current to said one or more traction motors (par. 34) comprising a heat transfer system (a heat pump system; par. 27) carried by said mobile vehicle to alternatively and/or simultaneously provide heating and cooling in said mobile vehicle (refer to par. 3), wherein heating and/or cooling is provided to said one or more batteries (207) and/or capacitors during charging and/or operation (refer to par. 73) and that includes a cabin (interior of the vehicle near air- conditioning case 150; par. 42) that requires heat input during low temperature ambient conditions (implicit normal operations), wherein said heat transfer system comprises:
a) a vapor compression refrigeration circuit (R) located in said mobile vehicle comprising:
(ii) a compressor (100) for compressing said first refrigerant in the vapor state from a first pressure to a higher second pressure, said compressor (100) being connected upstream to a refrigerant accumulator (170),
(iii) an inner condenser (indoor heat exchanger 110) for selectively condensing during low temperature ambient conditions at least a portion of said first refrigerant vapor from said compressor (100) by rejecting heat to said cabin,
(iv) an outside heat exchanger (130) located downstream of said inner condenser (110) to selectively either
(1) condense during low temperature ambient conditions at least a portion of said higher pressure refrigerant vapor not condensed in said inner condenser (110) by rejecting heat, directly or indirectly, to ambient air and/or to a circulating coolant (cooling water in circuits W1 and W2) or
(2) evaporate during high temperature ambient conditions low pressure refrigerant liquid from said inner condenser (110) vapor;
(v) a first open/closed/expansion device (valves 120/192/195) connected between said inner condenser (110) and said outside heat exchanger (130) for selectively
(1) providing in an expansion mode a flow of reduced pressure liquid refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) to said outside heat exchanger (130);
(2) allowing in an open mode said condensed high pressure refrigerant from said condenser (110) to pass to said outside condenser (130) without pressure drop to said outside heat exchanger (130); or
(3) preventing in a closed mode the flow of refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) to said outside heat exchanger (130);
(vi) an inside heat exchanger (evaporator 160) fluidly connectable (via R3) to said refrigerant downstream of said inner condenser (110) for selectively providing heating to a flow of cabin air (refer to par. 32);
(vii) a chiller (180) fluidly connectable to said refrigerant downstream of said inner condenser (110) for selectively heating a flow of liquid coolant (via cooling water direction-changing valve 213);
(viii) a bypass channel system (R2) connected upstream of said first open/closed/expansion device (192) and downstream of said outside heat exchanger (130) for selectively routing said refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) and/or from said outside heat exchanger (130)
(1) around said first expansion device (first expansion means 120) and to either
(A) a second open/closed/expansion device (valve 195) fluidly connected to said inside heat exchanger (160) for selectively
(a) providing (via line R3) in an expansion mode (corresponding to dehumidification mode) a flow of reduced pressure liquid refrigerant from said inner condenser (110) to said inside heat exchanger (160);
(b) allowing in an open mode said condensed high pressure refrigerant from said condenser (110) or from said outside heat exchanger (130) to pass without pressure reduction to said inside heat exchanger (160); or
(c) preventing (via closing valve 195) in a closed mode the flow of refrigerant to said inside heat exchanger (160); and/or
(B) an expansion device (expansion valve 185) fluidly connected to said chiller (180) for selectively
(a) providing (via R4) in an expansion mode a flow of reduced pressure liquid refrigerant to said chiller (180); or
(b) preventing (via closing valve 191 par. 125) in a closed mode the flow of refrigerant to said chiller (180); or
(2) through said first open/closed/expansion device (192) operating in the expansion mode through said outside heat exchanger (130); and
b) a heat exchange network (water cooling circuit with refrigeration circuit) interconnected with said vapor compression refrigeration circuit (R) to selectively;
(i) deliver, directly or indirectly, at said outside heat exchanger (130) and/or at said chiller (180) evaporative heat from one or more of ambient air and/or heat associated with the generation or use of electrical power (via battery 207) within the vehicle and/or at said inside heat exchanger (160) either directly or indirectly from
(1) ambient air and/or
(2) said electrical power source (207) located in said vehicle.
HWANG fails to explicitly teach (i) a first refrigerant comprising from about 65% to about 80% by weight of 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) and from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R1132E and combinations of these. Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein (i) a first refrigerant comprising from about 65% to about 80% by weight of 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) and from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R1132E and combinations of these (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein a first refrigerant comprising from about 65% to about 80% by weight of 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (R1234yf) and from about 20% to about 35% by weight of a second component selected from R32, R1132E and combinations of these as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
In regards to claim 14, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R32. Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R32 (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R32 as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
In regards to claim 15, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises from about 75% to about 89% by weight of R-1234yf and about 21% by weight of R32. Leck teaches a heat transfer composition means wherein said refrigerant comprises from about 75% to about 89% by weight of R-1234yf and about 21% by weight of R32 (refer to pars. 39-40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said refrigerant comprises from about 75% to about 89% by weight of R-1234yf and about 21% by weight of R32 as taught by Leck in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 40 of Leck).
In regards to claim 20, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13. Further, HWANG teaches wherein the heat exchange network comprises a coolant circuit (W1, W2) that comprises a coolant (water) that absorbs waste heat from an electrical power source (207) located in said vehicle during low temperature ambient conditions and rejects heat to said refrigerant in said chiller (180).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of Leck et al. (US 20120267564 A1), further in view of KUMAKURA et al. (US 2023/0029441 A2).
In regards to claim 16, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 15, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant further comprises CO2 vehicle. KUMAKURA teaches a refrigeration cycle device wherein said refrigerant further comprises CO2 (refer to par. 70).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said refrigerant further comprises CO2 as taught by KUMAKURA in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 5 of KUMAKURA).
In regards to claim 17, TWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R1132(E). KUMAKURA teaches a refrigeration cycle device wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R1132(E), (refer to pars. 7-8 and 83).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234yf and R1132(E) as taught by KUMAKURA in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 5 of KUMAKURA).
In regards to claim 18, TWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises about 23% by weight of R1132(E). KUMAKURA teaches a refrigeration cycle device wherein said refrigerant comprises about 23% by weight of R1132(E), (refer to par. 779).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that said refrigerant comprises about 23% by weight of R1132(E) as taught by KUMAKURA in order to advantageously provide low GWP (refer to par. 5 of KUMAKURA).
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2019/0135075) in view of Leck et al. (US 20120267564 A1), further in view of RACHED (US 2021/0115313 A1).
In regards to claim 19, HWANG as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein said refrigerant comprises R-1234ze(E). RACHED teaches an air-conditioning in a motor vehicle wherein said first refrigerant comprises R1234ze(E), (refer to par. 20).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HWANG such that wherein said first refrigerant comprises R1234ze(E) as taught by RACHED in order to advantageously exhibit a good compromise between good energy performance qualities, low or zero flammability and low GWP (refer to par. 63 of RACHED).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARTHA TADESSE whose telephone number is (571)272-0590. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR)system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/CASSEY D BAUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763