DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 7 July 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21- 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomaszewski (US 10,450,780).
Regarding claim 21, Tomaszewski discloses a latch assembly for a closure member of a motor vehicle, the latch assembly comprising:
a latch mechanism (400);
a power actuator (338 PL motor); and
a release lever (301) in operable communication with the power actuator and with the latch mechanism,
wherein a first powered actuation (c.2, l.1-4, 5th embodiment, powered Fig.12A) of the power actuator drives the release lever from a home position to a deployed position to move the latch mechanism to cause latch assembly to be moved from a primary latched state to a secondary latched state, wherein a second powered actuation of the power actuator drives the release lever from the deployed position to the home position to move the latch mechanism to cause the latch assembly to be moved from the secondary latched state to a fully unlatched state (c.2, l.1-4)(c.3, l.40-44).
Regarding claim 22, Tomaszewski discloses the latch assembly of Claim 21,wherein the latch assembly(13) is for a frunk compartment of the motor vehicle.
Note: the intended use of an apparatus can be given little to no patentable weight. Recitation of intended use fails to further limit the claim.
Regarding claim 24, Tomaszewski discloses the latch assembly of Claim 21,wherein the latch mechanism that is moved by the first powered actuation and the second powered actuation(c.2, l.1-4, 5th embodiment, powered Fig.12A) is a pawl (317) that is configured to hold a ratchet (314) in a primary striker capture position corresponding to the primary latched state and a secondary striker capture position corresponding to the secondary latched state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomaszewski (US 10,450,780) in view of Pilested et al. (US 2022/0178178).
Regarding claim 23, Tomaszewski discloses the latch assembly of Claim 21,wherein the power actuator is configured to drive the release lever in a first direction (C.9, l.47 thru c.10, l.42) when energized by a first signal and to drive the release lever in a second direction when energized by a second signal, wherein the first signal has an opposite to the second polarity signal.
Tomaszewski implies motor reversal but does not explicitly discuss reversal of the motor polarity therefore not disclose: a first polarity, second polarity, the first polarity signal has an opposite polarity to the second polarity signal.
Pilested et al. teaches a first polarity, second polarity, the first polarity signal has an opposite polarity to the second polarity signal ([0021)) for the purpose of using a single electric motor reducing component complexity and cost.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Tomaszewski with a first polarity, second polarity, the first polarity signal has an opposite polarity to the second polarity signal ([0021))as taught by Pilested et al. for the expected benefit of using a single electric motor reducing component complexity and cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675