DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of 19/074,399
A computer-implemented method for natural language computation, comprising: matching an input sentence to a token; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a trigger sentence, executing a semantic rule associated with the trigger sentence using the input sentence; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a metalanguage sentence, using the input sentence: storing a new semantic rule; and storing an association between the new semantic rule and one or more defined trigger sentences; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a built-in sentence, executing one or more built-in functions associated with the built-in sentence using the input sentence.
Claim 1 of 12333259
A computer-implemented method for natural language computation, comprising: matching an input sentence to a token; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a trigger sentence, executing a semantic rule associated with the trigger sentence using the input sentence; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a metalanguage sentence, using the input sentence: storing a new semantic rule; generating one or more defined trigger sentences based on the input sentence, the generating of the one or more defined trigger sentences based on the input sentence being by, for each of the one or more defined trigger sentences, selecting a variable in the input sentence and defining the trigger sentence using the variable; and storing an association between the new semantic rule and the one or more defined trigger sentences; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a built-in sentence, executing one or more built-in functions associated with the built-in sentence using the input sentence; and displaying a data output at a user interface, the data output representing a result corresponding to the input sentence.
Claim 10 of 19/074,399
A computer-implemented system for natural language computation, comprising: a non-transitory computer memory; and at least one processor in communication with the non-transitory computer memory; wherein the non-transitory computer memory comprises instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, carries out the steps of: matching an input sentence to a token; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a trigger sentence, executing a semantic rule associated with the trigger sentence using the input sentence; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a metalanguage sentence, using the input sentence: storing a new semantic rule; and storing an association between the new semantic rule and one or more defined trigger sentences; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a built-in sentence, executing one or more built-in functions associated with the built-in sentence using the input sentence.
Claim 9 of 12333259
A computer-implemented system for natural language computation, comprising: a non-transitory computer memory; and at least one processor in communication with the non-transitory computer memory; wherein the non-transitory computer memory comprises instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, carries out the steps of: matching an input sentence to a token; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a trigger sentence, executing a semantic rule associated with the trigger sentence using the input sentence; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a metalanguage sentence, using the input sentence: storing a new semantic rule; generating one or more defined trigger sentences based on the input sentence, the generating of the one or more defined trigger sentences based on the input sentence being by, for each of the one or more defined trigger sentences, selecting a variable in the input sentence and defining the trigger sentence using the variable; and storing an association between the new semantic rule and one or more defined trigger sentences; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a built-in sentence, executing one or more built-in functions associated with the built-in sentence using the input sentence; and displaying a data output at a user interface, the data output representing a result corresponding to the input sentence.
Claim 18 of 19/074,399
A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing computer-readable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, perform a method of: matching an input sentence to a token; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a trigger sentence, executing a semantic rule associated with the trigger sentence using the input sentence; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a metalanguage sentence, using the input sentence: storing a new semantic rule; and storing an association between the new semantic rule and one or more defined trigger sentences; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a built-in sentence, executing one or more built-in functions associated with the built-in sentence using the input sentence.
Claim 16 of 12333259
A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing computer-readable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, perform a method of: matching an input sentence to a token; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a trigger sentence, executing a semantic rule associated with the trigger sentence using the input sentence; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a metalanguage sentence, using the input sentence: storing a new semantic rule; generating one or more defined trigger sentences based on the input sentence, the generating of the one or more defined trigger sentences based on the input sentence being by, for each of the one or more defined trigger sentences, selecting a variable in the input sentence and defining the trigger sentence using the variable; and storing an association between the new semantic rule and one or more defined trigger sentences; upon determining a match with the token, the token being a built-in sentence, executing one or more built-in functions associated with the built-in sentence using the input sentence; and displaying a data output at a user interface, the data output representing a result corresponding to the input sentence.
Claims 1, 10 & 18 of application number 19/074,399 (hereinafter referred to as ‘399) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 & 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12333259 (hereinafter referred to as ‘259).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘399 claims 1, 10 & 18 are broader recitations of ‘259 claims 1, 9 & 16. Therefore, the recitations of ‘259 claims 1, 9 & 16 are encompassed by the recitations of ‘399 claims 1, 10 & 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-13, 15 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winston, US Patent 10621390 B1.
Re Claim 1, Winston discloses a computer-implemented method for natural language computation (col. 4, lines 41-44: natural language), comprising: matching an input sentence to a token (col. 8, lines 1-10: sentence is broken down into smaller sentences which are read as the tokens); upon determining a match with the token, the token being a trigger sentence, executing a semantic rule associated with the trigger sentence using the input sentence (col. 11, line 65 through col. 12, line 10: sentence is used as a trigger when deem to match the rule trigger, wherein sentence can be broken down to smaller sentences as emphasized in (col. 8, lines 1-10)); upon determining a match with the token, the token being a metalanguage sentence (col. 11, lines 41-54: rule trigger to match meta entities), using the input sentence: storing a new semantic rule (claim 1: trigger rules along with sentences are all stored on the memory used to execute the program); and storing an association between the new semantic rule and one or more defined trigger sentences (claim 1: trigger rules along with sentences are all stored on the memory used to execute the program); upon determining a match with the token, the token being a built-in sentence, executing one or more built-in functions associated with the built-in sentence using the input sentence (abstract: summarization of the input story is carried out based on the aforementioned trigger rules and meta entities which are read as the bult-in functions).
Re Claim 2, Winston discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the token being a trigger sentence, metalanguage sentence, or a built-in sentence (col. 11, line 65 through col. 12, line 10: sentence is used as a trigger when deem to match the rule trigger, wherein sentence can be broken down to smaller sentences as emphasized in (col. 8, lines 1-10). The token being used as a trigger sentence is selected from the Markush claim language).
Re Claim 3, Winston discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the matching being evaluating a match between the input sentence and one or more trigger sentences (col. 11, line 65 through col. 12, line 10: sentence is used as a trigger when deem to match the rule trigger, wherein sentence can be broken down to smaller sentences as emphasized in (col. 8, lines 1-10)), then one or more metalanguage sentences (col. 11, lines 41-54: rule trigger to match meta entities), and then one or more built-in sentences until the match is determined (abstract: summarization of the input story is carried out based on the aforementioned trigger rules and meta entities which are read as the bult-in functions).
Re Claim 4, Winston discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising requesting creation of a new trigger sentence (col. 8, lines 1-10: sentence is broken down into smaller sentences which are read as the new tokens), the trigger sentence matching the input sentence (col. 11, line 65 through col. 12, line 10: sentence is used as a trigger when deem to match the rule trigger, wherein sentence can be broken down to smaller sentences as emphasized in (col. 8, lines 1-10: sentence is broken down into smaller sentences which are read as the tokens)).
Re Claim 6, Winston discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the built-in function being selected from the group consisting of: semantic rule, non-semantic rule, metalanguage statement or function, function call, internal operation, synchronous function, asynchronous function, single step call, multi-step call, interactive, non-interactive, remote execution function, local CPU function, database function, web call, network call, cloud call, and any type of software or hardware computer function or instruction (claim 1: rules used in syntax-to-semantics mapping with system performed by a program with a memory and a computer processor used to execute the program; wherein semantic rule and/or software/hardware is selected from the Markush language).
Re Claim 7, Winston discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the metalanguage sentence representing a request to associate one or more trigger sentences with an existing trigger sentence (claim 1: meta entities are identifies in the triggering of the rule, where the trigger rule is a trigger sentence (col. 11, line 65 through col. 12, line 10: sentence is used as a trigger when deem to match the rule trigger, wherein sentence can be broken down to smaller sentences as emphasized in (col. 8, lines 1-10))), the steps further comprising storing an association between the one or more trigger sentences and the semantic rule associated with the existing trigger sentence (claim 1: trigger rules along with sentences are all stored on the memory used to execute the program).
Re Claim 9, Winston discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, executing the semantic rule being by selecting a selected metalanguage sentence from one or more defined metalanguage sentences (col. 11, lines 41-54: rule trigger to match meta entities), the one or more defined metalanguage sentences corresponding to the trigger sentence (col. 11, lines 41-54: rule trigger to match meta entities).
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 2.
Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 3.
Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 4.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 7.
Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 9.
Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 14 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winston, US Patent 10621390 B1 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Anisimovich et al, US Patent Pub. 20200104354 A1.
Re Claim 5, Winston discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising displaying a data output at a user interface, the data output representing a result corresponding to the input sentence. However, Anisimovich et al teaches the concept of a natural language processing system that displays its output via a display of a user interface (Anisimovich, abstract). Since Winston discloses that its output could be a textual output (Winston, col. 50, lines 20-29: textual output implies output has to be displayed on some sort of display), it would have been obvious to modify the Winston output to be displayed in a user interface as taught in Anisimovich for the purpose of seamlessly providing a visible output to a user.
Re Claim 8, the combined teachings of Winston and Anisimovich disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 5, the storing a new semantic rule further comprising receiving one or more additional input sentences and storing the new semantic rule using the one or more additional input sentences (Winston, claim 1: trigger rules along with sentences new/old are all stored on the memory used to execute the program).
Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 5.
Re Claim 16, the combined teachings of Winston and Anisimovich disclose the computer-implemented system of claim 14, the storing a new semantic rule further comprising receiving one or more additional input sentences and storing the new semantic rule using the one or more additional input sentences (Winston, claim 1: trigger rules along with sentences new/old are all stored on the memory used to execute the program).
Contact
/GEORGE C MONIKANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692 10/16/2026