DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 & 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shihoda (JP2022128907A).
As to claims 1 & 12, Shihoda teaches a washing and disinfection apparatus for a medical instrument (abstract), comprising: a washing tank (ref 13) that accommodates the medical instrument; a lid portion (ref 16) that covers an opening portion of the washing tank; a recessed portion that is provided in a lid main body portion of the lid portion and includes a bottom portion and a side wall portion that connects the bottom portion and the lid main body portion (see Figs.5-9 inner portion of the lid is recessed and has corresponding walls to define the recess, alternatively the recess can be defined by the portion of the lid in which the filter is held); and a bottom opening (e.g., interior of ref 51a which reaches filter, see [0041]) that is formed in the bottom portion and communicates with the inside of the washing tank, wherein the side wall portion is an inclined portion having a tapered shape from the lid main body portion toward the bottom portion (best seen by Figs.5-6). In the instance of the alternative citation to the recessed portion being the portion in which the filter is held, Shihoda does not disclose the shape being tapered. However, absent evidence to the contrary, a skilled artisan would reasonably find a change in the shape of the recess to be an obvious matter of choice (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 2, Shihoda or Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a tubular portion (ref 51a) extending in a direction from the bottom opening toward the washing tank is provided at the bottom portion.
As to claim 3, Shihoda or Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a cover (ref 52 including ref 43) that covers the recessed portion is provided on the lid portion.
As to claim 4, Shihoda or Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the cover is provided with a filter accommodation portion (ref 51) that accommodates a filter.
As to claim 9, Shihoda or Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the cover is provided with an outer lid (ref 52) that covers the filter accommodation portion.
As to claim 10, Shihoda or Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 9, wherein a second ventilation (ref 52a) hole is formed in the outer lid.
As to claim 11, Shihoda or Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: an apparatus main body (ref 11) that performs washing and disinfection of the medical instrument accommodated in the washing tank, wherein the lid portion is attached to the apparatus main body to be rotationally movable between an open position where the opening portion is opened and a closed position where the opening portion is closed [0037].
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shihoda (JP2022128907A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Bruce (US20150374868A1).
As to claim 5, Shihoda or Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 4 but does not disclose an inner lid and ventilation space. However, such features are known in the art, as seen by Bruce.
Bruce discloses an art related medical instrument cleaning system (abstract), wherein a filter element (ref 440, 540, or 640) is provided within a lid portion (see Figs.7A, 8, 9A, 11A). Bruce further indicates that a filter support member (refs 442, 542, or 642) are utilized in order to support the filter [0139-0140, 0158, 0176-0177, & 0207-0208]. As the filter support members cover a portion an opening through which air can flow, a skilled artisan would reasonably understand that such also acts as a lid of sorts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Shihoda to provide a filter support member (i.e., an inner lid) between the filter and the bottom opening in order to ensure support and securement of the filter as is known in the art (Bruce [0139-0140, 0158, 0176-0177, & 0207-0208]). Such a modification would also form a ventilation space which communicates the filter accommodation portion with the bottom portion.
As to claim 6, Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the inner lid has a top surface (e.g., see Bruce surface on which the filter rests) and an outer side surface (e.g., see Bruce surface opposite of the surface on which the filter rests; since the surface on which the filter rests can be considered an inner side surface, the surface opposite such surface can read on an outer side surface), and a first ventilation hole (see Bruce through holes exist on the outer side surface) is formed on the outer side surface.
As to claim 7, Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein an inner lid mounting portion on which the inner lid is mounted is provided in the filter accommodation portion (see Bruce Figs. 7A, 8, 9A, 11A in conjunction with Shihoda Figs.5-9; area where the inner lid is mounted would be within the filter accommodation portion).
As to claim 8, Modified Shihoda teaches the washing and disinfection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the filter accommodation portion accommodates the filter on a surface side opposite to a surface side facing the bottom portion of the inner lid (see Bruce Figs. 7A, 8, 9A, 11A in conjunction with Shihoda Figs.5-9).
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711