Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20 and 1, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,874. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Examiner’s Comment
It is noted that claims 18 and 20 are being interpreted in view of the applicant’s specification. Paragraph 0067 of the specification discloses that the computer storage media does not comprise signals. Therefore, claims 18 and 20 are deemed statutory under 35 U.S.C. 101. This is the same interpretation used in parent application 17/661,980 (see Search Notes dated 11/7/2024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the time component" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear what element “the time component” refers to in claim 1. The examiner suggests amending claim 6 to include proper antecedent basis and clarify which element of claim 1 “the time component” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 4,898,495).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a computer-implemented method for managing fluid stormwater in a drainage system (Figures 3, 6 and 7A-7C), the method comprising: receiving sensor data and tidal sensor data, wherein the sensor data is indicative of a depth of a fluid detected at one or more monitoring points within the drainage system, and wherein the tidal sensor data is indicative of a tidal effect from a tidally affected body of water directly or indirectly influencing the drainage system (Figure, 3, Element 31, Figure 6, Element 31, Figures 7A-7C, Figure 8, Element A and Column 1, lines 8-35, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 48 where the water surface elevation sensor detects both water level at a drainage system and tidal elevation) and generating a model based on the sensor data and the tidal sensor data, wherein the model models one or more statistical relationships between conveyed fluid in the drainage system and tidal conditions (Figures 7A-7C, Figure 8, Element A and Column 1, lines 8-35, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 48 where the beach/inlet stabilization system models a statistical relationship between the water level and a contribution from the tidal water of an adjacent body of water. The drainage system is operable in response to the determined relationship and water levels).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses detecting at least one flow event of the drainage system based on a time-series of the depth of the fluid, wherein at least one flow event is associated with the fluid in the drainage system (Figures 7A-7C, Figure 8, Element A and Column 1, lines 8-35, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 48 where the beach/inlet stabilization system models a statistical relationship between the water level and the contribution from the tidal water. The drainage system is operable in response to the determined relationship and water levels. The drainage system operates when water levels are too high).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses determining the one or more statistical relationships between a time-series of the depth of fluid and a tidal effect of the body of water based on one or more algorithms; and generating the model based on the determined one or more statistical relationships between the time-series of the depth of fluid and the tidal effect of the body (Figures 7A-7C, Figure 8, Element A and Column 1, lines 8-35, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 48 where the beach/inlet stabilization system models a statistical relationship between the water level and the contribution from the tidal water of an adjacent body of water. The drainage system is operable in response to the determined relationship and water levels).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses where the model is a linear model (Figures 7A-7C, Figure 8, Element A and Column 1, lines 8-35, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 48 where the beach/inlet stabilization system models a statistical relationship between the water level and the contribution from the tidal water of an adjacent body of water. The water level and contribution from the tidal water of an adjacent body of water are modeled in a linear manner. The drainage system is operable in response to the determined relationship and water levels).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses generating a report that includes at least an indication of predicted flow event of the drainage system, wherein a prediction of the predicted flow event is based on the model; and providing the report to a user (Figures 7A-7C, Figure 8, Element A and Column 1, lines 8-35, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 48 where the beach/inlet stabilization system models a statistical relationship between the water level and the contribution from the tidal water of an adjacent body of water. The drainage system is operable in response to the determined relationship, water levels and flow/current. The model is accessible by an end user).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses wherein the one or more statistical relationships between the time-series of the depth of fluid and the tidal effect of the body of water include a temporal offset between the time-series of the depth of fluid and the tidal effect of the body of water and the tidal effect of the body of water includes a rising of a tide of the body of water and a lowering of the tide of the body of water (Figures 7A-7C, Figure 8, Element A and Column 1, lines 8-35, Column 6, line 60-Column 7, line 48 where the beach/inlet stabilization system models a statistical relationship between the water level and the contribution from the tidal water of an adjacent body of water. The water level sensor detects an offset between the water level and the contribution from the tidal water. The drainage system is operable in response to the determined relationship, water levels and flow/current).
Conclusion
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686