Drawings
The drawings were received on March 10, 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mariano et al. (US Patent No. 11,846,034 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Mariano teaches a CO2 conversion method comprising:
• generating CO and H2O by a RWGS reaction from CO2 and H2 (= a step 103 of generating, using the volume of carbon dioxide provided in step 102 and the RWGS reactor 110, a volume of carbon monoxide in a RWGS reaction (col. 12, lines 5-8 and Fig. 1); and
CO2 + H2 ↔ CO + H2O (6) RWGS
(col. 11, line 19));
• generating C2H4 (= in this case, the carbon monoxide reduction products include one or more of the following: ethylene (C2H4)) [col. 23, lines 47-49] and H2 (= the cathode of the electrolyzer can conduct a parasitic reduction reaction (in addition to the targeted carbon monoxide reduction reaction) which produces dihydrogen) [col. 5, lines 15-17; and col. 32, lines 19-22] by CO electrolysis from the CO and H2O (= a step 104 of supplying the volume of carbon monoxide generated in step 103 to a cathode area of an electrolyzer 120 (col. 12, lines 20-22) comprising a cathode area where carbon monoxide reduction takes place according to equation 8 (col. 17, lines 34-35 and 42-43: xCO + (x+y-z)H2O + (2x+y-2z)e- ↔ CxHyOz + (2x+y-2z)OH- (8)) and where the RWGS reactor will generally already provide carbon monoxide with water mixed in and there will no longer be a need to separate out the water (col. 17, lines 51-53 and 58-60)); and
• using the H2 generated by the CO electrolysis as the H2 of the RWGS reaction (= and this dihydrogen can be provided back to be an input to the RWGS reactor) [col. 5, lines 17-19].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Mariano as described
above because choosing from the list of specific embodiments1 for use in the flow chart 100 illustrated in Fig. 1 for a set of methods for the valorization of carbon dioxide using RWGS reactions is choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP § 2143).
Regarding claim 2, the method of Mariano differs from the instant invention because Mariano does not disclose wherein a C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is 66.6 % or less.
Mariano teaches that:
In specific embodiments of the inventions disclosed herein, carbon monoxide humidification upstream of the carbon monoxide electrolyzer is a key parameter of the process chain. Depending on electrolyzer configuration, humidification of the carbon monoxide gas stream may be important for improving electrolysis efficiency (page 23, lines 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CO2 electrolysis described by Mariano with wherein a C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is 66.6 % or less because:
(i) Mariano teaches a method in a similar manner as presently claimed. Since all of the elements of the claimed method were accounted for in the prior art, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning does not render the method patentably new to the discoverer. The property or function does not necessarily mean the method is unobvious since this property or function may be presumed
or inherent in the prior art (MPEP § 2112).
(ii) Depending on the electrolyzer configuration, humidification of the carbon monoxide gas stream may be important for improving electrolysis efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Mariano teaches wherein the H2 generated by the CO electrolysis is used as the H2 of the RWGS reaction (= the cathode of the electrolyzer can conduct a parasitic
reduction reaction (in addition to the targeted carbon monoxide reduction reaction) which produces dihydrogen, and this dihydrogen can be provided back to be an input to the RWGS reactor) [col. 5, lines 15-19] and a heat source (= to reduce the amount of external heat applied, the gas stream leaving the RWGS reactor is typically at high temperature and can be harvested using heat exchangers and recirculated around the RWGS reactor to provide process insulation) [col. 10, lines 38-45].
Regarding claim 4, the method of Mariano differs from the instant invention because Mariano does not disclose wherein a C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is set to be equal to or more than a value where excess H2 is not generated in accordance with a H2 thermal efficiency.
Mariano teaches that:
At the outlet of a carbon monoxide electrolyzer, a gas stream consisting of unconverted carbon monoxide, undesired dihydrogen, ethylene gas, and/or other hydrocarbons is produced. In specific embodiments of the invention, because the dihydrogen content in the gas stream is fractional, it can be uneconomical to invest in the downstream infrastructure required to condition the undesired dihydrogen for further processing or sale so this approach, in which the dihydrogen is still utilized, provides significant benefits (col. 32, lines 22-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CO2 electrolysis described by Mariano with wherein a C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is set to be equal to or more than a value where excess H2 is not generated in accordance with a H2 thermal efficiency because:
(i) Mariano teaches a method in a similar manner as presently claimed. Since all of the elements of the claimed method were accounted for in the prior art, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning does not render the method patentably new to the discoverer. The property or function does not necessarily mean the method is unobvious since this property or function may be presumed
or inherent in the prior art (MPEP § 2112).
(ii) Since the dihydrogen content in the gas stream at the outlet of a carbon monoxide electrolyzer is fractional, the C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is at least equal to a value where excess H2 is not generated in accordance with a H2 thermal efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, Mariano teaches wherein the H2 generated by the CO electrolysis is
used as the H2 of the RWGS reaction (= the cathode of the electrolyzer can conduct a parasitic
reduction reaction (in addition to the targeted carbon monoxide reduction reaction) which produces dihydrogen, and this dihydrogen can be provided back to be an input to the RWGS reactor) [col. 5, lines 15-19] and a heat source (= to reduce the amount of external heat applied, the gas stream leaving the RWGS reactor is typically at high temperature and can be harvested using heat exchangers and recirculated around the RWGS reactor to provide process insulation) [col. 10, lines 38-45].
Regarding claim 6, the method of Mariano differs from the instant invention because
Mariano does not disclose wherein a C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is set to be equal
to or more than a value where excess H2 is not generated in accordance with a H2 thermal efficiency.
Mariano teaches that:
At the outlet of a carbon monoxide electrolyzer, a gas stream consisting of unconverted carbon monoxide, undesired dihydrogen, ethylene gas, and/or other hydrocarbons is produced. In specific embodiments of the invention, because the dihydrogen content in the gas stream is fractional, it can be uneconomical to invest in the downstream infrastructure required to condition the undesired dihydrogen for further processing or sale so this approach, in which the dihydrogen is still utilized, provides significant benefits (col. 32, lines 22-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CO2 electrolysis described by Mariano with wherein a C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is set to be equal to or more than a value where excess H2 is not generated in accordance with a H2 thermal efficiency because:
(i) Mariano teaches a method in a similar manner as presently claimed. Since all of the elements of the claimed method were accounted for in the prior art, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning does not render the method patentably new to the discoverer. The property or function does not necessarily mean the method is unobvious since this property or function may be presumed
or inherent in the prior art (MPEP § 2112).
(ii) Since the dihydrogen content in the gas stream at the outlet of a carbon monoxide electrolyzer is fractional, the C2H4 current efficiency in the CO electrolysis is at least equal to a value where excess H2 is not generated in accordance with a H2 thermal efficiency.
/EDNA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
1 Mariano teaches that FIG. 1 illustrates a flow chart 100 for a set of methods for the valorization of carbon dioxide using RWGS reactions in accordance with specific embodiments of the inventions disclosed herein (col. 11, lines 23-26). In specific embodiments of inventions disclosed herein, the dihydrogen or syngas production device is advantageously integrated with a carbon monoxide electrolyzer comprising a cathode area where carbon monoxide reduction takes place according to equation 8 (col. 17, lines 31-35).