DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuda (JP 2009-142146A).
With regard to claim 1, Tsuda, in Figure 1, discloses a semiconductor switching device comprising: a switch (12) that is connected between a power supply (2) connected from outside of the semiconductor switching device and a load (10) through an electric wire (11), and turns on and off power supply to the load; a load current detector (13) that detects the load current flowing through the switch; and a square calculator (14) that outputs a square value of the load current detected by the load current detector, wherein the switch turns on and off the power supply to the load based on a control command (paragraphs 0046 & 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuda in view of Endo (US 2010/0127690).
With regard to claim 5, Tsuda teaches the device of claim 1.
Tsuda does not teach that the semiconductor switching device is sealed in a resin package.
Endo, in Figures 1 & 2, teaches a semiconductor switching device comprising a switch (Q1) placed between a power source and a load. It is further taught that the semiconductor switching device is sealed in a resin package (paragraph 0073)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsuda with Endo, by encasing the device of Tsuda in a resin package as taught by Endo, for the purpose of allowing the device to be protected and to be implemented as a chip which can be easily placed on a PCB.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 & 8 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a semiconductor switching device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with a charge and discharge circuit that charges and discharges a capacitor connected from outside of the semiconductor switch device within a predetermined voltage range based on a square calculation result; and a pulse output circuit that outputs a pulse signal synchronized with the switching of the charge and discharge (re claim 2),
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a semiconductor switching device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with an environmental temperature information acquisition circuit that obtains environmental temperature information; and an arithmetic circuit that calculates temperature of an electric wire based on the environmental temperature information and the square value.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because it depends on claim 3 which would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a semiconductor switching device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the square calculator comprises: a power supply; a first transistor comprising a base and a collector, the base and the collector electrically connected to the power supply; a second transistor comprising a base and a collector, the base is electrically connected to an emitter of the first transistor and a first input terminal, and the collector electrically connected to the power supply; a third transistor comprising a base electrically connected to the emitter of the second transistor and second input terminal; a fourth transistor comprising an emitter and a collector, the emitter electrically connected to the emitter of the third transistor and a current source, and the collector connected to an output terminal; a fifth transistor comprising an emitter and a collector, the emitter electrically connected to the base of the fourth transistor and the collector electrically connected to the current source; and a sixth transistor comprising an emitter and a collector, the emitter electrically connected to the collector of the third transistor and the base of the fifth transistor, and the collector electrically connected to the current source.
Claims 6 & 7 are allowable.
Claim 6 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a semiconductor switching device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with an analog-to-digital conversion; a square calculator that receives a digitally converted load current signal and outputs a squared value; a second analog-to-digital conversion circuit that receives an environmental temperature signal and performs analog-to-digital conversion; an arithmetic circuit that receives a digitally converted environmental temperature signal and the squared value, and estimates temperature of the electric wire based on the digitally converted environmental temperature signal and the squared value; an overheat protection circuit that receives information of the estimated temperature of the electric wire and outputs an overheat protection signal when a cut off of a current flowing through the electric wire is determined; and a controller that receives a control command from outside and controls the switch based on the control command and the overheating protection signal.
Claim 7 is allowable as it depends from claim 6, which is also allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kidokoro (US 2005/0184715), Djelassi-Tscheck (US 2021/0050718), Maher (US 5,723,915), Illing (US 10,170,905) and Bernardoni (US 11,018,644) all teach semiconductor switching devices that detect a current through the switch and square the result to determine the temperature of the device.
/Scott Bauer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838