DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US 2018/0032577 A1, Applicant’s submitted IDS filed 3/10/2025), hereinafter “Kobayashi”.
As per claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a document search system comprising: a processor; a storage apparatus, wherein:
“the storage apparatus stores a document search database indicating content hierarchical structure of one or more documents” at [0018]-[0021] and Figs. 1, 2;
(Kobayashi teaches the structured document data 26 has plurality contents in a hierarchical relationship)
“the processor is configured to: receive a search keywords input from a user” at [0022]-[0024];
(Kobayashi teaches receiving search word such as “deposit” and “ordinary deposit”, which are inputted by a user via an input/output device)
“search the document search database for items matching the search keyword” at [0035];
(Kobayashi teaches executing a search on the structured document data 26 for items matching the search keyword)
“create a content hierarchical structure based on a plurality of items matching the search keyword in the search and present the content hierarchical structure to the user” at [0036]-[0038] and Figs 5-6;
(Kobayashi teaches outputting the content 30 obtained by the search in the format of a subtree (i.e., “content hierarchical structure”), which includes contents group 34 correspond to items matching the search keyword)
“determine a result item to be presented to the user from the plurality of items by sequentially selecting items from a higher hierarchy to a lower hierarchy according to selection” at [0037]-[0038] and Figs. 5-7;
(Kobayashi teaches determining a result item to be presented to the user by sequentially selecting items from a higher hierarchy (e.g., content 30B including “deposit” as a search word) to a lower hierarchy (e.g., content 30C including “ordinary deposit”, and content 30D at a hierarchy level lower than that of the content 30C))
“wherein the selection in at least one hierarchy follows selection by the user from a plurality of option items presented to the user” at [0045]-[0049] and Fig. 10.
(Kobayashi teaches as illustrated in Fig. 10, a deposit button corresponding to “deposit” which is a search word at the highest hierarchical level is displayed on the search result display screen. When the deposit button is designated by the user via the input device, a corresponding portion of the content 30 including “ordinary deposit” is displayed)
As per claim 2, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: “present the plurality of option items to the user in each hierarchy until the number of item options become one; and select one from the plurality of option items according to the selection by the user” at [0045]-[0049] and Fig. 10.
As per claim 3, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to “include, in the presenting of the plurality of option items to the user, general terms converted from technical term in the plurality of option items by using a synonym dictionary” at [0024], [0045]-[0049] and Fig. 10.
As per claim 4, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to “include both the technical terms and the general terms in the presenting of the plurality of option items to the user” at [0024], [0046]-[0049] and Fig. 10.
As per claim 5, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to “absorb a notation deviation between a technical term and a general term by using a synonym dictionary in the searching for the items matching the search keyword” at [0024].
As per claim 6, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to “present, to the user, a summary based on the result item and a body of an item in a lower hierarchy of the result item” at [0045]-[0049] and Fig. 10.
As per claim 7, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein “the storage apparatus stores configuration information of an apparatus used by the user, and the processor is configured to: search for information related to each of the plurality of option items with the configuration information in the selecting from the plurality of option items in the hierarchy; and cause the user to select one option item based on the information related to each of the plurality of option items in the configuration information or present an option item recommended to the user” at [0021]-[0029].
Claim 8 recites similar limitations as in claim 1 and is therefore rejected by the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner respectfully traverses Applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argued that “Kobayashi does not disclose “create a content hierarchical structure based on a plurality of items matching the search keyword in the search and present the content hierarchical structure to the user”. On the contrary, Kobayashi teaches at [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 5 that “the output unit 20 outputs a content group 34 obtained by the search by the execution unit 18 to the storage unit 22 in the format of a subtree”, wherein “a subtree” corresponds to the claimed “a content hierarchical structure”. Kobayashi further teaches “the content group 34 includes a content 30B including “deposit” as a search word, a content 30C including “ordinary deposit,” and a content 30D at a hierarchical level lower than that of content 20C. Kobayashi therefore teaches the “content hierarchical structure based on a plurality of items matching the search keyword in the search” as required by the claim.
Applicant further argued that Kobayashi does not teach “determine a result item to be presented to the user from the plurality of items by sequentially selecting items from a higher hierarchy to a lower hierarchy according to selections, wherein the selection in at least one hierarchy follows selection by the user from a plurality of options items presented to the user”. On the contrary, Kobayashi teaches at [0046]-[0047] and Fig. 10 the steps of presenting a result item to the user by sequentially selecting item from a higher hierarchy, e.g., “a deposit button corresponding to “deposit” which is a search word at the highest hierarchical level”, follow by selecting of the “ordinary deposit” button at a lower hierarchical level. The result item 56 is then presented to the user in response to the sequential selections.
In light of the foregoing arguments, the 35 U.S.C 102 rejection is hereby sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHANH B PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166
February 12, 2026