DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to the arguments filed on 07/22/2026.
2. Claims 1-9 are pending in the application.
3. Claims 1-9 have been rejected.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cronin (US pat. App. Pub. 20150358526) and in view of AHMED et al hereafter AHMED (World Intel. Prop. Orgz. WO 2024215960 A1).
4. As per claims 1, and 9, Cronin discloses an apparatus, and a method for providing a management function, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory device, wherein the memory device stores agent software capable of executing a plurality of the management functions of the apparatus, and also stores consent information indicating whether use of each of the plurality of management functions is permitted (paragraphs: 8, 24-26, and 83, wherein it emphasizes that a device executing pluralities of management functions and authorizes each of the management functions to use), and wherein the processor is configured to: execute a management function use of which is permitted by the consent information, among the plurality of management functions, reject execution of a management function use of which is prohibited by the consent information, and updates the agent software of the apparatus (paragraphs: 9, 13-15, and 79-80, wherein it elaborates the device allows to execute the management function which is permitted to use by the setting policy and restricts execution of those management functions which are prohibited. The setting of the device will be updated). Cronin discusses updating the setting of the device (paragraph: 15). He does not mentions that updating the setting of the device requires administrator authorization. Any ordinary skill in the art would understand this teaching of Cronin indeed teaches the limitation of updates the agent software without obtaining a consent of an administrator of the apparatus. Cronin does not expressly discuss downloading the agent software from cloud and automatically update the agent software. However, in the same field of endeavor, AHMED discloses the apparatus according to a service provided by a cloud service device, and wherein the processor is configured to: connect and communicate with a cloud service device via a network and download the agent software (paragraphs: 4, 29, and 54), and automatically update the agent software without obtaining a consent of an administrator of the apparatus (paragraphs: 47, and 63).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated AHMED’s teachings of downloading the agent software from cloud and automatically update the agent software with the teachings of Cronin, for the purpose of effectively protecting the agent software from any unauthorized intruders.
5. As per claim 2, Cronin in view of AHMED discloses the apparatus, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a designation pertinent to the consent information from the administrator, and wherein the consent information specifies whether use of each of the plurality of management functions is permitted, in accordance with the designation from the administrator (Cronin, paragraphs: 26, 38).
6. As per claim 3, Cronin in view of AHMED discloses the apparatus, wherein the processor is configured to reflect a consented scope of another apparatus that has been designated in advance, to the consent information (Cronin, paragraphs: 68, 77, and 83).
7. As per claim 4, Cronin in view of AHMED discloses the apparatus, wherein the processor is configured to: transmit a designation of the other apparatus to the cloud service device, receive a consented scope of the other apparatus from the cloud service device and reflect the consented scope to the consent information (Cronin, paragraphs: 13-14, and 26).
8. As per claim 5, Cronin in view of AHMED discloses the apparatus, wherein, when there is a change in the consented scope of the other apparatus, the processor is configured to reflect the change in the consented scope, to the consent information (Cronin, paragraphs: 41, 51, and 56).
9. As per claim 6, Cronin in view of AHMED discloses the apparatus, wherein the memory device stores trust information, the trust information includes information of a user of the plurality of management functions, wherein the consent information includes information on whether use of each of the plurality of management functions subsequent to a change in the trust information is to be permitted, and wherein the processor is configured to: execute, in response to a change in the trust information, a function use of which subsequent to a change in the trust information is permitted by the consent information, and reject execution of a management function use of which subsequent to a change in the trust information is prohibited by the consent information (Cronin, paragraphs: 8, 15, and 79).
10. As per claim 7, Cronin discloses a system comprising: the apparatus; and a service device, wherein the service device retains the consent information, and the service device controls use of the plurality of management functions by a user, in accordance with the consent information (Cronin, paragraphs: 9, 14, and 26). Cronin does not expressly disclose the cloud service. However, in the same field of endeavor, AHMED discloses the cloud service (paragraphs: 4, and 54).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated AHMED’s teachings of the cloud service with the teachings of Cronin, for the purpose of effectively protecting the consent information from any unauthorized intruders.
11. As per claim 8, Cronin in view of AHMED discloses the system, wherein the service device excludes a management function use of which is prohibited by the consent information, from a display for allowing the user to make a selection (Cronin, paragraphs: 37-38, and 42-43).
Citation of References
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited but not been replied upon for this office action:
Narasimhan et al (US pat. app. Pub. 20220060375): discusses a software upgrade to be deployed by a cloud extension agent is received by a remote network management platform, the cloud extension agent running locally on a network and initiating an outbound connection to the remote network management platform through a firewall of the network. A command is generated for the software upgrade, the command comprising an identification of a source of the software upgrade. The command is provided to the cloud extension agent, wherein providing the command causes the cloud extension agent to acquire the software upgrade from the identified source and deploy the software upgrade.
D et al (US pat. App. Pub. 20230221935): elaborates that a management node includes a processor and a memory coupled to the processor. The memory may include a blueprint-generation unit and a deployment unit. The blueprint-generation unit may generate a blueprint with specifications of hardware and an operating system to be deployed in a cloud computing infrastructure. Further, the blueprint-generation unit may append a command to the blueprint. The command may download a script from a remote collector that is associated with a monitoring platform to monitor workloads. Furthermore, the memory may include a deployment unit. The deployment unit may deploy an instance of the workload on a host computing system in the cloud computing infrastructure according to the blueprint. During the deployment of the instance of the workload, the deployment unit may execute the command to deploy a monitoring agent on the workload and configure the monitoring agent to monitor the workload.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD W REZA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407