DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-18 recite an abstract idea of organizing human activity and a mental process. The claim limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as discussed below.
Step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter
More specifically, regarding Step 1, of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the claims are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2a1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
Next, the claims are analyzed to determine whether it is directed to a judicial exception.
Claims 1-17 recite: a method for providing a smart-venue based wagering game during a live event, comprising:
a) receiving, in real-time from one or more sensors, in-venue data;
b) receiving data relative to statistical information relative to said live event;
c) utilizing said received data and in-venue data in accordance with the real-time situation/development of the live event for calculating the occurrence probability of one or more outcomes of evolving situations and their corresponding odds in a specific period of time during the progress of said live event; and
d) generating one or more betting events, by a game server, wherein each of said betting event is based on said probability calculation and corresponding odds.
Claim 18 recite similar limitations.
The underlined claim limitations recite an abstract idea of organizing human activity. The step of utilizing live event data to calculate probability of outcomes and corresponding odds and generating betting events based on the calculated probability of outcomes and corresponding odds are steps of managing a wagering game. A wagering game is a social activity. Therefore, the claims recites a method of organizing human activity. In addition, managing a wagering game is a fundamental economic principle, which is a method of organizing human activity.
The underlined claim limitations also recite a mental process. The steps of utilizing live event data to calculate probability of outcomes and corresponding odds and generating betting events based on the calculated probability of outcomes and corresponding odds are steps of managing a wagering game are steps that can be performed mentally in the human mind by observing and making evaluations.
Step 2a2 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
The second prong of step 2a is the consideration of whether the claim recites additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application.
An additional element or combination of additional elements that are indicative of integrating the abstract idea into a practical application include:
-Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
-Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
-Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
-Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
-Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Additional element or combination of additional elements that are not indicative of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application include:
-Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
-Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
-Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
Claims 1-18 do not apply a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, and do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing.
Claims 1-18 are not directed to an improvement to a function of a computer. There is no improvement to a technical field. In addition, the claims do not apply the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine. The claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in a meaningful way.
The additional elements of: receiving, in real-time from one or more sensors, in-venue data; and receiving data relative to statistical information relative to said live event amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
The additional elements of a game server is a generic computer that generally applies the judicial exception and merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
For the reasons discussed above, the additional elements identified above considered alone and in combination fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2b of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
Next, the claims as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception.
Claims 1-18 recite one or more sensors to provide in venue data. The use of sensors to provide event data is well known in the art. Krull (US 2006/0116185) discloses tracking technology such as sensors are known in the art to infer the trajectory of the ball or other sports object from the motion of the athlete or sportsman (paragraph 26)
The additional element of a server or a computer to generate betting events is known in the art. Dent (US 2006/0148555) discloses that in Internet betting systems, it is known to provide a central computer or “betting server” to operating the betting games (paragraphs 31-32). Winner (US 2010/0144426) also discloses it is known or conventional for users to bet on outcome using a computer network systems (paragraphs 5-6)
The claim limitations individually and as a whole do not amount to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Dependent claims further recite an abstract idea of organizing human activity and performing a mental process. Taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified abstract idea. Looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The dependent clams merely include limitations that further define the abstract idea and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract. The claim limitations individually and as a whole do not amount to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “participant” in line 2 should be --participate--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-9, 11-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "other types of sensors suitable to provide data relative to activities that occur in real-time during live sporting events" renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the claim. The claim does not clearly define what sensors would be considered “other types of sensors suitable” and what sensors would not be considered “other types of sensors suitable”.
Applicant’s specification (published paragraph13) recites, “According to an embodiment of the invention, the wearable sensors are miniature magneto-inertial sensors or other types of sensors suitable to provide data relative to activities that occur in real-time during live sporting events.”
Applicant’s specification (published paragraph 43) recites, “The Internet of things (IoT) sensors 2 may include wearable sensors that are configured to provide real-time data relative to physical performance of the wearer (i.e., of an athlete, sportsman or team member) such as miniature magneto-inertial sensors or other types of sensors ideal for obtaining sport performance measures during competition, motion tracking sensors (e.g., GPS) or any other forms of "in-field" sensors (i.e., sensors suitable to provide data relative to activities that occur in real-time during live sporting events and may include data relative to the weather, pitch condition, crowed or other suitable in-venue data), one or more cameras suitable to capture activities that occur during the live sporting event, etc.”.
Although the specification mentions that the wearable sensors may include other types of sensors, the specification fails to clearly define what the other types of sensors are limited to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the type of wearable sensors.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the one or more player participates in the wagering game" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. More specifically, claims 5 recites, “one or more users to participant (participates) in the wagering game”. It appears that “the one or more player participants” in claim refers to the one or more user’s participating in the wagering game. In light of the specification, there are players participating in a live event game, and users participating wagering game based on the on the event game. The claim should be amended to differentiate the players in the event game and users in the wagering game.
Claims 9, 12-15 are rejected by dependency. Claim 15 recites, “participant players” and is rejected for the same reason as discussed above.
Claim 9 recites, “or any other equipment provided with the guidance application and is capable of communicating with the other terminal devices and/or the game server. The claim is indefinite because the claim fails to clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the claim. The claim does not clearly define “any other equipment provided with the guidance application and is capable of communicating with the other terminal devices and/or the game server” are what defines would not be considered to be as “other equipment”.
Applicant’s specification (paragraph 55) recites, “According to some embodiments of the invention, the human operator and one or more users may be located in the same room (e.g., playing around the same table like in a casino oriented environment as shown in FIG. 3), where each user 31-33 is provided with its own terminal device (e.g., tablet, PC, or any other equipment provided with the guidance application and is capable of communicating with the other terminal devices and/or the computer system of the game administrator 22 and with server 1 of system 10).” However, the specification fails to describe what the other equipment are limited to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the type of other equipment.
Claim 11 recites, “The method according to claim 1, further comprising a betting widget for interfacing with the wagering game though external computing environments”. The claim is directed to a method. However, the claim does not positively claim a step rather describe what a “betting widget” is for and therefore fails to further limit the claimed metho and particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the claimed method.
Claim 17 recites, “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which when executed by at least one processor causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1.” The claim recites both a product (a non-transitory computer readable medium) and a method (method of claim 1). A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear whether infringement occurs when one creates a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising the instructions, or whether infringement occurs when the method is performed using the non-transitory computer-readable medium executed by the at least one processor.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 17 recites, “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which when executed by at least one processor causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1.” A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions comprises instructions to perform the method but may not actually perform the method. Performing the instructions of the non-transitory computer-readable medium requires a processor to execute the instructions, whereas a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions refers to a physical non-transitory medium/device comprising the instructions that can be used by a processor.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hall (US 2018/0190077).
Claim 1. Hall discloses a method for providing a smart-venue based wagering game during a live event (paragraphs 26-28), comprising:
a) receiving, in real-time from one or more sensors, in-venue data (sensors, video camera, and/or input capture devices of the live event; paragraphs 50-51, 60, 81);
b) receiving data relative to statistical information relative to said live event (statistical information including historical statistics; paragraphs 31, 55-57, 60);
c) utilizing said received data and in-venue data in accordance with the real-time situation/development of the live event for calculating the occurrence probability of one or more outcomes of evolving situations and their corresponding odds in a specific period of time during the progress of said live event (various live data, and statistical information are analyzed and use for odds-making for use with wagering or betting, and providing a platform for offering and receiving bets for the least one live golf event; paragraphs 50, 55-58, 60, 64); and
d) generating one or more betting events, by a game server, for a real-time condition, wherein each of said betting event is based on said probability calculation and corresponding odds (As indicated above in paragraphs 50, 55-58, 60, 64. In addition, Hall discloses betting on real-time conditions, or “in-play” opportunities where in the in play information may be modified based on the event information. For example, an outcome of the at bat, whether a running back will rush for more than 100 yards in responsive to the player rushing for 80 yards; whether a player will pitch a no-hitter which is enabled once the player has pitched seven innings without giving up a hit. See paragraphs 33, 77-78).
Claim 2. Hall discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors are selected from the group consisting of: wearable sensors that are configured to provide real-time data relative to physical performance of the wearer, motion tracking sensors, "in-field" sensors, and cameras (wearable devices, cameras, hole location and course and/or hole condition sensors are “in-field” sensors”, GPS, distance and trajectory, velocity of swing and ball are motion data; paragraphs 50-52).
Claim 3. Hall discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the wearable sensors are miniature magneto-inertial sensors or other types of sensors suitable to provide data relative to activities that occur in real-time during live sporting events (In the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim with the dependency of claim 2 requires one or more sensors. Hall discloses cameras as described above and anticipates the claim. Alternatively, Hall discloses wearable device that provide location and biometric data to provide data during the live sporting event; paragraph 52).
Claim 4. Hall discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the "in-field" sensors configured to provide data relative to at least one of: the weather, pitch condition, and crowd events (In the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim with the dependency of claim 2 requires one or more sensors. Hall discloses cameras as described above and anticipates the claim. Alternatively, Hall discloses sensors to determine “in-field” information such as hole location and course and/or hole condition sensors are “in-field” sensors”; paragraphs 51-52).
Claim 5. Hall discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising allowing one or more users to participate in the wagering game and to selectively bet on possible outcomes of the generated betting event (bet on play selections, paragraphs 33, 77-78).
Claim 6. Hall discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising closing the betting event after a selected interval such that no further bets can be added to said betting event and terminating said betting event (Time interval for when the bets can be placed and when the bets will close; paragraphs 41, 78).
Claim 7. Hall discloses the method according to claim 6, upon termination of the betting event, crediting winners of each of said betting events (wager information is used to payout the wager, paragraph 34.).
Claim 8. Hall disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein each of the one or more players participates in the wagering game via an interactive media guidance application adapted to run on a terminal device and to further communicate with the game server (server platform via an interactive graphic user interface on a computing; abstract, paragraphs 49, 50, 58, 60, 66)
Claim 9. Hall discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the terminal device is selected from the group consisting of: set-top-box, smart TV, personal computer, computer based mobile device, or any other equipment provided with the guidance application and is capable of communicating with the other terminal devices and/or the game server (tablet computer, a wireless computing device, mobile phone, smart phone, personal computer, laptop computer; paragraphs 66, 71, 96, 98).
Claim 10. Hall discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the wagering game is playable in a casino oriented environment (It is noted that the claim does not positively claim the step of placing a wager in a casino. In addition, in the broadest reasonable interpretation a “casino oriented environment” can be any location used to place a wager. Hall disclose that players can place wagers remotely from the server and thus “playable in a casino oriented environment”; paragraphs 66, 96-98, 102).
Claim 12. Hall disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein the interactive media guidance application is provided with a user interface that includes the following elements: a broadcast or other representation of the live event in combination with data relative to betting events (Video streams are provided for wagering; paragraphs 40-43. Data from live sports event is transmitted to at least one computing device having the interactive GUI for pre-betting functions and analytics; paragraph 60).
Claim 13. Hall discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the data relative to betting events comprises one or more of the followings: a visual representation of a game administrator, a ranking table of the participant users, a duration indicator of the current betting event, stopwatch, bets suggestions, live and historical statistics, and chat (paragraphs 31, 46, 55-57, 60, 81).
Claim 14. Hall discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the user interface further comprises representation of betting suggestion provided by the participant users (The management system 240 may be configured to receive in-play opportunity suggestions from the bettors 245; paragraph 89.).
Claim 16. Hall discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the in-venue data is relative to performance of a team and/or one or more individual players (paragraphs 27-30).
Claims 17-18. Hall discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions (paragraphs 49, 66, 70, 91-93) which when executed by at least one processor causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1 and a system for providing a smart-venue based wagering game during a live event, the system comprising: a) one or more sensors for obtaining in-venue data; b) at least one source for providing statistical information relative to said live event a processing unit, configured: to receive data from the at least one source and in-venue data from the one or more sensors; to calculate, in accordance with real-time situation/development of the live event, the occurrence probability of one or more outcomes of evolving situations and their corresponding odds in a specific period of time during the progress of said live event; and to generate one or more betting events for a real-time condition, wherein each of said betting events is based on said probability calculation and corresponding odds (See rejection for claim 1 above, and Figs. 1-4 and related description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 2018/0190077) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Todd (US 2016/0182924).
Claim 11. Hall discloses the method according to claim 1 as discussed above but fails to teach a betting widget for interfacing with the wagering game through external computing environments. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In an analogous art to wagering systems Todd discloses a method for placing live bets (paragraph 146). Todd disclose that the bets are placed using a betting widget (paragraphs 142-146). The betting widget interfaces the wagering game though external computing environments (i.e., networked video stream to input device; abstract; paragraphs 15-17, 27). This allows a plurality of independent video containers/widgets with different functionality to be displayed simultaneously (Figs. 4, 6-8, and 12-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hall’s invention and incorporate betting widget for interfacing with the wagering game through external computing environments in order to provide the predictable result of providing a plurality of independent video and content simultaneously.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 2018/0190077) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hayon (US 2015/0379816)
Claim 15. Hall disclose the claimed invention as discussed above but fails to teach that the user interface further comprises live chat for allowing the interaction between the participant players. Nevertheless, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In an analogous art to betting systems, Hayon discloses a live betting system for participants to place bets on live sporting events (abstract). Hayon discloses the graphical user interface comprises live chat for allowing the interaction between the participants players (paragraphs 16, 43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hall’s invention and incorporate a live chat feature in the user interface in order to provide the predictable result of allowing the interaction between the participants players.
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 18414950. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASSON H YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715