DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed 03/10/2025.
Claim 1-20 is pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/24/2025 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (CN 112947947 A) in view of Zou (US 2021/0019130 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses an application download method, comprising:
receiving, by a server, a first application download request sent by an electronic device, wherein the first application download request carries device information of the electronic device and information about a first application that is requested to be downloaded (pg. 3, [0011]: terminal equipment sends a downloading request for downloading an installation package of a target application (e.g. application information), wherein the downloading request comprises dynamic information, and the dynamic information is state information which is read from the terminal equipment when the downloading request is generated and reflects the current operation capacity of the terminal equipment);
determining, based on the information about the first application, a first application package corresponding to the first application (pg. 4, [0001]: wherein the target application has a complete installation package);
performing, by the server, unpacking processing on the first application package based on the device information (pg. 4, [0003]: in the download request, the type of the device including the terminal device, selects a complete installation package suitable for the device according to the type of the device);splitting an entry package in the first application package into a basic package and another resource package (pg. 5, [0003]: the complete installation package can be divided into a plurality of function blocks according to different functions, when the installation package is determined, if the size of the installation package determined based on the network state and the storage state of the terminal device is smaller than the size of the complete installation package); and
sending the basic package to the electronic device (pg. 30, [0006]: extracting files from the received installation package, writing the files into the installation directory of the terminal, and completing installation of the target application).
However, Yan does not explicitly disclose wherein the basic package comprises a set of resources for running the first application by the electronic device.
In an analogous art, Zou discloses wherein the basic package comprises a set of resources for running the first application by the electronic device ([0026]: send the main package of the application to the terminal by using the communications interface, where the main package includes the information necessary for running the application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yan to comprise “wherein the basic package comprises a set of resources for running the first application by the electronic device” taught by Zou.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled for downloading an installation-free application, so that a relatively large application can also meet a “tap-to-use” requirement of a user (Zou, [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: performing unpacking processing on the basic package; and splitting the basic package into a home page package and a non-home page package, wherein the home page package comprises a set of resources for opening a home page of the first application (Zou, [0013]: the server may further split, based on determined association degrees between the pages, a program of the application into a main package and at least one subpackage. [0050]: The main package includes information necessary for running the application and home page information of the application, that is, information about a page that is first entered by the user after the user opens the application), and the non-home page package comprises a set of resources for opening a function page of the first application (Zou, [0059]: the terminal may actively send a request for obtaining a subpackage to the server, to download the subpackage of the application without affecting current operation experience of the user, thereby helping accelerate the speed of subsequently opening another page by the user, and improving user experience). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the sending the basic package to the electronic device comprises: sending the home page package to the electronic device, wherein sending the home page package causes the electronic device to start the first application and display the home page of the first application using the home page package (Zou, [0013]: the server may further split, based on determined association degrees between the pages, a program of the application into a main package and at least one subpackage. [0050]: The main package includes information necessary for running the application and home page information of the application, that is, information about a page that is first entered by the user after the user opens the application). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein further comprising performing, after the sending the home page package to the electronic device: receiving a second application download request sent by the electronic device, wherein the second application download request is a request sent by the electronic device during, or after, installation of the home page package (Zou, [0071]-[0072]: After receiving the main package, the terminal performs validity check. The terminal runs the application A based on the main package); and sending the non-home page package to the electronic device in response to the second application download request, wherein sending the non-home page package causes electronic device to display the function page of the first application using the non-home page package (Zou, [0027]: send a correspondence for each of the plurality of subpages between the respective subpage and one of the at least one subpackage to the terminal by using the communications interface; receive a request sent by the terminal for downloading a second subpackage by using the communications interface, where when determining that information about a to-be-accessed page is not downloaded, the terminal determines, based on the correspondence for the to-be-accessed page, the second subpackage in which the information about the to-be-accessed page is located; and send the second subpackage to the terminal by using the communications interface). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the device information comprises one or more of a device type, a language type, a processor model, or a resolution (Yan, pg. 4, [0004]: the static information further included in the download request is static device information reflecting the terminal device, and further, the static information may include: one or more of a device type, a system version, a device CPU platform, a resolution, and a codec capability).
Regarding claim 6, Yan discloses an application download method, comprising:
sending, by an electronic device, a first application download request to a server in response to a first operation of a user, wherein the first application download request carries device information of the electronic device and information about a first application that the first operation indicates to download (pg. 3, [0011]: terminal equipment sends a downloading request for downloading an installation package of a target application (e.g. application information), wherein the downloading request comprises dynamic information, and the dynamic information is state information which is read from the terminal equipment when the downloading request is generated and reflects the current operation capacity of the terminal equipment);
receiving a basic package sent by the server based on the first application download request(pg. 5, [0003]: the complete installation package can be divided into a plurality of function blocks according to different functions, when the installation package is determined, if the size of the installation package determined based on the network state and the storage state of the terminal device is smaller than the size of the complete installation package).
However, Yan does not disclose wherein the basic package comprises a set of resources that are in an entry package of the first application and that are associated with running the first application by the electronic device; displaying the first application based on the basic package.
In an analogous art, Zou discloses wherein the basic package comprises a set of resources that are in an entry package of the first application and that are associated with running the first application by the electronic device ([0026]: send the main package of the application to the terminal by using the communications interface, where the main package includes the information necessary for running the application); displaying the first application based on the basic package ([0045]: After the user chooses to open an application, a page first displayed to the user is a home page, and another page is a subpage. For example, the terminal runs a shopping application, and a page first displayed to the user is a home page).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yan to comprise “wherein the basic package comprises a set of resources that are in an entry package of the first application and that are associated with running the first application by the electronic device; displaying the first application based on the basic package” taught by Zou.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled for downloading an installation-free application, so that a relatively large application can also meet a “tap-to-use” requirement of a user (Zou, [0006]]).
Regarding claim 7, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the receiving the basic package comprises: receiving a home page package sent by the server, wherein the home page package comprises a set of resources that are in the basic package and that are associated with opening a home page of the first application (Zou, [0013]: the server may further split, based on determined association degrees between the pages, a program of the application into a main package and at least one subpackage. [0050]: The main package includes information necessary for running the application and home page information of the application, that is, information about a page that is first entered by the user after the user opens the application). The same rationale applies as in claim 6
Regarding claim 8, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising performing, after the receiving a home page package sent by the server: installing the home page package (Zou, [0071]-[0072]: After receiving the main package, the terminal performs validity check. The terminal runs the application A based on the main package); sending a second application download request to the server during, or after, the installation of the home page package; and receiving a non-home page package sent by the server, wherein the non-home page package comprises a set of resources that are in the basic package and that are associated with opening a function page of the first application (Zou, [0027]: send a correspondence for each of the plurality of subpages between the respective subpage and one of the at least one subpackage to the terminal by using the communications interface; receive a request sent by the terminal for downloading a second subpackage by using the communications interface, where when determining that information about a to-be-accessed page is not downloaded, the terminal determines, based on the correspondence for the to-be-accessed page, the second subpackage in which the information about the to-be-accessed page is located; and send the second subpackage to the terminal by using the communications interface). The same rationale applies as in claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the displaying the first application based on the basic package comprises: displaying the home page of the first application based on the home page package (Zou, [0045]: After the user chooses to open an application, a page first displayed to the user is a home page, and another page is a subpage. For example, the terminal runs a shopping application, and a page first displayed to the user is a home page). The same rationale applies as in claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising: detecting, in a process of displaying the home page of the first application, a second operation of the user; and jumping, based on the non-home page package, to the function page of the first application that the second operation indicates to display (Zou, [0072], [0074]: The terminal receives an instruction for accessing the subpage 3, and the terminal determines that the downloaded main package does not include information about the subpage 3, and determines, based on a correspondence between the subpage 3 and a subpackage 2, that the information about the subpage 3 is included in the subpackage 2, so that the terminal sends a request for downloading the subpackage 2 to the server). The same rationale applies as in claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising performing, before the sending the second application download request to the server: detecting, in a process of displaying the home page of the first application, a third operation of the user, wherein the third operation indicates to jump to the function page of the first application (Zou, [0072]-[0073]: Step 205: The terminal runs the application A based on the main package. Step 206: The terminal receives an instruction for accessing the subpage 1, and accesses the subpage 1 based on the url of the subpage 1 included in the main package). The same rationale applies as in claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, Yan-Zou discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the device information comprises one or more of a device type, a language type, a processor model, or a resolution (Yan, pg. 4, [0004]: the static information further included in the download request is static device information reflecting the terminal device, and further, the static information may include: one or more of a device type, a system version, a device CPU platform, a resolution, and a codec capability).
Regarding claim 13; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 15; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 16; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 17; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 18; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 19; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, Yan-Zou discloses the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the first application is an installation-free application (Zou, [0040]: A server receives a request sent by a terminal for downloading an installation-free application), and wherein the first operation comprises an operation on an icon, a card, a control or an application download link (Zou, [0003]: A user may directly download the application from a server and run the application by taping an application icon. This implements a tap-to-use operation mode). The same rationale applies as in claim 13.
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Wang, US 2024/0338227 A1: Quick Application Processing Method, Electronic Device, and Quick Application System.
Patterson et al., US 2022/0137944 A1: Accelerating Application and Sub-Package Installations.
Conclusion
/J.C.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446