DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 10 March 2025.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an earlier application filed 3 November 2022.
Response to Arguments
The 112(b) rejecitons have bene withdrawn.
Applicant was silent with respect to the double patenting rejections, so they are presently sustained.
Applicant’s remarks on the merits have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Krishman does not teach a “first adjust reference circuit coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a first reference signal to a DAC” or “a second reference signal coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a second reference signal to a DAC”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First the two reference signals are the PTAT and CTAT potentials respectively. As such, “first adjust reference circuit coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a first reference signal to a DAC” and “a second reference signal coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a second reference signal to a DAC” appear to be directly taught by Krishnan. As such, this argument is not persuasive. As to the argument of the DAC referring to the same DAC receiving the code, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As to the remarks about control circuitry, by adjusting the DAC to compensate for temperature, this will adjust the target voltage and consequent offset trimming. As to the references being not properly combinable, applicant has not shown sufficient proof for that to be the case. Item 312 in Krishman is outright referred to as a DAC, and the combination was to provide temperature compensation to the DAC of Raithatha. Even were that not the case, a judgment on obviousness that takes into account knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Further, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In short, there appears to be too much evidence and case law to withdraw 103 rejections at the time of writing. The obviousness-based rejection is unfortunately sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raithatha (US 20210135679) in view of Krishnan (US 20180292852).
As to claim 1, Raithatha discloses (see image below) A voltage conversion system with trimming capability, comprising: a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) configured to convert an input code to a reference voltage; a voltage converter configured to generate an output voltage in response to an input voltage and the reference voltage;
Raitha does not disclose a first adjustable reference circuit coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a first reference signal to the DAC; a second adjustable reference circuit coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a second reference signal to the DAC; and control circuitry configured to: adjust the first adjustable reference circuit; and adjust the second adjustable reference circuit to perform offset trimming of the output voltage.
Krishnan teaches a first adjustable reference circuit coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a first reference signal to the DAC; a second adjustable reference circuit coupled to the DAC and configured to provide a second reference signal to the DAC; and control circuitry configured to: adjust the first adjustable reference circuit; and adjust the second adjustable reference circuit to perform offset trimming of the output voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use the reference as disclosed in Krishnan to reduce temperature variaton.
As to claim 2, Raithatha in view of Krishan teaches wherein the first adjustable reference circuit comprises a resistive network with multiple selectable taps (Krishana, Fig. 2).
As to claim 3, Raithatha in view of Krishan teaches wherein the control circuitry sets a resistance value for adjusting the first adjustable reference circuit by selecting among the multiple selectable taps (Krishana, Fig. 2).
As to claim 4, Raitha in view of Krishan teaches wherein the second adjustable reference circuit comprises a resistive network with multiple selectable taps (Krishan Fig. 2).
As to claim 5, Raitha in view of Krishnan teaches wherein the DAC comprises a resistive ladder network coupled to the second reference signal (Krishan Fig. 2).
As to claim 6, Raitha in view of Krishnan teaches wherein the control circuitry adjust the first adjustable reference circuit until the output voltage reaches a given voltage range; and adjusts the second adjustable reference circuit until the output voltage reaches a given offset (the PTAT ensures the value has a gain proportional to the temperature and the CTAT generates the offset for the reference).
As to claim 8, Raitha in view of Krishan teaches further comprising a feedback circuit coupled between an output of the voltage converter and the voltage converter, wherein thefeedback circuit generates a feedback signal in response to the output voltage and the reference voltage (see image above).
As to claim 9, Raitha in view of Krishan wherein the first adjustable reference circuit is adjustable to provide multiple operating ranges for the output voltage (Krishan, Fig. 2).
As to claim 10, Raitha in view of Krishan teaches further comprising a buffer circuit coupled between the DAC and the voltage converter, the buffer circuit configured to buffer the reference voltage (See op amp in annotated image above).
As to claims 11-14, 16-20 these are similar to claims 1-6, 8-10 above and are obvious per MPEP 2112.02.
Double Patenting
The case law and reasoning for the nonstatutory double patenting rejection may be foundin a prior action.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12267084 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented document has more limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 would be allowable if a disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed, in addition to the claim is rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15 would be allowable if a disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed and the claim is rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose: “wherein the control circuitry is further configured to, when the output voltage reaches a positive offset relative to a given offset: adjust the input code to create a negative offset; and adjust the second adjustable reference circuit until the output voltage reaches the given offset..” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose: “further comprising: determining whether the output voltage has a negative offset or a positive offset relative to a given offset; when the output voltage has a negative offset, adjusting the second reference signal until the output voltage reaches the given offset; and when the output voltage has a positive offset: adjusting the input code to create a negative offset; and adjusting the second reference signal until the output voltage reaches the given offset” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Please note: while objected or allowed claims have been indicated, only the presented claims have been examined for compliance with form and 35 USC 112 consideration. As a reminder, claims that are dependent upon objected claims still require examination for form and 35 USC 112 issues even if they overcome 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections. Similarly, amendments incorporating allowable subject matter into independent claims requires reconsideration for dependent claim form and any possible 35 USC 112 issues that arise through amendments even if the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are overcome. As such, applicant is advised that while examiner can enter previously allowed claims or previously objected claims rewritten into independent form after final rejection, any other claims may not be entered.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839