DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,362 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations in the application claims can be found in the patented claims. Except for a minor difference in terminology, it is clear that all elements of claims 1-20 are found in claims 1-9 and 17-18 of the patent. The difference between claims of the application and claims of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claims includes more elements and is, thus, more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1-9 and 17-18 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1-20 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-9 and 17-18 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 12 each recite, in pertinent part, “wherein the articulation joint has a straight configuration and at least four different bent configurations”. However, the specification, as originally filed, only discloses four different bent configurations. The specification does not disclose more than four different bent configurations to provide support for the “at least four” recitation. Accordingly, the claims fail to comply with the written description requirement. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (JP H11-155806 A) in view of Moriyama (US 2005/0065404 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goto discloses an articulation joint (12; Fig. 1) for a medical device (1; Fig. 1), the articulation joint including: a proximal portion comprised of proximal links (15b and proximal links of 15d; Fig. 2); a distal portion comprised of distal links (15a and distal links of 15c; Fig. 2); and an intermediate portion comprised of intermediate links (proximal-most link of 15c and distal-most links of 15d; Fig. 2), wherein the intermediate portion is disposed between the proximal portion and the distal portion (Fig. 2), wherein the articulation joint has a straight configuration along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2) and two different bent configurations when the articulation joint bends towards a first side (upward bending; Figs. 2 and 5; side where adjacent proximal links have a gap therebetween), a second side opposite the first side (downward bending; Figs. 2 and 5; side where adjacent proximal links do not have a gap therebetween), wherein the proximal portion is bendable towards only the first side (Fig. 5; downward bending), and wherein the distal portion is bendable towards each of the first, second (Fig. 5; upward and downward bending).
Although Goto teaches that its invention can be applied to an endoscope having a four-way curve (see page 7, paragraph), it does not specifically disclose the articulation joint having four different bent configurations, wherein the articulation joint bends toward a third side, and a fourth side opposite the third side of the articulation joint and away from the longitudinal axis, and wherein the distal portion is bendable towards each of the first, second, third and fourth sides. Moriyama teaches an analogous articulation joint (12) that has a distal section (12a) that is bendable in four directions (par. [0039]) and a proximal section (12b) that is bendable in two directions (par. [0040]). Moriyama teaches two bent configurations wherein the distal portion (12a) bends toward a third and fourth side, and the proximal portion (12b) does not bend (Fig. 4). Moriyama teaches the desirability of the distal end of an articulation joint being able to navigate torturous pathways and achieve different bending radii for improved viewing of target areas and navigation (par. [0009] and [0052]; Figs. 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the distal portion of the articulation joint of Goto to bend in four directions as taught by Moriyama, and contemplated by Goto, such that the operator may view easily view target areas by manipulating the articulation joint to achieve various bending radii, as taught by Moriyama, and to navigate tortuous pathways easier. Such modification provides a configuration wherein the distal portion can bend in four directions thereby providing an articulation joint with four different bent configurations.
Regarding claim 2, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 1, wherein, in the straight configuration: (1) a first plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the proximal links, the intermediate links, and the distal links on the first side (Fig. 2; upward bending), and (2) a second plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of only the distal links on the second, opposite side (Fig. 2; downward bending).
Regarding claim 3, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 2, wherein, in the straight configuration: (3) a third plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the intermediate links and the distal links on the third side (Moriyama: Fig. 3; 12 has gaps on all four sides), and (4) a fourth plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the intermediate links and the distal links on the fourth, opposite side (Moriyama: Fig. 3; 12 has gaps on all four sides).
Regarding claim 4, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 3, wherein, as the articulation joint transitions from the straight configuration to the first bent configuration (upward bending; Fig. 5), (i) a size of the first plurality of gaps defined along the first side is reduced (Fig. 5), (ii) a size the second plurality of gaps defined along the second side is increased (Fig. 5), (iii) a size of the third plurality of gaps and a size of the fourth plurality of gaps remains the same (Fig. 5; the third and fourth sides are not bent).
Regarding claim 5, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 1, wherein a maximum bend angle towards the first side (Fig. 5; upward bending) is greater than a maximum bend angle towards each of the second, third, and fourth sides (Fig. 5; the proximal portion does not bend toward the second, third and fourth sides).
Regarding claim 6, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 1, wherein a maximum bend angle towards the third side is equal to a maximum bend angle towards the fourth side (Moriyama: Fig. 3; third and fourth gaps are equal).
Regarding claim 12, Goto discloses an articulation joint (12; Fig. 1) for a medical device (1; Fig. 1), the articulation joint including: a proximal portion comprised of proximal links (15b and proximal links of 15d; Fig. 2); a distal portion comprised of distal links (15a and 15c; Fig. 2); and an intermediate portion comprised of intermediate links (distal-most links of 15d; Fig. 2), wherein the intermediate portion is disposed between the proximal portion and the distal portion (Fig. 2), wherein the articulation joint has a straight configuration along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2) and two different bent configurations when the articulation joint bends towards a first side (upward bending; Figs. 2 and 5; side where adjacent proximal links have a gap therebetween), a second side opposite the first side (downward bending; Figs. 2 and 5; side where adjacent proximal links do not have a gap therebetween), and wherein the intermediate portion is bendable towards the first side (Fig. 5; upward bending), and wherein a maximum bend angle towards the first side (Fig. 5; upward bending) is greater than a maximum bend angle toward the second side (Fig. 5; downward bending).
Although Goto teaches that its invention can be applied to an endoscope having a four-way curve (see page 7, paragraph), it does not specifically disclose the articulation joint having four different bent configurations, wherein the articulation joint bends toward a third side, and a fourth side opposite the third side of the articulation joint and away from the longitudinal axis, wherein the distal portion is bendable towards each of the first, second, third and fourth sides, and wherein the intermediate portion is bendable toward the third side and the fourth side, wherein the maximum bend angle towards the first side is greater than a maximum bend angle towards each of the third side and the fourth side, and wherein a maximum bend angle towards the third side is equal to the maximum bend angle towards the fourth side. Moriyama teaches an analogous articulation joint (12) that has a distal section (12a) that is bendable in four directions (par. [0039]) and a proximal section (12b) that is bendable in two directions (par. [0040]). Moriyama teaches two bent configurations wherein the distal portion (12a) bends toward a third and fourth side, and the proximal portion (12b) does not bend (Fig. 4). Moriyama teaches the desirability of the distal end of an articulation joint being able to navigate torturous pathways and achieve different bending radii for improved viewing of target areas and navigation (par. [0009] and [0052]; Figs. 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the distal portion of the articulation joint of Goto to bend in four directions as taught by Moriyama, and contemplated by Goto, such that the operator may view easily view target areas by manipulating the articulation joint to achieve various bending radii, as taught by Moriyama, and to navigate tortuous pathways easier. Such modification provides a configuration wherein the distal portion can bend in four directions thereby providing an articulation joint with four different bent configurations, wherein the intermediate portion is bendable toward the third side and the fourth side, wherein a maximum bend angle towards the first side (Fig. 5; upward bending) is greater than a maximum bend angle towards each of the third and fourth sides (Fig. 5; the proximal portion does not bend toward the second, third and fourth sides), and wherein a maximum bend angle towards the third side is equal to a maximum bend angle towards the fourth side (Moriyama: Fig. 3; third and fourth gaps are equal).
Regarding claim 13, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 12, wherein, in the straight configuration: (1) a first plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the proximal links, the intermediate links, and the distal links on the first side (Fig. 2; upward bending), and (2) a second plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of only the distal links on the second, opposite side (Fig. 2; downward bending), (3) a third plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the intermediate links and the distal links on the third side (Moriyama: Fig. 3; 12 has gaps on all four sides), and (4) a fourth plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the intermediate links and the distal links on the fourth, opposite side (Moriyama: Fig. 3; 12 has gaps on all four sides).
Regarding claim 14, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 13, wherein, as the articulation joint transitions from the straight configuration to the first bent configuration (upward bending; Fig. 5), (i) a size of the first plurality of gaps defined along the first side is reduced (Fig. 5), (ii) a size the second plurality of gaps defined along the second side is increased (Fig. 5), (iii) a size of the third plurality of gaps and a size of the fourth plurality of gaps remains the same (Fig. 5; the third and fourth sides are not bent).
Regarding claim 18, Goto discloses an articulation joint (12; Fig. 1) for a medical device (1; Fig. 1), the articulation joint comprising: a plurality of links (15a-15d; Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of links define: a proximal portion (15a and 15c; Fig. 2); a distal portion (15b and proximal links of 15d; Fig. 2); and an intermediate portion (distal-most links of 15d; Fig. 2), wherein the intermediate portion is disposed between the proximal portion and the distal portion (Fig. 2), wherein the articulation joint has a straight configuration along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2) and two bent configurations bending the articulation joint towards two sides of the articulation joint (Fig. 5 – upward and downward bending), and away from the longitudinal axis, wherein, in a first bent configuration, the proximal portion bends only towards a first side of the articulation joint (upward bending; Figs. 2 and 5; side where adjacent proximal links have a gap therebetween), wherein, in a second bent configuration the proximal portion is coaxial with the longitudinal axis (downward bending; Figs. 2 and 5; side where adjacent proximal links do not have a gap therebetween), and wherein, in the first bent configuration, the intermediate portion respectively bends towards the first side of the articulation joint (upward bending; Figs. 2 and 5; side where adjacent proximal links have a gap therebetween).
Regarding claim 19, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the wherein a maximum bend angle in the first bent configuration is greater than a maximum bend angle in the second bent configuration, the third bent configuration, and the fourth bent configuration, wherein a maximum bend angle in the second bent configuration is less than a maximum bend angle in the third bent configuration and the fourth bent configuration, and wherein a maximum bend angle in the third bent configuration is equal to a maximum bend angle in the fourth bent configuration.
Regarding claim 20, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 18, wherein, in the straight configuration: (1) a first plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the proximal links, the intermediate links, and the distal links on the first side, and (2) a second plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of only the distal links on the second, opposite side, (3) a third plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the intermediate links and the distal links on the third side, and (4) a fourth plurality of gaps is defined between adjacent links of the intermediate links and the distal links on the fourth, opposite side
Claim(s) 7-11 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Moriyama as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Dirusso et al. (US 2006/004118 A1) in view of Banik et al. (US 2005/0075538 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the articulation joint of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose the wherein the adjacent links are attached to a respective adjacent link by a first spring and a second spring. Dirusso teaches an analogous articulation joint wherein the links can be comprised slots formed in a tubular shaped member (par. [0070]-[0071] and [0075]-[0076]; Fig. 11) or comprised of metal rings hinged to each other to provide pivotal movement (par. [0078]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to substituted the hinged metal rings for the slotted tube, being a simple substitution of one known configuration for another having predictable results, as taught by Dirusso. Various mechanisms for providing a hinged attachment between links are generally known in the art. Banik teaches an analogous articulation joint wherein links are hinged to each other to provide pivotal movement by a first spring and a second spring (1010; Fig. 23B; par. [0153]). Banik also teaches that the springs prevent adjacent segments from rotating with respect to each other or otherwise becoming misaligned (par. [0165]). It would have been obvious to
one having ordinary skill in the art to use first and second springs to provide the hinged connections between links, as taught by Banik, as a simple substitution of one known mechanism for providing a hinged connection for another, having a predictable result, and to prevent adjacent segments from rotating with respect to each other or otherwise becoming misaligned, as taught by Banik.
Regarding claim 8, Goto in view of Moriyama in view of Dirusso in view of Banik disclose the articulation joint of claim 7, wherein the first spring and the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) attaching a first pair of adjacent links, including a first link and a second link, are respectively on the first side of the articulation joint and the second side of the articulation joint (Banik: par. [0153] - a pair of spring segments located on opposite sides of the ring), and the first spring and wherein the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) attaching a second pair of adjacent links, including the second link and a third link, are respectively on a third side of the articulation joint, intermediate to the first side and the second side, and a fourth side opposite the third side of the articulation joint (Banik: par. [0153] - a pair of spring segments located on opposite sides of the ring; Fig. 23B).
Regarding claim 9, Goto in view of Moriyama in view of Dirusso in view of Banik disclose the articulation joint of claim 7, wherein the first spring and the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) are attached on an inner surface of each of the proximal links and distal links by one or more of laser welding or an adhesive (Banik: par. [0153]).
Regarding claim 10, Goto in view of Moriyama in view of Dirusso in view of Banik disclose the articulation joint of claim 7, wherein adjacent coils of each of the first spring and the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) contact each other when the first spring and the second spring are in a straight configuration (Banik: Fig. 23B; par. [0153]-[0154]).
Regarding claim 11, Goto in view of Moriyama in view of Dirusso in view of Banik disclose the articulation joint of claim 7, wherein each of the first spring and the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) defines a lumen for containing an articulation element (Banik: par. [0153]).
Regarding claim 15, Goto in view of Moriyama disclose the the articulation joint of claim 12, but does not specifically disclose the wherein the adjacent links are attached to a respective adjacent link by a first spring and a second spring, wherein the first spring and the second spring attaching a first pair of adjacent links, including a first link and a second link, are respectively on the first side of the articulation joint and the second side of the articulation joint, and wherein the first spring and the second spring attaching a second pair of adjacent links, including the second link and a third link, are respectively on the third side of the articulation joint, intermediate to the first side and the second side, and the fourth side opposite the third side of the articulation joint. Dirusso teaches an analogous articulation joint wherein the links can be comprised slots formed in a tubular shaped member (par. [0070]-[0071] and [0075]-[0076]; Fig. 11) or comprised of metal rings hinged to each other to provide pivotal movement (par. [0078]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to substituted the hinged metal rings for the slotted tube, being a simple substitution of one known configuration for another having predictable results, as taught by Dirusso. Various mechanisms for providing a hinged attachment between links are generally known in the art. Banik teaches an analogous articulation joint wherein links are hinged to each other to provide pivotal movement by a first spring and a second spring (1010; Fig. 23B; par. [0153]). Banik also teaches that the springs prevent adjacent segments from rotating with respect to each other or otherwise becoming misaligned (par. [0165]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use first and second springs to provide the hinged connections between links, as taught by Banik, as a simple substitution of one known mechanism for providing a hinged connection for another, having a predictable result, and to prevent adjacent segments from rotating with respect to each other or otherwise becoming misaligned, as taught by Banik. Such modification provides a configuration wherein the first spring and the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) attaching a first pair of adjacent links, including a first link and a second link, are respectively on the first side of the articulation joint and the second side of the articulation joint (Banik: par. [0153] - a pair of spring segments located on opposite sides of the ring), and the first spring and wherein the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) attaching a second pair of adjacent links, including the second link and a third link, are respectively on a third side of the articulation joint, intermediate to the first side and the second side, and a fourth side opposite the third side of the articulation joint (Banik: par. [0153] - a pair of spring segments located on opposite sides of the ring; Fig. 23B).
Regarding claim 16, Goto in view of Moriyama in view of Dirusso in view of Banik disclose the articulation joint of claim 15, wherein the first spring and the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) are attached on an inner surface of each of the proximal links and distal links by one or more of laser welding or an adhesive (Banik: par. [0153]).
Regarding claim 17, Goto in view of Moriyama in view of Dirusso in view of Banik disclose the articulation joint of claim 15, wherein each of the first spring and the second spring (Banik: 1010; Fig. 23B) defines a lumen for containing an articulation element (Banik: par. [0153]).
Conclusion
/RYNAE E BOLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
07/11/26