DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 24 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 June 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Three-Dimensional Object Printing Apparatus.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The instant specification includes section headings which are not conventional in US practice.
Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, it may be omitted or the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4- rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the printing route" in line 6; and “the execution of the printing operation” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tawata (US 11,845,270 B2).
It is noted that Applicant has elected the claims drawn to an apparatus. The MPEP states that, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” See MPEP § 2114 for further details.
Regarding claim 1, Tawata discloses a three-dimensional object printing apparatus (title/abstract) comprising:
a nozzle head unit 50, equated with the claimed liquid discharge head, that discharges a liquid toward a work (6:41+: FIG. 1, 3);
an articulated robot 20 that changes a position of the liquid discharge head 50 relative to the work, the articulated robot having chuck portion 30, equated with the claimed tip end, that supports the liquid discharge head (5:32+; FIG. 1);
sensors 150, equated with the claimed detector, that detects motion of the liquid discharge head in a scanning direction (FIG. 2; 9:20+, 10:10-39); and
a control section that controls the motion of the liquid discharge head and motion of the articulated robot, wherein (FIG. 2; 9:20+),
the control section which is capable of acquiring velocity information regarding a velocity of the liquid discharge head, based on a detection result of the detector and controls an ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head, based on the velocity information (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 2, Tawata discloses the detector 150 which is capable of detecting an acceleration of the liquid discharge head in the scanning direction, and
the control section which is capable of acquiring acceleration information regarding the acceleration of the liquid discharge head, based on the detection result of the detector, acquiring the velocity information, based on the acceleration information, and controlling the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head, based on the velocity information (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 3, Tawata discloses the control section which is capable of performing a preliminary operation in which the liquid discharge head scans along a printing route and a printing operation in which the liquid discharge head scans along the printing route and the liquid discharge head discharges the liquid toward the work, and
the control section which is capable of controlling the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head during execution of the printing operation, based on the acceleration information that has been acquired during execution of the preliminary operation (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 4-5, Tawata discloses the control section which is capable of calculating a scanning velocity, based on the acceleration information, the scanning velocity being a velocity in the scanning direction at which the liquid discharge head moves along the printing route, and
the control section which is capable controls the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head during the execution of the printing operation, based on the scanning velocity (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 6, Tawata discloses the control section which is capable of calculating the scanning velocity by subjecting the acceleration information to an arithmetic process using a high pass filter (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 7, Tawata discloses the detector which is capable of detecting an angular velocity applied to the liquid discharge head, and
the control section which is capable of acquiring angular velocity information regarding the angular velocity of the liquid discharge head, based on the detection result of the detector and controls the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head, based on both the angular velocity information and the velocity information (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 8, Tawata discloses the control section which is capable of calculating the gravitational acceleration applied to the liquid discharge head, based on the angular velocity information and calculates the velocity of the liquid discharge head in the scanning direction, based on both the acceleration information and the gravitational acceleration (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 9, Tawata discloses the motion detector that is capable of detecting motion of the articulated robot, the motion detector being provided in the articulated robot, wherein
the control section which is capable of determining a timing at which the liquid discharge head starts to discharge the liquid, based on a detection result of the motion detector (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Regarding claim 10, Tawata discloses the control section which is capable of determining a timing of acquiring the velocity information, based on the detection result of the motion detector (FIG. 2; 9:20+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tawata (US 11,845,270 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Tawata discloses a three-dimensional object printing apparatus (title/abstract) comprising:
a nozzle head unit 50, equated with the claimed liquid discharge head, that discharges a liquid toward a work (6:41+: FIG. 1, 3);
an articulated robot 20 that changes a position of the liquid discharge head 50 relative to the work, the articulated robot having chuck portion 30, equated with the claimed tip end, that supports the liquid discharge head (5:32+; FIG. 1);
sensors 150, equated with the claimed detector, that detects motion of the liquid discharge head in a scanning direction (FIG. 2; 9:20+, 10:10-39); and
a control section that controls the motion of the liquid discharge head and motion of the articulated robot, wherein (FIG. 2; 9:20+),
Tawata does not appear to explicitly disclose the control section acquires velocity information regarding a velocity of the liquid discharge head, based on a detection result of the detector and controls an ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head, based on the velocity information.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the control section is capable of said acquiring and controlling, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 2, Tawata discloses the detector 150.
Tawata does not appear to explicitly discloses the detector detects an acceleration of the liquid discharge head in the scanning direction, and
the control section acquires acceleration information regarding the acceleration of the liquid discharge head, based on the detection result of the detector, acquires the velocity information, based on the acceleration information, and controls the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head, based on the velocity information.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the detector is capable of said detecting and the control section is capable of said acquiring and controlling, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 3, Tawata does not appear to explicitly discloses the control section performs a preliminary operation in which the liquid discharge head scans along a printing route and a printing operation in which the liquid discharge head scans along the printing route and the liquid discharge head discharges the liquid toward the work, and
the control section controls the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head during execution of the printing operation, based on the acceleration information that has been acquired during execution of the preliminary operation.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the control section is capable of said preforming and controlling, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 4-5, Tawata does not appear to explicitly disclose the control section calculates a scanning velocity, based on the acceleration information, the scanning velocity being a velocity in the scanning direction at which the liquid discharge head moves along the printing route, and
the control section controls the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head during the execution of the printing operation, based on the scanning velocity.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the control section is capable of said calculating and controlling, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 6, Tawata does not appear to explicitly disclose the control section calculates the scanning velocity by subjecting the acceleration information to an arithmetic process using a high pass filter.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the control section is capable of said calculating, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 7, Tawata does not appear to explicitly disclose the detector can detect an angular velocity applied to the liquid discharge head, and
the control section acquires angular velocity information regarding the angular velocity of the liquid discharge head, based on the detection result of the detector and controls the ink discharge timing of the liquid discharge head, based on both the angular velocity information and the velocity information.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the detector is capable of said detecting and the control section is capable of said acquiring and controlling, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 8, Tawata does not appear to explicitly disclose the control section calculates the gravitational acceleration applied to the liquid discharge head, based on the angular velocity information and calculates the velocity of the liquid discharge head in the scanning direction, based on both the acceleration information and the gravitational acceleration.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the control section is capable of said calculating, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 9, Tawata discloses a motion detector that detects motion of the articulated robot (FIG. 2:9:20+).
Tawata does not appear to explicitly disclose the control section determines a timing at which the liquid discharge head starts to discharge the liquid, based on a detection result of the motion detector.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the control section is capable of said determining, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Regarding claim 10, Tawata does not appear to explicitly disclose the control section determines a timing of acquiring the velocity information, based on the detection result of the motion detector.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill that the control section is capable of said determining, because all of the structural features are present and could be used with expected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SUZUKI; Masamichi et al.
US 20240246336 A1
KUMAGAI; Masaru et al.
US 20240269933 A1
KUMAGAI; Masaru
US 20240286350 A1
HASEGAWA; Tomonaga et al.
US 20220266521 A1
KUMAGAI; Masaru
US 20230286291 A1
NAKAMURA; Shinichi et al.
US 20220193997 A1
IWAZAKI; Tomohisa et al.
US 20230034827 A1
KUMAGAI; Masaru et al.
US 20260158741 A1
NAKAJIMA; Yoshinori et al.
US 20250162258 A1
NAKAJIMA; Yoshinori et al.
US 20250144887 A1
Hasegawa; Tomonaga et al.
US 11932035 B2
Sugai; Keigo
US 11926095 B2
UTSUNOMIYA; Kohei et al.
US 20250303693 A1
Kumagai; Masaru
US 11945163 B2
Kim; Seog-Tae
US 11849527 B2
Nakajima; Yoshinori et al.
US 12447755 B2
Lewis; Christopher L. et al.
US 10940698 B2
Kumagai; Masaru et al.
US 11981152 B2
Frankenberger; Eckart et al.
US 20060068109 A1
Kumagai; Masaru et al.
US 12325238 B2
Kumagai; Masaru et al.
US 11826947 B2
Kumagai; Masaru et al.
US 12296586 B2
Kumagai; Masaru
US 12257774 B2
Beier; Bernard et al.
US 8882242 B2
Mochizuki; Kenju
US 12023944 B2
Pitz; Heiner et al.
US 9358780 B2
WADA KAZUSHI
JP 2024134718 A
ISHIYAMA YUTAKA
JP 2011180059 A
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742