Double Patenting
This Application 19/074,762
Parent Patent 12,250,390
[Claim 1] A video encoder comprising circuitry configured to: receive a video signal; generate an encoded bitstream… the bitstream being decodable by a decoder configured to receive the bitstream.
[Claim 21] This feature is not claimed in Claim 21, but it is a feature inherent to encoders.
The remainder of Claim 1 is indistinct from Claim 21 of the Parent Patent.
Claim 3, Claim 10
Claim 23
Claim 4, Claim 11
Claim 24
Claim 5, Claim 12
Claim 25
Claim 6, Claim 13
Claim 26
[Claim 7] an intra-predicted coding unit… and decode the intra-predicted coding unit using a prediction from a previously decoded coding unit in the picture.
[Claim 21] This feature is not claimed in Claim 21, but it is a feature inherent to video coding.
The remainder of Claim 7 is indistinct from Claim 21 of the Parent Patent.
[Claim 8] In addition to the encoder-specific language of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites an intra-predicted coding unit… and decode the intra-predicted coding unit using a prediction from a previously decoded coding unit in the picture.
[Claim 21] This feature is not claimed in Claim 21, but it is a feature inherent to video coding.
The remainder of Claim 8 is indistinct from Claim 21 of the Parent Patent.
Claim 9
Claim 21
Parent Patent 11,451,810
[Claims 1, 8] A video encoder comprising circuitry configured to: receive a video signal; generate an encoded bitstream… the bitstream being decodable by a decoder configured to receive the bitstream.
[Claim 1] This feature is not claimed in Claim 1, but it is a feature inherent to encoders.
The remainder of Claim 1 is indistinct from Claim 1 of the Parent Patent.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3, Claim 10
Claim 3
Claim 4, Claim 11
Claim 4
Claim 5, Claim 12
Claim 5
Claim 6, Claim 13
Claim 6
[Claim 7] an intra-predicted coding unit… and decode the intra-predicted coding unit using a prediction from a previously decoded coding unit in the picture.
[Claim 1] This feature is not claimed in Claim 1, but it is a feature inherent to video coding.
The remainder of Claim 7 is indistinct from Claim 21 of the Parent Patent.
[Claim 8] In addition to the encoder-specific language of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites an intra-predicted coding unit… and decode the intra-predicted coding unit using a prediction from a previously decoded coding unit in the picture.
[Claim 1] This feature is not claimed in Claim 1, but it is a feature inherent to video coding.
The remainder of Claim 8 is indistinct from Claim 21 of the Parent Patent.
Claim 9
Claim 1
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,390. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language inconsistency is between encoder and decoder implementations of the inventive concept, which are obvious in view of each other.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,390.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,390.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,390.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,390.
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,451,810. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language inconsistency is between encoder and decoder, which are obvious in view of each other.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,451,810.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,451,810.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,451,810.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,451,810.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,451,810.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is an encoder having a step of “decoding the intra-predicted coding unit.” This makes the claim scope unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US PG Publication 2017/0332099).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee (US PG Publication 2017/0332099) discloses a computer-readable recording medium storing an encoded bitstream (encoded data may be output from output interface 22 to a storage device [0036]) …. The remainder of Claim 9 does not have patentable weight, as it is directed to the medium storing a bitstream (see MPEP 2112.01), and not to the method.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) in view of Lee (US PG Publication 2017/0332099).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses a video encoder (coding standard [0003]; video encoder [0112]) comprising circuitry (hardware, software, combination [0117]) configured to:
receive a video signal (video sequence [0037]);
generate an encoded bitstream including a coded picture (video bitstream [0112]), the coded picture including a first region (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]) having a first contiguous plurality of coding units (CTU, slice, tile [0037]) and a second region (segment a current picture into regions—local motion selected for region [0080]) having a second contiguous plurality of coding units (CTU, slice, tile [0037]), the bitstream being decodable by a decoder (parse the video bitstream at the decoder [0112]) configured to receive the bitstream (video bitstream at the video decoder [0112]) and further configured to:
construct for each coding unit in the first region (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]) a motion vector candidate list (merge candidate list [0093]), each motion vector candidate list having a common motion vector (a position in the merge candidate list that points to a position coded in global motion compensation mode [0093]), …;
decode the first plurality (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]) of coding units (CTU, slice, tile [0037]) using the common motion vector (global motion compensation in a coded region [0037]) from the motion vector candidate lists (using the merge index, a position in the merge candidate list that points to a position coded in global motion compensation mode [0093]), whereby a picture region with common motion is reconstructed in the first region (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]);
ascertain from the bitstream (parse the video bitstream at the decoder [0112]) individually determined motion vectors (the regions using the LMC mode, regular MVs can be applied to each block within the region, where the MVs can be explicitly signaled or inferred by prediction [0080]) for each coding unit (CTU, slice, tile [0037]) of the second region (segment a current picture into regions—local motion selected for region [0080]), wherein adjacent coding units in the second region have different individually determined motion vectors (regular MVs can be applied to each block within the region, where the MVs can be explicitly signaled or inferred by prediction [0080]), each individually determined motion vector being one of a translational motion vector (translation model, all pixels in the region have the same motion direction and magnitude [0006]-[0007]) or a control point motion vector for affine motion (The six parameters for the affine model can be derived based on three known motion vectors for three different locations [0014]);
and decode the second plurality of coding units (segment a current picture into regions—local motion selected for region [0080]) using the individually determined motion vectors (regular MVs can be applied to each block within the region [0080]), whereby local motion in the second region is reconstructed (where the MVs are inferred by prediction [0080]).
Liu does not disclose, but Lee (US PG Publication 2017/0332099) teaches wherein the order of the motion vector candidates (order of candidates in the candidate list [0074]) in each motion vector candidate list (into the merge list [0281]) is determined such that the common motion vector (the most frequent motion vector [0281]) is first (the most frequent motion vector is inserted first into the merge list [0281]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to order the global motion vector of Liu first in the merge list of Liu because Lee teaches that assigning higher priority to a merge candidate that is most likely to be used—and because persons of ordinary skill in the art know that global motion is most likely to be used in certain regions of the image—results in bit-savings and minimal encoder/decoder complexity increase [0033], improving the efficiency and quality of encoding.
Regarding Claim 2, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses the encoder of claim 1, wherein the decoder receiving the bitstream is configured to determine global motion is indicated for the coded picture (enabling flag indicating global motion is enabled [0037] – [0046]).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses the encoder of claim 1, wherein the common motion vector includes a control point motion vector (global motion affine – three known motion vectors for three different locations [0014]).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses the encoder of claim 3, wherein the control point motion vector is a translational motion vector (global motion translational model [0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses the encoder of claim 3, wherein the control point motion vector is a vector of a four parameter affine motion model (scaling model has four parameters [0009]-[0011]).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses the encoder of claim 3, wherein the control point motion vector is a vector of a six parameter affine motion model (six parameter affine model [0012]-[0014]).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses a decoder, the decoder (video decoder [0112]) comprising circuitry (hardware, software, combination [0117]) configured to:
receive a bitstream including a coded picture (video bitstream at the video decoder [0112]), the coded picture including a first region with common motion (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]) having a first contiguous plurality of coding units (CTU, slice, tile [0037]) and a second region with local motion (segment a current picture into regions—local motion selected for region [0080]) having a second contiguous plurality of coding units (CTU, slice, tile [0037]) and an intra-predicted coding unit (intra prediction is used on a block basis [0004]);
construct for each coding unit in the first region (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]) a motion vector candidate list (merge candidate list [0093]), each motion vector candidate list having a common motion vector (a position in the merge candidate list that points to a position coded in global motion compensation mode [0093]), …;
decode the first plurality (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]) of coding units (CTU, slice, tile [0037]) using the common motion vector (global motion compensation in a coded region [0037]) from the motion vector candidate lists (using the merge index, a position in the merge candidate list that points to a position coded in global motion compensation mode [0093]), whereby a picture region with common motion is reconstructed in the first region (segment a current picture into regions—global motion selected for region [0080]);
ascertain from the bitstream (parse the video bitstream at the decoder [0112]) individually determined motion vectors (the regions using the LMC mode, regular MVs can be applied to each block within the region, where the MVs can be explicitly signaled or inferred by prediction [0080]) for each coding unit (CTU, slice, tile [0037]) of the second (segment a current picture into regions—local motion selected for region [0080]) contiguous plurality (CTU, slice, tile [0037]), wherein adjacent coding units in the second contiguous plurality have different individually determined motion vectors (regular MVs can be applied to each block within the region, where the MVs can be explicitly signaled or inferred by prediction [0080]), each individually determined motion vector being one of a translational motion vector for translational motion (translation model, all pixels in the region have the same motion direction and magnitude [0006]-[0007]) or a control point motion vector (derived based on known motion vectors for different locations [0014]) for four parameter (scaling model has four parameters [0009]-[0011]) or six parameter affine motion (six parameter affine model [0012]-[0014]);
decode the second plurality of coding units (segment a current picture into regions—local motion selected for region [0080]) using the individually determined motion vectors (regular MVs can be applied to each block within the region [0080]), whereby local motion in the second region is reconstructed (where the MVs are inferred by prediction [0080]);
and decode the intra-predicted coding unit using a prediction from a previously decoded coding unit in the picture (intra prediction is used on a block basis [0004]).
Liu does not disclose, but Lee (US PG Publication 2017/0332099) teaches wherein the motion vector candidate lists (into the merge list [0281]) are ordered (order of candidates in the candidate list [0074]) such that the common motion vector is first (the most frequent motion vector is inserted first into the merge list [0281]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to order the global motion vector of Liu first in the merge list of Liu because Lee teaches that assigning higher priority to a merge candidate that is most likely to be used—and because persons of ordinary skill in the art know that global motion is most likely to be used in certain regions of the image—results in bit-savings and minimal encoder/decoder complexity increase [0033], improving the efficiency and quality of encoding.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 9, Liu (US PG Publication 2020/0206011) discloses motion vector being one of a translational motion vector (translational model [0006]-[0008]) or a control point motion vector for four parameter (scaling model has four parameters [0009]-[0011]) or six parameter affine motion (three known motion vectors for three different locations [0014]; six parameter affine model [0012]-[0014]).
Liu does not disclose but Lee (US PG Publication 2017/0332099) teaches a computer-readable recording medium storing an encoded bitstream (encoded data may be output from output interface 22 to a storage device [0036]).
The remainder of Claim 9 is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to order the global motion vector of Liu first in the merge list of Liu because Lee teaches that assigning higher priority to a merge candidate that is most likely to be used—and because persons of ordinary skill in the art know that global motion is most likely to be used in certain regions of the image—results in bit-savings and minimal encoder/decoder complexity increase [0033], improving the efficiency and quality of encoding.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 6084912 A - contiguous blocks with global motion, pixel recursive motion; primary reference. includes intra coding
US 20200413090 A1 – global motion based on camera motion vector
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485