DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by English (US 10,742,202 B1).
Regarding claim 1, English teaches a circuit comprising:
at least one comparator (Fig. 1) that autozeroes in a first cycle (Fig. 2, 201), and an offset (col. 4, lines 21~35, a difference between the first offset and the second offset is stored as a trip point of the comparator) which is programmed into said at least one comparator in a second cycle (Fig. 2, 202), wherein said offset determines a signal threshold to be detected (col. 4, lines 21~35, a difference between the first offset and the second offset is stored as a trip point of the comparator).
Regarding claim 2, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by English.
English further teaches the circuit, wherein said signal threshold comprises a droop threshold to be detected in a supply voltage of a logic circuit (Fig. 2, droop condition, col. 3, lines 3~5).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by English.
English further teaches the circuit, wherein a noisy supply voltage to be measured is coupled to said at least one comparator in said first and second cycles, and a reference voltage is coupled to said at least one comparator in said second and first cycles (Fig. 3, col. 5, lines 7~30).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 3 are taught by English.
English further teaches the circuit, wherein said reference voltage is a filtered version of said noisy supply voltage (Fig. 1, Vfilt 106, LPF 105).
Regarding claim 6, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by English.
English further teaches the circuit, wherein said at least one comparator comprises two comparators which are instantiated in parallel such that when one of said comparators evaluates, the other one of said comparators integrates (Fig. 3, col. 5, lines 7~30).
Regarding claim 8, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by English.
English further teaches the circuit, wherein said at least one comparator comprises multiple comparator pairs operating simultaneously and detecting crossings of different droop thresholds (Fig. 3, col. 5, lines 7~30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English (US 10,742,202 B1) in view of Crispie (US 5,332,931 A).
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by English.
English does not explicitly teach the circuit, wherein said at least one comparator is an auto-zeroed inverter.
Crispie teaches a circuit wherein at least one comparator is an auto-zeroed inverter (Fig. 1, 10, Abstract, inverters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the inverter based comparator of Crispie to the comparator of English in order to provide high speed operations with fewer components (Crispie, col. 1, lines 66~68).
Regarding claim 9, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by English.
English does not explicitly teach the circuit, wherein said at least one comparator is coupled to two capacitors and uses a capacitance ratio of said two capacitors to generate said offset, and said signal threshold is tuned by capacitor switching of said capacitors.
Crispie teaches a circuit wherein at least one comparator is coupled to two capacitors (Fig. 1, 21, 24, 22, 23) and uses a capacitance ratio of said two capacitors to generate said offset (col. 4, lines 37~39), and said signal threshold is tuned by capacitor switching of said capacitors (col. 4, lines 15~39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the inverter based comparator of Crispie to the comparator of English in order to provide high speed operations with fewer components (Crispie, col. 1, lines 66~68).
Regarding claim 10, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 9. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a circuit comprising a clock phase generator that produces clock phases for operation of said comparators, said clock phases comprising two evaluation phases that overlap to mask transition effects between integration and evaluation phases of said comparators and to prevent a dead-zone in an output of said comparators, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845