DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 03/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nobutoshi et al., (machine translation of JP-2015143976-A cited by applicant, hereinafter "Nobutoshi")
Regarding claim 1, Nobutoshi discloses an information processing apparatus comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry (Nobutoshi- Figs. 1-2 and ¶0015 and ¶0020, at least disclose information processing system consists of an information processing device 100 […] it includes a CPU 201, ROM 202, RAM 203, system bus 204, input controller 205, video controller 206, memory controller 207, communication I/F controller 208, input device 209, display 210, external memory 211, and the like.) configured to
execute acquisition processing to acquire a captured image capturing a real space including a first object and a second object (Nobutoshi- Fig. 1 and ¶0016, at least disclose environment shows a user wearing the HMD101 in a room […] the presence of a real object, a desk 110, and a mock-up 120, within the room [a real space including a first object and a second object] […] images are captured by the camera installed on the HMD101; Fig. 2 and ¶0021, at least disclose The right-eye video camera 221 and the left-eye video camera 222 are video cameras that capture the real world. The right eye video camera 221 captures an image for display on the right eye display 223, and the left eye video camera 522 captures an image for display on the left eye display 224. The captured image (real-world image) is transmitted by the controller 225 to the communication I/F controller 208 of the information processing device 100);
execute generation processing to generate a virtual object (Nobutoshi- ¶0035-0036, at least disclose A virtual object placement marker is a marker used to specify the position where a virtual object will be displayed. When the CPU 201 of the information processing device 100 detects the virtual object placement marker, it performs processing to display the virtual object at the location where the virtual object placement marker exists […] it is assumed that the mock-up 120 has a marker attached to it for placing virtual objects);
execute combining processing to generate a composite image by combining the captured image and the virtual object (Nobutoshi- ¶0010, at least discloses when a virtual space is placed in a real space, a composite image is produced by combining a real image and a virtual object image in such a way that the presence or absence of real objects can be recognized, and this composite image can be output according to the distance between objects in the space; ¶0064-0066, at least disclose the CPU 201 first draws the entire virtual object using drawing data indicated by the virtual object placement marker […] in step S512, the drawn virtual object and the image of the real space are combined to generate an MR image, which is then transmitted to the HMD 101 […] The user can then see a composite image created by combining the real image and the virtual object image, which is output according to the proximity or distance between objects in space, allowing the user to recognize the presence or absence of the real object);
execute display control processing to control a display such that the composite image is displayed (Nobutoshi- ¶009-0010, at least disclose an information processing device that outputs a composite image, which is a composite of a real image representing a real space and a virtual object image in a virtual space, to a display device for viewing by a user […] output means for outputting a composite image, which is a composite of the real image and the virtual object image, so as to be displayed on the display device according to the distance determined by the identification means, so as to be able to recognize the presence or absence of the real object […] when a virtual space is placed in a real space, a composite image is produced by combining a real image and a virtual object image in such a way that the presence or absence of real objects can be recognized, and this composite image can be output according to the distance between objects in the space); and
execute notification processing to perform notification to a user in accordance with a distance between the first object and the second object in a first case where the virtual object is superimposed on a front side of the second object in a space expressed by the composite image (Nobutoshi- ¶0106-0107, at least disclose when a real object and a virtual object overlap, the objective is to output a composite image, which is a composite image of a real object and a virtual object, in order to recognize the presence or absence of a real object, according to the distance between the objects [distance between the first object and the second object] […] when a virtual object and another object are within a predetermined distance, the presence or absence of a real object overlapping the virtual object is determined by referring to a real object table (Figure 13(c)), and the result of this determination is notified to the user [perform notification to a user]. For example, it's possible to make a virtual object transparent, allowing the user to see the presence of a real object overlapping it; ¶0109-0112, at least disclose it is determined whether there is a virtual object overlapping the desk of the real object whose distance was calculated in step S508, and whether the real object overlaps the cup of the virtual object whose distance was calculated in step S508. In other words, it determines whether the virtual object and the real object are overlapping (step S1101) […] If it is determined that they are overlapping (YES in step S1101), the virtual object overlapping with the real object is rendered with transparency (step S1102) […] instead of making the virtual object transparent, one could generate a virtual object with the same shape as the real object overlapping the virtual object, place it in the same position as the real object, and highlight it (e.g., display the object with the shape of the real object in the foreground / display its outline with a dotted line) [virtual object is superimposed on a front side of the second object], thereby notifying the user [notification to a user] of the presence of the real object overlapping the virtual object and allowing them to see (confirm) it. Alternatively, the notification may be made by displaying an unillustrated speech bubble icon (2D image) at a predetermined distance (a predetermined coordinate) from the virtual object, indicating that a real object is overlapping the virtual object; ¶0115-0117, at least disclose when a real object and a virtual object overlap, a composite image is produced by combining a real image and a virtual object image in such a way that the presence or absence of the real object can be recognized, and this composite image can be output according to the distance between the objects […] the objective is to output a composite image, which is a combination of a real image and a virtual object image, in order to recognize the presence or absence of real objects, according to the distance between real objects […] when real objects are within a predetermined distance of each other, for example, the virtual object is made transparent to allow the user to confirm the existence or non-existence of the real object).
Regarding claim 2, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein out of a plurality of objects in the real space, the second object is an object located behind the first object and is closest to the first object (Nobutoshi- Fig. 1 shows the presence of a real object, a desk 110, and a mock-up 120, within the room. When looking from the above, the mock-up, which is a real object in real space and positioned front of the desk, will come into contact (collide) [closest] with the desk).
Regarding claim 3, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein in the first case in the notification processing (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis), the notification is performed by controlling highlighting of display of the first object in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object (Nobutoshi- ¶0112, at least discloses instead of making the virtual object transparent, one could generate a virtual object with the same shape as the real object overlapping the virtual object, place it in the same position as the real object, and highlight it (e.g., display the object with the shape of the real object in the foreground / display its outline with a dotted line), thereby notifying the user of the presence of the real object overlapping the virtual object and allowing them to see (confirm) it […] the notification may be made by displaying an unillustrated speech bubble icon (2D image) at a predetermined distance (a predetermined coordinate) from the virtual object, indicating that a real object is overlapping the virtual object).
Regarding claim 7, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein in the first case in the notification processing (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis), the notification is performed by controlling transmittance of the virtual object (Nobutoshi- ¶0060, at least discloses In step S505, the CPU 201 determines whether the attribute of the virtual object placement marker is "fixed" or "unfixed". If it is determined that the object is "fixed", in step S510 the drawing data identified by the corresponding object ID is read, and a normal virtual object (a virtual object with 0% transparency) is drawn according to the current position and orientation of the HMD101 and the position of the virtual object placement marker, and in step S512 the MR images corresponding to the left and right eyes, which are a composite of the drawn virtual object and the image of the real space, are sent to the HMD101.) in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis).
Regarding claim 8, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first object is a part of a body (Nobutoshi- ¶0074, at least discloses If the user's hand is recognized in the image acquired by the HMD's camera, the position of the hand is determined using information on the distance from the HMD to the hand, which is determined by triangulation, and information on the position and orientation of the HMD. A transparent virtual object with the size and shape of the user's hand, which is pre-stored in the external memory of the information processing device 100, is then placed at the hand's position and managed as a real object (real object No. 150 in Figure 13(c)).).
Regarding claim 9, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, and further discloses wherein the first object is a hand (Nobutoshi- ¶0074-0075, at least discloses If the user's hand is recognized in the image acquired by the HMD's camera, the position of the hand is determined using information on the distance from the HMD to the hand, which is determined by triangulation, and information on the position and orientation of the HMD. A transparent virtual object with the size and shape of the user's hand, which is pre-stored in the external memory of the information processing device 100, is then placed at the hand's position and managed as a real object (real object No. 150 in Figure 13(c)) […] By storing and managing markers and hands as real objects, it becomes possible, for example, to perform processing such as making a virtual desk transparent depending on the distance between the virtual desk object and the hand).
Regarding claim 10, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first object is a part of an operation member (Nobutoshi- ¶0074-0076, at least discloses If the user's hand is recognized in the image acquired by the HMD's camera, the position of the hand is determined using information on the distance from the HMD to the hand, which is determined by triangulation, and information on the position and orientation of the HMD. A transparent virtual object with the size and shape of the user's hand, which is pre-stored in the external memory of the information processing device 100, is then placed at the hand's position and managed as a real object (real object No. 150 in Figure 13(c)) […] By storing and managing markers and hands as real objects, it becomes possible, for example, to perform processing such as making a virtual desk transparent depending on the distance between the virtual desk object and the hand […] Furthermore, if a virtual object cup is held in the hand and brought close to a real-world desk, and a virtual object is also placed at the desk's location (for example, if there is a virtual object with the same shape as the real-world desk (a virtual desk object) placed at the real-world desk's location, allowing the desk's color and pattern to be freely changed simply by changing its texture), then the virtual object cup will be considered to have approached the real-world desk, and the real-world hand (or mock-up with a marker attached) will also be considered to have approached the virtual object desk).
The method of claim 13 is similar in scope to the functions performed by the apparatus of claim 1 and therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 1 in a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program and rejected as per discussion for claim 1.
Nobutoshi further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program, wherein the program causes a computer to execute an information processing method (Nobutoshi- ¶0140-0142, at least disclose the program of the present invention is encrypted, stored on a storage medium such as a CD-ROM, and distributed to users […] Furthermore, it is also possible to achieve this by using downloaded key information to execute and install an encrypted program on the computer […] the program read from the recording medium is written to the memory of a function expansion board inserted into the computer or a function expansion unit connected to the computer. Subsequently, based on the program's instructions, the CPU and other components of the expansion board or expansion unit perform some or all of the actual processing, thereby realizing the functions), the information processing method, comprising the functions of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobutoshi in view of Mirhosseini et al., (“Mirhosseini”) [US-2020/0258278-A1]
Regarding claim 4, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein in the first case in the notification processing, display of the first object as the distance between the first object and the second object (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis).
Nobutoshi does not explicitly disclose, but Mirhosseini discloses
display of the first object is increasingly highlighted as the distance between the first object and the second object is shorter (Mirhosseini- Fig. 5C and ¶0082, at least disclose If user device 206 determines that distance 304C is less than or equal to third threshold distance 506, then user device 206 replaces the entire virtual reality environment with a visual representation (e.g., image 430) of at least part of a physical environment 200 that includes physical objects 208 (e.g., objects 208A and 208E). As illustrated in FIG. 5C, user device 206 displays a virtual representation (e.g., an image or video 430) in a full-screen mode, replacing the entire virtual reality environment 260 […] replacing the entire virtual reality environment with a visual representation of a physical environment can provide an increased level of indication, highlighting, and/or warning to the user versus displaying a visual representation in a part of the area for displaying the virtual reality environment. As a result, user device 206 now displays the virtual reality environment 260 and the user 204 can take immediate action to avoid contact or collision with any physical objects or obstacles located in the physical environment 200. For example, user 204 may stop moving toward physical object 208A, move to a different direction, or move away from physical object 208A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nobutoshi to incorporate the teachings of Mirhosseini, and apply increasing level of highlighting when distance between objects is shorter into the distance between the first object and the second object, as taught by Nobutoshi, in order in the first case in the notification processing, display of the first object is increasingly highlighted as the distance between the first object and the second object is shorter.
Doing so would alert a user, who is immersed in a virtual reality environment, to physical obstacles in their physical environment.
Regarding claim 11, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein in the first case in the notification processing, the notification is performed by controlling highlighting of display of the first object in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object (see Claim 3 rejection for detailed analysis), in a third case where the virtual object is superimposed on the front side of the first object in the space expressed by the composite image (Nobutoshi- ¶0109-0112, at least disclose it is determined whether there is a virtual object overlapping the desk of the real object whose distance was calculated in step S508, and whether the real object overlaps the cup of the virtual object whose distance was calculated in step S508. In other words, it determines whether the virtual object and the real object are overlapping (step S1101) […] If it is determined that they are overlapping (YES in step S1101), the virtual object overlapping with the real object is rendered with transparency (step S1102) […] instead of making the virtual object transparent, one could generate a virtual object with the same shape as the real object overlapping the virtual object, place it in the same position as the real object, and highlight it (e.g., display the object with the shape of the real object in the foreground / display its outline with a dotted line) [the virtual object is superimposed on the front side], thereby notifying the user of the presence of the real object overlapping the virtual object and allowing them to see (confirm) it).
Nobutoshi does not explicitly disclose in a second case where the first object is superimposed on the front side of the virtual object in a space expressed by the composite image, and the notification in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object is performed using a method other than the method of controlling highlighting of display of the first object.
However, Mirhosseini discloses
in a second case where the first object is superimposed on the front side of the virtual object in a space expressed by the composite image (Mirhosseini- Fig. 4C and ¶0073, at least disclose With reference to FIG. 4C, user device 206 is currently displaying virtual reality environment 260. Virtual reality environment 260 may include virtual objects, such as virtual beach chair 262A and virtual beach umbrella 262B, or the like. To provide a visual effect corresponding to a physical object (e.g., object 208A) in physical environment 200, user device 206 displays a virtual fog 352 disposed in front of one or more existing virtual objects, such as virtual beach chair 262A and virtual beach umbrella 262B. The location of the fog in virtual reality environment 260 can indicate a location of a physical object (e.g., object 208A) in physical environment 200 relative to user 204 […] the appearance of fog 352 is created by blending and/or blurring the underlying virtual objects (e.g., 262A-B) to produce a translucent visual effect.), and the notification in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object is performed using a method other than the method of controlling highlighting of display of the first object (Mirhosseini- ¶0082, at least discloses If user device 206 determines that distance 304C is less than or equal to third threshold distance 506, then user device 206 replaces the entire virtual reality environment with a visual representation (e.g., image 430) of at least part of a physical environment 200 that includes physical objects 208 (e.g., objects 208A and 208E). As illustrated in FIG. 5C, user device 206 displays a virtual representation (e.g., an image or video 430) in a full-screen mode, replacing the entire virtual reality environment 260. In some embodiments, replacing the entire virtual reality environment with a visual representation of a physical environment can provide an increased level of indication, highlighting, and/or warning to the user versus displaying a visual representation in a part of the area for displaying the virtual reality environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nobutoshi to incorporate the teachings of Mirhosseini, and apply increasing level of indication into the distance between the first object and the second object, as taught by Nobutoshi, in order in a second case where the first object is superimposed on the front side of the virtual object in a space expressed by the composite image, and the notification in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object is performed using a method other than the method of controlling highlighting of display of the first object, in a third case where the virtual object is superimposed on the front side of the first object in the space expressed by the composite image.
Doing so would alert a user, who is immersed in a virtual reality environment, to physical obstacles in their physical environment.
7. Claims 5-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobutoshi in view of Suzuki et al., (“Suzuki”) [US-2020/0213511-A1]
Regarding claim 5, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein in the first case in the notification processing, the notification is performed in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis).
Nobutoshi does not explicitly disclose, but Suzuki discloses
controlling vibration intensity of a first device in accordance with the distance (Suzuki- Figs. 9A-9C and ¶0079-0081, at least disclose an example of notifying the user of the motion blur by displaying an icon […] In step S405, of the converted motion blur for each pixel, the motion blur notification plane generation unit 303 calculates the percentage of the number of pixels having a converted motion blur of a predetermined value or higher, with respect to the entire screen. If the percentage is greater than or equal to a predetermined percentage, the motion blur notification plane generation unit 303 creates a motion blur notification icon 901, such as that indicated in FIG. 9A, as the motion blur notification plane. In step S406, the image superimposing unit 304 generates a motion blur notification image such as that illustrated in FIG. 9A by superimposing the motion blur notification plane, including the motion blur notification icon 901, onto the preparatory shooting image; ¶0082, at least discloses the image capturing apparatus 100 detects the motion amount of an object from an image obtained through preparatory shooting, and converts the motion amount to a motion blur amount arising during actual shooting; ¶0096, at least disclose Whether the object is moving in a planar direction or a depth direction can be determined by using a motion vector and distance information, for example […] the control unit 101 uses the magnitude of the calculated motion vector as the movement amount in the planar direction. With respect to the distance information, the control unit 101 calculates distance information of the object in both the Mth frame and the M+1th frame on the basis of image capturing surface phase difference information […] The control unit 101 then uses a difference between these instances of the distance information as the movement amount in the depth direction. The control unit 101 compares the movement amount calculated for the 2 directions, determines that the object is moving in a planar direction when the planar direction movement amount is greater, and determines that the object is moving in a depth direction when the depth direction movement amount is greater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nobutoshi to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki, and apply motion blur into the distance between the first object and the second object, as taught by Nobutoshi, in order in the first case in the notification processing, the notification is performed by controlling vibration intensity of a first device in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object.
Doing so would provide an enhanced technique that makes it possible to provide a motion blur notification in accordance with the circumstances.
Regarding claim 6, Nobutoshi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein in the first case in the notification processing, the notification is performed in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis).
Nobutoshi does not explicitly disclose, but Suzuki discloses
controlling volume of a warning sound emitted from a second device (Suzuki- ¶0079-0081, at least disclose the motion blur notification image is displayed in the display unit 109 as the method for notifying the user of motion blur, the method for notifying the user of motion blur is not limited thereto. For example, a configuration in which the user is notified of motion blur by sound may be employed. In this case, for example, the control unit 101 may output a motion blur notification sound from a speaker (not shown) when, of the converted motion blur for each pixel, the percentage of the number of pixels having a converted motion blur of a predetermined value or higher, with respect to the entire screen, is greater than or equal to a predetermined percentage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nobutoshi to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki, and apply outputing a motion blur notification sound from a speaker into the distance between the first object and the second object, as taught by Nobutoshi, in order in the first case in the notification processing, the notification is performed by controlling volume of a warning sound emitted from a second device in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 5 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 12, Nobutoshi in view of Mirhosseini, discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein in the third case in the notification processing, transmittance of the virtual object is controlled in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object (Nobutoshi- ¶0060, at least discloses In step S505, the CPU 201 determines whether the attribute of the virtual object placement marker is "fixed" or "unfixed". If it is determined that the object is "fixed", in step S510 the drawing data identified by the corresponding object ID is read, and a normal virtual object (a virtual object with 0% transparency) is drawn according to the current position and orientation of the HMD101 and the position of the virtual object placement marker, and in step S512 the MR images corresponding to the left and right eyes, which are a composite of the drawn virtual object and the image of the real space, are sent to the HMD101).
The prior art does not explicitly disclose, but Suzuki discloses
vibration intensity of a first device (Suzuki- Figs. 9A-9C and ¶0079-0081, at least disclose an example of notifying the user of the motion blur by displaying an icon […] In step S405, of the converted motion blur for each pixel, the motion blur notification plane generation unit 303 calculates the percentage of the number of pixels having a converted motion blur of a predetermined value or higher, with respect to the entire screen. If the percentage is greater than or equal to a predetermined percentage, the motion blur notification plane generation unit 303 creates a motion blur notification icon 901, such as that indicated in FIG. 9A, as the motion blur notification plane. In step S406, the image superimposing unit 304 generates a motion blur notification image such as that illustrated in FIG. 9A by superimposing the motion blur notification plane, including the motion blur notification icon 901, onto the preparatory shooting image; ¶0082, at least discloses the image capturing apparatus 100 detects the motion amount of an object from an image obtained through preparatory shooting, and converts the motion amount to a motion blur amount arising during actual shooting; ¶0096, at least disclose Whether the object is moving in a planar direction or a depth direction can be determined by using a motion vector and distance information, for example […] the control unit 101 uses the magnitude of the calculated motion vector as the movement amount in the planar direction. With respect to the distance information, the control unit 101 calculates distance information of the object in both the Mth frame and the M+1th frame on the basis of image capturing surface phase difference information […] The control unit 101 then uses a difference between these instances of the distance information as the movement amount in the depth direction. The control unit 101 compares the movement amount calculated for the 2 directions, determines that the object is moving in a planar direction when the planar direction movement amount is greater, and determines that the object is moving in a depth direction when the depth direction movement amount is greater), volume of a warning sound emitted from a second device (Suzuki- ¶0079-0081, at least disclose the motion blur notification image is displayed in the display unit 109 as the method for notifying the user of motion blur, the method for notifying the user of motion blur is not limited thereto. For example, a configuration in which the user is notified of motion blur by sound may be employed. In this case, for example, the control unit 101 may output a motion blur notification sound from a speaker (not shown) when, of the converted motion blur for each pixel, the percentage of the number of pixels having a converted motion blur of a predetermined value or higher, with respect to the entire screen, is greater than or equal to a predetermined percentage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nobutoshi to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki, and apply the motion blur amount and the motion blur notification sound from a speaker into the distance between the first object and the second object, as taught by Nobutoshi, in order in the third case in the notification processing, vibration intensity of a first device, volume of a warning sound emitted from a second device, or transmittance of the virtual object is controlled in accordance with the distance between the first object and the second object.
The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 5 applies equally to this claim.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. They are recited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/MICHAEL LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614