DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the thickness and shading of the lines are inconsistent, some of the lines are blurred, and the identifiers numeral are difficult to make out. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear how “the raised walls” are associated with the safety helmet system. What are “the raised walls” structurally and how are they structured with respect to the accessory, helmet and receptacles. Further, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duderstadt (US 9,047,790) in view of Ramey (US 2019/0008228).
In regard to claim 1, Duderstadt teaches a safety helmet system, comprising: a safety helmet comprising: a molded outer shell adapted to be worn by a user (helmet in figures 8-10 and figures 12-15), the outer shell having an exterior surface defining a front side, a rear side, and a brim extending forwardly from the front side (see figures 8-10 and figures 12-15 detailing front, rear, brim and exterior surface); a front receptacle having a first pair of external slots and a stop (figures 1A-7 slots: 11, 13 or figures 16-18 slots: 39, 41 and stop: convex surface of front face: 3; column 3, lines 32-47 or convex surfaces 35, 36, 37 column 7, lines 52-62), wherein each of the pair of external slots extending upwardly along the front side of the outer shell and the stop is disposed between the first pair of external slots (see figures 1-3, 6 or 17 and slots in relation to front convex face/surfaces), and wherein the stop is integrally molded with the exterior surface of the outer shell (front convex face: 3 or inner curved surface: 35 and 36 and/or 37; column 3, lines 21-24 or column 7, lines 52-62); and an accessory device having a mating receptacle formed thereon (accessory is implement as described in column 7, lines 9-11 with attached rigid cardstock item: column 7, lines 9-18, the mating receptacle being the sides of the cardstock), at least a portion of the mating receptacle being selectively engageable with the at least one receptacle (column 7, lines 9-18); wherein each of the first pair of external slots of the front receptacle is a receiver slot (figures 1A-7 slots: 11, 13 or figures 16-18 slots: 39, 41); wherein the stop comprises a protruding member (stop protruding member is convex surface of front face: 3; column 3, lines 32-47 or convex surfaces 35, 36, 37 column 7, lines 52-62); wherein the accessory device includes a clip (accessory device column 7, lines 9-11 includes a clip: rigid cardstock item: column 7, lines 9-18); and wherein the receiver slot aligns the clip therein column 3, lines 21-24 or column 7, lines 52-62), the raised walls retain the clip (column 3, lines 21-24 or column 7, lines 52-62), and the protruding member engages the clip to releasably mount the accessory device in the front receptacle (protruding member is convex surface 3 or 35, 36, 37 and clip is rigid cardstock item).
However, Duderstadt fails to teach a rear receptacle disposed on the rear side on the exterior surface of the outer shell, the rear receptacle having a second pair of external slots; and the accessory device’s mating receptacle being selectively engageable with the front receptacle or the rear receptacle such that the accessory device is releasably mountable onto each of the front receptacle and the rear receptacle.
Ramey teaches a safety helmet with identical receptacles on the front and rear side of the outer shell to universally attach accessories for mounting on the helmet on the front or rear receptacles (paragraphs 0012, 0080 and Figures 2A, 2B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the safety helmet of Duderstadt with an identical rear receptacle as taught by Ramey, since the helmet of Duderstadt provided with both front and rear receptacles would provide multiple locations to attach items to the helmet as desired based upon need.
In regard to claim 2, Duderstadt teaches wherein the outer shell, the front receptacle, and the rear receptacle are formed from a common material (column 3, lines 22-25).
In regard to claim 3, Duderstadt teaches wherein the common material is plastic (column 3, lines 22-25).
In regard to claim 4, Ramey teaches further including a second accessory device having a second mating receptacle formed thereon, at least a portion of the second accessory device being releasably mountable onto each of the front receptacle or the rear receptacle on the exterior of the outer shell (paragraph 0012 and 0080).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the safety helmet of Duderstadt with a secondary accessory device as taught by Ramey, since the helmet of Duderstadt provided with a secondary accessory device would provide two accessories attachable to the helmet at the same time.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,452,327. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and US 12,452,327 teach a safety helmet with front and rear molded receptacles that attach to first and second accessories interchangeably via slots and clips (claim 1 of the instant application is word-for-word the same as claim 1, expect for the last couple lines).
Claim 1 last couple lines of instant application:
Claim 1 last couple lines of US 12,452,327:
wherein each of the first pair of external slots of the front receptacle is a receiver slot flanked by raised walls, and the stop comprises a protruding member, wherein the accessory device includes a clip, and wherein the receiver slot aligns the accessory device therein, the raised walls retain the accessory device therebetween, and the protruding member engages the clip to releasably mount the accessory device in the front receptacle.
The highlighted portions of claim 1 of US 12,452,327 teach the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. The only differences in wording do not equate to different structures, call the accessory device comprising a clip, a clip or an accessory device is referring to the same structure.
Claim 2 of the instant application is word-for-word the same as claim 2 of US 12,268,265.
Claim 3 of the instant application is word-for-word the same as claim 3 of US 12,268,265.
Claim 4 of the instant application is word-for-word the same as claim 4 of US 12,268,265.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,452,327. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and US 11,452,327 teach a safety helmet with front and rear molded receptacles that attach to first and second accessories interchangeably via slots and clips (see claims 1-2 of the instant application with claims 1, 2 and 4 and/or claims 8, 9, 11 and 12 of US 11,452,327 teach same claimed limitations, with US 11,452,327 being more specific to the structures); claim 3 of the instant application with claims 3 or 10 of US 11,452,327 (claims have exact claim language), claim 4 of the instant application with claim 8 of US 11,452,327 (claims have exact claim language).
Claims 1 and 2 from present application:
Claims 1 and 2 from US 11,452,327:
1. A safety helmet, comprising: an outer shell adapted to be worn by a user, the outer shell being molded from a common material and having an exterior surface defining a front side, a rear side, and a brim extending forward from the front side and configured to shield the user's eyes from sunlight or falling debris, wherein the outer shell is reversible such that one of the front side or the rear side is oriented above a face of the user when the outer shell is worn by the user, and wherein the brim is configured to be disposed above the face of the user when the outer shell is worn by the user with the front side being oriented above the face of the user; a front receptacle having an external slot extending upwardly along the front side on the [[an]] exterior surface of the outer shell above the brim and a protruding nub, wherein the protruding nub is integrally molded with the outer shell from the common material and is disposed centrally relative to the external slot and directly onto the exterior surface of the outer shell at an upward location away from the brim a unitary feature of the outer shell; a rear receptacle having an additional external slot disposed on the rear side on the exterior surface of the outer shell, wherein the front receptacle and the rear receptacle are of identical construction; and an accessory device having a mating receptacle formed thereon, at least a portion of the mating receptacle being selectively engageable within each of the external slot of the front receptacle or the additional external slot of the rear receptacle such that the accessory device is releasably mountable onto each of the front receptacle and the rear receptacle on the exterior surface of the outer shell.
2. The safety helmet of claim 1, wherein the external slot of the front receptacle is a receiver slot flanked by raised walls and the protruding nub comprises a stop, wherein the accessory device includes a clip, and wherein the receiver slot aligns the accessory device therein, the raised walls retain the accessory device therebetween, and the stop engages the clip to releasably mount the accessory device in the front receptacle.
The protruding nub of US 11,452,327 is equivalent to the stop of the instant applications claim 1.
Claim 2 is found in claim detailing that the receptacles and helmet are made from a common material (see claims 1 or 8 and 10 of US 11,452,327).
Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claims 3 or 10 of US 11,452,327.
Claim 4 of the instant application is the same as claim 8 US 11,452,327.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Klotz et al. (US 10,165,819) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732