Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed March 10, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because a legible copy of non-patent literature documents with cite numbers 1-9 were not included with the information disclosure statement. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 14-15, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1, lines 5-6, “the presence or absence” should read as “a presence or an absence”.
Claim 1, lines 18-19, “the discriminator events” should read as “discriminator events”.
Claim 1, line 19, “the user’s interaction” should read as “a user’s interaction”.
Claim 1, line 22, “a feature set” should read as “the feature set”.
Claim 1, line 24, “features” should read as “the features”.
Claim 1, line 29, “the compiled feature set” should read as “the feature set”.
Claim 1, line 31, “a condition” should read as “the neurological condition”.
Claim 1, line 31, “a user” should read as “the user”.
Claim 1, line 29, “the compiled feature set” should read as “the feature set”.
Claim 5, lines 4-5, “the feature set” should read as “the feature set”.
Claim 5, line 6, “the classification” should read as “a classification”.
Claim 7, line 22, “each of the classifications” should read as “the classification”.
Claim 8, line 2, “the recorded data points” should read as “the feature set”.
Claim 9, line 1, “the condition” should read as “the neurological condition”.
Claim 10, lines 9-10, “the feature sets” should read as “the feature set”.
Claim 11, line 12, “the discriminator events” should read as “discriminator events”.
Claim 14, line 1, “the user interaction” should read as “a user interaction”.
Claim 15, lines 1-2, “one or more segments” should read as “the one or more segments”.
Claim 20, lines 10-11, “the presence or absence” should read as “a presence or an absence”.
Claim 20, line 23-24, “the discriminator events” should read as “discriminator events”.
Claim 20, line 34, “the compiled feature set” should read as “the feature set”.
Claim 20, line 37, “the pre-labelled feature set” should read as “the provided pre-labelled feature set”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 10776423 B2 (“Kontschieder”) in view of WO 2016201575 A1 (“Noskov”) and in further view of JP 2004532475 A (“ダニエラ”).
In regard to claim 1, Kontschieder discloses
A computer-implemented method for (column 24, lines 43-44, “there is provided a computer-implemented method”) machine learning modelling of (column 5, lines 31-33, “The computing device … comprises a … machine learning system”) user interface interaction comprising (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”): training a collection of machine learning algorithms using (column 23, lines 61-62, “An ensemble-based machine learning algorithm was used to train the system”) training data to (column 9, lines 46-48, “Embodiments … may comprise … training data) discriminate between users with and without (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”) a neurological condition by (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”) identifying patterns in (column 22, lines 16-20, “The clinicians were asked to identify whether the paired patients performed equally, or if not which of the patients performed worse (i.e., exhibited more severe symptoms) among the pair to provide a relative judgment of disease status/severity”) a feature set which are indicative of the presence or absence of the condition (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) and labelling the feature set accordingly (column 9, lines 32-34, “The machine learning system may be trained using labeled … tasks”), wherein the collection of machine learning algorithms includes a locally deep support vector machine-based algorithm (column 5, lines 31-34, “The computing device … comprises a trained machine learning system … such as … an ensemble of support vector machines”)
the training including: receiving, from a mobile communication device on which (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) a virtual environment (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) and a plurality of environment-based discriminator events are (column 5, lines 37-39, “The machine learning system is trained to learn location-dependent, local motion features which are good discriminators of the motor task”) output via a multi-touch-sensitive display thereof (column 15, lines 27-29, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device. The output interface may also output data to devices”), a payload including recorded data points having been generated by recording and (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) each user interface input instruction input into (column 23, lines 24-29, “an instructional system to direct patients in movement performance … the recording tool comprises a … screen used to instruct patients in the neuro-assessment movements”) the mobile communication device via (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) the multi-touch-sensitive display by a user of the mobile communication device (column 15, lines 27-28, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device”) and by recording (column 21, lines 10-11, “A patient is … recorded while performing a physical movement”) the recorded data points are mapped to the discriminator events (column 26, lines 12-15, “mapping … points for … representation of the human in … two frames of the … data”) and relate to the user's interaction with (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”) the mobile communication device in relation to each of (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) the plurality of environment-based discriminator events (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”);
compiling at least a subset of (column 12, lines 50-51, “Each ... node is trained using a subset of the training videos”) the recorded data points into (column 9, lines 46-48, “Embodiments … may comprise … data) a feature set, wherein the feature set is designed to define features used to (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) classify (column 14, lines 4-7, “A support vector machine is a … classifier which uses hyperplanes in a feature space to achieve the classification”) the neurological condition (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”), wherein the feature set is partitioned to delineate features obtained from each of one or more segments of (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) the virtual environment (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”), wherein each of the one or more segments includes (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”) one or more of the plurality of environment-based discriminator events designed to test (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”) an aspect of the neurological condition (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”);
and learning from the compiled feature set for a segment of the one or more segments by reference to a provided pre-labelled feature set labelled with a condition of a user who caused generation of data points from which (column 9, lines 29-36, “a machine learning system… may be trained to find … features … The machine learning system may be trained using labeled videos … of motor tasks … The labels indicate which class the depicted motor task falls into. The labels may be assigned by human judges”) the pre-labelled feature set is compiled (column 14, lines 48-49, “The feature descriptors define a feature space where the support vector machines perform learning”).
Kontschieder does not disclose
and a consensus algorithm;
time stamping
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that
However, in the analogous field of machine learning, Noskov discloses
and a consensus algorithm ([00139], “FIG. 10F provides … the Consensus … algorithm”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, and a consensus algorithm, of Noskov into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a consensus algorithm.
Further, ダニエラ is also analogous art because it is the field of behavioral monitoring. ダニエラ discloses
time stamping ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
Substituting time stamping and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a time stamping device.
In regard to claim 2, Kontschieder discloses
including labelling the feature set with (column 9, lines 32-34, “The machine learning system may be trained using labeled … tasks”) the condition of the user who caused generation of (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”) data points from which (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) the feature set is compiled to generate the pre-labelled feature set (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”), wherein the pre-labelled feature set is associated with one or more segments of (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”) the virtual environment, wherein the pre-labelled feature set is labelled with (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) one or more identifiers of the segments from which it was obtained (column 13, lines 28-29, “The training process may be performed … to identify motor task”).
In regard to claim 3, Kontschieder does not disclose
including continually training the collection of machine learning algorithms with classification feedback.
However, in the analogous field of behavioral monitoring, ダニエラ discloses
including continually training the collection of machine learning algorithms with classification feedback ([0138], “a mechanism that classifies the neural network's response … and provides feedback to the neural network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, including continually training the collection of machine learning algorithms with classification feedback, of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a classification mechanism, a neural network, and feedback.
In regard to claim 4, Kontschieder discloses
wherein compiling at least a subset of (column 12, lines 50-51, “Each ... node is trained using a subset of the training videos”) the recorded data points into (column 9, lines 46-48, “Embodiments … may comprise … data) the feature set includes the subset of recorded data points representing first order features and wherein the method includes (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”): processing the first order features to generate second order features (column 10, lines 64-65, “The features are … generated from … different types of features.”);
and, including at least a subset of the second order features together with the subset of the first order features in the feature set (column 12, lines 50-51, “Each ... node is trained using a subset of the training videos”).
In regard to claim 5, Kontschieder discloses
wherein the locally deep support vector machine-based algorithm is configured to (column 5, lines 31-34, “The computing device … comprises a trained machine learning system … such as … an ensemble of support vector machines”) classify the feature set based on patterns included therein, wherein the locally deep support vector machine-based algorithm processes (column 14, lines 4-7, “A support vector machine is a … classifier which uses hyperplanes in a feature space to achieve the classification”)
the features obtained from (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) each of the one or more segments to obtain the classification which corresponds to the segment of the one or more segments (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”).
In regard to claim 6, Kontschieder discloses
wherein training includes training the locally deep support vector machine-based algorithm using (column 5, lines 31-34, “The computing device … comprises a trained machine learning system … such as … an ensemble of support vector machines”) data points obtained from (column 9, lines 46-48, “Embodiments … may comprise … data)
each of the one or more segments (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”).
In regard to claim 7, Kontschieder discloses
including a diagnostic method of: receiving, from a mobile communication device on which (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) the virtual environment (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) and environment-based discriminator events are (column 5, lines 37-39, “The machine learning system is trained to learn location-dependent, local motion features which are good discriminators of the motor task”) output via a display thereof (column 15, lines 27-29, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device. The output interface may also output data to devices”), a payload including recorded data points (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) and a user identifier uniquely identifying (column 13, lines 28-29, “The training process may be performed … to identify motor task”) a user-under-test (column 5, lines 60-67 and column 6, lines 1-2, “FIG. 2 is a … diagram of … tasks which may be analyzed … A first … task is a finger to nose task …, which involves a person raising an arm to a horizontal position extending away from the body and pointing the forefinger; the person then moves the arm by bending the elbow so as to place the forefinger on the nose without allowing the arm to vary from the horizontal position. Typically, the test is performed with each arm, and repeated three times each. This test may be performed with the subject's eyes open, with eyes closed, or both”),
the recorded data points having been generated by recording (column 21, lines 10-11, “A patient is … recorded while performing a physical movement”) and by recording (column 21, lines 10-11, “A patient is … recorded while performing a physical movement”) the recorded data points are mapped to the discriminator events (column 26, lines 12-15, “mapping … points for … representation of the human in … two frames of the … data”) and relate to the user's interaction with (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”) the mobile communication device in relation to each of (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) the plurality of environment-based discriminator events (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”);
compiling at least a subset of (column 12, lines 50-51, “Each ... node is trained using a subset of the training videos”) the recorded data points into (column 9, lines 46-48, “Embodiments … may comprise … data) a feature set, wherein the feature set is designed to define features used to (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) classify (column 14, lines 4-7, “A support vector machine is a … classifier which uses hyperplanes in a feature space to achieve the classification”) the neurological condition (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”), wherein the feature set is partitioned to delineate features obtained from each of one or more segments of (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”);
processing the feature set by (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) the locally deep support vector machine-based algorithm, including (column 5, lines 31-34, “The computing device … comprises a trained machine learning system … such as … an ensemble of support vector machines”): processing (column 28, lines 62-63, “processing capabilities are incorporated into many different devices”) features obtained from (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) each of the one or more segments by (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”) the locally deep support vector machine-based algorithm to obtain a classification for that segment (column 5, lines 31-34, “The computing device … comprises a trained machine learning system … such as … an ensemble of support vector machines”);
processing each of the classifications by (column 14, lines 4-7, “A support vector machine is a … classifier which uses hyperplanes in a feature space to achieve the classification”) a label indicating either the presence or absence of the condition (column 9, lines 32-34, “The machine learning system may be trained using labeled … tasks”);
and, outputting the label in association with (column 15, lines 27-29, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device. The output interface may also output data to devices”) the user identifier, including transmitting (column 13, lines 28-29, “The training process may be performed … to identify motor task”), via a communication network (column 8, lines 46-47, “the output interface … can interface with … communication networks”), the label to one or both of the mobile communication device from which the data points are received and to (column 9, lines 32-34, “The machine learning system may be trained using labeled … tasks”) a communication device of a medical practitioner linked to the user identifier (column 28, lines 8-11, “Embodiments … comprise a … task analysis system embodied in software which may be installed in a hospital or clinician's computing system”).
Kontschieder does not disclose
and time stamping each user interface input instruction received from the user-under-test
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that
the consensus algorithm to determine
However, in the analogous field of behavioral monitoring, ダニエラ discloses
and time stamping each user interface input instruction received from the user-under-test ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, and time stamping each user interface input instruction received from the user-under-test and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that, of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a time stamping device.
Further, Noskov is also analogous art because it is the field of machine learning. Noskov discloses
the consensus algorithm to determine ([00139], “FIG. 10F provides … the Consensus … algorithm”);
Substituting time stamping and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that of Noskov into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a consensus algorithm.
In regard to claim 8, Kontschieder discloses
wherein the method includes: associating one or more of the recorded data points (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”), the feature set (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) and the label with a user record linked to (column 9, lines 32-34, “The machine learning system may be trained using labeled … tasks”) the user identifier (column 13, lines 28-29, “The training process may be performed … to identify motor task”);
and, monitoring changes in the recorded data points and labels associated with the user record (column 27, lines 55-58, “embodiments … are … used to periodically monitor … a patient's physical movement, before, during and after a course of therapy”).
In regard to claim 9, Kontschieder discloses
wherein the condition is linked to a spectrum (column 18, lines 65-67 and column 19, lines 1-2, “The disease which may be detected, assessed, evaluated, analyzed, quantified or recorded may be selected from multiple sclerosis, Huntington's disease, Parkinson's disease, Lou Gehrig's disease (ALS), and other diseases and/or conditions which affect movement and/or mobility”) and the label indicates either the presence or absence of the condition by indicating a region of the spectrum with which (column 9, lines 32-34, “The machine learning system may be trained using labeled … tasks”) the feature set is associated (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”).
In regard to claim 10, Kontschieder discloses
including: compiling the payload including the recorded data points (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) and a user identifier with the recorded data points mapped to the discriminator events (column 26, lines 12-15, “mapping … points for … representation of the human in … two frames of the … data”);
and transmitting the payload to (column 13, lines 28-29, “The training process may be performed … to identify motor task”) a server computer or processing the payload on the mobile communication device for compilation into (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … servers, mobile telephones”) the feature set for (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) the collection of machine learning algorithms,
wherein the feature set represents measured features used by the collection of machine learning algorithms (column 5, lines 31-34, “The computing device … comprises a trained machine learning system … such as … an ensemble of support vector machines”) to classify users with and without (column 14, lines 4-7, “A support vector machine is a … classifier which uses hyperplanes in a feature space to achieve the classification”) the neurological condition by identifying patterns in the feature sets (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”).
In regard to claim 11, Kontschieder discloses
A computer-implemented method for (column 24, lines 43-44, “there is provided a computer-implemented method”) machine learning modelling of (column 5, lines 31-33, “The computing device … comprises a … machine learning system”) user interface interaction comprising (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”): outputting a virtual environment on (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) a mobile communication device to a user, the virtual environment being (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) output to the user via one or more output components of the mobile communication device including (column 15, lines 27-29, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device. The output interface may also output data to devices”) a multi-touch-sensitive display with which the user interacts by inputting (column 15, lines 27-28, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device”) a series of instructions into at least one input interface including the multi-touch-sensitive display of the mobile communication device (column 23, lines 24-29, “an instructional system to direct patients in movement performance … the recording tool comprises a … screen used to instruct patients in the neuro-assessment movements”);
outputting a plurality of environment-based discriminator events in the virtual environment (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”);
recording data points relating to the user's interaction with the mobile communication device in relation to each of the discriminator events including recording (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) the recorded data points are mapped to the discriminator events (column 26, lines 12-15, “mapping … points for … representation of the human in … two frames of the … data”) and relate to the user's interaction with (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”) the mobile communication device in relation to each of (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) the plurality of environment-based discriminator events (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”);
and sending a payload including the recorded data points to (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) a collection of trained machine learning algorithms for (column 23, lines 61-62, “An ensemble-based machine learning algorithm was used to train the system”) discriminating between users with and without (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”) a neurological condition, from the mobile communication device (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”).
Kontschieder does not disclose
and time stamping each user interface input instruction input into the mobile communication device via the multi-touch-sensitive display by the user and recording
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that
However, in the analogous field of behavioral monitoring, ダニエラ discloses
and time stamping each user interface input instruction input into the mobile communication device via the multi-touch-sensitive display by the user and recording ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, and time stamping each user interface input instruction input into the mobile communication device via the multi-touch-sensitive display by the user and recording and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that, of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a time stamping device.
In regard to claim 12, Kontschieder discloses
wherein the virtual environment includes (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) one or more segments, wherein different segments include (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”) different environment-based discriminator events for testing (column 5, lines 37-39, “The machine learning system is trained to learn location-dependent, local motion features which are good discriminators of the motor task”) an aspect of the neurological condition (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”).
In regard to claim 16, Kontschieder discloses
wherein each of the environment-based discriminator events includes one or more of (column 5, lines 37-39, “The machine learning system is trained to learn location-dependent, local motion features which are good discriminators of the motor task”):
Kontschieder does not disclose
a stimulus output element provided in the virtual environment and output from the mobile communication device to the user, wherein the stimulus output element is configured to prompt a predetermined expected instruction input into the mobile communication device by the user;
a distractor output element provided in the virtual environment and output from the mobile communication device to the user, the distractor output element being configured to distract the user from required interaction with the virtual environment;
and a pause or exit input element configured upon activation to pause or exit the virtual environment.
However, in the analogous field of behavioral monitoring, ダニエラ discloses
a stimulus output element provided in the virtual environment and output from the mobile communication device to the user, wherein the stimulus output element is configured to prompt a predetermined expected instruction input into the mobile communication device by the user ([0101], “a motor response may be determined by requesting a response to … pluck a key”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, a stimulus output element provided in the virtual environment and output from the mobile communication device to the user, wherein the stimulus output element is configured to prompt a predetermined expected instruction input into the mobile communication device by the user, of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a motor response and a key.
In regard to claim 17, Kontschieder discloses
wherein recording data points relating to (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) the user's interaction in relation to (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”) the environment-based discriminator event are provided in (column 5, lines 37-39, “The machine learning system is trained to learn location-dependent, local motion features which are good discriminators of the motor task”)
Kontschieder does not disclose
the form of the stimulus output element includes one or more of:
recording a time stamp corresponding to a time at which the stimulus output element is output from the mobile communication device to the user;
recording a time stamp corresponding to a time at which the user inputs an input instruction in response to the output of the stimulus output element;
and evaluating the input instruction received in response to the output of the stimulus output element against the predetermined expected instruction input.
However, in the analogous field of behavioral monitoring, ダニエラ discloses
the form of the stimulus output element includes one or more of ([0101], “a motor response may be determined by requesting a response to … pluck a key”):
recording a time stamp corresponding to a time at which the stimulus output element is output from the mobile communication device to the user ([0210], “time stamp outputs … can be analyzed later”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the form of the stimulus output element includes one or more of: recording a time stamp corresponding to a time at which the stimulus output element is output from the mobile communication device to the user, of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a motor response, a key, and time stamp outputs.
In regard to claim 18, Kontschieder discloses
wherein the method is conducted by a mobile software application downloadable onto and executable on the mobile communication device (column 29, lines 30-35, “A local or terminal computer may access the remote computer and download a part or all of the software to run the program. Alternatively, the local computer may download pieces of the software as needed, or execute some software instructions at the local terminal and some at the remote computer”), wherein the mobile software application is downloadable from an application repository maintained by a third party (column 29, lines 18-19, “software can be a valuable, separately tradable commodity”), and wherein the mobile software application provides the virtual environment in the form of (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) a computer game (column 28, lines 62-66, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … games consoles”).
In regard to claim 19, Kontschieder discloses
wherein recording data points includes recording motion data produced by (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) wherein the motion data relates to acceleration and/or rotation data produced by an accelerometer or gyroscope respectively (column 16, lines 21-26, “technology that may be used include … motion … detection using accelerometers/gyroscopes)
Kontschieder does not disclose
motion sensors associated with the mobile communication device for recording movement of the mobile communication device,
wherein the recorded motion data is position-stamped and/or time-stamped.
However, in the analogous field of behavioral monitoring, ダニエラ discloses
motion sensors associated with the mobile communication device for recording movement of the mobile communication device ([0016], “The data capture system may be equipped with various sensors that automatically record the activity and biological changes of the subject and send them to the computer system on a continuous real-time basis. Various mechanical tasks can be beneficially part of the system, and various standardized and scientifically validated tests can be performed under computer control. Physical activity can also be captured by a sensitive motion capture system that allows for very detailed analysis.”), wherein the recorded motion data is position-stamped and/or time-stamped ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, motion sensors associated with the mobile communication device for recording movement of the mobile communication device,
wherein the recorded motion data is position-stamped and/or time-stamped, of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a data capture system, various sensors, mechanical tasks, tests, a sensitive motion capture system, and a time stamping device.
In regard to claim 20, Kontschieder discloses
A system for machine learning modelling of (column 5, lines 31-33, “The computing device … comprises a … machine learning system”) user interface interaction comprising (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”): a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (column 15, lines 36-41, “Computer storage media, such as memory … includes volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data”);
and one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising (column 8, lines 23-24, “The processor … is arranged to execute instructions”): training a collection of machine learning algorithms using (column 23, lines 61-62, “An ensemble-based machine learning algorithm was used to train the system”) training data to (column 9, lines 46-48, “Embodiments … may comprise … training data) discriminate between users with and without (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”) a neurological condition by (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”) identifying patterns in (column 22, lines 16-20, “The clinicians were asked to identify whether the paired patients performed equally, or if not which of the patients performed worse (i.e., exhibited more severe symptoms) among the pair to provide a relative judgment of disease status/severity”) a feature set which are indicative of the presence or absence of the condition (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) and labelling the feature set accordingly (column 9, lines 32-34, “The machine learning system may be trained using labeled … tasks”), wherein the collection of machine learning algorithms includes a locally deep support vector machine-based algorithm (column 5, lines 31-34, “The computing device … comprises a trained machine learning system … such as … an ensemble of support vector machines”)
the training including: receiving, from a mobile communication device on which (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) a virtual environment (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) and a plurality of environment-based discriminator events are (column 5, lines 37-39, “The machine learning system is trained to learn location-dependent, local motion features which are good discriminators of the motor task”) output via a multi-touch-sensitive display thereof (column 15, lines 27-29, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device. The output interface may also output data to devices”), a payload including recorded data points having been generated by recording and (column 16, lines 53-60, “data is received, such as from a … capture device … located where the human is located to record movements of the human.”) each user interface input instruction input into (column 23, lines 24-29, “an instructional system to direct patients in movement performance … the recording tool comprises a … screen used to instruct patients in the neuro-assessment movements”) the mobile communication device via (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) the multi-touch-sensitive display by a user of the mobile communication device (column 15, lines 27-28, “the display device … is a touch sensitive display device”) and by recording (column 21, lines 10-11, “A patient is … recorded while performing a physical movement”) the recorded data points are mapped to the discriminator events (column 26, lines 12-15, “mapping … points for … representation of the human in … two frames of the … data”) and relate to the user's interaction with (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”) the mobile communication device in relation to each of (column 28, lines 62-65, “processing capabilities are incorporated into … mobile telephones”) the plurality of environment-based discriminator events (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”);
compiling at least a subset of (column 12, lines 50-51, “Each ... node is trained using a subset of the training videos”) the recorded data points into (column 9, lines 46-48, “Embodiments … may comprise … data) a feature set, wherein the feature set is designed to define features used to (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) classify (column 14, lines 4-7, “A support vector machine is a … classifier which uses hyperplanes in a feature space to achieve the classification”) the neurological condition (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”), wherein the feature set is partitioned to delineate features obtained from each of one or more segments of (column 21, lines 27-30, “Data from each population are synthesized to form ‘training sets’ that, in aggregate, define one or more features uniquely associated with one of the patient populations”) the virtual environment (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”), wherein each of the one or more segments includes (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”) one or more of the plurality of environment-based discriminator events designed to test (column 20, lines 53-62, “the .. inventive concepts include the use of … techniques … to discriminate between patient populations”) an aspect of the neurological condition (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”);
and learning from the compiled feature set for a segment of the one or more segments by reference to a provided pre-labelled feature set labelled with a condition of a user who caused generation of data points from which (column 9, lines 29-36, “a machine learning system… may be trained to find … features … The machine learning system may be trained using labeled videos … of motor tasks … The labels indicate which class the depicted motor task falls into. The labels may be assigned by human judges”) the pre-labelled feature set is compiled (column 14, lines 48-49, “The feature descriptors define a feature space where the support vector machines perform learning”).
Kontschieder does not disclose
and a consensus algorithm;
time stamping
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that
However, in the analogous field of machine learning, Noskov discloses
and a consensus algorithm ([00139], “FIG. 10F provides … the Consensus … algorithm”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, and a consensus algorithm, of Noskov into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a consensus algorithm.
Further, ダニエラ is also analogous art because it is the field of behavioral monitoring. ダニエラ discloses
time stamping ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that ([0180], “The information captured … is … sent to the … time stamping device”)
Substituting time stamping and time stamping the output of the environment-based discriminator events such that of ダニエラ into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a time stamping device.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US Kontschieder in view of Noskov and in further view of ダニエラ and US 9665170 B1 (“Ross”).
In regard to claim 13, Kontschieder discloses
wherein the virtual environment includes (column 16, lines 21-28, “technology that may be used include … virtual reality systems”) wherein each of the one or more segments includes (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”) a plurality of discriminator events for testing (column 5, lines 37-39, “The machine learning system is trained to learn location-dependent, local motion features which are good discriminators of the motor task”) an aspect of the neurological condition (column 27, lines 51-54, “embodiments of the invention are used to evaluate patients … who have, or were suspected of having a neurological … condition”).
Kontschieder does not disclose
a virtual character
However, in the analogous field of virtual reality, Ross discloses
a virtual character (column 12, lines 27-29, “the user may communicate with … virtual characters”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, a virtual character, of Ross into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a user and virtual characters.
In regard to claim 14, Kontschieder discloses
wherein the user interaction includes controlling navigation of (column 16, lines 8-11, “the … interface … enables a user to interact with the computing-based device”)
a segment of the one or more segments (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”).
Kontschieder does not disclose
the virtual character through
However, in the analogous field of virtual reality, Ross discloses
the virtual character through (column 12, lines 27-29, “the user may communicate with … virtual characters”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the virtual character through, of Ross into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding a user and virtual characters.
In regard to claim 15, Kontschieder discloses
wherein one or more segments of the one or more segments are provided in (column 23, lines 54-55, “After segmentation of the recorded videos, information used for classification was extracted”)
a number of difficulty levels associated therewith (column 4, lines 51-52, “to indicate performance level of the motor task”).
Kontschieder does not disclose
the form of a mini-game and include
However, in the analogous field of virtual reality, Ross discloses
the form of a mini-game and include (column 12, lines 1-13, “The content … may include … mini game”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the form of a mini-game and include, of Ross into the modified system, apparatus and method that captures and analyzes movement information and corresponding activity levels, from a patient of Kontschieder and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kontschieder, nor would it render Kontschieder unsuitable for its intended purpose of capturing and analyzing movement information and corresponding activity levels; rather it would enhance Kontschieder by adding content and a mini game.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure. The following references have been cited to further show the
state of the art.
• US 20170236441 A1 (“Chuang”)
Chuang discloses an interactive service platform based on user's physiological characteristics and an operating method thereof.
• US 20100280335 A1 (“Carlson”)
Carlson discloses patient state detection by medical devices.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be
reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based
collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO
Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s
supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715