DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed 03/10/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a porous material provided in the vacuum space and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate” in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “further comprising provided in the vacuum space” which is confusing and is not clear what is provided in the vacuum space. For purposes of examination, claim 19 will be interpreted as “further comprising a support provided in the vacuum space”
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the support" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is included in the rejection for being dependent on claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 15-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe et al. (WO 2013/140658).
Regarding claim 1, Abe discloses a refrigerator (1, Fig. 1) comprising: a main body (3) provided with an internal space in which a storage good are stored, the main body; and a door (21-26) provided to open and close the main body from an external space, wherein the main body includes a front portion configured to face the door (front side plane opening to refrigerated compartments 11-15, Fig. 2), and a side portion extending in a different direction from the front portion of the main body (sides of refrigerator extending rearward different direction from the front portion of the main body), wherein the door (26, Figs. 8, 10-12) includes a vacuum adiabatic body, the vacuum adiabatic body comprising a first plate (32); a second plate (31); a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate (space between 32 and 31 provided with vacuum heat insulating material 35), wherein the second plate (31) includes a front portion configured to be exposed to an exterior (front side of 31 exposed to an exterior), and a side portion extending in a first direction different from the front portion of the door (side of 31 in a 90 degree angle with the front portion, Figs. 8, 10-12), and wherein the side portion of the second plate is configured to define a first portion of a wall for the vacuum space (side portion of 31 defining a first portion of a wall for the vacuum space, Figs. 8, 10-12).
Regarding claim 2, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the first plate (32) defines at least one portion of a wall for a first space (portion of wall of refrigerated space), and the second plate (31) defines at least one portion of a wall for a second space (portion of wall of an exterior second space).
Regarding claim 3, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the wall is a wall for a side of the vacuum space (Figs. 8, 10-12).
Regarding claim 4, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the front portion of the second plate (31) is configured to define a second portion of a wall for the vacuum space (second front portion of wall, Figs. 8, 10-12).
Regarding claim 5, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 4, wherein the second portion of the wall is a wall for a front of the vacuum space (Figs. 8, 10-12).
Regarding claim 6, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the side portion of the second plate is configured to be less exposed to the exterior than the front portion of the second plate (side portion of 31 extending 90 degrees backward from the front portion and would be less exposed to the exterior than the front portion of the second plate).
Regarding claim 7, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the side portion of the second plate (side portion of 31) contacts with the vacuum space (contact space between 31, 32).
Regarding claim 8, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the side portion of the second plate (31) includes a first surface (inner surface) and a second surface (outer surface) forming a thickness of the side portion with the first surface, the first surface contacting the vacuum space and the second surface forming an outside of the wall of the vacuum space (Figs. 8, 10-12).
Regarding claim 15, Abe discloses a vacuum adiabatic body comprising: a first plate (32); a second plate (31); a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate (space between 32 and 31 provided with vacuum heat insulating material 35), wherein the second plate includes a front portion configured to be exposed to an exterior (front side of 31 exposed to an exterior), and a side portion extending in a first direction different from the front portion of the door (side of 31 in a 90 degree angle with the front portion, Figs. 8, 10-12), and wherein the side portion is configured to define a first portion of a wall for the vacuum space (side portion of 31 defining a first portion of a wall for the vacuum space, Figs. 8, 10-12), and the front portion is configured to define a second portion of a wall for the vacuum space (front portion of 31 defining a second portion of a wall for the vacuum space).
Regarding claim 16, Abe discloses the vacuum adiabatic body of claim 15, wherein the side portion of the second plate (side portion of 31) contacts with the vacuum space (contact space between 31, 32).
Regarding claim 18, Abe discloses a vacuum adiabatic body comprising: a first plate (32); a second plate (31); a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate (space between 32 and 31 provided with vacuum heat insulating material 35), wherein the second plate includes a front portion configured to be exposed to an exterior (front side of 31 exposed to an exterior), and a side portion extending in a first direction different from the front portion of the door (side of 31 in a 90 degree angle with the front portion, Figs. 8, 10-12), wherein the side portion is configured to be less exposed to the exterior than the front portion (side portion of 31 extending 90 degrees backward from the front portion and would be less exposed to the exterior than the front portion of the second plate), and wherein the side portion is configured to define a first portion of a wall for the vacuum space (side portion of 31 defining a first portion of a wall for the vacuum space, Figs. 8, 10-12), and the front portion is configured to define a second portion of a wall for the vacuum space (front portion of 31 defining a second portion of a wall for the vacuum space).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-14, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al. (WO 2013/140658) in view of Comstock (US Pat. 2,000,882).
Regarding claim 9, Abe discloses the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach at least one of a support or a porous material provided in the vacuum space and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar, and a support plate provided on an end of the bar, and wherein the porous material is filled in the vacuum space.
Comstock teaches the concept of a refrigerator with vacuum insulated walls including at least one of a support (171) or a porous material provided in the vacuum space (page 2, column 2, lines 19-30) and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar (strut 171), and a support plate (plate of metal clip 172) provided on an end of the bar (Fig. 2), and wherein the porous material is filled in the vacuum space (page 2, column 2, lines 19-30) that provides support against the external atmosphere to prevent deformation as well as allow gas flow continuously to a single outlet to facilitate the evacuation of air from the vacuum space (page 1, column 2, lines 7-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator of Abe to have at least one of a support or a porous material provided in the vacuum space and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar, and a support plate provided on an end of the bar, and wherein the porous material is filled in the vacuum space taught by Comstock in order to support the first and second plate from the external atmosphere and provide insulating filler will a continuous gas passage to an outlet to facilitate the evacuation of the vacuum space.
Regarding claim 10, Abe as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 9, and adding the teaching of Comstock would provide wherein a component is not disposed in a space spaced between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material (void space between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material).
Regarding claim 11, Abe as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 9, and adding the teaching of Comstock would provide the at least one of a support (171) or a porous material contacts with the front portion of the second plate (3).
Regarding claim 12, Abe as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 9, and adding the teaching of Comstock would provide the support plate (172) is spaced apart from the side portion (184) of the second plate (3).
Regarding claim 13, Abe as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 12, and adding the teaching of Comstock would provide the support plate (172) contacts with the front portion of the second plate (3).
Regarding claim 14, Abe as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 12, and adding the teaching of Comstock would provide wherein a component is not disposed in a space spaced between the side portion of the second plate and the support plate (void space between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material).
Regarding claim 17, Abe discloses the vacuum adiabatic body of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach comprising at least one of a support or a porous material provided in the vacuum space and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar, and a support plate provided on an end of the bar, wherein the porous material is filled in the vacuum space, and wherein a component is not disposed in a space spaced between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material.
Comstock teaches the concept of a refrigerator with vacuum insulated walls including at least one of a support (171) or a porous material provided in the vacuum space (page 2, column 2, lines 19-30) and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar (strut 171), and a support plate (plate of metal clip 172) provided on an end of the bar (Fig. 2), and wherein the porous material is filled in the vacuum space (page 2, column 2, lines 19-30) that provides support against the external atmosphere to prevent deformation as well as allow gas flow continuously to a single outlet to facilitate the evacuation of air from the vacuum space (page 1, column 2, lines 7-55) and wherein a component is not disposed in a space spaced between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material (void space between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator of Abe to have at least one of a support or a porous material provided in the vacuum space and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar, and a support plate provided on an end of the bar, and wherein the porous material is filled in the vacuum space and wherein a component is not disposed in a space spaced between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material taught by Comstock in order to support the first and second plate from the external atmosphere and provide insulating filler will a continuous gas passage to an outlet to facilitate the evacuation of the vacuum space.
Regarding claim 19, Abe discloses the vacuum adiabatic body of claim 18, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a support provided in the vacuum space and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar, and a support plate provided on an end of the bar, and wherein the support plate is spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate.
Comstock teaches the concept of a refrigerator with vacuum insulated walls including at least one of a support (171) provided in the vacuum space (page 2, column 2, lines 19-30) and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar (strut 171), and a support plate (plate of metal clip 172) provided on an end of the bar (Fig. 2), and wherein the support plate (172) is spaced apart from the side portion (184) of the second plate that provides support against the external atmosphere to prevent deformation as well as allow gas flow continuously to a single outlet to facilitate the evacuation of air from the vacuum space (page 1, column 2, lines 7-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator of Abe to have at least one of a support provided in the vacuum space and spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate, wherein the support is configured to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and include a bar, and a support plate provided on an end of the bar, and wherein the support plate is spaced apart from the side portion of the second plate taught by Comstock in order to support the first and second plate from the external atmosphere to prevent deformation of the first and second plate.
Regarding claim 20, Abe as modified discloses the vacuum adiabatic body of claim 19, and adding the teaching of Comstock would provide wherein a component is not disposed in a space spaced between the side portion of the second plate and the support plate (void space between the side portion of the second plate and the at least one of a support or a porous material).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763