Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes the limitation “a switch coupled the housing” in line 11 of the claim which should be corrected to –a switch coupled to the housing--.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “from the batter” in line 15-16 of the claim which should be corrected to –from the battery--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kolm (US2025/0339895).
Re Claim 19, Kolm discloses a cordless (“Therefore, the riveting device 1 can be a cordless tool” [0065]) rivet tool (riveting device 1), comprising:
a housing (handle part 2);
a nose piece assembly (riveting tool 10 comprising mouthpiece 11, mandrel holder 12, chuck housing 13, clamping elements 14, 14’) extending from the housing (Fig. 1), the nose piece assembly including a nose piece (mouthpiece 11.1) having a barrel portion (through hole 11.1) for receiving a mandrel of a rivet (“The mouthpiece 11 serves, for example, to receive a rivet (not shown in FIG. 1 ) to be set, in particular a blind rivet, and preferably has a through hole 11 . 1 , in order to insert the rivet mandrel of the rivet therein” [0067]), the barrel portion defining an axis that extends from a front end of the cordless rivet tool (Fig. 1); and
a ring light (Fig. 2) disposed in the housing circumferentially about the nose piece assembly (“A ring having multiple light sources 80 , 80 ′, in particular LEDs, arranged distributed over the circumference can also be provided, which extends around the operative axis W.” [0096]), the ring light configured to emit light directed along the axis (Fig. 2), wherein the light emitted by the ring light is angularly distributed about the axis with no discernible shadow caused by the nose piece assembly (Fig. 2 shows the light sources are angularly distributed about the axis so there should be no discernable shadows caused by the work piece assembly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolm (US2025/0339895) in view of Ely et al. (US2016/0354889).
Re Claim 1, Kolm discloses a cordless (“Therefore, the riveting device 1 can be a cordless tool” [0065]) rivet tool (riveting device 1), comprising:
a housing (handle part 2) having a battery receptacle configured to receive a battery (“A preferably replaceable electrical energy storage device, such as an accumulator 3 , can be provided for the electrical energy supply of the drive device 30 , which energy storage device is arranged, for example, in the region of an end of the handle part 2 facing away from the riveting tool 10 .” [0065]);
a nose piece assembly (riveting tool 10 comprising mouthpiece 11, mandrel holder 12, chuck housing 13, clamping elements 14, 14’) extending from the housing (Fig. 1), the nose piece assembly including a nose piece (mouthpiece 11) for receiving a mandrel of a rivet (“The mouthpiece 11 serves, for example, to receive a rivet (not shown in FIG. 1 ) to be set, in particular a blind rivet, and preferably has a through hole 11 . 1 , in order to insert the rivet mandrel of the rivet therein” [0067]), the nose piece assembly defining an axis (operative axis W) that extends from a front end of the cordless rivet tool (Fig. 1);
a ring light (Fig. 2) disposed in the housing circumferentially about the nose piece assembly (“A ring having multiple light sources 80 , 80 ′, in particular LEDs, arranged distributed over the circumference can also be provided, which extends around the operative axis W.” [0096]), and including a light source (light source 80) configured to emit light directed along the axis (Fig. 2), wherein the light emitted by the ring light is angularly distributed about the axis with no discernible shadow caused by the nose piece assembly (Fig. 2 shows the light sources are angularly distributed about the axis so there should be no discernable shadows caused by the work piece assembly);
Kohm fails to disclose a switch coupled the housing; and a controller in electrical communication with the switch and the battery when the battery is received in the battery receptacle, the controller operatively coupled to the ring light, wherein the controller causes electrical power to be supplied to the ring light from the batter in response to actuation of the switch and that the ring light configured to be electrically coupled to and powered by the battery. In fact, Kohm fails to disclose any means of turning the motor on or off or any power source capable of powering the ring having multiple light sources other than the accumulator.
Ely teaches a cordless (Fig. 2) power tool (impact tool 10) comprising a ring light configured to be electrically coupled to and powered by the battery (In the illustrative embodiment, the lighting unit is powered directly from battery 34 or through a constant current source which in turn draws its power from battery 34 removably coupled to the power tool 10 “ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohm by electrically coupling the accumulator and the light source so the light source can be powered by the battery as taught by Ely. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Ely further teaches a switch (trigger 36) coupled (“Housing 12 includes a number of user-selectable input devices (e.g., triggers, switches, and knobs) configured to allow the user to adjust one or more user selectable features of the power tool 10 . For instance, housing 12 includes a trigger 36 positioned on handle 20 near motor housing 15 , such that trigger 36 may be operated by a user grasping handle 20 of the power tool 10 . In many power tools, the primary function of trigger 36 is to control the supply of power to the motor and, hence, the motive force delivered by motor 38 to output spindle 50.” [0028]) the housing (housing 12); and a controller (controller 70) in electrical communication with the switch and the battery when the battery is received in the battery receptacle, the controller operatively coupled to the ring light (“The electrical connector 64 in the housing is connected to battery 34 and controller 70 of the power tool 10 and is configured to provide power and/or control signals to any electrical accessories supported by nose piece 32 of hammer case 14 , such as lighting unit 60” [0033]), wherein the controller causes electrical power to be supplied to the ring light from the battery in response to actuation of the switch (“In the illustrative embodiment, controller 70 will activate the desired headlight output setting when trigger 36 is depressed and F/N/R switch 40 is in the forward position or the reverse position.” [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kohm in view of Ely to incorporate the switch and controller as further taught by Ely in order to turn on the ring light with a switch. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized a responsible expectation of success.
Re Claim 2, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the ring light further comprises an optical lens assembly (Kohm, light guide 81, “The light guide of the retaining structure can be an optical lens and/or a perform a lens function, for example combine or scatter light rays of the light source” [0037]), the optical lens comprising at least one of a non-focal lens, a convex lens (see Fig. 2 of Kohm, illustrated below), or a concave lens.
Fig. 2 of Kohm, illustrated
Re Claim 10, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the switch comprises a two-stage switch trigger (trigger 36) wherein the controller energizes the ring light in response to a partial pull of the two-stage switch trigger (Ely, “In some embodiments, if trigger 36 is only partially depressed lighting unit 60 of the power tool 10 will turn on, but motor 38 of the power tool 10 will not rotate, thereby allowing the user to illuminate the work space of the power tool 10 before operating the power tool 10” [0029]), and the controller energizes the ring light and a motor in response to a complete pull of the two-stage switch trigger (Ely, “The forward position is configured to cause motor 38 to rotate in one direction when trigger 36 is depressed” [0030]).
Re Claim 12, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller energizes the ring light for a predetermined period of time after the switch is no longer actuated (Ely, “In some embodiments, while F/N/R switch 40 is in the neutral position, controller 70 is configured to latch a circuit when the trigger is pulled that keeps electrical power supplied to the controller for a period of time after the trigger is released.” [0058] and “For example, if trigger 36 is depressed while F/N/R switch 40 is in the forward position and motor 38 rotates, lighting unit 60 may be configured to stay on for a few seconds after the trigger is released, thereby allowing the user to inspect the work just accomplished.” [0064]).
Re Claim 13, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above), discloses that the predetermined period of time is a few seconds (“For example, if trigger 36 is depressed while F/N/R switch 40 is in the forward position and motor 38 rotates, lighting unit 60 may be configured to stay on for a few seconds after the trigger is released, thereby allowing the user to inspect the work just accomplished.” [0064]), but fails to disclose that the predetermined period of time is one of 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15, seconds, or 20 seconds.
Kohm in view of Ely, does not disclose the exact predetermined period of time that the ring light stays on for after the trigger is no longer pressed. However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohm, in view of Ely, in the claimed manner, since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed amount is merely close to the prior art (MPEP § 2144.05 subsection I).
Re Claim 14, Kolm discloses a cordless (“Therefore, the riveting device 1 can be a cordless tool” [0065]) rivet tool (riveting device 1), comprising:
a housing (handle part 2);
a nose piece assembly (riveting tool 10 comprising mouthpiece 11, mandrel holder 12, chuck housing 13, clamping elements 14, 14’) extending from the housing (Fig. 1), the nose piece assembly including a nose piece (mouthpiece 11) having a barrel portion (through hole 11.1) for receiving a mandrel of a rivet (“The mouthpiece 11 serves, for example, to receive a rivet (not shown in FIG. 1 ) to be set, in particular a blind rivet, and preferably has a through hole 11 . 1 , in order to insert the rivet mandrel of the rivet therein” [0067]), the barrel portion defining an axis (operative axis W) that extends from a front end of the cordless rivet tool (Fig. 1);
a ring light (Fig. 2) disposed in the housing circumferentially about the nose piece assembly (“A ring having multiple light sources 80 , 80 ′, in particular LEDs, arranged distributed over the circumference can also be provided, which extends around the operative axis W.” [0096]), the ring light configured to emit light directed along the axis (Fig. 2), wherein the light emitted by the ring light is angularly distributed about the axis with no discernible shadow caused by the nose piece assembly (Fig. 2 shows the light sources are angularly distributed about the axis so there should be no discernable shadows caused by the work piece assembly).
Kohm fails to disclose a switch operatively coupled to the light ring, the switch configured to cause the ring light to be energized when the switch is actuated.
Ely further teaches a switch (trigger 36) coupled to the light ring (“In the illustrative embodiment, the light output of lighting unit 60 is controlled by trigger 36 of the power tool 10” [0058]), the switch configured to cause the ring light to be energized when the switch is actuated (“depressing trigger 36 may turn on lighting unit 60 of the power tool 10” [0029]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kohm in view of Ely to incorporate the switch and controller as further taught by Ely in order to turn on the ring light with a switch. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized a responsible expectation of success.
Re Claim 15, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the switch comprises a two-stage switch trigger (trigger 36), wherein the switch energizes the ring light in response to a partial pull of the two-stage switch trigger (Ely, “In some embodiments, if trigger 36 is only partially depressed lighting unit 60 of the power tool 10 will turn on, but motor 38 of the power tool 10 will not rotate, thereby allowing the user to illuminate the work space of the power tool 10 before operating the power tool 10” [0029]), and the switch energizes the ring light and a motor in response to a complete pull of the two-stage switch (Ely, “The forward position is configured to cause motor 38 to rotate in one direction when trigger 36 is depressed” [0030]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohm, in view of Ely as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Staeubli et al. (WO 2012/004145), hereinafter referred to as Staeubli.
Re Claim 3, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and fails to disclose that the ring light further comprises a diffusing lens assembly configured to distribute light emitted from the light source, the diffusing lens assembly comprising at least one of a frosted lens, a solite lens, or a prismatic lens.
Staeubli teaches that a diffusing lens assembly (diffuser optic 34a, “The diffuser optics 34a has three diffuser areas 62a.” [0037]) configured to distribute light emitted from the light source, the diffusing lens assembly comprising at least one of a frosted lens (“For this purpose, the diffuser areas 62a are frosted” [0038]), a solite lens, or a prismatic lens in order to achieve a uniform glow (“diffuser optic, which makes it possible to achieve a particularly uniform, low-glare and especially wide luminous flux” [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kohm in view of Ely by adding a diffuser lens assembly to make the light uniform as taught by Staeubli. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohm in view of Ely as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vanko et al (US2014/0036482), hereinafter Vanko.
Re Claim 4, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein Kohm discloses that the light source comprises an annulus-shaped ring and a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged in a ring configuration on the annulus-shaped ring (“A ring having multiple light sources 80 , 80 ′, in particular LEDs, arranged distributed over the circumference can also be provided” [0096]), but fails to disclose that the ring is a printed circuit board (PCB).
Vanko teaches a power tool (Figs. 2-4) with a light source wherein the light source comprises an annulus-shaped printed circuit board (circuit board 112, “the circuit board 112 is a printed circuit board that is formed in an annular shape” [0143]) and a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs 114) arranged in a ring configuration (Fig. 3) on the annulus-shaped printed circuit board.
Kohm in view of Ely differs from the claimed invention by not disclosing that the ring upon which the LEDs are attached is a printed circuit board. Vanko teaches a similar light source where the LEDs are attached to a printed circuit board. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohm, in view of Ely, to make the ring a printed circuit board and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this substitution as predictable because both rings perform the same function: securing the LEDs (Vanko, “The circuit board 112 can be formed of an insulating material and can include wires or conductors (not specifically shown) that can electrically couple the wire harness 120 and the LEDs 114 ” [0143]).
Re Claim 5, Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, disclose the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the LEDs comprise LEDS emitting multiple colors of light (Ely, “As will be discussed in more detail below, in some embodiments, lighting unit 60 turns on whenever power is supplied to the motor of the power tool 10 , for example, when the user depresses trigger 36 of the power tool 10 . In some embodiments, controller 70 may cause lighting unit 60 to flash various patterns, or emit certain colors of light, or both, to indicate certain events to the user of the power tool 10 , such as, for example, completion of fastening operation, faults/errors, maintenance reminders, or other operational conditions of the power tool 10 “ [0041]) and that one could use LEDS of different colors to emit different colors (“diodes of different colors” [0042]).
Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, does not disclose that the LEDS are either in the set of “red-green-blue” or “red-green-blue-white”. However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, in the claimed manner, since it has been held that merely aesthetic changes to features taught in the prior art is an obvious matter of design and/or engineering choice (MPEP § 2144.04 subsection I).
Re Claim 6, Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, disclose the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 4 (see rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the controller controls the ring light to emit a first color light during a riveting operation (Ely, “As will be discussed in more detail below, in some embodiments, lighting unit 60 turns on whenever power is supplied to the motor of the power tool 10 , for example, when the user depresses trigger 36 of the power tool 10 .” [0041]), then controls the ring light to emit a second color light in response to a successful riveting operation (Ely, “In some embodiments, controller 70 may cause lighting unit 60 to flash various patterns, or emit certain colors of light, or both, to indicate certain events to the user of the power tool 10 , such as, for example, completion of fastening operation, faults/errors, maintenance reminders, or other operational conditions of the power tool 10” (emphasis added) [0041]).
Re Claim 7, Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, disclose the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 4 (see rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the controller controls the ring light to emit a first color light during a riveting operation (Ely, “As will be discussed in more detail below, in some embodiments, lighting unit 60 turns on whenever power is supplied to the motor of the power tool 10 , for example, when the user depresses trigger 36 of the power tool 10 .” [0041]), then controls the ring light to emit a second color light in response to a failed riveting operation (Ely, “In some embodiments, controller 70 may cause lighting unit 60 to flash various patterns, or emit certain colors of light, or both, to indicate certain events to the user of the power tool 10 , such as, for example, completion of fastening operation, faults/errors, maintenance reminders, or other operational conditions of the power tool 10” (emphasis added) [0041]).
Re Claim 11, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), but fails to disclose whether the trigger is a non-contact trigger or contact trigger and how the trigger is connected to the controller.
Vanko teaches wherein the switch comprises a non-contact switch trigger (Fig. 87, “The configuration disclosed herein can be particularly advantageous as no drain on the battery pack 1102 is realized when the trigger (such as trigger 22 , FIG. 1) is not depressed because the illumination signal 1120 disappears and the FET 1124 will shut off.” [0190], Depressing the trigger causes the illumination signal, a non-contact signal, to emit and turn on the LED).
Kohm, in view of Ely, disclose a trigger switch which differs from the claimed trigger switch by not disclosing a non-contact means for the depression of the trigger to be conveyed to the controller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute how the trigger is connected to the controller in Kohm, in view of Ely, with the illumination signal as taught by Vanko, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this substitution as predictable as both Kohn, in view of Ely and Vanko connect the trigger to a controller (Vanko discloses a control circuit in Fig. 87 that serves as the controller).
Re Claim 16, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), but fails to disclose whether the trigger is a non-contact trigger or contact trigger and how the trigger is connected to the controller.
Vanko teaches wherein the switch comprises a non-contact switch trigger (Fig. 87, “The configuration disclosed herein can be particularly advantageous as no drain on the battery pack 1102 is realized when the trigger (such as trigger 22 , FIG. 1) is not depressed because the illumination signal 1120 disappears and the FET 1124 will shut off.” [0190], Depressing the trigger causes the illumination signal, a non-contact signal, to emit and turn on the LED).
Kohm, in view of Ely, disclose a trigger switch which differs from the claimed trigger switch by not disclosing a non-contact means for the depression of the trigger to be conveyed to the controller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute how the trigger is connected to the controller in Kohm, in view of Ely, with the illumination signal as taught by Vanko, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this substitution as predictable as both Kohn, in view of Ely and Vanko connect the trigger to a controller (Vanko discloses a control circuit in Fig. 87 that serves as the controller).
Re Claim 17, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), wherein Kohm discloses that the light source comprises an annulus-shaped ring and a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged in a ring configuration on the annulus-shaped ring (“A ring having multiple light sources 80 , 80 ′, in particular LEDs, arranged distributed over the circumference can also be provided” [0096]), but fails to disclose that the ring is a printed circuit board (PCB).
Vanko teaches a power tool (Figs. 2-4) with a light source wherein the light source comprises an annulus-shaped printed circuit board (circuit board 112, “the circuit board 112 is a printed circuit board that is formed in an annular shape” [0143]) and a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs 114) arranged in a ring configuration (Fig. 3) on the annulus-shaped printed circuit board.
Kohm in view of Ely differs from the claimed invention by not disclosing that the ring upon which the LEDs are attached is a printed circuit board. Vanko teaches a similar light source where the LEDs are attached to a printed circuit board. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohm, in view of Ely, to make the ring a printed circuit board and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this substitution as predictable because both rings perform the same function: securing the LEDs (Vanko, “The circuit board 112 can be formed of an insulating material and can include wires or conductors (not specifically shown) that can electrically couple the wire harness 120 and the LEDs 114 ” [0143]).
Re Claim 18, Kohm, in view of Ely, discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the ring light further comprises a lens assembly (Kohm, light guide 81, “The light guide of the retaining structure can be an optical lens and/or a perform a lens function, for example combine or scatter light rays of the light source” [0037]) disposed over the plurality of LEDs and annulus shaped PCB (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Willie et al. (DE4339117), hereinafter referred to as Willie.
Re Claim 8, Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, disclose the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 4 (see rejection of claim 7 above), further comprising a motor (Kohm, electric motor 31), but fails to disclose an overcurrent sensor coupled to the motor for measuring a current powering the motor, wherein the controller determines a failed riveting operation when the current powering the motor exceeds a predetermined current value.
Willie teaches an overcurrent sensor (current measuring device 8) coupled to the motor (“a current measuring device 8 is arranged in the connection between motor 3 and voltage source 4” [0029]) for measuring a current powering the motor, wherein the controller (window comparator 10, compensation device 11, result memory 18, and classification device 19) determines a failed riveting operation when the current powering the motor exceeds a predetermined current value (“Preferably, a target current range for the input current is selected depending on the material and dimensions of the blind rivet or blind rivet nut, and it is monitored whether the actual input current during the setting process reaches a maximum value that lies within this target current range.....If the maximum value is too high, this may be due to increased friction in the setting tool caused by contamination, or to the selection of an incorrect rivet, which may have damaged the parts to be joined.” [0009] and “Instead, the classification device 19 allows the respective maximum values to be assigned to different classes, and only the number of events per class to be stored in order to save storage space. In the simplest case, three classes will suffice: one class where the target current range has not been reached, one class where the values are within the target current range, and one class where the values are above the target current range.” [0043]).
Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko disclose a riveting device that emits a different color when the controller detects failure, but fails to disclose what metrics are used to determine failure occurrence. Willie teaches that it was known in the art to check if the maximum detected current exceeds a preset current value to determine failure occurrence. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko to determine failure using the sensor of Willie in the manner that the controller of Willie recognizes failure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of German patent Document (DE202010005469).
Re Claim 9, Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, disclose the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 4 (see rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the controller controls the ring light to emit a first color light during a riveting operation (Ely, “As will be discussed in more detail below, in some embodiments, lighting unit 60 turns on whenever power is supplied to the motor of the power tool 10 , for example, when the user depresses trigger 36 of the power tool 10 .” [0041]), then controls the ring light to emit a second color light in response to maintenance needs (Ely, “In some embodiments, controller 70 may cause lighting unit 60 to flash various patterns, or emit certain colors of light, or both, to indicate certain events to the user of the power tool 10 , such as, for example, completion of fastening operation, faults/errors, maintenance reminders, or other operational conditions of the power tool 10” (emphasis added) [0041]).
Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko does not disclose using whether the cordless rivet tool has completed a number of riveting cycles that exceed a predetermined number of riveting cycles to determine maintenance needs.
German Patent Document teaches a riveting tool ([0001]) that includes a module for counting how many cycles has occurred (“The cycle counting module can calculate the cumulative number of cycles for tool 10” [0032]), a display (cycle count display area 215) of the cycles completed and emits a warning when a number of riveting cycles that exceed a predetermined number of riveting cycles (“A warning is issued when the cumulative number of cycles reaches the predetermined number of cycles for maintenance.” [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kohm in view of Ely and Vanko, to count and emit a warning when the number of riveting cycles exceeds a set amount, as taught by German Patent Document, by changing the color of the lights as taught by Ely, in order to remind the user about maintenance as taught by Ely. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the reasonable expectation of success of combination.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohm as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Vanko.
20. The cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 19, wherein the right light comprises an annulus-shaped printed circuit board (PCB), a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged in a ring configuration on the annulus-shaped PCB, and a lens assembly disposed over the plurality of LEDs and annulus shaped PCB.
Re Claim 20, Kohm discloses the cordless rivet tool as recited in claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above), wherein Kohm discloses that the light source comprises an annulus-shaped ring and a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged in a ring configuration on the annulus-shaped ring (“A ring having multiple light sources 80 , 80 ′, in particular LEDs, arranged distributed over the circumference can also be provided” [0096]) and a lens assembly Kohm, light guide 81, “The light guide of the retaining structure can be an optical lens and/or a perform a lens function, for example combine or scatter light rays of the light source” [0037]) disposed over the plurality of LEDs and annulus shaped PCB (Fig. 2), but fails to disclose that the ring is a printed circuit board (PCB).
Vanko teaches a power tool (Figs. 2-4) with a light source wherein the light source comprises an annulus-shaped printed circuit board (circuit board 112, “the circuit board 112 is a printed circuit board that is formed in an annular shape” [0143]) and a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs 114) arranged in a ring configuration (Fig. 3) on the annulus-shaped printed circuit board.
Kohm differs from the claimed invention by not disclosing that the ring upon which the LEDs are attached is a printed circuit board. Vanko teaches a similar light source where the LEDs are attached to a printed circuit board. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohm to make the ring a printed circuit board and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this substitution as predictable because both rings perform the same function: securing the LEDs (Vanko, “The circuit board 112 can be formed of an insulating material and can include wires or conductors (not specifically shown) that can electrically couple the wire harness 120 and the LEDs 114 ” [0143]).
Conclusion
/W.D.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725