DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the communication filed on 03/10/2025. Claims 1-9 are pending in the application. Claims 1-9 have been rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2007/0061590 A1 (hereinafter Boye et al.) in view of US 2023/0207091 A1 (hereinafter Joyce et al.)
Regarding claim 1, Boye et al. teaches an information processing system (note para. [0037]: Integrated Verification Authority Network System, IVAN system 10) comprising:
biometric information acquisition means (note figure 2.600: enrollment process; para. [0026]: biometric service server; para. [0037]: system 10) for acquiring biometric information of a user (note para. [0026], [0037], [0046]: biometric specimen collection means);
authentication processing means (note figure 2.800: identity authentication process) for authenticating (note para. [0037] – [0038], [0046]: user identity authentication/ biometric verification process);
first storage means (note para. [0026], [0037]: storage for biometric templates) for storing the biometric information of (note para. [0017], [0026], [0037]: storage of biometric templates/ verification data associated with the user);
trace information generation means (note figure 1.200: authentication server; para. [0026], [0078] : template, biometric specimen generation means) for
trace information acquisition means (note figure 2.600: enrollment process; para. [0026]: biometric service server; para. [0037]: system 10) for acquiring the (note para. [0078], [0079); and
verification processing means (note figure 2.800: authentication process; para. [0078]: authentication server) for performing a verification process on the (note para. [0078], [0079]: verification of biometric specimen)
Boye et al fails to teach expressly generating signature information of the patient based on the biometric information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means and generating signed trace information containing the signature information; and performing a verification process on the signature information of the signed trace information acquired by the trace information acquisition means.
However, Joyce et al teaches generating signature information of the patient based on the biometric information of the patient authenticated (note para. [0023], [0087], [0112], [0127]: generating signed vaccine certificate or care item based on pathogen information) by the authentication processing means and generating signed trace information containing the signature information (note para. [0087], [0108], [0127]); and performing a verification process on the signature information of the signed trace information acquired by the trace information acquisition means (note para. [0023], [0108], [0127]: verifying vaccine certificate generated based on patient’s medical/ biometric information)
Boye et al. and Joyce et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing and verifying patient’s medical data. Therefore, before the filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art to modify Boye et al. method to further include the features of generating signature information of the patient based on the biometric information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means and generating signed trace information containing the signature information; and performing a verification process on the signature information of the signed trace information acquired by the trace information acquisition means in order to provide users an enhanced and secure mechanism for preventing unauthorized access to patient specific pathogen/ patient care information by utilizing a signature/ cryptographic verification (note Joyce et al., para. [0087], [0127])
Regarding claim 4, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 1, furthermore, Joyce et al. teaches the information processing system wherein the signed trace information generated by the trace information generation means is attached to a vaccine or a therapeutic agent generated based on a specimen taken from the patient (note Joyce et al., para. [0087], [0127])
Regarding claim 5, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 1, furthermore, Joyce et al. teaches the information processing system according to wherein the verification processing means performs the verification process before the vaccine or therapeutic agent is administered to the patient (note Joyce et al., para. [0060], [0087], [0127]: patent identification/ verification during drug administration)
Regarding claim 6, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 1, furthermore, Joyce et al. teaches the information processing system wherein the vaccine or the therapeutic agent is a personalized vaccine or a personalized therapeutic agent for the patient (note para. [0060], [0106]: administering patient specific drugs)
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 1, furthermore, Joyce et al. teaches the information processing system wherein the trace information is information displayed in a form that can be read by a reader device (note para. [0111], [0114]: reader/ scanner)
Regarding claim 8, Boye et al. teaches an information processing method comprising:
acquiring biometric information of a user (note para. [0026], [0037], [0046]: biometric specimen collection means);
authenticating (note para. [0037] – [0038], [0046]: user identity authentication/ biometric verification process);
storing the biometric information of the authenticated (note para. [0017], [0026], [0037]: storage of biometric templates/ verification data associated with the user);
acquiring the generated
performing a verification process on the (note para. [0078], [0079]: verification of biometric specimen)
Boye et al fails to teach expressly generating signature information of the patient based on the biometric information of the authenticated patient and generating signed trace information containing the signature information; and performing a verification process on the signature information of the acquired signed trace information.
However, Joyce et al teaches generating signature information of the patient based on the biometric information of the authenticated patient (note para. [0023], [0087], [0112], [0127]: generating signed vaccine certificate or care item based on pathogen information) and generating signed trace information containing the signature information (note para. [0087], [0108], [0127]); and performing a verification process on the signature information of the acquired signed trace information (note para. [0023], [0108], [0127]: verifying vaccine certificate generated based on patient’s medical/ biometric information)
Boye et al. and Joyce et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing and verifying patient’s medical data. Therefore, before the filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art to modify Boye et al. method to further include the features of generating signature information of the patient based on the biometric information of the authenticated patient and generating signed trace information containing the signature information; and performing a verification process on the signature information of the acquired signed trace information in order to provide users an enhanced and secure mechanism for preventing unauthorized access to patient specific pathogen/ patient care information by utilizing a signature/ cryptographic verification (note Joyce et al., para. [0087], [0127])
Regarding claim 9, Boye et al. teaches an information processing system comprising:
biometric information acquisition means (note figure 2.600: enrollment process; para. [0026]: biometric service server; para. [0037]: system 10) for acquiring biometric information of a user (note para. [0026], [0037], [0046]: biometric specimen collection means);
authentication processing means (note figure 2.800: identity authentication process) for authenticating (note para. [0037] – [0038], [0046]: user identity authentication/ biometric verification process);
first storage means (note para. [0026], [0037]: storage for biometric templates) for storing the biometric information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means in association with identification information (note para. [0017], [0026], [0037]: storage of biometric templates/ verification data associated with the user);
trace information generation means (note figure 1.200: authentication server; para. [0026], [0078] : template, biometric specimen generation means) for generating trace information (note para. [0078, [0079);
trace information acquisition means (note figure 2.600: enrollment process; para. [0026]: biometric service server; para. [0037]: system 10) for acquiring the trace information generated by the trace information generation means (note para. [0078], [0079); and
verification processing means (note figure 2.800: authentication process; para. [0078]: authentication server) for performing a verification process for verifying matching between the identification information of the trace information acquired by the trace information acquisition means and identification information corresponding to the biometric information (note para. [0078], [0079]: verification of biometric specimen)
Boye et al fails to teach expressly generating trace information of the patient containing the identification information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means; and generating identification information corresponding to the biometric information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means.
However, Joyce et al teaches generating trace information of the patient containing the identification information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means (note para. [0023], [0087], [0112], [0127]: generating signed vaccine certificate or care item based on pathogen information); and generating identification information corresponding to the biometric information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means (note para. [0023], [0108], [0127]: verifying vaccine certificate generated based on patient’s medical/ biometric information)
Boye et al. and Joyce et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing and verifying patient’s medical data. Therefore, before the filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art to modify Boye et al. method to further include the features of generating trace information of the patient containing the identification information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means; and generating identification information corresponding to the biometric information of the patient authenticated by the authentication processing means in order to provide users an enhanced and secure mechanism for preventing unauthorized access to patient specific pathogen/ patient care information by utilizing a signature/ cryptographic verification (note Joyce et al., para. [0087], [0127])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire in 3 (Three) months and 0 (Zero) days from the mailing date of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will result in ABANDOMENT of the application (see 35 U.S.C 133, M.P.E.P 710.02(b)). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTO ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494