DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kim et. al (US 20210286407 A1) hereafter referred to as Kim
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising:
a hinge structure (160 support member assembly) including:
a hinge bracket (164 hinge assembly),
a first hinge plate (161 first support member) rotatable with respect to the hinge bracket (Fig 2, Fig 3),
and a second hinge plate (162 second support member) distinct from the first hinge plate (Fig 3) and rotatable with respect to the hinge bracket (Fig 2, 3);
a display (130 display, also 400 display “The display 400 of FIGS. 4A and 4B may be at least partially similar to the display 130 of FIG. 3 or may further include other components of the display” ¶81) disposed on the first plate and the second plate across the hinge structure (Fig 3);
a plurality of reinforcing members (132 plate), attached to the display (¶72), including:
a first reinforcing member (right side of 132 plate) facing a surface of the first hinge plate and spaced apart from the first hinge plate (Fig 3),
and a second reinforcing member (left side of 132 plate) facing a surface of the second hinge plate and spaced apart from the second hinge plate (Fig 3);
and a first heat dissipation member (not numbered, functional member, “the functional member may include …. a heat dissipation sheet”; ¶84) having
a first region (right portion of functional member, Fig 4C) interposed between the first reinforcing member and the surface of the first hinge plate (Fig 4C and Fig 3),
a second region (left region of functional member, Fig 4C) interposed between the second reinforcing member and the surface of the second hinge plate (Fig 4C and Fig 3),
and a third region (482 first blocking member), connecting the first region and the second region (Fig 23), being deformable by movement of the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate (¶169),
and wherein, in an unfolded state of the electronic device in which a direction in which the surface of the first hinge plate faces is the same as a direction in which the surface of the second hinge plate faces, at least a portion of the third region passes through a gap between a side surface of the first hinge plate (Fig 23) and a side surface of the second hinge plate, which face each other (Fig 23).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein, in the unfolded state,
a distance between the first reinforcing member (right portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate) and the second reinforcing member (left portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate) is shorter (distance between the two is width of 453 flexible portion) than a distance between the first hinge plate (161 first support member) and the second hinge plate (162 second support member, (width of 165 hinge is greater than that of 453 flexible portion).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first housing (110 first housing structure) supporting a portion of the display (¶56);
a second housing (120 second housing structure), supporting another portion of the display (¶56), coupled to the first housing so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing through the hinge structure (¶52);
a first waterproof member (P4 adhesive member) disposed between the first housing and the first reinforcing member (right portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate);
and a second waterproof member (P4 adhesive member), disposed between the second housing and the second reinforcing member (left portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate), spaced apart from the first waterproof member (Fig 4C), wherein the first heat dissipation member (not numbered, functional member, “the functional member may include …. a heat dissipation sheet”) is disposed between the first waterproof member and the second waterproof member (Fig 4B shows the layers of the 400 display which are also shown in another view in 4C. P4 surrounds the edges of 400 as shown in 4C, and the functional member is disposed between 440 and 450, the heat dissipation member would be in between the P4 adhesive member on the X plane).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein a thickness of the first heat dissipation member (475 second blocking member) is less than or equal to a thickness of each of the first waterproof member and the second waterproof member (562 second adhesive member is defined as the adhesive disposed on one side f 450 conductive plate, which is the same definition as 566 sixth adhesive. 566 sixth adhesive member and 475 second blocking member have a combined thickness of 562 second adhesive member, therefore the thickness of the 566 must be less than 562).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein,
in a folded state of the electronic device in which the surface of the first hinge plate (161 first support member) faces the surface of the second hinge plate (162 second support member, Fig 2),
the third region (482 first blocking member) is spaced apart from the first reinforcing member (right portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate) and the second reinforcing member (left portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate), Fig 23 and Fig 14B).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein, in the unfolded state, the at least a portion of the third region (482 first blocking member) is disposed within an internal space of the hinge structure (space formed by the support member assembly 160, the first housing structure 110, the second housing structure 120, Fig 3, ¶76),
and disposed on another surface of the first hinge plate (161 first support member) opposite to the surface of the first hinge plate (side on the 161 first support member opposite that faces the 140 first rear cover, Fig 3) and another surface of the second hinge plate (162 second support member) opposite to the surface of the second hinge plate (side on the 162 second support member opposite that faces the 150 second rear cover, Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third region (482 first blocking member) is: unfolded as a state of the electronic device changes from the unfolded state to a folded state of the electronic device in which the surface of the first hinge plate (161 first support member) faces the surface of the second hinge plate (162 second support member, Fig 25);
and wherein, in an unfolded state of the electronic device in which a direction in which the surface of the first hinge plate faces is the same as a direction in which the surface of the second hinge plate faces (Fig 2), at least a portion of the third region passes through a gap between a side surface of the first hinge plate (Fig 21 and 23) and a side surface of the second hinge plate, which face each other (Fig 21 and 23). and folded as the state of the electronic device changes from the folded state to the unfolded state (h3 third area covers is the region of the device where the hinge and flexible portions are location, ¶131).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 6, further comprising:
a first housing (110 first housing structure) supporting a portion of the display (¶51);
a second housing (120 second housing structure), supporting another portion of the display (¶51), coupled to the first housing so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing through the hinge structure (¶51);
and a flexible printed circuit board (163 wiring member can be “a flexible printed circuit board”, ¶72) extending from the first housing to the second housing across the internal space of the hinge structure Fig 3 shows 163, 160 hinge structure is nested on top of 163 wiring member in between 170 printed circuit board, ¶75),
wherein at least a portion of the third region (482 first blocking member) is spaced apart from the flexible printed circuit board in the internal space of the hinge structure (Fig 3 and 25, ¶75).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
further comprising:
a first adhesive member (right portion of 625 fifth adhesive member) disposed between the surface of the first hinge plate (161 first support member) and the first region (Fig 3 and 21);
and a second adhesive member (left portion of 625 fifth adhesive member) disposed between the surface of the second hinge plate (162 second support member) and the second region (Fig 3 and 21).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 9,
wherein a location of an end of the first adhesive member (right portion of 625 fifth adhesive member) corresponds to a location of an end of the surface of the first hinge plate (161 first support member, Fig 3 shows how 161 lines up with the right portion of display 130. 510 first reinforcing plate is on the right side of display 1500, which is “substantially the same as the components of Fig 4C, which shows display 130. Therefore, the right portion of 625 fifth adhesive member is disposed on the 161 first support member).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 13, further comprising:
a first housing (110 first housing structure) supporting a portion of the display (¶56);
a second housing (120 second housing structure), supporting another portion of the display (¶56),
coupled to the first housing so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing through the hinge structure (¶52); coupled to the first housing so as to be rotatable with respect to the first housing through the hinge structure (160 support member assembly, Fig 3, ¶55),
wherein a rotation angle range of the second housing, which is rotatable with respect to the first housing, is smaller than a rotation angle range of the second hinge plate, which is rotatable with respect to the hinge bracket smaller rotational angle than that of the hinge (¶68 defines folded state of the device, which is then shown in 14B. the angle of 11 and 120 shows an angle of “between 0 degrees and 10 degrees”)
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising:
a first housing (110 first housing structure);
a second housing (120 second housing structure) rotatable with respect to the first housing (Fig 2);
a hinge structure (160 support member assembly),
rotatably coupling the first housing and the second housing (Fig 2 shows 165 hinge cover, which is the portion of 160 visible, Fig 3), including:
a hinge bracket (164 hinge assembly),
a first hinge plate (161 first support member) rotatable with respect to the hinge bracket (Fig 2, Fig 3),
and a second hinge plate (162 second support member) distinct from the first hinge plate (Fig 3) and rotatable with respect to the hinge bracket (Fig 2, 3);
a display (130 display, also 400 display “The display 400 of FIGS. 4A and 4B may be at least partially similar to the display 130 of FIG. 3 or may further include other components of the display” ¶81) disposed on the first housing and the second housing across the hinge structure (Fig 3);
a plurality of waterproof members (P4 adhesive member “(e.g., double-sided tape or waterproof member” ¶82),
separating the display from the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate (Fig 4B shows P4 disposed on the bottom of the 400 display. Fig 3 shows the bottom layer of 400 display is seated on the 160 support member assembly), including:
a first waterproof member (P4 on the right side, Fig 4B) disposed between the display and the first housing (Fig 4B shows P4 disposed on the bottom right of the 400 display. Fig 3 shows the right side bottom layer of 400 display is seated on the 161 first support member),
and a second waterproof member (P4 on the left side, Fig 4B) disposed between the display and the second housing (Fig 4B shows P4 disposed on the bottom left of the 400 display. Fig 3 shows the left side bottom layer of 400 display is seated on the 162 second support member);
and a first heat dissipation member (not numbered, functional member, “the functional member may include …. a heat dissipation sheet”) having a thickness less than or equal to a thickness of each of the plurality of waterproof members (562 second adhesive member is defined as the adhesive disposed on one side f 450 conductive plate, which is the same definition as 566 sixth adhesive. 566 sixth adhesive member and 475 second blocking member have a combined thickness of 562 second adhesive member, therefore the thickness of the 566 must be less than 562).
and is disposed between the first waterproof member and the second waterproof member (Fig 4B shows the layers of the 400 display which are also shown in another view in 4C. P4 surrounds the edges of 400 as shown in 4C, and the functional member is disposed between 440 and 450, the heat dissipation member would be in between the P4 adhesive member on the X plane)
wherein the first waterproof member includes:
a first region (right portion of P4) disposed on a surface of the first hinge plate facing the display (Fig 4C),
a second region (Left region of P4) disposed on a surface of the second hinge plate facing the display (Fig 4C),
and a third region (482 first blocking member), connecting the first region and the second region (Fig 23), being deformable by movement of the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate (¶169),
and wherein, in an unfolded state of the electronic device in which a direction in which the surface of the first hinge plate faces is the same as a direction in which the surface of the second hinge plate faces, at least a portion of the third region passes through a gap between a side surface of the first hinge plate (Fig 23) and a side surface of the second hinge plate, which face each other (Fig 23).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 16, further comprising:
a plurality of reinforcing members (132 plate), attached to the display (¶72), including:
a first reinforcing member (right side of 132 plate) facing a surface of the first hinge plate and spaced apart from the first hinge plate (Fig 3),
and a second reinforcing member (left side of 132 plate) facing a surface of the second hinge plate and spaced apart from the second hinge plate (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 16,
wherein, in the unfolded state, the at least a portion of the third region (482 first blocking member) is disposed within an internal space of the hinge structure (space formed by the support member assembly 160, the first housing structure 110, the second housing structure 120, Fig 3, ¶76),
and disposed on another surface of the first hinge plate (161 first support member) opposite to the surface of the first hinge plate (side on the 161 first support member opposite that faces the 140 first rear cover, Fig 3) and another surface of the second hinge plate (162 second support member) opposite to the surface of the second hinge plate (side on the 162 second support member opposite that faces the 150 second rear cover, Fig 3).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 16, further comprising:
a first adhesive member (554 fourth adhesive member) disposed between the first housing (110 first housing structure) and the first region (¶133);
and a second adhesive member (555 fifth adhesive member) disposed between the second housing (120 second housing structure) and the second region (¶133).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Jung et. al (KR 20220105483 A)
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Kim fails to teach a second heat dissipation member disposed between the first region and the first reinforcing member; and a third heat dissipation member, disposed between the second region and the second reinforcing member, spaced apart from the heat dissipation member.
However, Jung teaches
a second heat dissipation member (302 second part)
disposed between the first region (202 second area) and the first reinforcing member (right portion of 212 metal plate);
and a third heat dissipation member (303 third portion),
disposed between the second region (201 first area) and the second reinforcing member (left portion of 212 metal plate), spaced apart from the second heat dissipation member (Fig 5).
Kim and Lee are both in the industry of display devices with flexible displays therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim to include the multiple heat dissipating members in order to diffuse the transferred heat to the entire area of the electronic device (Jung pg 8 ¶3)
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Jung teach the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein a side surface of the third heat dissipation member (303 third part) and a side surface of the second heat dissipation member (302 second part):
face each other in the unfolded state (Fig 5a);
and face the third region in a folded state of the electronic device in which the surface of the first hinge plate faces the surface of the second hinge plate (Fig 5b).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 16.
Kim fails to teach a second heat dissipation member disposed between the first region and the first reinforcing member; and a third heat dissipation member, disposed between the second region and the second reinforcing member, spaced apart from the heat dissipation member.
However, Jung teaches
a second heat dissipation member (302 second part)
disposed between the first region (202 second area) and the first reinforcing member (right portion of 212 metal plate);
and a third heat dissipation member (303 third portion),
disposed between the second region (201 first area) and the second reinforcing member (left portion of 212 metal plate), spaced apart from the second heat dissipation member (Fig 5).
Kim and Lee are both in the industry of display devices with flexible displays therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim to include the multiple heat dissipating members in order to diffuse the transferred heat to the entire area of the electronic device (Jung pg 8 ¶3)
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee et. al (KR 20220115380 A)
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Kim fails to teach the hinge structure further includes a third hinge plate, disposed between the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate, fixed to the hinge bracket, and supporting the display, and wherein the third region includes: a fixed portion fixed on the third hinge plate, a first extending portion that, in the unfolded state, is disposed within a gap between the side surface of the first hinge plate and a first side surface of the third hinge plate facing the side surface of the first hinge plate, and a second extending portion that, in the unfolded state, is disposed within a gap between the side surface of the second hinge plate and a second side surface of the third hinge plate facing the side surface of the second hinge plate.
However, Lee teaches the hinge structure further includes
a third hinge plate (combination of 245 hinge cover and 244 support member),
disposed between the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate (Fig 9B),
fixed to the hinge bracket (264 gear bracket),
and supporting the display (pg 14 last paragraph),
and wherein the third region (131c folding area)includes:
a fixed portion fixed on the third hinge plate (see annotated Fig 5 below),
a first extending portion that (See annotated Fig 9B below), in the unfolded state, is disposed within a gap between the side surface of the first hinge plate (241 first hinge plate) and a first side surface of the third hinge plate facing the side surface of the first hinge plate (see annotated Fig 9B below),
and a second extending portion (See annotated Fig 9B below) that, in the unfolded state, is disposed within a gap between the side surface of the second hinge plate (242 second hinge plate) and a second side surface of the third hinge plate facing the side surface of the second hinge plate (See annotated Fig 9B below).
Kim and Lee are both in the industry of display devices with flexible displays, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim to include the hinge structure of Lee in order to provide support for the flexible display when in a folded state, (Lee Fig 5, pg 14 last full paragraph)
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 13, further comprising:
a cushioning member (460 filling member, ¶119) attached between the first reinforcing member (right portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate)
and the second reinforcing member (left portion of 132 plate corresponds to right portion of 450 conductive plate) on a surface of the display Fig 19),
wherein the cushioning member is deformable by movement of the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate to fold the display (¶119-120).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oh et. al (US 20200356143 A1) also teaches a flexible display device with a heat dissipation structure disposed below the display unit
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/E.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2841