DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 19/076364 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Regarding claim 1, the reference application’s claims 1 and 10 disclose a shut-off nozzle for a molding machine, comprising
a fluid housing having at least one fluid channel, wherein the at least one fluid channel is designed to guide a - preferably liquid and/or plastic - fluid and
a valve element which is rotationally mounted about a axis of rotation relative to the valve housing, which valve element has at least one through-opening for the passage of the fluid and is designed to vary a flow cross-section between the at least one fluid channel and the at least one through-opening by carrying out a rotational movement and thus to influence a flow of the fluid,
wherein the at least one through-opening has a cross-section in a plane orthogonal to its longitudinal extension through the valve element which has a larger dimension along the axis of rotation of the valve element than perpendicular thereto.
Regarding claim 2, the reference application’s claim 11 discloses the at least one through-opening is designed as an elongated hole and/or square in cross section in the plane orthogonal to the longitudinal extension of the at least one through-opening.
Regarding claim 3, the reference application’s claim 12 discloses the ratio of the dimension of the at least one through-opening in cross-section in the plane orthogonal to the longitudinal extension of the at least one through-opening along the axis of rotation to a height dimension perpendicular thereto is at least equal to 1.5:1, preferably 2:1.
Regarding claim 4, the reference application’s claim 13 discloses the value of the dimension of the at least one through-opening along the axis of rotation in cross-section in the plane orthogonal to the longitudinal extent of the at least one through-opening is in a range of plus/minus 20%, preferably plus/minus 10%, particularly preferably plus/minus 5%, of a diameter of the valve element in the region of the at least one through-opening.
Regarding claim 5, the reference application’s claim 9 discloses the valve element is designed as a bolt and/or has exactly one through-opening.
Regarding claim 6, the reference application’s claim 2 discloses the at least one fluid channel of the valve housing is penetrated in a flow direction of the fluid by a recess, which recess receives the valve element.
Regarding claim 7, the reference application’s claim 14 discloses the at least one fluid channel of the valve housing in the flow direction of the fluid has - at an inlet point of the at least one fluid channel into the at least one through-opening of the valve element, and/or - at an outlet point of the at least one through-opening of the valve element into the at least one fluid channel the same cross-sectional shape as the at least one through-opening.
Regarding claim 8, the reference application’s claim 15 discloses the at least one fluid channel transitions, preferably continuously, into a circular cross-section along its longitudinal extent before the inlet point into the at least one through-opening and/or after the outlet point from the at least one through-opening.
Regarding claim 9, the reference application’s claims 14 and/or 15 discloses the at least one fluid channel and/or the at least one through-opening have one, preferably the same, size of a cross-sectional area along its/their longitudinal extent.
Regarding claim 10, the reference application’s claim 1 discloses the valve element is mounted in the valve housing in a floating manner along the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 11, the reference application’s claim 2 discloses the valve element is arranged in the valve housing in a recess, preferably a bore, passing through the valve housing.
Regarding claim 12, the reference application’s claim 3 discloses the valve element is preloaded relative to the valve housing by means of at least one spring element, preferably at least one disc spring.
Regarding claim 13, the reference application’s claim 4 discloses the valve element is preloaded at both ends of the recess passing through the valve housing by means of at least one spring element, preferably at least one disc spring.
Regarding claim 14, the reference application’s claim 5 discloses the valve element is sealed relative to the valve housing by means of at least one sealing element, preferably at least one sealing ring.
Regarding claim 15, the reference application’s claim 6 discloses the valve element is rotationally connected in a motion-locked manner to an actuating element, which actuating element is designed to rotate the valve element via a rotational movement between a closed position and an open position.
Regarding claim 16, the reference application’s claim 7 discloses the actuating element is designed as a fork element which is connected on both sides in a rotationally motion-locked manner to the valve element passing through the valve housing.
Regarding claim 17, the reference application’s claim 8 discloses the valve element is mounted relative to the valve housing and/or relative to a bearing element of the valve housing along the axis of rotation with a play of 0.01 mm to 5 mm, preferably 0.03 mm to 2.5 mm, particularly preferably 0.05 mm to 1 mm.
Regarding claim 18, the reference application’s claim 17 discloses a molding machine and/or injection unit for a molding machine, with a shut-off nozzle according to claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance:
Claim 1 recites the broad recitation “designed to guide a… fluid”, and the claim also recites “- preferably liquid and/or plastic – “ which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 3 recites the broad recitation “the ratio… is at least 1.5:1”, and the claim also recites “preferably 2:1” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 4 recites the broad recitation “a range of plus/minus 20%” and the claim also recites “preferably plus/minus 10%” and “particularly preferably plus/minus 5%, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “the at least one fluid channel transitions … into a circular cross-section”, and the claim also recites “preferably continuously” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 9 recites the broad recitation “the at least one fluid channel and/or the at least one through-opening have a value…of a cross-sectional area”, and the claim also recites “preferably the same value” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 11, recites the broad recitation “arranged in a recess… passing through the valve housing”, and the claim also recites “preferably a bore“ which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 12 and 13 recite the broad recitation “means of at least one spring element”, and the claim also recites “preferably at least one disk spring” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 14 recites the broad recitation “means of at least one sealing element…”, and the claim also recites “preferably at least one sealing ring” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 17 recites the broad recitation “a play of 0.01 mm to 5 mm” and the claim also recites “preferably 0.03 mm to 2.5 mm” and “particularly preferably 0.05 mm to 1 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the valve housing” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the actuating element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nosaka et al. (EP 3 381 643 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the reference application’s claims 1 and 10 disclose a shut-off nozzle for a molding machine, comprising
a valve casing 860, equated with the claimed valve housing, having ports 862, 863, equated with the claimed at least one fluid channel, wherein the at least one fluid channel is designed to guide a plastic fluid (FIG. 6; ¶ 112) and
a valve body/element 870 which is rotationally mounted about a axis of rotation relative to the fluid/valve housing 860, which valve element has at least one through-opening (871A-B, 871A-C0 for the passage of the fluid and is designed to vary a flow cross-section between the at least one fluid channel and the at least one through-opening by carrying out a rotational movement and thus to influence a flow of the fluid (FIG. 3-9; ¶¶ 108+),
wherein the at least one through-opening has a cross-section in a plane orthogonal to its longitudinal extension through the valve element which has a larger dimension along the axis of rotation of the valve element than perpendicular thereto (FIG. 5; ¶ 117).
Regarding claim 2, Nosaka discloses the at least one through-opening is designed as an elongated hole and/or square in cross section in the plane orthogonal to the longitudinal extension of the at least one through-opening (FIG. 5, ¶ 117).
Regarding claim 3, Nosaka discloses the ratio of the dimension of the at least one through-opening in cross-section in the plane orthogonal to the longitudinal extension of the at least one through-opening along the axis of rotation to a height dimension perpendicular thereto is at least equal to 1.5:1, preferably 2:1 (FIG. 5, ¶ 117).
Regarding claim 4, Nosaka discloses the value of the dimension of the at least one through-opening along the axis of rotation in cross-section in the plane orthogonal to the longitudinal extent of the at least one through-opening is in a range of plus/minus 20%, preferably plus/minus 10%, particularly preferably plus/minus 5%, of a diameter of the valve element in the region of the at least one through-opening (FIG. 5, ¶ 117).
Regarding claim 5, Nosaka discloses the valve element is designed as a bolt and/or has exactly one through-opening (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Nosaka discloses the at least one fluid channel of the valve housing is penetrated in a flow direction of the fluid by a recess, which recess receives the valve element FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Nosaka discloses the at least one fluid channel of the valve housing in the flow direction of the fluid has - at an inlet point of the at least one fluid channel into the at least one through-opening of the valve element, and/or - at an outlet point of the at least one through-opening of the valve element into the at least one fluid channel the same cross-sectional shape as the at least one through-opening (FIG. 5-6; ¶¶ 116-119).
Regarding claim 8, Nosaka discloses the at least one fluid channel transitions, preferably continuously, into a circular cross-section along its longitudinal extent before the inlet point into the at least one through-opening and/or after the outlet point from the at least one through-opening (FIG. 6; ¶¶ 116+).
Regarding claim 9, Nosaka discloses the at least one fluid channel and/or the at least one through-opening have one, preferably the same, size of a cross-sectional area along its/their longitudinal extent (FIG. 5-6; ¶¶ 116+).
Regarding claim 10, Nosaka discloses the valve element is mounted in the valve housing in a floating manner along the axis of rotation (FIG. 3-9; ¶¶ 108+).
Regarding claim 11, Nosaka discloses the valve element is arranged in a recess, preferably a bore, passing through the valve housing (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Nosaka discloses the valve element is sealed with respect to the valve housing by means of at least one sealing element, preferably at least one sealing ring (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Nosaka discloses the valve element is connected in a rotationally movably locking manner to an actuating element, which actuating element is designed to rotate the valve element via a rotational movement between a closed position and an open position (FIG. 3-9).
Regarding claim 16, Nosaka discloses the actuating element is designed as a fork element which is connected on both sides to the valve element passing through the valve housing in a rotational movably locked manner (FIG. 3-9).
Regarding claim 17, Nosaka discloses the valve element is mounted with respect to the valve housing and/or with respect to a bearing element of the valve housing along the axis of rotation with a play of 0.01 mm to 5 mm, preferably 0.03 mm to 2.5 mm, particularly preferably 0.05 mm to 1 mm (FIG. 3-9).
Regarding claim 18, Nosaka discloses a molding machine and/or an injection unit for a molding machine, comprising a shut-off nozzle according to claim 1 (FIG. 3-9)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claims 3, 4, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nosaka et al. (EP 3 381 643 A1).
Nosaka does not appear to explicitly disclose the amount of play, the ratio of the through-opening, or the through opening’s percentage of the valve diameter.
However, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the valve of Nosaka to include the claimed dimensions as such values are result effective variables and would prevent leaking (amount of play) or control flow rate through the valve in a desired manner, i.e. without increasing sliding resistance of the valve (¶ 115).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nosaka et al. (EP 3 381 643 A1) as applied to claim 1 or 2 above, further in view of Condo (US 7,614,871 B2).
Regarding claims 12-13, Nosaka does not appear to expressly disclose a disk spring.
However, Condo discloses a similar valve (title/abstract) which includes a disk spring for preloading and improving sealing (FIG. 14; 6:29+)
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the valve of Nosaka to include the spring of Condo, in order to improve sealing of the valve.
Regarding claim 14, Nosaka does not appear to explicitly disclose seals, although grooves in the valve body are shown (FIG. 5). However, Condo discloses plural sealing piston rings for sealing the valves (FIG. 9-11; 5:19+)
Alternatively, claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nosaka et al. (EP 3 381 643 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Duncan (AU 2010274995 B2).
Nosaka does not appear to explicitly disclose the amount of play.
However, Duncan discloses a similar valve (title/abstract) with sufficiently tight tolerances to be substantially self-sealing.
Therefore, at the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tolerance or amount of play of Nosaka’s valve within the claimed range, because such tolerances are result effective variable that control the self-sealing of the valves without increasing the valve actuation resistance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kjar; Steven R.
US 9481477 B2
Schad; Robert D. et al.
US 9090011 B2
Yuwaki; Kohei
US 11420372 B2
KLAMMER; Guenther et al.
US 20250289172 A1
Nosaka Hiromichi
EP 3173207 A1
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742