DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction
The Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant has elected claims 10-18 for examination.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of the application requires a substrate comprising three layers dosed with a volatile material that is released at a rate of 10 mg/day. Claim 1 of the patent requires these features with slightly different verbiage. The difference in verbiage does not materially change the invention.
Claim(s) 10, 14 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,096. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of the application requires a substrate comprising three layers dosed with a volatile material that is released at a rate of 10 mg/day. Claim 1 of the patent requires these features with slightly different verbiage. The difference in verbiage does not materially change the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashima (US Pub. 2017/0325442 A1) in view of Swanson (US Pat 10,694,747 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Kashima discloses a method of producing a substrate for emitting a volatile material (Abstract, lines 5-9: “A chemical agent vaporizing/discharging device 100 comprises: a chemical agent retainer 50 having a chemical agent retention layer 10 including interstices 11 for allowing retention of a volatile chemical agent”), the method comprising the steps of:
connecting a first layer having a first weave pattern to a second layer having a second weave pattern that is different than the first weave pattern; connecting a third layer to the second layer (Fig. 1, layers 10, 20, 30 are attached to each other and appear to have unique patterns);
and dosing the substrate with the volatile material (The abstract discloses the substrate being dosed with a volatile substance).
However, Kashima fails to disclose as taught by Swanson, dosing the substrate with the volatile material, wherein the substrate is configured to provide a steady state weight loss of the volatile material between about 1 mg/day and about 10 mg/day over a time of at least 30 days (Abstract, lines 4-6: “Upon activation, the dispenser exhibits an effective release rate of the insect control active of about 0.1 to about 0.3 mg/hr.” This translates to 2.4 mg/day to 7.2 mg/day which is within the same order of magnitude as the instant application. Col. 8, lines 26-34: “Dispensers of the present disclosure may be used in an interior space or an exterior space. For example, a dispenser 10 may be effective against mosquitoes in a room having a size of about 3 x about 3 meters, or about 4x about 4 meters, or about 5x about 5 meters, or more or less. Further, dispensers of the present disclosure may have an effective duration of continuous use of about 1 day, or about 2 days, or about 4 days, or about 7 days, or about 2 weeks, or about 1 month, or about 2 months, or more or less”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of producing a substrate for emitting a volatile material of Kashima to include the release rate of Swanson for adequate longevity.
Regarding claim 11, Kashima in view of Swanson discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Kashima, wherein the volatile material comprises an active agent and a solvent (Pg. 4, [0056], lines 1-3: “The volatile chemical agent may be used directly, or alternatively, may be diluted with various solvents, or may be blended with various additives”).
Regarding claim 12, Kashima in view of Swanson discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Kashima, wherein the active agent is transfluthrin (Pg. 4, [0054], lines 18-21: “Examples of a useful volatile pyrethroid compound include 2,3,5,6-tetrafluorobenzyl 2,2-dimethyl-3-(2,2-dichlorovinyl) cyclopropane carboxylate (transfluthrin)”).
Regarding claim 13, Kashima in view of Swanson discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Kashima, wherein the substrate is initially dosed with between about 20 mg and about 200 mg of the active agent (Pg. 4, [0054], lines 3-5: “The amount of the volatile chemical agent retained in the chemical agent retainer 50 is adjustable within the range of 40 to 2000 mg”).
Regarding claim 14, Kashima in view of Swanson discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Kashima, wherein the third layer is a non-woven layer (Pg. 3, [0049], lines 1-5: “The chemical agent retention layer 10 and the gas permeable layer 20 preferably include a fibrous structure such as a mesh fiber sheet, woven fabric, nonwoven fabric, knitting, or the like, or alternatively, may include a porous material such as a porous sheet, porous film, or the like”).
Regarding claim 16, Kashima in view of Swanson discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Kashima, wherein fibers of the first layer, fibers of the second layer, and fibers of the third layer are interwoven (Pg. 3, [0051], lines 9-12: “The form maintenance layer 30 is interwoven with fibers included in the gas permeable layer 20, and thereby functions to maintain the voids 21 of the gas permeable layer 20”).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashima (US Pub. 2017/0325442 A1) in view of Swanson (US Pat 10,694,747 B2), and further in view of Bodkhe (US Pub. 2022/0280682 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kashima in view of Swanson discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Bodkhe, wherein fibers of the first layer, fibers of the second layer, and fibers of the third layer are connected with adhesive (Pg. 8, [0085], lines 1-9: “In some embodiments, the at least one layer 30 adheres directly to the substrate 10. Optionally, the article 100 can comprise a first adhesive 20 adhered to at least a portion (e.g., at least 5%, at least 10%, at least 20%, at least 30%, at least 40%, at least 50%, at least 60%, at least 70%, at least 80%, at least 90% or 100%) of the surface area of first major surface 12. Thus, in some embodiments, the at least one layer 30 can be adhered to the first adhesive 20”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of producing a substrate for emitting a volatile material of Kashima in view of Swanson to include the adhesive of Bodkhe to bind the layers together.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642