DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12249093. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of instant application are anticipated by claims of U.S. Patent No. 12249093.
Instant application
U.S. Patent No. 12249093
1. A method for geo-referencing an object on a floor, the method comprising: - receiving a camera frame providing view of a section of the floor; - receiving a detailed floor plan of the floor; - selecting a first area from the section of the floor in which the object needs to be tracked; - defining a plurality of reference points, wherein at least one of the plurality of reference points is close to a mid-point along one of corresponding axes of the first area; -mapping the plurality of reference points to the floor plan; - processing the camera frame to determine if the object has been placed in the first area; and - geo-referencing the one or more object in the floor plan if the object is determined to be placed in the first area.
1. A method for geo-referencing an object on a floor, the method comprising: receiving a camera frame providing view of a section of the floor; receiving a detailed floor plan of the floor; selecting a first area from the section of the floor in which the object needs to be tracked; defining a plurality of reference points, wherein at least one of the plurality of reference points is close to a mid-point along one of corresponding axes of the first area, and the mid-point is chosen based on a correlation between pixel distance and distance on the floor plan; mapping the plurality of reference points to the floor plan; processing the camera frame to determine if the object has been placed in the first area; and geo-referencing the one or more object in the floor plan if the object is determined to be placed in the first area.
2. A method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of reference points comprises at least four points.
2. A method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of reference points comprises at least four points.
3. A method according to any of claims 1 or 2 further comprising processing the camera frame to determine one or more dimensions related to the first area by using at least two points defined in the first area with a known distance therebetween.
3. A method according to any of claims 1 or 2 further comprising processing the camera frame to determine one or more dimensions related to the first area by using at least two points defined in the first area with a known distance therebetween.
4. A method according to any of preceding claims further comprising obscuring one or more portions of the camera frame corresponding to a section of the floor other than the first area in the section of the floor.
4. A method according to any of preceding claims further comprising obscuring one or more portions of the camera frame corresponding to a section of the floor other than the first area in the section of the floor.
5. A system for geo-referencing an object on a floor, the system comprising a server arrangement configured to: - receive a camera frame providing view of a section of the floor; - receive a detailed floor plan of the floor; - select a first area from the section of the floor in which the object needs to be tracked; - define a plurality of reference points, wherein at least one of the plurality of reference points is close to a mid-point along one of corresponding axes of the first area; - map the plurality of reference points to the floor plan; - process the camera frame to determine if the object has been placed in the first area; and - geo-reference the one or more object in the floor plan if the object is determined to be placed in the first area.
5. A system for geo-referencing an object on a floor, the system comprising a server arrangement configured to: receive a camera frame providing view of a section of the floor; receive a detailed floor plan of the floor; select a first area from the section of the floor in which the object needs to be tracked; define a plurality of reference points, wherein at least one of the plurality of reference points is close to a mid-point along one of corresponding axes of the first area, and the mid-point is chosen based on a correlation between pixel distance and distance on the floor plan; map the plurality of reference points to the floor plan; process the camera frame to determine if the object has been placed in the first area; and geo-reference the one or more object in the floor plan if the object is determined to be placed in the first area.
6. A system according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of reference points comprises at least four points.
6. A system according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of reference points comprises at least four points.
7. A system according to any of claims 5or 6, wherein the server arrangement is further configured to process the camera frame to determine one or more dimensions related to the first area by using at least two points defined in the first area with a known distance therebetween.
7. A system according to any of claims 5 or 6, wherein the server arrangement is further configured to process the camera frame to determine one or more dimensions related to the first area by using at least two points defined in the first area with a known distance therebetween.
8. A system according to any of claims 5 to 7, wherein the server arrangement is further configured to obscure one or more portions of the camera frame corresponding to a section of the floor other than the first area in the section of the floor.
8. A system according to any of claims 5 to 7, wherein the server arrangement is further configured to obscure one or more portions of the camera frame corresponding to a section of the floor other than the first area in the section of the floor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hullo (“Multi-Sensor As-Build Models of Complex Industrial Architectures”, REMOTE SENSING, vol 7, 2015, pages 16339-16362).
-Regarding claim 1, Hullo discloses a method for geo-referencing an object on a floor (see abstract), the method comprising: - receiving a camera frame providing view of a section of the floor (panoramic images, section 2.2); - receiving a detailed floor plan of the floor (2D floor maps, section 2.2); - selecting a first area from the section of the floor in which the object needs to be tracked (choice of floor, abstract); - defining a plurality of reference points, wherein at least one of the plurality of reference points is close to a mid-point along one of corresponding axes of the first area (green spheres are reference points, FIG. 5); - mapping the plurality of reference points to the floor plan (2D as build floor maps, FIG. 9); - processing the camera frame to determine if the object has been placed in the first area (processing panoramic images, section 3.3; pose estimation, section 1.2); and - geo-referencing the one or more object in the floor plan if the object is determined to be placed in the first area (section 2.2).
-Regarding claim 2, Hullo further discloses the plurality of reference points comprises at least four points (green spheres are reference points, FIG. 5).
-Regarding claim 3, Hullo further discloses processing the camera frame to determine one or more dimensions related to the first area by using at least two points defined in the first area with a known distance therebetween (FIG. 16).
-Regarding claim 4, Hullo further discloses obscuring one or more portions of the camera frame corresponding to a section of the floor other than the first area in the section of the floor (choice of floor, abstract).
-Regarding claim 5, Hullo discloses a system for geo-referencing an object on a floor (see abstract), the system comprising a server arrangement configured to: - receive a camera frame providing view of a section of the floor (panoramic images, section 2.2); - receive a detailed floor plan of the floor (2D floor maps, section 2.2); - select a first area from the section of the floor in which the object needs to be tracked (choice of floor, abstract); - define a plurality of reference points, wherein at least one of the plurality of reference points is close to a mid-point along one of corresponding axes of the first area (green spheres are reference points, FIG. 5); - map the plurality of reference points to the floor plan (2D as build floor maps, FIG. 9); - process the camera frame to determine if the object has been placed in the first area (processing panoramic images, section 3.3; pose estimation, section 1.2); and - geo-reference the one or more object in the floor plan if the object is determined to be placed in the first area (section 2.2).
-Regarding claim 6, Hullo further discloses the plurality of reference points comprises at least four points (green spheres are reference points, FIG. 5).
-Regarding claim 7, Hullo further discloses the server arrangement is further configured to process the camera frame to determine one or more dimensions related to the first area by using at least two points defined in the first area with a known distance therebetween (FIG. 16).
-Regarding claim 8, Hullo further discloses the server arrangement is further configured to obscure one or more portions of the camera frame corresponding to a section of the floor other than the first area in the section of the floor (choice of floor, abstract).
Conclusion
This is a Divisional of applicant's earlier Application No. 17/681291. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664