DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-119338, filed on 07/20/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinneen et al. (US 2015/0206770 A1) in view of Yamasaki et al. (US 2019/0093250 A1).
Considering claim 1, Dinneen discloses a plating apparatus and method comprising: a plating tank (403) for housing a plating solution ([0056]-[0058]); an anode (413) arranged in the plating tank [0059]; a substrate holder (409) for holding a substrate (407) with a surface to be plated facing downward ([0056]-[0058]); a rotation mechanism for rotating the substrate holder [0058]; and
a shielding member (449).
Dinneen does not disclose a shielding mechanism configured to move a shielding member into between the anode and the substrate depending on a rotation angle of the substrate holder, wherein the shielding mechanism includes a linear motion drive mechanism configured to linearly move the shielding member between a shielding position and a retracted position, the shielding position being between the anode and the substrate, the retracted position being apart from between the anode and the substrate.
However, Yamasaki discloses linear motion drive mechanism (rods 324) configured to linearly move the mask (314) member between a shielding position and a retracted position, the shielding position being between the anode and the substrate, the retracted position being apart from between the anode and the substrate [0073]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a linear movement mechanism for inserting the shielding member of Dinneen between the anode and the substrate, because Yamasaki discloses such linear drive mechanism for the same purpose of moving the masking member for masking electric field effects at the substrate edges. With respect to the limitation reciting depending on a rotation angle of the substrate holder the limitation does not require any particular dependency or angle, and the limitation is merely in a functional form, therefore it is met when the apparatus of Dinneen in view of Yamasaki is capable of performing such function. In the instant case, Yamasaki discloses left and right masks can be synchronously adjusted by a controller 103 [0085]. Therefore, the masks can be moved when the rotation angle of the substrate is at angle before the rotation begins (say angle 0).
Considering claim 2, Dinneen discloses the shielding member includes a mask member having an arc shape (wedge) corresponding to a part of a peripheral edge portion of an arc-shaped substrate [0066].
Considering claim 3, in Dinneen as modified by Yamasaki, Yamasaki discloses the linear motion drive mechanism includes a linear motion motor [0104].
Considering claim 4, Dinneen discloses an ionically resistive element including a plate-shaped member (419) having a plurality of holes, the ionically resistive element being disposed between the substrate holder and the anode; wherein the shielding member is disposed between the substrate holder and the ionically resistive element [0061].
Considering claim 5, Dinneen discloses a film thickness sensor (771) configured to measure a plating film thickness at a peripheral edge portion on the substrate ([0015], [0033] and [0068]).
Considering claims 6-8, with respect to the functional limitations of the shielding member moving to a shielding or retracted position, the shielding member of Dinneen as modified by Yamasaki is capable of moving in and out the position. Note that the claim does not require any controller to be programmed of configured to performed the claimed functions but merely the shielding mechanism which on its own may be operated by hand or the movement procedure may be initiated manually.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12270120. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claim 1 are met by claim 5 of the U.S. Patent.
Claims 2-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12270120 in view of Dinneen et al. (US 2015/0206770 A1). The limitations of claims 2-8 are obvious in view of Dinneen as applied to the art rejections above.
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794