DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-79 of U.S. Patent No. 12,245,840. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the patent are directed to a portable, handheld multi-modal imaging system comprising one or more excitation light sources and a fluorescence image sensor and being configured to capture fluorescence signals having a wavelength corresponding to one or more of bacterial fluorescence, bacterial autofluorescence, tissue fluorescence, and tissue autofluorescence, as well as a light source and image sensor to capture optical signals and a processor configured to receive the optical signals from the detected fluorescence and optical signals and to output a representation of the target comprises target measurements and detected areas of fluorescence. The present application discloses one or more light sources while the patent discloses a white light source; however, the addition of one or more light sources is an obvious design choice which is a mere duplication of parts. The patent explicitly discloses white light; however, the patent anticipates the limitations of the present application. The present application uses the terms “a bacterial detection module” and “a target measurement module”; however, these modules include the same structural components as the patent. The present application explicitly discloses the captured optical signals emitted by the target are related to a width of the target, a length of the target, and a depth of the target; however, these features are an obvious variation as these are features which would be present in a 3D imaged target as set forth in the patent (see claims 34 and 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dacosta (2017/0236281).
Regarding claim 1, Dacosta discloses a portable, handheld multi-modal imaging system (portable, handheld device for imaging – [0007]), comprising:
a bacterial detection module, the bacterial detection module comprising one or more excitation light sources configured to emit excitation light during fluorescence imaging of a target (one or more excitation/illumination light sources – [0061]) and a fluorescence image sensor (a detector device – [0061]) (fluorescence-based imaging and monitoring – [0060]), the bacterial detection module configured to capture fluorescence signals emitted by the target in response to illumination of the target with the excitation light and having a wavelength corresponding to one or more bacterial fluorescence, bacterial autofluorescence, tissue fluorescence, and tissue autofluorescence (bacterial autofluorescence - abstract; tissue autofluorescence – [0048] tissue fluorescence – [0060]; bacterial fluorescent – [0070]);
a target measurement module, the target measurement module comprising one or more light sources and one or more image sensors (captures both white light (WL) and autofluorescence (AF) – [0051]; device may utilize a combination of white light, tissue fluorescence and reflectance imaging – [0060]; one or more illumination light sources – [0061]), the target measurement module being configured to capture optical signals emitted by the target in response to illumination of the target with the one or more light sources and related to a width of the target, a length of the target, and a depth of the target (user-selected parameters shown on the map may be correlated with one or more wound parameters, such as size, depth, and area of the wound – [0057]); and
a processor configured to receive the optical signals from the bacterial detection module and the target measurement module and to output a representation of the target comprising target measurements and detected areas of fluorescence (a display for displaying the output data regarding the illuminated portion of the wound and the area around the wound output by the processor – [0006]; display composite images – [0052]).
Conclusion
/ROCHELLE D TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797