DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/15/2025 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 1/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 17-20 have been cancelled. The restriction is now moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCarthy (US 2005/0141216 A1).
In regard to claim 8, McCarthy discloses an integrated diffuser assembly for a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a diffuser including a diffuser frame configured to guide an air flow along an air flow path to discharge the air flow to a conditioned space, the diffuser frame comprising a first frame member including a first frame wall (left side Frame Wall) partially extending along a length of the diffuser, a flange (left side Outer Flange) extending outwardly from the first frame wall along the length of the diffuser, and a channel extending along the flange; and
a second frame member (interpreted as right side Frame Wall, Outer and Inner Flange for claim 10; interpreted as 32 for claim 12—these claims do not depend from each other) having a second frame wall extending along the length of the diffuser, wherein the first frame wall and the second frame wall define the air flow path (17); and
a lighting element (24) coupled to the diffuser frame and disposed within the channel such that the lighting element is positioned outwardly from the air flow path. (See Annotated Figure 3—note two way interpretation; see at least [0032] onward)
In regard to claim 9, McCarthy discloses the lighting element includes an engagement interface (23) that is complementary to an engagement interface of the channel. (This is broad.)
In regard to claim 10, McCarthy discloses the diffuser further includes a pattern controller (32) positioned between the first frame wall and the second frame wall and within the air flow path, the pattern controller configured to adjust the air flow into the conditioned space.
In regard to claim 11, McCarthy discloses the flange is a first flange, and wherein the first frame member includes a second flange (Inner Flanges) extending inwardly from the first frame wall along the length of the diffuser.
In regard to claim 12, McCarthy discloses the flange is a first flange, the channel is a first channel, and the air flow path is a first air flow path, and the lighting element is a first lighting element, and wherein the diffuser frame further includes a third frame member (right side Frame Wall and Flanges) including a third frame wall partially extending along the length of the diffuser, a second flange extending outwardly from the third frame wall along the length of the diffuser, and
a second channel extending along the second flange, wherein the second frame wall and the third frame wall define a second air flow path configured to guide the air flow to the conditioned space; and
a second lighting element coupled to the diffuser frame and disposed within the second channel such that the second lighting element is positioned outwardly from the second air flow path.
In regard to claim 13, McCarthy discloses the first air flow path and the second air flow path are positioned between the first lighting element and the second lighting element.
In regard to claim 16, McCarthy discloses the lighting element includes a plurality of light emitters (left and right).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US 2005/0141216 A1) in view of Awasthi et al (US 2020/0018515 A1).
In regard to claim 14, McCarthy fails to disclose a first and second pattern controller.
Awasthi et al teaches a diffuser further includes a first pattern controller (150) positioned between the first frame wall and the second frame wall and within the first air flow path (left) and a second pattern controller positioned between the second frame wall and the third frame wall and within the second air flow path (right), the first pattern controller and the second pattern controller each configured to adjust the air flow into the conditioned space. (Figure 9; see at least [0037])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to install the pattern flow controller of Awasthi et al into the flow controller of McCarthy in order to reduce noise from the HVAC system.
In regard to claim 15, McCarthy fails to disclose the first frame member includes a third flange extending inwardly therefrom along the length of the diffuser and the third frame member includes a fourth flange extending inwardly therefrom. (Inner Flanges)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Agawa (US 2025/0271132 A1) disclose an illuminated air diffuser.
Zakula (US 2025/0244031 A1) disclose an illuminated air diffuser.
Branham (US 2024/0255180 A1) disclose an illuminated air diffuser.
Renson (US 2023/0341146 A1) disclose an illuminated air diffuser.
Allen et al (US 2023/0094666 A1) disclose an illuminated air diffuser.
Chung (US 2022/0090778 A1) disclose an illuminated air diffuser.
Warner et al (US 2019/0346096 A1) an illuminated air diffuser.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875