DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are pending. This application is a Continuation of 18/186,753 which filed on March 20, 2023, as Patent 12,250,315. The 18/186,753 is a Continuation of 17/706,438 which filed on March 28, 2022, as Patent 11,611,438. The 17/706,438 claims priority to the Provisional 63/166,917 which filed on March 26, 2021.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,315. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite similar features as follows:
Claim 1 Claim 1 of Patent 12,250,315
an activity initiation request from a client device associated with a user;
wherein the activity initiation request comprises: at least one operation on a blockchain for exchange of at least one first token of a first token type for at least one second token of a second token type;
detecting, by the at least one processor, a transfer of the at least one token of the first token type into at least one segregated token storage;
detecting, by the at least one processor, a transfer of the at least one second token of the second token type into the at least one segregated token storage; and
automatically locking, by the at least one processor, access to the at least one token of the first token type in the at least one segregated token storage according to at least one condition in response to the transfer of the at least one second token of the second token type; and
automatically facilitating, by the at least one processor, the exchange of the at least one first token of the first token type for the at least one second token of the second token type
an activity initiation request from a first client device associated with a first user;
wherein the activity initiation request comprises: at least one operation on a blockchain for exchange of a first token type for a second token type, and at least one reverse operation on the blockchain for exchange of the second token type for the first token type upon at least one condition being satisfied;
… detect a transfer of the first token type into at least one segregated token storage; wherein the first client device has permissions to access the at least one segregated token storage;
detecting, by the at least one processor, a transfer of the second token type from a second token storage associated with the second client device to a first token storage associated with the first client device;
automatically locking, by the at least one processor, access to the first token type in the at least one segregated token storage according to condition-dependent permissions in response to the transfer of the second token type;
detecting, by the at least one processor, the at least one reverse operation matching the at least one condition; automatically unlocking, by the at least one processor and in response to the detected at least one reverse operation of the first token type…
This is an anticipation rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Pub 20210073913 (hereinafter Ingargiola) in view of Pub 20210119807 (hereinafter Chen)
Regarding claim 1, Ingargiola discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor, an activity initiation request from a client device associated with a user (par. [0133]-[0135] disclose a client requests for an asset);
wherein the activity initiation request comprises: at least one operation on a blockchain for exchange of at least one first token of a first token type for at least one second token of a second token type (Fig. 6 and par. [0158]-[0163] disclose a trading network performs an exchange of US dollar tokens for bitcoin tokens between two entities);
detecting, by the at least one processor, a transfer of the at least one token of the first token type into at least one segregated token storage; detecting, by the at least one processor, a transfer of the at least one second token of the second token type into the at least one segregated token storage (Fig. 9 and par. [0166]-[0167] disclose “…a custodian module operating on behalf of a custodian entity…at least a first blockchain-based ledger associated with the custodial entity and associated with a first asset type, wherein the first blockchain-based ledger is generated with a first asset genesis block that includes a first signature of a first hash digest of first raw data for the first asset genesis block, the first signature being generated by a central administration module…separate from the custodian module (902). Next, the process …can include approving the first request by issuing a first token to the first client (912) and generating a first new block (e.g. first segregated token storage) on the first blockchain-based ledger that identifies the first client and the first collateral associated with the first token. Par. [0168]-[0169] disclose similar process as presented above for the second client. Par. [0170]-[0180] disclose a trade can be a payment transaction or repo or repossession (reverse operation) transaction. Furthermore, a redemption request received at the custodial entity from the first client to redeem the first token, the process can include burning the first token and transferring the first client assets of the second asset type from the custodial ledger to the first client. The first asset genesis block can further include redemption conditions for the first client to redeem the first collateral. And similarly, the process can provide the second client access to redeem the second token).
Ingargiola does not expressly disclose automatically locking, by the at least one processor, access to the at least one token of the first token type in the at least one segregated token storage according to at least one condition in response to the transfer of the at least one second token of the second token type. However, locking an account when a transaction not completed is known art. Chen discloses this feature (Fig. 3 and par. [0066]-[0069] discloses a token includes restrictions on the ability for the digital asset to be transferred from one blockchain account to another with the use of a locking script that checks that the recipient of the digital asset is a specific blockchain address to prevent a transfer of the digital asset to another blockchain). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ingargiola with Chen to further teach the above features. One would have done so to combine known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; and
Ingargiola discloses automatically facilitating, by the at least one processor, the exchange of the at least one first token of the first token type for the at least one second token of the second token type (par. [0170]-[0180] disclose a trade can be a payment transaction or repo or repossession (reverse operation) transaction. Par. [0159] discloses the custodian issues a digital representation of assets, such as a token. Since it is an exchange between dollars to Bitcoin, the tokens issued to both clients represent dollars and Bitcoin for each type of token)).
Regarding claim 2, Ingargiola discloses wherein the at least one first token is in at least one first token storage; and wherein the at least one second token is in at least one second token storage (as presented above, Figs. 6, 9 and related text disclose the custodian generates different wallets (e.g. segregated storages for segregated tokens) for the US dollar account and the Bitcoin account and each client is received a new token that reflect the account they can access to which the tokens reflect the amount for the exchange they agree upon).
Inquiry communication
/TRI M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432