DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 16, filed 09/02/26, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the rejection of claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn. Applicant amended the claims to correct the previously identified clarity and antecedent-basis issues. In particular, the amended claims clarify the information being concatenated and properly identify the threat analyzer and vulnerability analyzer. Accordingly, the previously identified indefiniteness issues are no longer present in the claims.
Claims no longer invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The amended claims no longer recite the previously identified functional components such as a “threat concatenator,” “vulnerability concatenator,” “re-definer,” or “feedback device” as claim elements for performing the claimed functions. Instead, the amended claims recite that the processor executes the program to perform the claimed processing and generate and output the claimed information. Accordingly, the basis for interpreting those limitations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is no longer present.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 24-28, filed 09/02/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly discovered prior art. Applicant amended the independent claims to include additional limitations directed to a missing evaluation specification and adding the missing evaluation specification together with corresponding vulnerability identification information and/or countermeasure information. The prior rejection did not adequately teach or suggest these newly added limitations. Accordingly, the previous prior art rejection is withdrawn. However, further consideration of the amended claims and newly discovered prior art, including Ping, establishes a new basis for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention provides a technological improvement by improving the evaluation specifications used in evaluating an evaluation target device. However, the Examiner is not persuaded that the claimed improvement is provided by an additional element or by the claimed invention as a whole in a manner that improves computer functionality or another technology or technical field.
The claimed association of threat analysis information, vulnerability analysis information, and evaluation specification information, including identifying and adding a missing evaluation specification, constitutes the mental process portion of the claim. These limitations concern analyzing, associating, judging, and updating information and can reasonably be performed mentally or with the aid of pen and paper.
The additional elements recited in the claims are generic computer components, such as a processor and memory, used to perform those information-processing functions. Merely implementing the abstract mental process on generic computer components does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Applicant’s asserted improvement therefore arises from the abstract information processing itself, namely managing and updating evaluation specifications, rather than from an additional technological feature. The claims do not require that the result of the analysis be used to automatically reconfigure, modify, patch, or otherwise change the operation of the evaluation target device, network, or other protected system.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an additional element, alone or in combination with the abstract idea, that reflects an improvement to computer functionality or another technology or technical field. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
Rejection under 35 USC 101
Claims 1-16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101. More specifically, the Examiner contends that the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
While not conceding the appropriateness of the Examiner's rejection, Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 6, 10, 14, 15, and 16 to highlight practical application and{P734
technological improvement. Applicant respectfully submits that all pending claims are patent eligible for the following reasons.
Step 2A, Prong Two - The Claimed Subject Matter Integrates any Alleged Abstract
Idea into a Practical Application
While not conceding to the appropriateness of the Examiner's rejection, but to advance prosecution, Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to further clarify the particular manner in which threat analysis information and vulnerability analysis information are used to redefine evaluation specifications for evaluating the information security of an evaluation target device.
Even assuming, solely for purposes of argument, that certain information-processing operations recited in claim 1 constitute an abstract idea, amended claim 1 integrates any such alleged abstract idea into a practical application.
In particular, claim 1 does not merely collect, analyze, associate, or output information. Claim 1 expressly requires the processor to:
"perform first association processing for concatenating at least part of threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information"; "perform second association processing for concatenating at least part of vulnerability analysis information with the first evaluation specification information"; and "generate and output second evaluation specification information by redefining, based on the first association processing and the second association processing, the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information."
Significantly, amended claim 1 further requires that:
"when the vulnerability analysis information includes identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to a missing evaluation specification that is an evaluation{P734
specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information, the processor re- defines the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information by adding the missing evaluation specification and the identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to the missing evaluation specification to the first evaluation specification information that has undergone the first association processing and the second association processing."
Thus, the claimed processing is applied to a particular technological problem arising in the security evaluation of an evaluation target device. Specifically, vulnerability analysis may identify a vulnerability of the evaluation target device for which the existing evaluation specification information does not include a corresponding evaluation specification. Rather than merely reporting the identified vulnerability, amended claim 1 requires the processor to identify this condition and redefine the evaluation specifications by adding both the missing evaluation specification and the identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to that missing evaluation specification.
This claimed operation addresses the technological problem identified in the Specification. The Specification explains that security evaluation, threat analysis, and vulnerability analysis conventionally have not been associated with one another, which may result in necessary evaluations being omitted. The Specification further explains that, by associating these processes and redefining the evaluation specification information to include a missing evaluation specification and corresponding vulnerability identification information, the evaluation target device can be evaluated more exhaustively while avoiding omissions of necessary evaluations, thereby reducing the possibility of incomplete security evaluations.
Accordingly, amended claim 1 does not merely produce a different organization or presentation of information. The claimed threat analysis information and vulnerability analysis information are applied to the evaluation specifications of the evaluation target device to identify and correct an omission in those evaluation specifications. The resulting second evaluation specification information therefore includes an evaluation specification that otherwise would have been absent despite the identification of a corresponding vulnerability of the evaluation target device.
The claimed improvement is particularly evident from the relationship among the recited limitations. The "missing evaluation specification" is not simply additional information selected for presentation to a user. It is an "evaluation specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information" that corresponds to a vulnerability identified by the vulnerability analysis information. In response to that condition, the processor affirmatively changes the evaluation specification information by "adding the missing evaluation specification and the identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to the missing evaluation specification." The claimed processing thereby reduces the possibility that an identified vulnerability will lack a corresponding evaluation specification in the specifications used for security evaluation of the evaluation target device.
The Specification further explains that evaluation specifications are specifications used in evaluations of the security status of the evaluation target device, which may include, for example, fuzzing testing, vulnerability testing, functional testing, or penetration testing. Thus, the claimed redefinition is specifically tied to the technological field of information-security evaluation rather than merely to the organization of information.
Here, amended claim 1 provides a particular solution to a problem in security evaluation: when vulnerability analysis identifies a vulnerability corresponding to an evaluation specification omitted from the existing evaluation specification information, the processor redefines that information to include the missing evaluation specification and the corresponding vulnerability identification information. Accordingly, the alleged abstract idea is meaningfully applied to improve the completeness of security evaluation specifications for the evaluation target device.
For at least these reasons, amended claim 1 integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application and is patent eligible under Step 2A, Prong Two.
Step 2B - Amended Claim 1 Recites Significantly More Than the Alleged Abstract
Idea
Even if the Examiner maintains that amended claim 1 does not integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two, Applicant respectfully submits that the claim nevertheless recites significantly more than the alleged abstract idea when the limitations are considered individually and, particularly, as an ordered combination.
Amended claim 1 does not merely recite generic computer implementation of collecting, analyzing, and displaying information. The claimed processor performs a particular ordered combination of operations in which threat analysis information is concatenated with first evaluation specification information through first association processing; vulnerability analysis information is concatenated with the first evaluation specification information through second association processing; the evaluation specifications are redefined based on both association processes; and, upon the particular condition that the vulnerability analysis information identifies a vulnerability corresponding to an evaluation specification absent from the first evaluation
specification information, the processor adds the missing evaluation specification together with the corresponding vulnerability identification information.
The significance of this ordered combination should not be disregarded by considering each information-processing operation in isolation. The claimed operations cooperate to identify and correct an omission in the evaluation specifications based specifically on vulnerability analysis of the information security of the evaluation target device. The processor therefore does not merely perform conventional data processing on generic information; it implements the claimed relationship among threat analysis, vulnerability analysis, and security evaluation specifications to reduce omissions of necessary evaluations.
Moreover, the Specification explains that security evaluation, threat analysis, and vulnerability analysis conventionally were not associated with one another. The claimed ordered combination provides the disclosed mechanism for establishing that association and, specifically, for correcting an evaluation specification when vulnerability analysis identifies a vulnerability for which the corresponding evaluation specification is missing. The claimed combination therefore represents more than instructions to apply an abstract idea using a generic computer.
Accordingly, when amended claim 1 is considered as a whole, the specific ordered combination of limitations amounts to significantly more than any alleged abstract idea and satisfies Step 2B of the subject-matter-eligibility analysis.
Independent Claims 6, 10, and 14-16
Independent claims 6, 10, and 14-16 recite corresponding system and method
implementations of the disclosed evaluation-support technology. Similar to amended claim 1, these independent claims recite particular processing that associates threat analysis information
and/or vulnerability analysis information with evaluation specification information and redefines the evaluation specifications based on the resulting association processing.
Accordingly, arguments similar to those presented above with respect to independent claim 1 apply to independent claims 6, 10, and 14-16, as applicable to the particular limitations recited by each claim. In each instance, the claimed processing is not merely directed to collecting, analyzing, or reporting information in the abstract, but applies the claimed threat and/or vulnerability analysis to evaluation specifications used in connection with security evaluation of the evaluation target device. Thus, for reasons similar to those discussed above with respect to claim 1, independent claims 6, 10, and 14-16 integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two and, alternatively, recite significantly more than the alleged abstract idea under Step 2B.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the pending claims are directed to patent-eligible subject matter and respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 10, 14, 15, and 16:
Applying Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test (SMET), does the claim as a whole fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention? Yes.
Claims 1, 6, and 10 are directed to an evaluation support system including memory and a processor and therefore fall within the machine category. Claims 14, 15, and 16 are directed to an evaluation support method executed by a computer and therefore fall within the process category.
Applying Step 2A of the SMET, also known at this stage as the Alice/Mayo Test, Prong One, is the claim as a whole directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea? Yes.
The claim recites the abstract steps of:
Receiving or using threat analysis information;
Receiving or using vulnerability information;
Receiving or using first evaluation specification information;
Performing first association processing;
Performing second association processing;
Concatenating information;
Re-defining evaluation specifications;
Identifying a missing evaluation specification;
Adding the missing evaluation specification and corresponding threat or vulnerability information;
Generating and outputting second evaluation specification information and feeding back evaluated specification information amount to collecting information, analyzing information, organizing information, associating information, updating information, and reporting the result, which fall within the mental process grouping. The limitations are also directed to data organization and data manipulation because the claimed invention associate’s threat/vulnerability analysis data with evaluation specification data and outputs updated evaluation specification data. (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(iii)(C)).
It should be noted that a person either with or without a physical aid, review threat analysis information, review vulnerability analysis information, review first evaluation specification information, associate countermeasure information or vulnerability identification information with evaluation specifications, identify missing evaluation specifications, add missing evaluation specifications, and report updated evaluation specifications information. Therefore, the claimed concept can be practically performed in the human mind or with pen and paper.
Applying Step 2A, Prong Two, does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No.
The claim recites the additional elements of:
Memory that stores a program;
a processor;
a computer;
a threat concatenator;
a vulnerability concatenator;
a re-definer;
a feedback device;
evaluation target device;
first evaluation specification information;
second evaluation specification information; and
evaluated specification information.
A claim reciting a judicial exception is not directed to the judicial exception if it also recites additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application One way to demonstrate such integration is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field. However, the additional elements recited above do no such thing and do not improve the functioning of the computer, processor, memory, database, or evaluation target device. The claimed invention merely uses off the generic computer components to gather, associate, organize, update, and output security evaluation information. The memory stores a program, the processor executes the program, and the functional units performs high level information processing. The claim does not recite any particularized data structure, specialized security testing hardware, improved vulnerability scanner, improved threat analysis engine, improved evaluation device, improved computer performance, or improvement to computer functionality itself. However, courts have indicated that gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result may not be sufficient to show an improvement to technology (see TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; Electric Power group, 830 F.3d at 1353-54).
The claimed association, analysis, identification of missing evaluation specifications, and updating of evaluation specification information constitute the identified abstract mental process and therefore do not, by themselves, provide a technological improvement. The remaining additional elements, including the memory and processor, merely implement those information-processing steps using generic computer components. The claims do not require the result of the analysis to control, reconfigure, modify, or otherwise change the operation of the evaluation target device or another protected computer or network. Accordingly, the additional elements, individually and in combination with the identified abstract idea, do not reflect an improvement to computer functionality or another technology or technical field.
Thus, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as argued above.
Applying Step 2B, do the additional elements amount to an inventive concept? No.
Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1982-83, is not enough to supply an inventive concept. The additional elements are generic computer components carrying out routine computer functions, such as storing data, processing data, associating data, generating data, and feeding back data. These additional elements are not enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception.
Because claims 1, 6, 10, 14, 15, and 16 fail Step 2B, the claims as a whole are found ineligible for being drawn to an abstract idea and therefore are non-statutory under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 2-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 17-22:
The dependent claims do not alter the analysis applied to independent claims 1, 6, 10, 14, 15, and 16.
Claim 2 merely recites associating information indicating a countermeasure against the threat with an evaluation specification for each evaluation item.
Claim 3 merely recites associating identification information on the vulnerability with an evaluation specification for each evaluation item.
Claim 5 merely recites feeding back evaluated specification information generated by adding determination information indicating a result of the evaluation to the second evaluation specification information to a threat analyzer and a vulnerability analyzer, which generate threat analysis information and vulnerability analysis information.
Claim 7 merely recites associating information indicating a countermeasure against the threat with an evaluation specification for each evaluation item.
Claim 9 merely recites feeding back evaluated specification information generated by adding determination information indicating a result of the evaluation to the second evaluation specification information to a threat analyzer that performs threat analysis on the evaluation target device.
Claim 11 merely recites associating identification information on the vulnerability with an evaluation specification for each evaluation item.
Claim 13 merely recites feeding back evaluated specification information generated by adding determination information indicating a result of the evaluation to the second evaluation specification information to a vulnerability analyzer that performs vulnerability analysis on the evaluation target device.
Claims 17 and 20 merely recite, when determination information indicates an unsatisfactory evaluation result, revamping a countermeasure against a threat corresponding to the unsatisfactory evaluation result and modifying, based on the determination information, a relevant/non-relevant determination indicating whether a vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device.
Claims 18 and 21 merely recite, when determination information indicates an unsatisfactory evaluation result, revamping a countermeasure against the threat corresponding to the unsatisfactory evaluation result.
Claims 19 and 22 merely recite modifying, based on determination information indicating a result of an evaluation of the evaluation target device, a relevant/non-relevant determination indicating whether a vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device.
The limitations of claims 17-22 merely further analyze evaluation-result information and update countermeasure information and/or vulnerability relevance information based on the evaluation result. Although claims 17, 18, 20, and 21 recite revamping a countermeasure, the claims do not require implementing the revamped countermeasure in, reconfiguring, or otherwise technically modifying the evaluation target device. Likewise, modifying a relevant/non-relevant determination merely updates information indicating whether a vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device.
These additional limitations either further narrow the abstract idea, specify the type of information being organized or associated, or add routine data feedback and updating features. None of these limitations integrates the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, claims 2-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 17-22 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-11, 14-16, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al, (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/002,9153 A1, hereinafter Sugimoto) in view of Ping et al, (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/023,9700 A1, hereinafter Ping).
As to claim 1, Sugimoto teaches:
An evaluation support system for supporting an evaluation of an evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0039, 0041]: “The threat analysis system 10 is a computer system that analyzes a relationship between a vulnerability and a threat from a viewpoint of a business operator in addition to vulnerability information and information of a threat for each device caused by the vulnerability to enable threat analysis more suitable for a security requirement of a system. The administration target device 101 is a device that configures a system (threat analysis target system) administered by an administrator as a threat analysis target.”);
the evaluation support system comprising: memory that stores a program; and a processor: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0078, 0080]: “The computer 701 includes a CPU 702 (Central Processing Unit), the memory 703 configured of a volatile storage element such as a RAM (Random Access Memory), the external storage 704 configured of an appropriate nonvolatile storage element such as an SSD (Solid State Drive) or a hard disk drive. Moreover, the control units 202, 302, 402, 502, 603, the transmission/reception units 201, 301, 401, 501, 601, and the input/output unit 602 of each of the devices illustrated in FIGS. 2 to 6 are implemented by the CPU 702 loading, on the memory 703, an appropriate program stored in the foregoing external storage 704 and executing the same program.”);
wherein the processor executes the program to perform first association processing for concatenating at least part of threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0067, 0090-0091]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. In FIG. 12 is a diagram showing an example of the control operation information table 804. In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201.”);
(Sugimoto teaches the threat analysis processing unit 506 and control operation information table 804, which includes a control operation ID and related threat ID. Under BRI, table 804 corresponds to the first evaluation specification information, and the relationship between the threat ID and control operation ID corresponds to first association processing for concatenating threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information.)
the threat analysis information indicating a result of analysis of a threat to information security of the evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0088, 0089, 0067]: “In FIG. 11, the threat information table from the viewpoint of the business operator 803 has a threat ID 1101, a threat degree 1102, and other threat information 1103 as data items. The threat ID 1101 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the threat. The threat degree 1102 is a score of a magnitude of damage incurred when the threat occurs. The other threat information 1103 is information regarding the threat such as the threat name. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information.”);
(Threat information including threat ID, threat degree, and other threat information and the threat analysis processing unit analyzes whether a vulnerability of the administration target device is related to threat. This corresponds to threat analysis information indicating a result of analysis of a threat to information security of the evaluation target device.)
the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more evaluation specifications of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Control operation information table 804 including control operation IDs, control operation types, device IDs, threat IDs, and control operation names. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more specifications of the evaluation target device.)
perform second association processing for concatenating at least part of vulnerability analysis information with the first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0068, 0093-0094]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information in which the type of the vulnerability included in the device, the type of the control operation related to the device, and the vulnerability influence degree of the vulnerability on the control operation are associated with one another, the third information being stored in the storage unit (e.g., a vulnerability type 1301, a control operation type 1302, and a vulnerability influence degree 1304 in a vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 described later). In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associates vulnerability type information with control operation information using vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805. This corresponds to a vulnerability concatenator performing second association processing for concatenating vulnerability analysis information with the first evaluation specific information.)
the vulnerability analysis information indicating a result of analysis of vulnerability of the information security of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057, 0084-0085]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101 (system information, identification information and the like of each of the administration target devices 101), and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm. In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901.”);
(A vulnerability detector and vulnerability detection processing unit that detect vulnerabilities possessed by the administrator target device and store the result in vulnerability detection result table 801.)
generates and output second evaluation specification information by redefining, based on the first association processing and the second association processing: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0068, 0070, 0095, 0097]: “As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information and second information. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information. The threat-analysis result output unit 508 is a processing unit that transmits the threat analysis result derived by the threat analysis processing unit 506 and the influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507 to the client device 106 via the transmission/reception unit 501. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. In the present embodiment, the threat analysis server 105 stores, in the threat analysis result table 806, processing results from the threat analysis by the predetermined algorithm.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associate’s vulnerability information, threat information, and control operation information, and stores the result in threat analysis result table 806. It also teaches that output unit 508 transmit the threat analysis result. Under BRI, unit 506 and 508 correspond to the re-definer, and table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information. (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090, 0095, 0132]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. The threat analysis processing unit 506 searches the threat analysis result table 806, using, as a key, the pair of the device ID and the relevant vulnerability ID included in the vulnerability detection result, and if it is determined that there is no record related to the pair of the relevant device ID and vulnerability ID, newly generates a record, and sets a value of the relevant item in the set of control operations related to the vulnerability detection result information and the vulnerability (step S1909).”);
(Control operation information table 804 and threat analysis result table 806, which includes a control operation ID list generated after association with vulnerability and threat information. Under BRI, table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
Sugimoto does not teach but, Ping teaches:
wherein, when the vulnerability analysis information includes identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to a missing evaluation specification that is an evaluation specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057]: “In some embodiment, the generating the security requirements may further comprise: checking whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on a predefined security requirement baseline. The computing device may check whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on the security requirement baseline by comparing the generated security requirements with the security requirement baseline.”);
(Ping teaches checking existing security requirements to determine whether a required security item is missing.)
the processor re-defines the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information by adding the missing evaluation specification and the identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to the missing evaluation specification, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057-0058]: “Adding, in response to the presence of the missing security requirement, the missing security requirement to the generated security requirements. If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements in block 101.”);
(Ping teaches adding the missing security requirement and then generating the security test specification based on the updated requirements.)
to the first evaluation specification information that has undergone the first association processing and the second association processing. (see Ping, [¶¶0057-0058]: “In FIG. 3, the computing device may check whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on the security requirement baseline by comparing the generated security requirements with the security requirement baseline. If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements, as shown in block 209 of FIG. 2. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements in block 101.”);
(Ping adds the missing item to the existing security information before the resulting test specification is generated.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugimoto’s threat analysis system, which associates vulnerability, threat, and control operation information, to incorporate Ping’s technique for identifying and adding missing security requirements and generating corresponding security test specifications. A person of ordinary skill would therefore have been motivated to apply Ping’s completeness checking technique to Sugimoto’s security analysis so that missing evaluation coverage associated with an identified vulnerability is added to the existing evaluation information. This would improve the completeness of Sugimoto’s security evaluation by reducing omissions in required security testing while retaining Sugimoto’s existing threat and vulnerability association processing.
As to claim 2, Sugimoto teaches:
wherein the first evaluation specification information indicates, for each evaluation item, an evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Table 804 includes control operation IDs and related control operation information. Under BRI, each control operation ID corresponds to an evaluation item, and related control operation information corresponds to an evaluation specification.)
and the processor performs the first association processing by concatenating: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0067-0068]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information in which the device configuring the threat analysis target system (e.g., the administration target device 101) and the vulnerability included in the device (e.g., a device ID 901 and a vulnerability ID 902 in a vulnerability detection result table 801 described later) are associated with each other, and second information in which the device and the threat from the viewpoint of the business operator assumed in the threat analysis target system.”);
(Threat analysis processing unit 506 performs association processing using database information, corresponding to the claimed threat concatenator.)
for each evaluation item in the first evaluation specification information, information indicating a countermeasure against the threat with the first evaluation specification information to associate the information with the evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0095]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Sugimoto’s links control operation IDs with related threat IDs. Under BRI, a control operation /control instruction tied to a threat ID corresponds to countermeasures information against the threat, and table 806 associates that information with the corresponding evaluation specification.)
the information indicating a result of analysis of the evaluation item and being included in the threat analysis information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0088-0089, 0091, 0095]: “In FIG. 11, the threat information table from the viewpoint of the business operator 803 has a threat ID 1101, a threat degree 1102, and other threat information 1103 as data items. The threat ID 1101 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the threat. The threat degree 1102 is a score of a magnitude of damage incurred when the threat occurs. The other threat information 1103 is information regarding the threat such as the threat name. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Sugimoto teaches threat IDs, threat degrees, and threat influence information linked to control operation IDs. This corresponds to information indicating a result of analysis of the evaluation item included in the threat analysis information.)
As to claim 3, Sugimoto teaches:
wherein the first evaluation specification information indicates, for each evaluation item, an evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Table 804 includes control operation IDs and related control operation information. Under BRI, each control operation ID corresponds to an evaluation item, and related control operation information corresponds to an evaluation specification.)
and the processor performs the second association processing by concatenating, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0068, 0093-0094]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information in which the type of the vulnerability included in the device, the type of the control operation related to the device, and the vulnerability influence degree of the vulnerability on the control operation are associated with one another. In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302.”);
for each evaluation item in the first evaluation specification information, identification information on the vulnerability with the first evaluation specification information to associate the identification information with the evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0084-85, 0093-0095]: “In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901. In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Sugimoto teaches vulnerability ID/type and associates vulnerability type with control operation type. Table 806 further includes vulnerability ID/type and a control operation ID list.)
the identification information indicating a result of analysis of the evaluation item and being included in the vulnerability analysis information. (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057, 0084-0085, 0095]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101 (system information, identification information and the like of each of the administration target devices 101), and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm. In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Vulnerability detection result table 801 including vulnerability ID 902 and table 806 including vulnerability ID 1402 and vulnerability type 1403.)
As to claim 6, Sugimoto teaches:
An evaluation support system for supporting an evaluation of an evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0039, 0041]: “The threat analysis system 10 is a computer system that analyzes a relationship between a vulnerability and a threat from a viewpoint of a business operator in addition to vulnerability information and information of a threat for each device caused by the vulnerability to enable threat analysis more suitable for a security requirement of a system. The administration target device 101 is a device that configures a system (threat analysis target system) administered by an administrator as a threat analysis target.”);
the evaluation support system comprising: memory that stores a program; and a processor: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0078, 0080]: “The computer 701 includes a CPU 702 (Central Processing Unit), the memory 703 configured of a volatile storage element such as a RAM (Random Access Memory), the external storage 704 configured of an appropriate nonvolatile storage element such as an SSD (Solid State Drive) or a hard disk drive. Moreover, the control units 202, 302, 402, 502, 603, the transmission/reception units 201, 301, 401, 501, 601, and the input/output unit 602 of each of the devices illustrated in FIGS. 2 to 6 are implemented by the CPU 702 loading, on the memory 703, an appropriate program stored in the foregoing external storage 704 and executing the same program.”);
wherein the processor executes the program to perform first association processing for concatenating at least part of threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0067, 0090-0091]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. In FIG. 12 is a diagram showing an example of the control operation information table 804. In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201.”);
(Sugimoto teaches the threat analysis processing unit 506 and control operation information table 804, which includes a control operation ID and related threat ID. Under BRI, table 804 corresponds to the first evaluation specification information, and the relationship between the threat ID and control operation ID corresponds to first association processing for concatenating threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information.)
the threat analysis information indicating a result of analysis of a threat to information security of the evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0088, 0089, 0067]: “In FIG. 11, the threat information table from the viewpoint of the business operator 803 has a threat ID 1101, a threat degree 1102, and other threat information 1103 as data items. The threat ID 1101 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the threat. The threat degree 1102 is a score of a magnitude of damage incurred when the threat occurs. The other threat information 1103 is information regarding the threat such as the threat name. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information.”);
(Threat information including threat ID, threat degree, and other threat information and the threat analysis processing unit analyzes whether a vulnerability of the administration target device is related to threat. This corresponds to threat analysis information indicating a result of analysis of a threat to information security of the evaluation target device.)
the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more evaluation specifications of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Control operation information table 804 including control operation IDs, control operation types, device IDs, threat IDs, and control operation names. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more specifications of the evaluation target device.)
and generate and output second evaluation specification information by re-defining: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0068, 0070, 0095, 0097]: “As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information and second information. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information. The threat-analysis result output unit 508 is a processing unit that transmits the threat analysis result derived by the threat analysis processing unit 506 and the influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507 to the client device 106 via the transmission/reception unit 501. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. In the present embodiment, the threat analysis server 105 stores, in the threat analysis result table 806, processing results from the threat analysis by the predetermined algorithm.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associate’s vulnerability information, threat information, and control operation information, and stores the result in threat analysis result table 806. It also teaches that output unit 508 transmit the threat analysis result. Under BRI, unit 506 and 508 correspond to the re-definer, and table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
based on the first association processing, the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0095, 0132]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. The threat analysis processing unit 506 searches the threat analysis result table 806, using, as a key, the pair of the device ID and the relevant vulnerability ID included in the vulnerability detection result, and if it is determined that there is no record related to the pair of the relevant device ID and vulnerability ID, newly generates a record, and sets a value of the relevant item in the set of control operations related to the vulnerability detection result information and the vulnerability (step S1909).”);
(Control operation information table 804 and threat analysis result table 806, which includes a control operation ID list generated after association with vulnerability and threat information. Under BRI, table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
Sugimoto does not teach but, Ping teaches:
wherein, when the threat analysis information includes a countermeasure information against the threat corresponding to a missing evaluation specification that is an evaluation specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057]: “Checking whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on a predefined security requirement baseline. The computing device may check whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on the security requirement baseline by comparing the generated security requirements with the security requirement baseline.”);
(Ping teaches checking existing security requirements to determine whether a required security item is missing.)
the processor re-defines the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information by adding the missing evaluation specification and the countermeasure information against the threat corresponding to the missing evaluation specification, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057-0058]: “Adding, in response to the presence of the missing security requirement, the missing security requirement to the generated security requirements. If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping teaches adding the missing security requirement and then generating the security test specification from the updated requirements.)
to the first evaluation specification information that has undergone the first association processing. (see Ping, [¶¶0057-0058]: “If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping adds the missing security item to the existing security requirements before generating the resulting test specification.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugimoto’s threat analysis system, which associates threat and control-operation information, to incorporate Ping’s technique for identifying and adding missing security requirements and generating corresponding security test specifications. A person of ordinary skill would therefore have been motivated to apply Ping’s completeness checking technique to Sugimoto’s security analysis so that missing evaluation coverage associated with a threat and corresponding countermeasure is added to the existing evaluation information. This would improve the completeness of Sugimoto’s security evaluation by reducing omissions in required security testing while retaining Sugimoto’s existing threat and control-operation association processing.
As to claim 7, Sugimoto teaches:
wherein the first evaluation specification information indicates, for each evaluation item, an evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Table 804 includes control operation IDs and related control operation information. Under BRI, each control operation ID corresponds to an evaluation item, and related control operation information corresponds to an evaluation specification.)
and the processor performs the first association processing by concatenating: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0067-0068]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information in which the device configuring the threat analysis target system (e.g., the administration target device 101) and the vulnerability included in the device (e.g., a device ID 901 and a vulnerability ID 902 in a vulnerability detection result table 801 described later) are associated with each other, and second information in which the device and the threat from the viewpoint of the business operator assumed in the threat analysis target system.”);
(Threat analysis processing unit 506 performs association processing using database information, corresponding to the claimed threat concatenator.)
for each evaluation item in the first evaluation specification information, information indicating a countermeasure against the threat with the first evaluation specification information to associate the information with the evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0095]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Sugimoto’s links control operation IDs with related threat IDs. Under BRI, a control operation /control instruction tied to a threat ID corresponds to countermeasures information against the threat, and table 806 associates that information with the corresponding evaluation specification.)
the information indicating a result of analysis of the evaluation item and being included in the threat analysis information. (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0088-0089, 0091, 0095]: “In FIG. 11, the threat information table from the viewpoint of the business operator 803 has a threat ID 1101, a threat degree 1102, and other threat information 1103 as data items. The threat ID 1101 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the threat. The threat degree 1102 is a score of a magnitude of damage incurred when the threat occurs. The other threat information 1103 is information regarding the threat such as the threat name. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Sugimoto teaches threat IDs, threat degrees, and threat influence information linked to control operation IDs. This corresponds to information indicating a result of analysis of the evaluation item included in the threat analysis information.)
As to claim 10, Sugimoto teaches:
An evaluation support system for supporting an evaluation of an evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0039, 0041]: “The threat analysis system 10 is a computer system that analyzes a relationship between a vulnerability and a threat from a viewpoint of a business operator in addition to vulnerability information and information of a threat for each device caused by the vulnerability to enable threat analysis more suitable for a security requirement of a system. The administration target device 101 is a device that configures a system (threat analysis target system) administered by an administrator as a threat analysis target.”);
the evaluation support system comprising: memory that stores a program; and a processor, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0078, 0080]: “The computer 701 includes a CPU 702 (Central Processing Unit), the memory 703 configured of a volatile storage element such as a RAM (Random Access Memory), the external storage 704 configured of an appropriate nonvolatile storage element such as an SSD (Solid State Drive) or a hard disk drive. Moreover, the control units 202, 302, 402, 502, 603, the transmission/reception units 201, 301, 401, 501, 601, and the input/output unit 602 of each of the devices illustrated in FIGS. 2 to 6 are implemented by the CPU 702 loading, on the memory 703, an appropriate program stored in the foregoing external storage 704 and executing the same program.”);
wherein the processor executes the program to perform second association processing that concatenates at least part of vulnerability analysis information with first evaluation specification information, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0068, 0093-0094]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information in which the type of the vulnerability included in the device, the type of the control operation related to the device, and the vulnerability influence degree of the vulnerability on the control operation are associated with one another. In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302.”);
(Sugimoto’s threat analysis processing unit 506 associate’s vulnerability information with control operation information using table 805.)
the vulnerability analysis information indicating a result of analysis of vulnerability of information security of the evaluation target device, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057, 0084-0085]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101 (system information, identification information and the like of each of the administration target devices 101), and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm. In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901.”);
(A vulnerability detector and vulnerability detection processing unit that detect vulnerabilities possessed by the administrator target device and store the result in vulnerability detection result table 801.)
the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more evaluation specifications of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Control operation information table 804 including control operation IDs, control operation types, device IDs, threat IDs, and control operation names. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more specifications of the evaluation target device.)
and generate and output second evaluation specification information by re-defining: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0068, 0070, 0095, 0097]: “As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information and second information. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information. The threat-analysis result output unit 508 is a processing unit that transmits the threat analysis result derived by the threat analysis processing unit 506 and the influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507 to the client device 106 via the transmission/reception unit 501. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. In the present embodiment, the threat analysis server 105 stores, in the threat analysis result table 806, processing results from the threat analysis by the predetermined algorithm.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associate’s vulnerability information, threat information, and control operation information, and stores the result in threat analysis result table 806. It also teaches that output unit 508 transmit the threat analysis result. Under BRI, unit 506 and 508 correspond to the re-definer, and table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
based on the second association processing, the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0095, 0132]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. The threat analysis processing unit 506 searches the threat analysis result table 806, using, as a key, the pair of the device ID and the relevant vulnerability ID included in the vulnerability detection result, and if it is determined that there is no record related to the pair of the relevant device ID and vulnerability ID, newly generates a record, and sets a value of the relevant item in the set of control operations related to the vulnerability detection result information and the vulnerability (step S1909).”);
(Sugimoto teaches table 804, vulnerability/control operation table 805, and table 806, which includes a control operation ID list after vulnerability/control operation association. Under BRI, table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
Sugimoto does not teach but, Ping teaches:
wherein, when the vulnerability analysis information includes identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to a missing evaluation specification that is an evaluation specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057]: “Checking whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on a predefined security requirement baseline. The computing device may check whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on the security requirement baseline by comparing the generated security requirements with the security requirement baseline.”);
(Ping teaches checking existing security requirements to determine whether a required security item is missing.)
the processor re- defines the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information by adding the missing evaluation specification and the identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to the missing evaluation specification, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057-0058]: “Adding, in response to the presence of the missing security requirement, the missing security requirement to the generated security requirements. If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping teaches adding the missing security requirement and then generating the security test specification from the updated requirements.)
to the first evaluation specification information that has undergone the second association processing. (see Ping, [¶¶0057-0058]: “If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping adds the missing security item to the existing security requirements before generating the resulting test specification.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugimoto’s threat analysis system, which associates vulnerability and control operation information, to incorporate Ping’s technique for identifying and adding missing security requirements and generating corresponding security test specifications. A person of ordinary skill would therefore have been motivated to apply Ping’s completeness checking technique to Sugimoto’s vulnerability analysis so that missing evaluation coverage associated with an identified vulnerability is added to the existing evaluation information. This would improve the completeness of Sugimoto’s security evaluation by reducing omissions in required security testing while retaining Sugimoto’s existing vulnerability association processing.
As to claim 11, Sugimoto teaches:
wherein the first evaluation specification information indicates, for each evaluation item, an evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Table 804 includes control operation IDs and related control operation information. Under BRI, each control operation ID corresponds to an evaluation item, and related control operation information corresponds to an evaluation specification.)
and the processor performs the second association processing by concatenating, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0068, 0093-0094]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information in which the type of the vulnerability included in the device, the type of the control operation related to the device, and the vulnerability influence degree of the vulnerability on the control operation are associated with one another. In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302.”);
for each evaluation item in the first evaluation specification information, identification information on the vulnerability with the first evaluation specification information to associate the identification information with the evaluation specification corresponding to the evaluation item, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0084-85, 0093-0095]: “In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901. In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Sugimoto teaches vulnerability ID/type and associates vulnerability type with control operation type. Table 806 further includes vulnerability ID/type and a control operation ID list.)
the identification information indicating a result of analysis of the evaluation item and being included in the vulnerability analysis information. (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057, 0084-0085, 0095]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101 (system information, identification information and the like of each of the administration target devices 101), and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm. In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items.”);
(Vulnerability detection result table 801 including vulnerability ID 902 and table 806 including vulnerability ID 1402 and vulnerability type 1403.)
As to claim 14, Sugimoto teaches:
An evaluation support method, executed by a computer, for supporting an evaluation of an evaluation target device, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0039, 0041, 0077]: “The threat analysis system 10 is a computer system that analyzes a relationship between a vulnerability and a threat from a viewpoint of a business operator in addition to vulnerability information and information of a threat for each device caused by the vulnerability to enable threat analysis more suitable for a security requirement of a system. The administration target device 101 is a device that configures a system (threat analysis target system) administered by an administrator as a threat analysis target. Each of the administration target device 101, the vulnerability detector 103, the vulnerability information disclosing organization 104, and the threat analysis server 105 is configured by a computer 701.”);
the evaluation support method comprising: performing first association processing for concatenating at least part of threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0067, 0090, 0091]: “The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201.”);
(Sugimoto links control operation IDs with threat IDs. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first association processing between threat analysis information and first evaluation specification information.)
the threat analysis information indicating a result of analysis of a threat to information security of the evaluation target device, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0088-0089, 0067]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. In FIG. 12 is a diagram showing an example of the control operation information table 804. In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201.”);
(Sugimoto teaches the threat analysis processing unit 506 and control operation information table 804, which includes a control operation ID and related threat ID. Under BRI, table 804 corresponds to the first evaluation specification information, and the relationship between the threat ID and control operation ID corresponds to first association processing for concatenating threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information.)
the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more evaluation specifications of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Control operation information table 804 including control operation IDs, control operation types, device IDs, threat IDs, and control operation names. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more specifications of the evaluation target device.)
performing second association processing for concatenating at least part of vulnerability analysis information with the first evaluation specification information, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0068, 0093-0094]: “Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information in which the type of the vulnerability included in the device, the type of the control operation related to the device, and the vulnerability influence degree of the vulnerability on the control operation are associated with one another, the third information being stored in the storage unit (e.g., a vulnerability type 1301, a control operation type 1302, and a vulnerability influence degree 1304 in a vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 described later). In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associates vulnerability type information with control operation information using vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805. This corresponds to a vulnerability concatenator performing second association processing for concatenating vulnerability analysis information with the first evaluation specific information.)
the vulnerability analysis information indicating a result of analysis of vulnerability of the information security of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057, 0084-0085]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101 (system information, identification information and the like of each of the administration target devices 101), and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm. In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901.”);
(A vulnerability detector and vulnerability detection processing unit that detect vulnerabilities possessed by the administrator target device and store the result in vulnerability detection result table 801.)
and generating and outputting second evaluation specification information by re-defining, (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0068, 0070, 0095, 0097]: “As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information and second information. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information. The threat-analysis result output unit 508 is a processing unit that transmits the threat analysis result derived by the threat analysis processing unit 506 and the influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507 to the client device 106 via the transmission/reception unit 501. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. In the present embodiment, the threat analysis server 105 stores, in the threat analysis result table 806, processing results from the threat analysis by the predetermined algorithm.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associate’s vulnerability information, threat information, and control operation information, and stores the result in threat analysis result table 806. It also teaches that output unit 508 transmit the threat analysis result. Under BRI, unit 506 and 508 correspond to the re-definer, and table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
based on the first association processing and the second association processing, the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090, 0093-0095, 0132]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. Newly generates a record, and sets a value of the relevant item in the set of control operations related to the vulnerability detection result information and the vulnerability (step S1909).”);
(Sugimoto teaches table 804 as the first evaluation specification information and table 806 as the generated result. Under BRI, the newly generated record in table 806 adds the missing control operation/evaluation specification and vulnerability identification information after the association processing.)
Sugimoto does not teach but Ping teaches:
wherein, when the vulnerability analysis information includes identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to a missing evaluation specification that is an evaluation specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information, the method further comprising: (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057]: “Checking whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on a predefined security requirement baseline. The computing device may check whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on the security requirement baseline by comparing the generated security requirements with the security requirement baseline.”);
(Ping teaches checking existing security requirements to determine whether a required security item is missing.)
re-defining the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information by adding the missing evaluation specification and the identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to the missing evaluation specification, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057-0058]: “Adding, in response to the presence of the missing security requirement, the missing security requirement to the generated security requirements. If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping teaches adding the missing security requirement and generating the corresponding security test specification from the updated requirements.)
to the first evaluation specification information that has undergone the first association processing and the second association processing. (see Ping, [¶¶0057-0058]: “If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping adds the missing security item to the existing security information before the resulting security test specification is generated.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugimoto’s threat analysis method, which associates vulnerability, threat, and control operation information, to incorporate Ping’s technique for identifying and adding missing security requirements and generating corresponding security test specifications. A person of ordinary skill would therefore have been motivated to apply Ping’s completeness checking technique to Sugimoto’s security analysis so that missing evaluation coverage associated with an identified vulnerability is added to the existing evaluation information. This would improve the completeness of Sugimoto’s security evaluation by reducing omissions in required security testing while retaining Sugimoto’s existing threat and vulnerability association processing.
As to claim 15, Sugimoto teaches:
An evaluation support method, executed by a computer, for supporting an evaluation of an evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0039, 0041, 0077]: ““The threat analysis system 10 is a computer system that analyzes a relationship between a vulnerability and a threat from a viewpoint of a business operator in addition to vulnerability information and information of a threat for each device caused by the vulnerability to enable threat analysis more suitable for a security requirement of a system. The administration target device 101 is a device that configures a system (threat analysis target system) administered by an administrator as a threat analysis target. Each of the administration target device 101, the vulnerability detector 103, the vulnerability information disclosing organization 104, and the threat analysis server 105 is configured by a computer 701.”);
the evaluation support method comprising: performing first association processing for concatenating at least part of threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0067, 0090, 0091]: “The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201.”);
(Sugimoto links control operation IDs with threat IDs. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first association processing between threat analysis information and first evaluation specification information.)
the threat analysis information indicating a result of analysis of a threat to information security of the evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0088-0089, 0067]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information. In FIG. 12 is a diagram showing an example of the control operation information table 804. In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201.”);
(Sugimoto teaches the threat analysis processing unit 506 and control operation information table 804, which includes a control operation ID and related threat ID. Under BRI, table 804 corresponds to the first evaluation specification information, and the relationship between the threat ID and control operation ID corresponds to first association processing for concatenating threat analysis information with first evaluation specification information.)
the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more evaluation specifications of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Control operation information table 804 including control operation IDs, control operation types, device IDs, threat IDs, and control operation names. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more specifications of the evaluation target device.)
generating and outputting second evaluation specification information by re-defining, based on the first association processing: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0068, 0070, 0095, 0097]: “As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information and second information. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information. The threat-analysis result output unit 508 is a processing unit that transmits the threat analysis result derived by the threat analysis processing unit 506 and the influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507 to the client device 106 via the transmission/reception unit 501. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. In the present embodiment, the threat analysis server 105 stores, in the threat analysis result table 806, processing results from the threat analysis by the predetermined algorithm.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associate’s vulnerability information, threat information, and control operation information, and stores the result in threat analysis result table 806. It also teaches that output unit 508 transmit the threat analysis result. Under BRI, unit 506 and 508 correspond to the re-definer, and table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0095, 0132]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. The threat analysis processing unit 506 searches the threat analysis result table 806, using, as a key, the pair of the device ID and the relevant vulnerability ID included in the vulnerability detection result, and if it is determined that there is no record related to the pair of the relevant device ID and vulnerability ID, newly generates a record, and sets a value of the relevant item in the set of control operations related to the vulnerability detection result information and the vulnerability (step S1909).”);
(Control operation information table 804 and threat analysis result table 806, which includes a control operation ID list generated after association with vulnerability and threat information. Under BRI, table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
Sugimoto does not teach but Ping teaches:
wherein, when the threat analysis information includes a countermeasure information against the threat corresponding to a missing evaluation specification that is an evaluation specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information, the method further comprising: (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057]: “Checking whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on a predefined security requirement baseline. The computing device may check whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on the security requirement baseline by comparing the generated security requirements with the security requirement baseline.”);
(Ping teaches checking existing security requirements to determine whether a required security item is missing.)
re-defining the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information by adding the missing evaluation specification and the countermeasure information against the threat corresponding to the missing evaluation specification, (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057-0058]: “Adding, in response to the presence of the missing security requirement, the missing security requirement to the generated security requirements. If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping teaches adding the missing security requirement and generating the corresponding security test specification from the updated requirements.)
to the first evaluation specification information that has undergone the first association processing. (see Ping, [¶¶0057-0058]: “If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping adds the missing security item to the existing security information before generating the resulting test specification.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugimoto’s threat analysis method, which associates threat and control operation information, to incorporate Ping’s technique for identifying and adding missing security requirements and generating corresponding security test specifications. A person of ordinary skill would therefore have been motivated to apply Ping’s completeness checking technique to Sugimoto’s threat analysis so that missing evaluation coverage corresponding to identified threat countermeasure information is added to the existing evaluation information. This would improve the completeness of Sugimoto’s security evaluation by reducing omissions in required security testing while retaining Sugimoto’s existing threat association processing.
As to claim 16, Sugimoto teaches:
An evaluation support method, executed by a computer, for supporting an evaluation of an evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0039, 0041, 0077]: ““The threat analysis system 10 is a computer system that analyzes a relationship between a vulnerability and a threat from a viewpoint of a business operator in addition to vulnerability information and information of a threat for each device caused by the vulnerability to enable threat analysis more suitable for a security requirement of a system. The administration target device 101 is a device that configures a system (threat analysis target system) administered by an administrator as a threat analysis target. Each of the administration target device 101, the vulnerability detector 103, the vulnerability information disclosing organization 104, and the threat analysis server 105 is configured by a computer 701.”);
the evaluation support method comprising: performing second association processing for concatenating at least part of vulnerability analysis information with first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0063, 0068, 0093-0094]: “The control unit 502 includes a vulnerability-detection result collecting unit 503, a vulnerability information collecting unit 504, a design information collecting unit 505, a threat analysis processing unit 506, an influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507, and a threat-analysis result output unit 508. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information in which the type of the vulnerability included in the device, the type of the control operation related to the device, and the vulnerability influence degree of the vulnerability on the control operation are associated with one another, the third information being stored in the storage unit (e.g., a vulnerability type 1301, a control operation type 1302, and a vulnerability influence degree 1304 in a vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 described later). In FIG. 13, the vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805 has the vulnerability type 1301, the control operation type 1302, a control operation point 1303, and the vulnerability influence degree 1304 as data items. The vulnerability type 1301 is a type of the vulnerability. The control operation type 1302 is a type of the control operation. In the example of FIG. 13, a relationship between the vulnerability and the control operation is managed for each type by a pair of the vulnerability type 1301 and the control operation type 1302.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associates vulnerability type information with control operation information using vulnerability/control operation correspondence table 805. This corresponds to a vulnerability concatenator performing second association processing for concatenating vulnerability analysis information with the first evaluation specific information.)
the vulnerability analysis information indicating a result of analysis of vulnerability of information security of the evaluation target device: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057, 0084-0085]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101 (system information, identification information and the like of each of the administration target devices 101), and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm. In FIG. 9, the vulnerability detection result table 801 has the device ID 901, the vulnerability ID 902, and other device information 903 as data items. The device ID 901 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the device. The vulnerability ID 902 is an ID of the vulnerability possessed by the device represented by the corresponding device ID 901.”);
(A vulnerability detector and vulnerability detection processing unit that detect vulnerabilities possessed by the administrator target device and store the result in vulnerability detection result table 801.)
the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more evaluation specifications of the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0092]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. The other control operation information 1206 is information regarding the control operation such as a control operation name.”);
(Control operation information table 804 including control operation IDs, control operation types, device IDs, threat IDs, and control operation names. Under BRI, this corresponds to the first evaluation specification information indicating one or more specifications of the evaluation target device.)
generating and outputting second evaluation specification information by re-defining, based on the first association processing: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0068, 0070, 0095, 0097]: “As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other, for example, on the basis of first information and second information. Moreover, for example, the threat analysis processing unit 506 further associates a control operation having a vulnerability influence degree of a predetermined value (e.g., a value larger than 0%), the vulnerability influence degree being corresponding to a type of the vulnerability included in the device, and a type of the control operation related to the device on the basis of third information. The threat-analysis result output unit 508 is a processing unit that transmits the threat analysis result derived by the threat analysis processing unit 506 and the influence-degree evaluation processing unit 507 to the client device 106 via the transmission/reception unit 501. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. In the present embodiment, the threat analysis server 105 stores, in the threat analysis result table 806, processing results from the threat analysis by the predetermined algorithm.”);
(The threat analysis processing unit 506 associate’s vulnerability information, threat information, and control operation information, and stores the result in threat analysis result table 806. It also teaches that output unit 508 transmit the threat analysis result. Under BRI, unit 506 and 508 correspond to the re-definer, and table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information: (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0090-0091, 0095, 0132]: “In FIG. 12, the control operation information table 804 has a control operation ID 1201, a threat ID 1202, a control operation type 1203, the start point device ID 1204, the end point device ID 1205, and other control operation information 1206 as data items. The control operation ID 1201 is an identifier uniquely assigned to the control operation (control instruction). The threat ID 1202 is an ID of the threat related to the corresponding control operation ID 1201. In FIG. 14, the threat analysis result table 806 has a device ID 1401, a vulnerability ID 1402, a vulnerability type 1403, a control operation ID list 1404, a control operation influence degree list 1405, a threat ID list 1406, and a threat influence degree list 1407, and system influence degree 1408 as data items. The threat analysis processing unit 506 searches the threat analysis result table 806, using, as a key, the pair of the device ID and the relevant vulnerability ID included in the vulnerability detection result, and if it is determined that there is no record related to the pair of the relevant device ID and vulnerability ID, newly generates a record, and sets a value of the relevant item in the set of control operations related to the vulnerability detection result information and the vulnerability (step S1909).”);
(Control operation information table 804 and threat analysis result table 806, which includes a control operation ID list generated after association with vulnerability and threat information. Under BRI, table 806 is a re-defined version of the control-operation/evaluation specifications indicated by table 804.)
Sugimoto does not teach but Ping teaches:
wherein, when the vulnerability analysis information includes identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to a missing evaluation specification that is an evaluation specification not indicated by the first evaluation specification information, the method further comprising: (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057]: “Checking whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on a predefined security requirement baseline. The computing device may check whether there is any missing security requirement in the generated security requirements based on the security requirement baseline by comparing the generated security requirements with the security requirement baseline.”);
(Ping teaches checking existing security requirements to determine whether a required security item is missing.)
re-defining the one or more evaluation specifications indicated by the first evaluation specification information by adding the missing evaluation specification and the identification information on the vulnerability corresponding to the missing evaluation specification (see Ping, [¶¶0012, 0057-0058]: “Adding, in response to the presence of the missing security requirement, the missing security requirement to the generated security requirements. If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping teaches adding the missing security requirement and generating the corresponding security test specification from the updated requirements.)
to the first evaluation specification information that has undergone the second association processing. (see Ping, [¶¶0057-0058]: “If the missing security requirement exists, the missing security requirement will be added to the generated security requirements. The computing device generates a security policy and a security test specification for the NF based on the generated security requirements.”);
(Ping adds the missing security item to the existing security information before generating the resulting test specification.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugimoto’s threat analysis method, which associates vulnerability and control operation information, to incorporate Ping’s technique for identifying and adding missing security requirements and generating corresponding security test specifications. A person of ordinary skill would therefore have been motivated to apply Ping’s completeness checking technique to Sugimoto’s vulnerability analysis so that missing evaluation coverage associated with an identified vulnerability is added to the existing evaluation information. This would improve the completeness of Sugimoto’s security evaluation by reducing omissions in required security testing while retaining Sugimoto’s existing vulnerability association processing.
As to claim 18, Sugimoto in view of Ping teaches:
wherein, when determination information indicates an unsatisfactory evaluation result for the evaluation specification, the processor revamps a countermeasure against the threat corresponding to the unsatisfactory evaluation result. (see Ping, [¶¶0103-0104]: “The test service provider TstServProv reports the security test result to the orchestration service provider OrServProv. According to the security test result, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers the control service provider ConServProv to activate the target NF or MnF if all the security tests pass. Otherwise, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers reconfiguration of security functions or termination of the target NF or MnF.”).
(Ping teaches that when the security test result is unsatisfactory, rather than passing, the system reconfigures the security functions. The reconfiguration corresponds to revamping the security countermeasure in response to the unsatisfactory evaluation result.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s system with Ping’s technique of reconfiguring security functions when a security test produces an unsatisfactory result. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that revising the applicable security countermeasure in response to a failed evaluation would allow the system to correct a security deficiency identified during testing. The combination would have improved the security evaluation by allowing the countermeasure corresponding to the failed evaluation to be updated based on the actual evaluation result.
As to claim 21, Sugimoto in view of Ping teaches:
wherein, when determination information indicates an unsatisfactory evaluation result for the evaluation specification, the method further comprising: revamping a countermeasure against the threat corresponding to the unsatisfactory evaluation result. (see Ping, [¶¶0103-0104]: “The test service provider TstServProv reports the security test result to the orchestration service provider OrServProv. According to the security test result, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers the control service provider ConServProv to activate the target NF or MnF if all the security tests pass. Otherwise, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers reconfiguration of security functions or termination of the target NF or MnF.”).
(Ping teaches that when the security test result is unsatisfactory, the system reconfigures the security functions, corresponding to revamping a security countermeasure in response to the unsatisfactory evaluation result.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s method with Ping’s technique of reconfiguring security functions when a security test produces an unsatisfactory result. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that revising the applicable security countermeasure in response to a failed evaluation would allow the method to correct a security deficiency identified during testing. The combination would have improved the security evaluation by allowing the countermeasure corresponding to the failed evaluation to be updated based on the actual evaluation result.
Claims 5, 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al, (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/002,9153 A1, hereinafter Sugimoto) in view of Ping et al, (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/023,9700 A1, hereinafter Ping), in view of Tracy et al, (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/004,2687 A1, hereinafter Tracy), in further view of Thrower et al, (U.S. Pat. No. 7,530,104 B1, hereinafter Thrower).
As to claim 5, Tracy in view of Thrower teaches:
wherein the processor further execute the program to feed back, to a threat analyzer and a vulnerability analyzer, evaluated specification information generated by adding determination information indicating a result of the evaluation of the evaluation target device to the second evaluation specification information, (see Tracy, [¶¶0124, 0126-0127]: “Test Procedure 1808, and Expected Result 1810. Result (which provides an indication of whether the test procedure has passed or failed). Also, Result field 2020 appears, which allows the user to enter the test result (e.g., pass or fail).”).
(see Thrower, [9:23- 25]; [9:35-38]: “Updating may be performed by sending output data and information, which may include output control and vulnerability data. The attack path/chain reaction analysis proceeds using the updated information. The updates may be saved as control or vulnerability data for later use in additional analyses.”).
(Tracy teaches associating the evaluation/test specification with the corresponding pass/fail determination result, and Thrower teaches using updated control and vulnerability information in subsequent security analysis. In the proposed combination, Tracy’s evaluated specification information, including the determination result, would be fed back for subsequent threat and vulnerability analysis.)
Sugimoto teaches:
the threat analyzer generates the threat analysis information by analyzing the threat to the evaluation target device; (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0067-0068]: “The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information.. As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other.”).
(Sugimoto’s threat analysis processing unit analyzes the threat associated with the administration target device and generates threat analysis information from that analysis.)
and the vulnerability analyzer generates the vulnerability analysis information by analyzing the vulnerability of the evaluation target device. (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101, and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm.”).
(Sugimoto teaches a threat analysis processing unit that analyzes whether a vulnerability of the target device is related to a threat and generates corresponding threat analysis information, and a vulnerability detection processing unit that detects vulnerabilities of the target device and outputs corresponding vulnerability information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s system, as modified by Ping, to incorporate Tracy’s technique of associating an evaluation/test specification with its corresponding determination result and Thrower’s technique of using updated control and vulnerability information in subsequent security analysis. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that feeding the evaluation result back into the threat and vulnerability analysis would allow the system to consider the actual outcome of the performed evaluation rather than relying only on previously stored security information. The combination would have provided a more complete and accurate security evaluation by allowing the threat and vulnerability analysis to be updated based on the determination result associated with the corresponding evaluation specification.
As to claim 9, Tracy in view of Thrower teaches:
wherein the processor further executes the program to feed back, to a threat analyzer, evaluated specification information generated by adding determination information indicating a result of the evaluation of the evaluation target device to the second evaluation specification information, (see Tracy, [¶¶0124, 0126-0127]: “Test Procedure 1808, and Expected Result 1810. Result (which provides an indication of whether the test procedure has passed or failed). Also, Result field 2020 appears, which allows the user to enter the test result (e.g., pass or fail).”).
(see Thrower, [9:23- 25]; [9:35-38]: “Updating may be performed by sending output data and information, which may include output control and vulnerability data. The attack path/chain reaction analysis proceeds using the updated information. The updates may be saved as control or vulnerability data for later use in additional analyses.”).
(Tracy teaches associating a test/evaluation specification, including the test procedure and expected result, with determination information indicating whether that test passed or failed. Thrower teaches using updated control and vulnerability information in later security analysis. In the proposed combination, Tracy’s evaluation result associated with the corresponding evaluation specification would be fed back into Sugimoto’s threat analysis processing for subsequent analysis.)
Sugimoto teaches:
and the threat analyzer generates the threat analysis information by performing threat analysis on the evaluation target device. (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0067-0068]: “The threat analysis processing unit 506 is a processing unit that uses the information on the database 107 to analyze, for example, whether the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101 is related to a threat from a viewpoint of the business operator defined in the design information.. As an additional note, the threat analysis processing unit 506 associates the vulnerability included in the device and the threat in the threat analysis target system with each other.”).
(Sugimoto’s threat analysis processing unit performs threat analysis on the administration target device and generates corresponding threat-analysis information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s system, as modified by Ping, to incorporate Tracy’s technique of associating an evaluation/test specification with its corresponding determination result and Thrower’s technique of using updated control and vulnerability information in subsequent security analysis. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that feeding the evaluation result back into the threat analysis would allow the system to consider the actual outcome of the performed evaluation rather than relying only on previously stored security information. The combination would have provided a more complete and accurate security evaluation by allowing the threat analysis to be updated based on the determination result associated with the corresponding evaluation specification.
As to claim 13, Tracy in view of Thrower teaches:
wherein the processor further executes the program to feed back to a vulnerability analyzer, evaluated specification information generated by adding determination information indicating a result of the evaluation of the evaluation target device to the second evaluation specification information, (see Tracy, [¶¶0124, 0126-0127]: “Test Procedure 1808, and Expected Result 1810. Result (which provides an indication of whether the test procedure has passed or failed). Also, Result field 2020 appears, which allows the user to enter the test result (e.g., pass or fail).”).
(see Thrower, [9:23- 25]; [9:35-38]: “Updating may be performed by sending output data and information, which may include output control and vulnerability data. The attack path/chain reaction analysis proceeds using the updated information. The updates may be saved as control or vulnerability data for later use in additional analyses.”).
(Tracy teaches associating a test/evaluation specification, including the test procedure and expected result, with determination information indicating whether that test passed or failed. Thrower teaches using updated control and vulnerability information in later security analysis. In the proposed combination, Tracy’s evaluation result associated with the corresponding evaluation specification would be fed back into Sugimoto’s vulnerability analysis processing for subsequent analysis.)
Sugimoto teaches:
and the vulnerability analyzer generates the vulnerability analysis information by performing vulnerability analysis on the evaluation target device. (see Sugimoto, [¶¶0042, 0057]: “The vulnerability detector 103 is a device that collects information about the target system of the threat analysis, that is, the administration target device 101, and detects the vulnerability possessed by the administration target device 101. The vulnerability detection processing unit 304 is a processing unit that detects a vulnerability possessed by the relevant device on the basis of a predetermined algorithm.”).
(Sugimoto’s vulnerability detection processing unit performs vulnerability analysis on the administration target device and generates corresponding vulnerability analysis information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s system, as modified by Ping, to incorporate Tracy’s technique of associating an evaluation/test specification with its corresponding determination result and Thrower’s technique of using updated control and vulnerability information in subsequent security analysis. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that feeding the evaluation result back into the vulnerability analysis would allow the system to consider the actual outcome of the performed evaluation rather than relying only on previously stored security information. The combination would have provided a more complete and accurate security evaluation by allowing the vulnerability analysis to be updated based on the determination result associated with the corresponding evaluation specification.
Claims 17, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al, (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/002,9153 A1, hereinafter Sugimoto) in view of Ping et al, (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/023,9700 A1, hereinafter Ping), in further view of Thrower et al, (U.S. Pat. No. 7,530,104 B1, hereinafter Thrower)
As to claim 17, Ping in view of Thrower teaches:
wherein, when determination information indicates an unsatisfactory evaluation result for the evaluation specification, the processor revamps a countermeasure against a threat corresponding to the unsatisfactory evaluation result, (see Ping, [¶¶0103-0104]: “The test service provider TstServProv reports the security test result to the orchestration service provider OrServProv. According to the security test result, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers the control service provider ConServProv to activate the target NF or MnF if all the security tests pass. Otherwise, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers reconfiguration of security functions or termination of the target NF or MnF.”).
(Ping teaches that when the security test result is unsatisfactory, the system reconfigures the security functions, corresponding to revamping a security countermeasure in response to the unsatisfactory evaluation result.)
and modifies, based on the determination information, a relevant/non-relevant determination indicating whether a vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device. (see Thrower, [9:4-5]; [9:23-38]: “Results generated from an analysis of a threat or a threat agent may necessitate updates. Updating may be performed by sending output data and information, which may include output control and vulnerability data. The updates may be saved as control or vulnerability data for later use in additional analyses.”).
(Thrower teaches modifying vulnerability information based on the result of the security analysis and using the updated vulnerability information in subsequent analysis. In the proposed combination, the vulnerability determination in Sugimoto would be modified based on Ping’s evaluation result to reflect whether the vulnerability remains relevant to the evaluation target device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s system, as modified by Ping, to incorporate Thrower’s technique of updating vulnerability information based on security analysis results. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that, when an evaluation produced an unsatisfactory result, updating both the applicable security countermeasure and the corresponding vulnerability information would allow the system to account for the actual outcome of the evaluation. The combination would have provided a more complete and accurate security analysis by updating the countermeasure and vulnerability determination based on the evaluation result.
As to claim 19, Thrower teaches:
wherein the processor modifies, based on determination information indicating a result of an evaluation of the evaluation target device, a relevant/non-relevant determination indicating whether a vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device. (see Thrower, [9:4-5]; [9:23-38]: “Results generated from an analysis of a threat or a threat agent may necessitate updates. Updating may be performed by sending output data and information, which may include output control and vulnerability data. The updates may be saved as control or vulnerability data for later use in additional analyses.”).
(Thrower teaches updating vulnerability information based on analysis results and using the updated information in later analysis. In the proposed combination, Sugimoto’s vulnerability determination would be updated based on the evaluation result to reflect whether the vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s system, as modified by Ping, to incorporate Thrower’s technique of updating vulnerability information based on security analysis results. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that updating the vulnerability determination based on the actual evaluation result would allow the system to more accurately reflect whether the vulnerability remains relevant to the evaluation target device. The combination would have provided a more complete and accurate vulnerability analysis by modifying the relevant/non relevant determination based on the evaluation result.
As to claim 20, Ping in view of Thrower teaches:
wherein, when determination information indicates an unsatisfactory evaluation result for the evaluation specification, the method further comprising: revamping a countermeasure against a threat corresponding to the unsatisfactory evaluation result; (see Ping, [¶¶0103-0104]: “The test service provider TstServProv reports the security test result to the orchestration service provider OrServProv. According to the security test result, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers the control service provider ConServProv to activate the target NF or MnF if all the security tests pass. Otherwise, the orchestration service provider OrServProv triggers reconfiguration of security functions or termination of the target NF or MnF.”).
(Ping teaches that when the security test result is unsatisfactory, the system reconfigures the security functions, corresponding to revamping a security countermeasure in response to the unsatisfactory evaluation result.)
and modifying, based on the determination information, a relevant/non-relevant determination indicating whether a vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device. (see Thrower, [9:4-5]; [9:23-38]: “Results generated from an analysis of a threat or a threat agent may necessitate updates. Updating may be performed by sending output data and information, which may include output control and vulnerability data. The updates may be saved as control or vulnerability data for later use in additional analyses.”).
(Thrower teaches modifying vulnerability information based on the result of security analysis and using the updated vulnerability information in subsequent analysis. In the proposed combination, the vulnerability determination in Sugimoto would be modified based on Ping’s evaluation result to reflect whether the vulnerability remains relevant to the evaluation target device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s method, as modified by Ping, to incorporate Thrower’s technique of updating vulnerability information based on security analysis results. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that, when an evaluation produced an unsatisfactory result, updating both the applicable security countermeasure and the corresponding vulnerability information would allow the method to account for the actual outcome of the evaluation. The combination would have provided a more complete and accurate security analysis by updating the countermeasure and vulnerability determination based on the evaluation result.
As to claim 22, Thrower teaches:
modifying, based on determination information indicating a result of an evaluation of the evaluation target device, a relevant/non-relevant determination indicating whether a vulnerability is relevant to the evaluation target device. (see Thrower, [9:4-5]; [9:23-38]: “Results generated from an analysis of a threat or a threat agent may necessitate updates. Updating may be performed by sending output data and information, which may include output control and vulnerability data. The updates may be saved as control or vulnerability data for later use in additional analyses.”).
(Thrower teaches updating vulnerability information based on the result of the security analysis. In the proposed combination, Sugimoto’s vulnerability determination would be updated based on the evaluation result to indicate whether the vulnerability is relevant or non-relevant to the evaluation target device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Sugimoto’s method, as modified by Ping, to incorporate Thrower’s technique of updating vulnerability information based on security-analysis results. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that updating the vulnerability determination based on the actual evaluation result would allow the method to more accurately reflect whether the vulnerability remains relevant to the evaluation target device. The combination would have provided a more complete and accurate vulnerability analysis by modifying the relevant/non-relevant determination based on the evaluation result.
Conclusion
/ARHAM NMN AHMED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437