DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement, filed July 22, 2025, was received and entered into the record. However, it is impractical for the examiner to review the references thoroughly with the number of references cited in this case. By initializing each of the cited references on the accompanying 1449 forms, the examiner is merely acknowledging the submission of the cited references and indicating that only a cursory review has been made of the cited references.
MPEP § 2004.13 states: It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aft 'd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (Sth Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Claim Objections
Claim 14 recites “wire braided mesh material” twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchand et al. (US 2011/0152993, which is cited in the IDS filed on July 22, 2025, hereinafter “Marchand”).
Referring to claim 1, Marchand discloses an occlusion device (Figs. 51A-51B, paras. [0238]-[0240]) comprising:
(a) a Fig. 51A is reproduced and annotated below) having an inner and outer diameter, a proximal end, and a distal end; and
(b) a resilient mesh body 312 attached within the marker band, wherein the resilient mesh body has a length y (see annotated figure below), wherein the resilient mesh body comprises a single layer of mesh that is folded over onto itself to form a double layer of mesh (see annotated figure below), and
(c) a bolus of additional resilient mesh material 324 (see annotated figure below) of a length x arranged within the resilient mesh body, wherein y is greater than x,
wherein the resilient mesh body 312 extends distally from the para. [0238]), and
wherein the resilient mesh body 312 having a length y has two ends that are coupled to the see annotated figure below).
Marchand discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for disclosing the band 330 is a marker band. Examiner notes that Marchand discloses the distal band 332 or hub 332 is a marker (para. [0240]: “A distal hub or marker 332”). Attention is directed to paragraph [0203], Marchand discloses “Markers, such as radiopaque markers, on the device 10 or delivery system 112 may be used in conjunction with external imaging equipment (e.g. x-ray) to facilitate positioning of the device or delivery system during deployment. Once the device is properly positioned, the device 10 may be detached by the user.” Examiner contends that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the term “markers” means that more than one markers can be positioned on the device to allow the surgeon to identify the distal and proximal ends of the device to ensure that the entire device is located inside the aneurysm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to make the proximal band 330 as a marker band to allow the surgeon to identify the distal and proximal ends of the device to ensure that the entire device is located inside the aneurysm.
Referring to claim 3, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 1, wherein the resilient mesh body 312 has a first predetermined mesh density and the bolus of additional resilient mesh material has a second predetermined mesh density (paras [0017] and [0030]).
Referring to claim 4, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 3, wherein the second predetermined mesh density is higher than the first predetermined mesh density. Marchand fails to disclose wherein the additional resilient mesh material 324 is an inner double layer of mesh within the double layer of mesh of the resilient mesh body. Examiner notes that Marchand discloses the additional resilient mesh 324 has higher mesh density than the resilient mesh body 312 (paras [0017] and [0030]). In paragraph [0027] Marchand discloses “In some embodiments, the permeable shell may include a thin metallic film material. The thin film metal may be fabricated by sputter deposition and may be formed in multiple layers. The thin film may be a nickel-titanium alloy also known as nitinol.” In paragraph [0183] Marchand discloses “Device embodiments and components thereof may include metals, polymers, biologic materials and composites thereof. Suitable metals include zirconium-based alloys, cobalt-chrome alloys, nickel-titanium alloys, platinum, tantalum, stainless steel, titanium, gold, and tungsten. Potentially suitable polymers include but are not limited to acrylics, silk, silicones, polyvinyl alcohol, polypropylene, polyvinyl alcohol, polyesters (e.g. polyethylene terephthalate or PET), PolyEtherEther Ketone (PEEK), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate urethane (PCU) and polyurethane (PU).” In paragraph [0240] Marchand further discloses “In particular, the mesh or woven structure of the shell 312 and inner structure 302 may have the same or similar filament configuration, pore size, radial stiffness, collapsed profile etc. as device 10 discussed above as well as the other embodiments. Device 310 may also be manufactured or deployed by the same or similar methods as those discussed above with respect to the manufacture and deployment of device 10 as well as the deployment methods discussed below.” Based on the disclosures above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to use same manufacturing process with the resilient mesh body 312 to made the additional resilient mesh material 324 with a double layer of mesh from nickel-titanium alloy or a double layer of mesh from same polymeric materials.
Referring to claim 5, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 1, wherein the resilient mesh body has an open mesh density between 40 and 80 picks per inch (para [0181]; para [0240]: “In particular, the mesh or woven structure of the shell 312 and inner structure 302 may have the same or similar filament configuration, pore size, radial stiffness, collapsed profile etc. as device 10 discussed above as well as the other embodiments. Device 310 may also be manufactured or deployed by the same or similar methods as those discussed above with respect to the manufacture and deployment of device 10 as well as the deployment methods discussed below.”)
Referring to claim 6, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 1, wherein the resilient mesh body and the additional resilient mesh material are made of dissimilar metals (in paragraph [0207] Marchand discloses “The elastic resiliency of the permeable shell 40 and filaments 14 thereof may be achieved by an appropriate selection of materials, such as superelastic alloys, including nickel titanium alloys, or any other suitable material for some embodiments.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the resilient mesh body and the additional resilient mesh material of dissimilar metals since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Referring to claim 7, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 1, wherein the resilient mesh body 312 is formed of a polymer material (In paragraph [0183] Marchand discloses “Device embodiments and components thereof may include metals, polymers, biologic materials and composites thereof. Suitable metals include zirconium-based alloys, cobalt-chrome alloys, nickel-titanium alloys, platinum, tantalum, stainless steel, titanium, gold, and tungsten. Potentially suitable polymers include but are not limited to acrylics, silk, silicones, polyvinyl alcohol, polypropylene, polyvinyl alcohol, polyesters (e.g. polyethylene terephthalate or PET), PolyEtherEther Ketone (PEEK), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate urethane (PCU) and polyurethane (PU).” In paragraph [0240] Marchand further discloses “In particular, the mesh or woven structure of the shell 312 and inner structure 302 may have the same or similar filament configuration, pore size, radial stiffness, collapsed profile etc. as device 10 discussed above as well as the other embodiments. Device 310 may also be manufactured or deployed by the same or similar methods as those discussed above with respect to the manufacture and deployment of device 10 as well as the deployment methods discussed below.”).
Referring to claim 8, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 7, wherein the additional resilient mesh material 324 is formed of a polymer. (In paragraph [0183] Marchand discloses “Device embodiments and components thereof may include metals, polymers, biologic materials and composites thereof. Suitable metals include zirconium-based alloys, cobalt-chrome alloys, nickel-titanium alloys, platinum, tantalum, stainless steel, titanium, gold, and tungsten. Potentially suitable polymers include but are not limited to acrylics, silk, silicones, polyvinyl alcohol, polypropylene, polyvinyl alcohol, polyesters (e.g. polyethylene terephthalate or PET), PolyEtherEther Ketone (PEEK), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate urethane (PCU) and polyurethane (PU).” In paragraph [0240] Marchand further discloses “In particular, the mesh or woven structure of the shell 312 and inner structure 302 may have the same or similar filament configuration, pore size, radial stiffness, collapsed profile etc. as device 10 discussed above as well as the other embodiments. Device 310 may also be manufactured or deployed by the same or similar methods as those discussed above with respect to the manufacture and deployment of device 10 as well as the deployment methods discussed below.” In paragraph [0253] Marchand discloses “The inner structure filaments may be metals, polymers or composites thereof.”).
Referring to claim 9, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 8, wherein the resilient mesh body 312 and the additional resilient mesh material 324 are formed of the same polymer material (In paragraph [0183] Marchand discloses “Device embodiments and components thereof may include metals, polymers, biologic materials and composites thereof. Suitable metals include zirconium-based alloys, cobalt-chrome alloys, nickel-titanium alloys, platinum, tantalum, stainless steel, titanium, gold, and tungsten. Potentially suitable polymers include but are not limited to acrylics, silk, silicones, polyvinyl alcohol, polypropylene, polyvinyl alcohol, polyesters (e.g. polyethylene terephthalate or PET), PolyEtherEther Ketone (PEEK), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate urethane (PCU) and polyurethane (PU).” In paragraph [0240] Marchand further discloses “In particular, the mesh or woven structure of the shell 312 and inner structure 302 may have the same or similar filament configuration, pore size, radial stiffness, collapsed profile etc. as device 10 discussed above as well as the other embodiments. Device 310 may also be manufactured or deployed by the same or similar methods as those discussed above with respect to the manufacture and deployment of device 10 as well as the deployment methods discussed below.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have made the resilient mesh body and the additional resilient mesh material are made of same polymeric materials since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Referring to claim 10, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to according to claim 1, wherein the resilient mesh body 312 is formed of nitinol (In paragraph [0027] Marchand discloses “In some embodiments, the permeable shell may include a thin metallic film material. The thin film metal may be fabricated by sputter deposition and may be formed in multiple layers. The thin film may be a nickel-titanium alloy also known as nitinol.”)
Referring to claim 11, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the additional resilient mesh material 324 is formed of nitinol (In paragraph [0027] Marchand discloses “In some embodiments, the permeable shell may include a thin metallic film material. The thin film metal may be fabricated by sputter deposition and may be formed in multiple layers. The thin film may be a nickel-titanium alloy also known as nitinol.”)
Referring to claim 12, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 11, wherein the nitinol comprises from 36 to 144 NiTi strand braided configuration. ([0163]: “Some device embodiments 10 having a braided or woven filamentary structure may be formed using about 10 filaments to about 300 filaments 14, more specifically, about 10 filaments to about 100 filaments 14, and even more specifically, about 60 filaments to about 80 filaments 14.” In paragraph [0027] Marchand discloses “In some embodiments, the permeable shell may include a thin metallic film material. The thin film metal may be fabricated by sputter deposition and may be formed in multiple layers. The thin film may be a nickel-titanium alloy also known as nitinol.”).
Referring to claim 13, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 1, wherein an open area in the resilient mesh body 312 is greater than 40% of a mesh area of the resilient mesh body (in paragraph [0118] Marchand discloses “For some or all of the embodiments of devices for treatment of a patient's vasculature discussed herein, the permeable shell may be configured to allow some initial perfusion of blood through the permeable shell. The porosity of the permeable shell may be configured to sufficiently isolate the vascular defect so as to promote healing and isolation of the defect, but allow sufficient initial flow through the permeable shell so as to reduce or otherwise minimize the mechanical force exerted on the membrane the dynamic flow of blood or other fluids within the vasculature against the device.” Based on this disclosure it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have performed routine experimentation to have made the open area of the resilient mesh body 312 greater 40% of a mesh area of the resilient mesh body since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum value or workable ranges involves only routine experimentation in the art (In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977)(MPEP 2145.05 II(B)) and (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233)).
Referring to claim 14, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 1, wherein the marker band comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of plastically deformable and shape-memory resilient mesh material, wire braided mesh material, wire braided mesh material, laser cut mesh material (in paragraph [0183] Marchand discloses components can be made from suitable metals include zirconium-based alloys, cobalt-chrome alloys, nickel-titanium alloys, platinum, tantalum, stainless steel, titanium, gold, and tungsten. Examiner notes that nickel-titanium alloys, platinum, titanium and gold are plastically deformable materials and excellent radiopaque materials).
Referring to claim 15, Marchand discloses the occlusion device according to claim 1, wherein the marker band 330 is a rigid member in a shape of a ring (see annotated figure above).
Referring to claim 16, Marchand discloses a method of treating an aneurysm or a left atrial appendage, comprising: delivering an occlusion device 310 to an aneurysm (Figs. 17 and 23-26 and entire specification) or a left atrial appendage, wherein the occlusion device comprises:
(a) a marker band having an inner and outer diameter, a proximal end, and a distal end (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
(b) a resilient mesh body attached within the marker band, wherein the resilient mesh body has a length y, wherein the resilient mesh body comprises a single layer of mesh that is folded over onto itself to form a double layer of mesh (see rejection of claim 1 above), and
(c) a bolus of additional resilient mesh material of a length x arranged within the resilient mesh body, wherein y is greater than x, wherein the resilient mesh body extends distally from the marker band and wherein the resilient mesh body has a first delivery shape and a second expandable deployed shape (see rejection of claim 1 above), and wherein the resilient mesh body having a length y has two ends that are coupled to the marker band and the bolus of additional resilient mesh material having a length x has two ends that are coupled to the marker band (see rejection of claim 1 above); and deploying the occlusion device in the aneurysm or the left atrial appendage.
Referring to claim 17, Marchand discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the resilient mesh body has a first predetermined mesh density and the bolus of additional resilient mesh material has a second predetermined mesh density, and wherein the second predetermined mesh density is higher than the first predetermined mesh density (see rejection of claims 3-4 above because claim 17 includes all limitations in claims 3-4).
Referring to claim 18, Marchand discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the outer layer 312 is double layer mesh. Marchand fails to disclose wherein the additional resilient mesh material 324 is an inner double layer of mesh within the double layer of mesh of the resilient mesh body. Examiner notes that Marchand discloses the additional resilient mesh 324 has higher mesh density than the resilient mesh body 312 (paras [0017] and [0030]). In paragraph [0027] Marchand discloses “In some embodiments, the permeable shell may include a thin metallic film material. The thin film metal may be fabricated by sputter deposition and may be formed in multiple layers. The thin film may be a nickel-titanium alloy also known as nitinol.” In paragraph [0183] Marchand discloses “Device embodiments and components thereof may include metals, polymers, biologic materials and composites thereof. Suitable metals include zirconium-based alloys, cobalt-chrome alloys, nickel-titanium alloys, platinum, tantalum, stainless steel, titanium, gold, and tungsten. Potentially suitable polymers include but are not limited to acrylics, silk, silicones, polyvinyl alcohol, polypropylene, polyvinyl alcohol, polyesters (e.g. polyethylene terephthalate or PET), PolyEtherEther Ketone (PEEK), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate urethane (PCU) and polyurethane (PU).” In paragraph [0240] Marchand further discloses “In particular, the mesh or woven structure of the shell 312 and inner structure 302 may have the same or similar filament configuration, pore size, radial stiffness, collapsed profile etc. as device 10 discussed above as well as the other embodiments. Device 310 may also be manufactured or deployed by the same or similar methods as those discussed above with respect to the manufacture and deployment of device 10 as well as the deployment methods discussed below.” Based on the disclosures above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to use same manufacturing process with the resilient mesh body 312 to made the additional resilient mesh material 324 with a double layer of mesh from nickel-titanium alloy or a double layer of mesh from same polymeric materials.
Referring to claim 19, Marchand discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the resilient mesh body 312 and the bolus of additional resilient mesh material 324 are made of dissimilar metals (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Referring to claim 20, Marchand discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the resilient mesh body has an open mesh density, and wherein the open mesh density is between 40 picks per inch and 80 picks per inch (see rejection of claim 5 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 1 and 16, the difference between figure 1 of the present application and figure 51A of Marchand reference lies in the fact that the distal end of resilient mesh body (20) on the right side is not connected to the distal end of resilient mesh body (20) on the left side while the distal ends of right and left resilient mesh bodies 312 of Marchand are connected/coupled by the band 332.
Conclusion
/TUAN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771