DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 03/10/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of claim 9 wherein “…the brace is wider than a distance between the pair of upper interfaces such that the brace is compressed and provides an additional friction force against an edge of a modular rail…” and the recitation of claim 10 wherein “…the pair of lower interface protrusions pass over an edge of a modular rail,…” render the claims indefinite because the recitations are creating ambiguity as to whether the Applicant intends to positively claim the modular rail or whether the modular rail is functionally recited. Assuming the modular rail is functionally recited, the Examiner suggests the use of the term “configured”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the integral cable" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Fortsch (U.S. Design Pat. No. 280597).
Regarding claim 1, Fortsch teaches a wire management clip comprising: a body including:
an upper portion including:
a securing portion (F1; see annotated figure below) extending in a first direction, and a pair of upper interfaces (F2; see annotated figure below) protruding from opposite ends from the securing portion, respectively, and forming an H-shape with the securing portion, the pair of upper interfaces further protruding arcuately at respective distal ends of the pair of upper interfaces, a lower portion (F3; see annotated figure below) including a pair of flexible [to some extent] lower interface protrusions (F4; see annotated figure below) that extend respectively downward from an underside of the pair of upper interfaces of the upper portion, and a brace (F5; see annotated figure below) formed to connect between the pair of flexible lower interface protrusions and disposed a distance away from the securing portion of the upper portion, the distance between the securing portion and the brace providing a through passage (F6; see annotated figure below). Fortsch teaches the invention of claim 1 as noted above, assuming arguendo Fortsch does not explicitly teach the flexibility of the lower interface protrusions, the Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that all materials carry flexibility at least to some extent.
Regarding claim 2, Fortsch teaches the body is symmetrical about a first plane (one of perpendicular and horizontal plane) and a second plane (other of one of perpendicular and horizontal plane), the second plane extending perpendicular to the first plane.
Regarding claim 3, Fortsch teaches further comprising a middle interface portion (F7 see annotated figure above) that extends between the pair of upper interfaces and the pair of lower interface protrusions.
Regarding claim 4, Fortsch teaches when in use, the middle interface portion (F7) cable of contacting and enclosingly engageing an edge of a modular rail [capable].
Regarding claim 6, Fortsch teaches a securing device (F8) configured to secure wires to the body, wherein the securing device includes one of a cable tie interface, hook-and-loop fastener, twist tie, or magnetic clasps.
Regarding claim 7, Fortsch teaches the through passage (F6) is configured to accommodate the securing devices.
Regarding claim 8, Fortsch teaches the securing device (F8) is positioned with the body such that, when the wire management clip is implemented on a rail, the securing device is aligned to secure wire that extends perpendicular to a direction of extension of a length dimension of a rail [capable].
Regarding claim 9, Fortsch teaches the brace (F5) is wider than a distance between the pair of upper interfaces (F2), such that the brace is compressed and provides an additional frictional force against an edge of a modular rail and a middle interface portion [capable].
Regarding claim 10, Fortsch teaches wherein the pair of lower interface protrusions (F4) pass over an edge of a modular rail, such that the edge engages a middle interface portion between [capable].
Regarding claim 11, Fortsch teaches an integral cable tie (F8) connected to an end of the wire management clip.
Regarding claim 12, Fortsch teaches first locking surface (head portion of F8 receiving tail end of F8) that is complementarily shaped to a second locking surface (tail of F8) on the securing portion.
Regarding claim 17, Fortsch teaches a wire management clip comprising:
a body including: a securing portion (F1; see annotated figure above) extending in a first direction, a pair of upper interfaces (F2; see annotated figure above) protruding from opposite ends from the securing portion, respectively, and forming an H-shape with the securing portion, the pair of upper interfaces further protruding arcuately at respective distal ends of the pair of upper interfaces, a pair of flexible lower interface protrusions (F4; see annotated figure above) that extend respectively downward from an underside of the pair of upper interfaces, and a brace (F5; see annotated figure above) formed to connect between the pair of flexible lower interface protrusions and disposed a distance away from the securing portion, the distance between the securing portion and the brace providing a through passage (F6; see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 18, Fortsch teaches a middle interface portion (F7) that extends between the pair of upper interfaces and the pair of lower interface protrusions.
Regarding claim 19, Fortsch teaches the securing portion (F8) is a cable tie interface, hook-and-loop fastener, twist tie, magnetic clasps, or other releasable or non-releasable securing interfaces.
Regarding claim 20, Fortsch teaches an integral cable tie (F8) connected to a first end of the wire management clip, wherein the integral cable further includes a first locking surface (head portion of F8) that is complementarily shaped to a second locking surface on the securing portion (tail portion of F8).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortsch (U.S. Design Pat. No. 280597) in view of Bell (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20200109800 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Fortsch teaches each of the pair of lower interface protrusions. However, Fortsch is silent to disclose the lower interface protrusions have a tapered end that tapers downwardly and inwardly toward a centerline between the pair of the lower interface protrusions. Bell teaches a tapered end (Bell; 27) that tapers downwardly and inwardly toward a centerline between the pair of the lower interface protrusions.
Fortsch and Bell are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Fortsch having tapered ends. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate grip during the retention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631