DETAILED ACTION
This office correspondence is in response to the application number 19/075420 filed on March 10, 2025.
Preliminary Amendment
This applicant filed a preliminary amendment on May 20, 2025 which has been accepted.
Claims 1 is cancelled.
Claims 2 – 21 are added.
Claims 2 – 21 are rejected.
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner's Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
Priority
This application is a continuation of prior filed application No. 17/526841 (now U.S. Patent 12,261,810) under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c). Co-pendency between the current application and the prior application is required. Since the applications were co-pending at the time of the instant application’s file date, the applicant is entitled to the benefit claim to the prior-filed application, which was November 15, 2021. Therein the instant application is entitled to a priority date of 11/15/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/20/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on March 10.2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 2 – 7 and 14 – 21 are rejected on the ground of non-provisional non-statutory anticipatory-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 8 and 12 – 15 of U.S. Patent 12,261,810. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patently distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to the same invention. This is a non-provisional non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have in fact been patented.
In regard to claim 2:
Application 19/075420
U.S. Patent 12,261,810
A first device, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to:
12. A mobile device, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the mobile device to:
establish a connection with a second device, separate from the first device, that comprises a set of cameras;
establish, by the mobile device, a connection with a vehicle that comprises a set of cameras, the mobile device being separate from the vehicle; activate, via the mobile device, an application installed at the mobile device;
transmit, to a third device, separate from the first device and the second device, an indication of one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device that are accessible by the first device;
transmit, from the mobile device to a communication device different than the mobile device and separate from the vehicle, and via the application installed at the mobile device, an indication of one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the vehicle that are accessible by the mobile device;
receive, from the third device, a selection of a camera of the indicated one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device;
receive, at the mobile device from the communication device via the application installed at the mobile device, a selection of a camera of the indicated one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the vehicle;
receive a set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device based at least in part on the received selection from the third device
receive, at the mobile device, livestreamed video from the selected camera of the vehicle based at least in part on the received selection from the communication device;
establish a communication session between the first device and the third device; and
establish, by the application installed at the mobile device, a communication session between the mobile device and the communication device; and
transmit, to the third device, the set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device based at least in part on establishing the communication session.
transmit, from the mobile device to the communication device via the application installed at the mobile device, the livestreamed video from the selected camera of the vehicle based at least in part on establishing the communication session.
It is clear that all of the elements of the instant application 19/075420 (herein ‘420) claim 2 are to be found in U.S. Patent 12,261,810 (herein ‘810) claims 12 (as the instant application ‘420 claim 2 fully encompasses Patent ‘810 claims 12). The difference between ‘420 claim 2 and ‘810 claim 12 lies in the fact that the ‘810 claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 12 of the 810 patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of ‘420 claim 2. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the ‘420 claim 2 is anticipated by claims 12 of ‘810, it is not patently distinct from ‘810 claims 12 .
In regard to claim 3, see claim 13 of ‘810.
In regard to claim 4, see claim 15 of ‘810
In regard to claim 5, see claim 14 of ‘810
In regard to claim 6, see claim 16 of ‘810
In regard to claim 7, see claim 16 of ‘810
In regard to claim 14:
Application 19/075420
U.S. Patent 12,261,810
14. A method at a first device, comprising:
1. A method at a mobile device, comprising:
establishing a connection with a second device, separate from the first device, that comprises a set of cameras;
establishing, by the mobile device, a connection with a vehicle that comprises a set of cameras, the mobile device being separate from the vehicle;
activating, via the mobile device, an application installed at the mobile device;
transmitting, to a third device, separate from the first device and the second device, an indication of one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device that are accessible by the first device;
transmitting, from the mobile device to a communication device different from the mobile device and separate from the vehicle, and via the application installed at the mobile device, an indication of one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the vehicle that are accessible by the mobile device;
receiving, from the third device, a selection of a camera of the indicated one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device;
receiving, at the mobile device from the communication device via the application installed at the mobile device, a selection of a camera of the indicated one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the vehicle;
receiving a set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device based at least in part on the received selection from the third device;
receiving, at the mobile device, livestreamed video from the selected camera of the vehicle based at least in part on the received selection from the communication device;
establishing a communication session between the first device and the third device; and
establishing, by the application installed at the mobile device, a communication session between the mobile device and the communication device; and
transmitting, to the third device, the set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device based at least in part on establishing the communication session.
transmitting, from the mobile device to the communication device via the application installed at the mobile device, the livestreamed video from the selected camera of the vehicle based at least in part on establishing the communication session.
It is clear that all of the elements of the instant application 19/075420 (herein ‘420) claim 14 are to be found in U.S. Patent 12,261,810 (herein ‘810) claims 1 (as the instant application ‘420 claim 14 fully encompasses Patent ‘810 claims 1). The difference between ‘420 claim 14 and ‘810 claim 1 lies in the fact that the ‘810 claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1 of the 810 patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of ‘420 claim 14. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the ‘420 claim 14 is anticipated by claims 1 of ‘810, it is not patently distinct from ‘810 claims 1 .
In regard to claim 15, see claim 2 of ‘810.
In regard to claim 16, see claim 4 of ‘810.
In regard to claim 17, see claim 5 of ‘810.
In regard to claim 18, see claim 3 of ‘810.
In regard to claim 19, see claim 6 of ‘810.
In regard to claim 20, see claim 7 of ‘810.
In regard to claim 21, see claim 8 of ‘810.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101 (Judicial Exception)
Claims 2 – 21 are directed to statutory subject matter and no 35 USC 101 rejection is applied for the judicial exception. The claims are directed to non-abstract improvements in computer related technology. The claimed subject matter is integrated into a practical application under Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis described in MPEP 2016.04(d). A claim is non-statutory when it is directed to a judicial exception (e.g. either one of mathematical concepts, mental processes, or certain methods of organizing human activity) without significantly more. The claimed invention is not directed to a judicial exception. Instead, the claimed invention is directed to a technological improvement for sharing externally captured content obtained from a first device to obtain images from a separate remote device and share the images with another device. A connection may be established between a remote device that includes an imaging device and a device. Based on establishing the connection, first visual data associated with the imaging device may be received at the device. A second connection between the device and a communication device may be established, where communications between the device and the communication device may be supported via an application running at the device. Based on establishing the second connection, the visual data may be transmitted from the mobile device to the communication device via the application. The ordered steps of the claim language impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claims and provides an improvement for communicating images from a remote device’s (e.g. vehicle’s) camera by enabling a device (e.g. mobile device) that is not part of the vehicle system to capture the image data livestreamed by the camera of the vehicle and therein share the image /video data as unobstructed visual data with another external device, therein providing reduced risks to safety and property, as it is dangerous to manually operate the mobile device while the vehicle is moving. Therein the claimed invention is statutory under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 – 8, 10 – 11, 13 – 14, and 16 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodge et al. (U.S. 2020/0367056 A1; herein referred to as Hodge) in view of Redmon et al. (U.S. 2020/00294164 A1; herein referred to as Redmon) in further view of Wang et al. (U.S. 2016/0065903 A1; herein referred to as Wang).
In regard to claim 2, Hodges teaches A first device (see mobile device 104) (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0032] “ . . . an exemplary vehicular video-based data capture and analysis system 100 according to one embodiment of the disclosure is provided. Client device 101 is a dedicated data capture and recording system suitable for installation in a vehicle. In one embodiment, client device 101 is a video-based dash camera system designed for installation on the dashboard or windshield of a car. Client device 101 is connected to cloud-based system 103. In one embodiment, cloud-based system 103 includes a server system 102 and network connections, such as for example, to Internet connections. In one embodiment, cloud-based system 103 is a set of software services and programs operating in a public data center, such as an Amazon Web Services (AWS) data center, a Google Cloud Platform data center, or the like. Cloud-based system 103 is accessible via mobile device 104 and web-based system 105. In one embodiment, mobile device 104 includes a mobile device, such as an Apple iOS based device, including iPhones, iPads, or iPods, or an Android based device, like a Samsung Galaxy smartphone, a tablet, or the like. Any such mobile device includes an application program or app running on a processor. . . .”: , comprising(see Fig. 2 ¶ [0044] “ . . . Referring now to FIG. 2, a functional system diagram for a client device 101 according to one embodiment is shown. Different embodiments may include a subset of the components shown in FIG. 2 and/or other components not shown. In alternative embodiments, the components shown in FIG. 2 (as well as additional components not shown, such as for example, HDMI modules, battery charger and/or power supply modules, and the like) may be part of a System-on-Chip (SoC) device, multiple chips on a board, ASICs, or the like. The physical implementation of the components, either in silicon-based integrated circuits or software are left as a design choice of the person of ordinary skill in the art without departing from the invention. . . . “) :
one or more processors(see Fig. 2 ¶ [0044] “ . . . The client device 101 includes a microprocessor 201 connected to a data bus 202 and to a memory device 203 and additional functional modules. In one embodiment, microprocessor 201 is a Qualcomm Snapdragon MSM8953 but other microprocessors may be used to implement the invention, such as for example, other Qualcomm's Snapdragon processors, ARM Cortex A8/9 processors, Nvidia's Tegra processors, Texas Instruments OMAP processors, or the like. The microprocessor 201 executes operating system software, such as Linux, Android, iOS, or the like, firmware, drivers, and application software . . .”) ;
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see ¶ [0041] “ . . . a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium . . .”) ; and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors (see ¶ [0041] “ . . . storing executable code, . . .”) to cause the first device to(see ¶ [0002] “ . . . This disclosure generally relates to video-based data collection systems, and more specifically to securely pairing video capturing devices with mobile devices. . . .”) :
establish a connection with a second device (e.g. vehicle), separate from the first device, that comprises a set of cameras (see Hodges ¶¶ [0052-0054] “. . . .in a vehicle-based system, client device 101 may include a front camera, side cameras, back cameras, inside cameras, etc. . . another component of system 100 is a mobile device 104. Mobile device 104 may be an Apple iOS based device, such as an iPhone, iPad, or iPod, or an Android based device, such as for example, a Samsung Galaxy smartphone, a tablet, a PDA, or the like. In one embodiment, mobile device 104 is a smartphone with one or more cameras, microphone, speakers, wireless communication capabilities, and sensors. For example, mobile device 104 may be an Apple iPhone 5, 6, 7, 8 or X. The wireless communication capabilities of mobile device 104 preferably include wireless local area networking communications, such as 802.11 compatible communications or Wi-Fi, short-range low-power wireless communications, such as 802.15 compatible communications or Bluetooth, and cellular communications (e.g., 4G/LTE, 5G, or the like) . . .”) ;
receive a set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device(e.g. client 101 represents the vehicle) (see ¶ [0056] “ . . . For real-time feeds, the playlist files are dynamically updated to include each newly generated video data object or file captured by the relevant camera. For each new video file, the file location is provided in the updated playlist and the playlist file is updated via the cloud system 103 or directly from the source of the video feed. For example, in one embodiment, playlist files for streaming video are dynamically updated as described in the HTTP Live Streaming specification . . .”).
Hodge fails to explicitly teach,
However Redmon teaches
establish a communication session between the first device and the third device(see Redmon abstract “ . . . configured, upon command from a user, to notify an attorney located remotely via a cellular and/or computer network, and to display a video image of the remote attorney on the display screen (or the screen of the mobile telephone), and to live-stream a 360 degree video captured by the video camera to the Internet for viewing by the remote attorney and for cloud storage . . .” (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0012] “. . . , a plurality of video cameras mounted at different points of the user's car, inside and/or outside the passenger compartment, can be used to capture video footage from various vantage points to avoid obstacles that may block the view, such as some parts of the car or passengers in the car. The mobile lawyer app may incorporate images captured by OEM cameras installed on the vehicle. “ . . .) ; and
transmit, to the third device (see Redmon ¶ [0014] “. . . All of the captured live-stream video data (including audio) are transmitted (using cellular/Internet connectivity of the mobile device, the camera, or the vehicle) via a global computer network (Internet) and/or cellular mobile telephone network 14 to a remote server 16 and stored in a database 18, preferably encrypted to ensure privacy. The database 18 further stores the identities, credentials, states where licensed, contact information (e.g., address, email address, and mobile telephone number), and other information of lawyers licensed in various jurisdictions who have been vetted and contracted to be on call during certain days, time periods, and other work parameters to provide mobile lawyer services. The system 10 further includes a dash-mounted display monitor 20 such as the seven-inch LCD display, Chinavasion product code CVABR-LT298. A user may download and install the Mobile Lawyer App 22 onto his mobile phone 24 . . .”) , the set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device based at least in part on establishing the communication session(see Redmon ¶ [0016] “. . . The user may initiate a Mobile Lawyer Consultation Session and live-stream video capture by the camera(s) by sending a request via the Mobile Lawyer App 22 on his/her mobile device 24. Once the request to live-stream video is received at the server 16, an alert notification is sent to one or more lawyers licensed in the same jurisdiction as the current location of the user. The alert notification may be in the form of a call, text message, email, and another form of message transmitted to and presented on a computing device 26, such as a mobile phone, tablet computer, and laptop computer that is equipped with a video camera. The first lawyer who responds first to handle the consultation session can immediately view the live-streamed video information on a computing device. . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate a system and method for installing an application on a mobile device that can capture live-streaming video from a camera mounted on a vehicle and transmits the captured video to a remote device, as taught by Redmon, into a system and method for pairing a mobile device separate from the vehicle system with video capturing devices of the vehicle, to capture images from the vehicle’s cameras, as taught by Hodge. Such incorporation enables the streaming data from the vehicle captured by the mobile device application to be sent to a remote device.
The combination of Hodge and Redmon fails to explicitly teach,
However Wang teaches
transmit, to a third device (e.g. server computer)(see ¶ [0013] “. . . the at least one processing device according to the present disclosure, which may comprise one or more processing devices such as one or more microprocessors, is comprised, at least in part, in a mobile device (such as a mobile phone, wearable computer, tablet computer, mobile computer, often called laptop, or a head mounted display, such as used for optical see-through augmented reality applications), in the vehicle, and/or in a server computer adapted to communicate with the mobile device and/or the vehicle. The at least one processing device may be comprised in only one of these devices, e.g. in the mobile device or in the server computer, or may be a distributed system in which one or more processing tasks are distributed and processed by one or more processing devices of a processing system which are distributed and are communicating with each other, e.g. by point to point communication or via a network. . . .”), separate from the first device and the second device, an indication of one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device that are accessible by the first device(see Wang Fig. 2, Fig. 3 ¶¶ [0035-0036] “ . . . In the scenario of FIG. 2, a vehicle, in this example a car 201, is driving through a real environment 220. The real environment 220 includes real objects fixed in the environment, e.g. a gas station 221, a tree 222, a building 223, a park sign 224, and a road 227. The real environment 220 may also include movable real objects, like a person 226 and a person 225. The car 201 may also be considered as a part of the real environment 220. The car 201 is equipped with multiple scene cameras 211-214 mounted on the car. The driver 202 is looking or facing or pointing toward the direction 203. FIG. 3 shows an embodiment of an interior setup for the car 201. There are provided two information capturing devices mounted in the car 201. In principle, one may suffice. In this example, the information capturing devices are comprising cameras, herein called user cameras 205 and 206. The car 201 may further be equipped with a communicating device 207, such as a wireless communication device (e.g. WLAN device or SIM card device), and a processing device 208, such as a microprocessor. All the steps or a part of the steps disclosed in this disclosure may be performed by the processing device 208 alone or in combination with any other processing device. All the steps or a part of the steps may also be performed by a remote processing device that is separate to the car 201, such as a server computer or a mobile device. In the present case, the car 201 may communicate with the remote processing device through the communicating device 207 via cable or wirelessly. The remote processing device may be a server computer 301 (e.g. a workstation) or a mobile device, e.g. a mobile phone 302 . . .”) ;
receive, from the third device (see Wang Fig. 2 ¶ [0055] “ . . . the camera 205 has unknown device spatial relationships with respect to the reference coordinate system 209 when a user image is captured by the camera 205. It is possible to determine the attention direction 203 relative to the reference coordinate system from the user image captured by the camera 205 without knowing the device spatial relationship. In an example, the user image captured by the camera 205 contains at least part of the car and at least part of the user. The at least part of the car has a known pose relative to the reference coordinate system of the car. The at least part of the user may contain the user face. In this case, the pose of the user's face or gaze direction can be determined in the reference coordinate system of the car based on a computer vision method using pixel information of the captured user image. . . .”) , a selection of a camera of the indicated one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device (see Wang Fig. 2, Fig. 3 ¶¶ [0056-0058] “ . . . Step 103 provides a plurality of scene cameras mounted to the vehicle at respective camera poses relative to the reference coordinate system. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, four scene cameras 211-214 are mounted to the car 201, and the respective camera poses of the scene cameras 211-214 are known in the reference coordinate system 209. Step 104 determines at least one of the scene cameras among the plurality of scene cameras according to the at least one attention direction and at least one respective camera pose. For example, it is possible to determine at least one of the scene cameras 211-214 as desired scene camera(s) according to the attention direction 203 and the respective camera poses of at least part of the scene cameras 211-214. One thought behind this is that attention directions of the user and/or positions of the user could indicate where or in which region or along which direction an object of interest locates in the real environment. In an embodiment, multiple scene cameras mounted to the vehicle capture different regions of the real environment. For example, the scene cameras 211-214 capture different regions of the real environment 220 (e.g. four different sides) around the car 201. For example, they are arranged facing perpendicularly to one another, thus being directed towards four perpendicular sides. At least one attention direction of the user may be used to determine at least one scene camera among the scene cameras. The determined scene camera(s) could capture at least one scene image that may contain at least part of the object of interest indicated by the at least one attention direction . . . “);
based at least in part on the received selection from the third device (see Wang ¶ [0135] “ . . . further comprising selecting the at least one scene camera among a plurality of scene cameras mounted to the vehicle according to the at least one attention direction . . .”) ;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate a system and method of providing at least one image of at least one real object captured by at least one scene camera of a plurality of scene cameras mounted on a vehicle, and providing means to select a specific scene camera, as taught by Wang, into a system and method for pairing a mobile device separate from the vehicle system with video capturing devices of the vehicle, to capture images from the vehicle’s cameras, the mobile device using an application that can capture live-streaming video from a camera mounted on a vehicle and transmits the captured video to a remote device, as taught by the combination of Hodge and Redmon. Such incorporation enables a specific scene camera on the vehicle to be selected from a separate mobile device.
In regard to claim 4, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: transmit an indication of an identifier of the first device (see Hodge ¶ [0095] “ . . . “ . . . the mobile app is in the device 104, obtained as shown in FIG. 9, downloaded directly from a mobile application repository (e.g., App Store or Google Play Store), downloaded from another website or Internet-accessible location, or otherwise. Once installed in the mobile device 104, the mobile app is used to securely pair to a client device 101/106 as shown in FIG. 10. When a client device 101/106 is activated 1200 for the first time, it is not paired to any mobile device 104. To pair a mobile device 104 according to this embodiment, the mobile device 104 broadcasts an identifying signal, such as its Bluetooth ID, WiFi identifier, or the like. The client device 101/106 detects the presence 1201 of mobile device 104, for example, the client device 101/106 scans Bluetooth signals and records the Bluetooth IDs of all the devices transmitting within range of the client device 101/106. . . .”); and
receiving an indication of the set of cameras of the second device based at least in part on the identifier of the first device (see Hodge ¶ [0056] “ . . . , live camera feeds from multiple sources can be displayed on the mobile device 104 through the camera pane 401b of mobile app as illustrated in FIG. 4b. In one embodiment, the camera pane 401b includes a camera feed window 410, a camera control interface 411 and a camera selection interface 412. Alternative embodiments may include a subset or additional elements in camera pane 401b . . . camera selection interface 412 may display a selection option 412a-n for each of 1-n available cameras. In one embodiment, icons are used to depict each of the available cameras, such as a home camera (e.g., an auxiliary camera 105), a vehicle camera (e.g., from a client device 101), and a phone camera (e.g., the camera on the mobile device 106). . . “).
In regard to claim 5, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: associate an identifier of the second device with a user account(see Hodge ¶ [0055] “ . . . A mobile app on mobile device 101 provides a user interface to a user account on cloud system 103 and to client device 101. In one embodiment, mobile app includes functionality similar to auxiliary camera 106. For example, mobile app uses one or more cameras on mobile device 104 to record video events . . “) ; and
authorize the user account to establish mappings that provide other user accounts access to respective combinations of cameras installed on the second device, the cameras comprising the selected camera (see Hodge ¶ [0096] “ . . . the client device 101/106 may display on its screen a code 1204. The mobile device 104 can use the app associated with the cloud system 103 to obtain the code 1205, for example, capturing a QR code with its camera, and interpret the code using the cloud-system-specific app software. In this embodiment, the QR code provides information for the mobile device 104 to message the client device 101/106 via the cloud system 103, for example, the client device's GUID and may also include an identifier for the pairing “topic” generated at step 1203. This information is encoded into the QR code as is known in the art. Optionally, the code may also include a randomly generated number that is different for different times the set-up process is run . . . With the information provided by the code, the mobile device 104 sends a pairing request 1206 via cloud system 103 to the client device 101/106, for example, identified the GUID and/or pairing topic created at step 1203. The pairing request also includes other pairing information for the client device 101/106 to communicate with the mobile device 104 . . . the pairing request includes one or more of a GUID of the mobile device (e.g., IMSI, IMEI, or similar), the Bluetooth ID for the mobile device, and encryption information, such as for example, a public key for the mobile device 104. Optionally, in one embodiment, before conveying the pairing request message to the client device 101/106, the cloud system 103 checks 1207 whether to allow a new mobile device 104 to pair with the client device 101/106 identified in the pairing request. For example, in one embodiment, the cloud system maintains a paring record for each client device 101/106 (e.g., based on the devices' GUIDs) storing pairing information for each device, such as for example the GUID for each mobile device 104 paired with each client device 101/106. If the system determines that this client device GUID has an existing paired mobile device 104, an authorization request is sent to the existing or “primary” mobile device 104. Multiple mobile devices 104 may be allowed to pair with the same client device 101/106 if approved by the first or user-designated “primary” mobile device 104 that is already paired with the client device 101/106. The pairing record for the client device is used by the cloud system to keep track of the paired devices. . . . “)
In regard to claim 6, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: receive, based at least in part on establishing the connection, an indication of the set of cameras of the second device (see Hodge ¶ [0059] “ . . . referring to FIG. 4D, a graphical user interface (GUI) for an alternative “camera pane” 1401b in a mobile app in mobile device 104 according to another embodiment is provided. In this embodiment, the camera selection interface 1412 allows the user to select source device, such as a camera in a client device 101/106, and the video for the selected camera stored in the buffer of the selected device is displayed in the camera feed window 1410 . . .”)
In regard to claim 7, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: receive a second selection of a second camera from the set of cameras(see Hodge ¶ [0059] “ . . . referring to FIG. 4D, a graphical user interface (GUI) for an alternative “camera pane” 1401b in a mobile app in mobile device 104 according to another embodiment is provided. In this embodiment, the camera selection interface 1412 allows the user to select source device, such as a camera in a client device 101/106, and the video for the selected camera stored in the buffer of the selected device is displayed in the camera feed window 1410 . . .”) ;
receive, from the second device, a second set of visual data associated with the second camera based at least in part on the received second selection of the second camera(see Hodge ¶ [0059] “ . . . The control interface 1411 displays an indicator of the available buffered video 1411a, such as for example a color bar, a video timeline bar with snapshots of the video at periodic intervals, or the like. The time slider interface 1411b includes a time stamp 1411c representative of the time metadata in the buffered video. A user may move the slider along the video indicator bar 1411a to select the appropriate starting point for playback of the video. In one embodiment, the video indicator bar 1411a represents the entirety of the available buffered video for the selected camera device. In one embodiment, playback of the selected video takes place using manifest files as further described with reference to FIG. 11. . . .”) ; and
transmit, to the third device, the second set of visual data concurrently with or in
place of the set of visual data (see Redmen Fig. 2, ¶ [0018] “ . . . The video camera begins to capture video images inside and outside the vehicle and transmits the captured images in real-time to the remote server and database for storage, as shown in blocks 34 and 36 . . .”).
The motivation to combine the references is described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Redmon enables new video data to be sent to one or more remote devices.
In regard to claim 8, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: determine an identity of a user of the first device(see Hodge ¶ [0081] “ . . . video clips are automatically transferred to the user's authorized and authenticated mobile device 104 automatically upon detection of the mobile device 104 in proximity of the client device 101, for example after establishing a WiFi connection. . . .”) , wherein the set of visual data indicated to the user is based at least in part on the identity of the user(see Hodge ¶ [0082] “ . . . Once a video clip is generated 705, it may be shared with other devices owned by the same user or, if authorized, the video clip may be shared with other users of the system. For example, the GUIDs for every video clip generated by a camera device of a given user may be stored in a user clip table in the cloud system 103. For example, GUIDs for the clips from all the cameras on a multi-camera client device 101, for the clips from any auxiliary camera device 106, and for the clips generated by the mobile app on the user's mobile device 104, may all be stored in the user clip table. The user may access the user clip table via mobile device 104 . . .”) .
In regard to claim 10, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to:
exchange voice packets, video packets, photos, text messages, or a combination thereof, with the third device based at least in part on establishing the communication session, the set of visual data comprising at least the video packets, or the photos, or both (see Hodge ¶¶ [0042-0043] “ . . . an exemplary vehicular video-based data capture and analysis system 100 according to one embodiment of the disclosure is provided. Client device 101 is a dedicated data capture and recording system suitable for installation in a vehicle. In one embodiment, client device 101 is a video-based dash camera system designed for installation on the dashboard or windshield of a car. Client device 101 is connected to cloud-based system 103. In one embodiment, cloud-based system 103 includes a server system 102 and network connections, such as for example, to Internet connections. In one embodiment, cloud-based system 103 is a set of software services and programs operating in a public data center, such as an Amazon Web Services (AWS) data center, a Google Cloud Platform data center, or the like. Cloud-based system 103 is accessible via mobile device 104 and web-based system 105. In one embodiment, mobile device 104 includes a mobile device, such as an Apple iOS based device, including iPhones, iPads, or iPods, or an Android based device, like a Samsung Galaxy smartphone, a tablet, or the like. Any such mobile device includes an application program or app running on a processor. Web-based system 105 can be any computing device capable of running a Web browser, such as for example, a Windows™ PC or tablet, Mac Computer, or the like. Web-based system 105 may provide access to information or marketing materials of a system operations for new or potential users. In addition, Web-based system 105 may also optionally provide access to users via a software program or application similar to the mobile app further described below. In one embodiment, system 100 may also include one or more auxiliary camera modules 106. For example, one or more camera modules on a user's home, vacation home, or place of business. Auxiliary camera module 106 may be implemented as a client device 101 and operate the same way. In one embodiment, auxiliary camera module 106 is a version of client device 101 with a subset of components and functionality. For example, in one embodiment, auxiliary camera module 106 is a single camera client device 101. Client device 101 is connected to cloud-based system 103 via connection 107. In one embodiment, connection 107 is a cellular-based wireless packet data connection, such as a 3G, 4G, LTE, 5G, or similar connection. Connections 108a-108c between other system components and cloud-based system 103 are Internet-based connections, either wired or wireless. For example, in one embodiment, mobile device 104 may at different times connect to cloud-based system 103 via Wi-Fi (i.e., any IEEE 802.11-based connection or similar technology) and cellular data (e.g., using 4G, LTE, or the like). In one embodiment, Web-based system 105 is connected to cloud-based system 103 over the World Wide Web using a wired Internet connection, such as DSL, cable modem, or the like. Similarly, in one embodiment, auxiliary camera module 106 is connected to cloud-based system 103 via a Wi-Fi connection to a home router connected to the Internet via cable modem, DSL, or the like. Any combination of available connections can be used to connect any of the system components to cloud-based system 103 via the Internet or similar networks. . . “)
In regard to claim 11, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: activate an application at the first device (see Hodge ¶ [0054] “ . . . mobile device 104 preferably includes an application program or app running on a processor. One of ordinary skill in the art is familiar with mobile operating systems and mobile apps. Mobile apps are typically made available and distributed through electronic means, such as for example, via electronic “stores” such as the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store, or directly from apps providers via their own websites . . .”) ; and
access the selected camera of the second device via the application, wherein the set of visual data is received at the first device based at least in part on accessing the selected camera via the application (see Hodge ¶ [0042] “ . . . Any such mobile device includes an application program or app running on a processor. Web-based system 105 can be any computing device capable of running a Web browser, such as for example, a Windows™ PC or tablet, Mac Computer, or the like. Web-based system 105 may provide access to information or marketing materials of a system operations for new or potential users. In addition, Web-based system 105 may also optionally provide access to users via a software program or application similar to the mobile app further described below. In one embodiment, system 100 may also include one or more auxiliary camera modules 106. For example, one or more camera modules on a user's home, vacation home, or place of business. Auxiliary camera module 106 may be implemented as a client device 101 and operate the same way. In one embodiment, auxiliary camera module 106 is a version of client device 101 with a subset of components and functionality. For example, in one embodiment, auxiliary camera module 106 is a single camera client device 101. . . “)
In regard to claim 13, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches wherein the first device comprises a mobile phone, a computer, an electronic reader, or a personal electronic device (see Hodge ¶ [0010] “ . . . a method is provided for associating a video capturing device with a first mobile device that includes receiving from the first mobile device a request based, at least in part, on a unique pattern, sending the request to the video capturing device, and sending a pairing notification to the first mobile device upon successful association of the video capturing device with the first mobile device. In this embodiment, the request may also include a first unique identifier for the first mobile device . . .”);
In regard to claim 14, Hodge teaches A method at a first device(see Fig. 1 mobile device 104) , comprising (see Hodges ¶ [0002] “ . . . This disclosure generally relates to video-based data collection systems, and more specifically to securely pairing video capturing devices with mobile devices. . . .”) :
establishing a connection with a second device, separate from the first device, that comprises a set of cameras (see Hodge ¶ ¶ [0052-0055] “. . . .in a vehicle-based system, client device 101 may include a front camera, side cameras, back cameras, inside cameras, etc. . another component of system 100 is a mobile device 104. Mobile device 104 may be an Apple iOS based device, such as an iPhone, iPad, or iPod, or an Android based device, such as for example, a Samsung Galaxy smartphone, a tablet, a PDA, or the like. In one embodiment, mobile device 104 is a smartphone with one or more cameras, microphone, speakers, wireless communication capabilities, and sensors. For example, mobile device 104 may be an Apple iPhone 5, 6, 7, 8 or X. The wireless communication capabilities of mobile device 104 preferably include wireless local area networking communications, such as 802.11 compatible communications or Wi-Fi, short-range low-power wireless communications, such as 802.15 compatible communications or Bluetooth, and cellular communications (e.g., 4G/LTE, 5G, or the like) . . . A mobile app on mobile device 101 provides a user interface to a user account on cloud system 103 and to client device 101. In one embodiment, mobile app includes functionality similar to auxiliary camera 106. For example, mobile app uses one or more cameras on mobile device 104 to record video events . . .”).;
receiving a set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device (see ¶ [0056] “ . . . For real-time feeds, the playlist files are dynamically updated to include each newly generated video data object or file captured by the relevant camera. For each new video file, the file location is provided in the updated playlist and the playlist file is updated via the cloud system 103 or directly from the source of the video feed. For example, in one embodiment, playlist files for streaming video are dynamically updated as described in the HTTP Live Streaming specification . . .”)
Hodge fails to explicitly teach,
However Redmon teaches
establishing a communication session between the first device and the third device(see Redmon abstract “ . . . A Mobile Lawyer system includes a 360 degree HD video camera configured for mounting on a vehicle; a display screen configured for mounting inside the passenger compartment of a vehicle; and a Mobile Lawyer App downloaded and installed on a mobile telephone in communication with the video camera and display screen . . . configured, upon command from a user, to notify an attorney located remotely via a cellular and/or computer network, and to display a video image of the remote attorney on the display screen (or the screen of the mobile telephone), and to live-stream a 360 degree video captured by the video camera to the Internet for viewing by the remote attorney and for cloud storage . . .” (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0012] “. . . , a plurality of video cameras mounted at different points of the user's car, inside and/or outside the passenger compartment, can be used to capture video footage from various vantage points to avoid obstacles that may block the view, such as some parts of the car or passengers in the car. The mobile lawyer app may incorporate images captured by OEM cameras installed on the vehicle. “ . . .) ; and
transmitting, to the third device(see Redmon ¶ [0014] “. . . All of the captured live-stream video data (including audio) are transmitted (using cellular/Internet connectivity of the mobile device, the camera, or the vehicle) via a global computer network (Internet) and/or cellular mobile telephone network 14 to a remote server 16 and stored in a database 18, preferably encrypted to ensure privacy. The database 18 further stores the identities, credentials, states where licensed, contact information (e.g., address, email address, and mobile telephone number), and other information of lawyers licensed in various jurisdictions who have been vetted and contracted to be on call during certain days, time periods, and other work parameters to provide mobile lawyer services. The system 10 further includes a dash-mounted display monitor 20 such as the seven-inch LCD display, Chinavasion product code CVABR-LT298. A user may download and install the Mobile Lawyer App 22 onto his mobile phone 24 . . .”) , the set of visual data from the selected camera of the second device based at least in part on establishing the communication session (see Redmon ¶ [0016] “. . . The user may initiate a Mobile Lawyer Consultation Session and live-stream video capture by the camera(s) by sending a request via the Mobile Lawyer App 22 on his/her mobile device 24. Once the request to live-stream video is received at the server 16, an alert notification is sent to one or more lawyers licensed in the same jurisdiction as the current location of the user. The alert notification may be in the form of a call, text message, email, and another form of message transmitted to and presented on a computing device 26, such as a mobile phone, tablet computer, and laptop computer that is equipped with a video camera. The first lawyer who responds first to handle the consultation session can immediately view the live-streamed video information on a computing device. . . .”) .
The motivation to combine Redmon with Hodge is described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein.
The combination of Hodge and Redmon fails to explicitly teach,
However Wang teaches
transmitting, to a third device (e.g. server computer)(see ¶ [0013] “. . . the at least one processing device according to the present disclosure, which may comprise one or more processing devices such as one or more microprocessors, is comprised, at least in part, in a mobile device (such as a mobile phone, wearable computer, tablet computer, mobile computer, often called laptop, or a head mounted display, such as used for optical see-through augmented reality applications), in the vehicle, and/or in a server computer adapted to communicate with the mobile device and/or the vehicle. The at least one processing device may be comprised in only one of these devices, e.g. in the mobile device or in the server computer, or may be a distributed system in which one or more processing tasks are distributed and processed by one or more processing devices of a processing system which are distributed and are communicating with each other, e.g. by point to point communication or via a network. . . .”) , separate from the first device and the second device, an indication of one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device that are accessible by the first device (see Wang Fig. 2, Fig. 3 ¶¶ [0035-0036] “ . . . In the scenario of FIG. 2, a vehicle, in this example a car 201, is driving through a real environment 220. The real environment 220 includes real objects fixed in the environment, e.g. a gas station 221, a tree 222, a building 223, a park sign 224, and a road 227. The real environment 220 may also include movable real objects, like a person 226 and a person 225. The car 201 may also be considered as a part of the real environment 220. The car 201 is equipped with multiple scene cameras 211-214 mounted on the car. The driver 202 is looking or facing or pointing toward the direction 203. FIG. 3 shows an embodiment of an interior setup for the car 201. There are provided two information capturing devices mounted in the car 201. In principle, one may suffice. In this example, the information capturing devices are comprising cameras, herein called user cameras 205 and 206. The car 201 may further be equipped with a communicating device 207, such as a wireless communication device (e.g. WLAN device or SIM card device), and a processing device 208, such as a microprocessor. All the steps or a part of the steps disclosed in this disclosure may be performed by the processing device 208 alone or in combination with any other processing device. All the steps or a part of the steps may also be performed by a remote processing device that is separate to the car 201, such as a server computer or a mobile device. In the present case, the car 201 may communicate with the remote processing device through the communicating device 207 via cable or wirelessly. The remote processing device may be a server computer 301 (e.g. a workstation) or a mobile device, e.g. a mobile phone 302 . . .”) ;
receiving, from the third device (see Wang Fig. 2 ¶ [0055] “ . . . the camera 205 has unknown device spatial relationships with respect to the reference coordinate system 209 when a user image is captured by the camera 205. It is possible to determine the attention direction 203 relative to the reference coordinate system from the user image captured by the camera 205 without knowing the device spatial relationship. In an example, the user image captured by the camera 205 contains at least part of the car and at least part of the user. The at least part of the car has a known pose relative to the reference coordinate system of the car. The at least part of the user may contain the user face. In this case, the pose of the user's face or gaze direction can be determined in the reference coordinate system of the car based on a computer vision method using pixel information of the captured user image. . . .”), a selection of a camera of the indicated one or more cameras of the set of cameras of the second device(see Wang Fig. 2, Fig. 3 ¶¶ [0056-0058] “ . . . Step 103 provides a plurality of scene cameras mounted to the vehicle at respective camera poses relative to the reference coordinate system. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, four scene cameras 211-214 are mounted to the car 201, and the respective camera poses of the scene cameras 211-214 are known in the reference coordinate system 209. Step 104 determines at least one of the scene cameras among the plurality of scene cameras according to the at least one attention direction and at least one respective camera pose. For example, it is possible to determine at least one of the scene cameras 211-214 as desired scene camera(s) according to the attention direction 203 and the respective camera poses of at least part of the scene cameras 211-214. One thought behind this is that attention directions of the user and/or positions of the user could indicate where or in which region or along which direction an object of interest locates in the real environment. In an embodiment, multiple scene cameras mounted to the vehicle capture different regions of the real environment. For example, the scene cameras 211-214 capture different regions of the real environment 220 (e.g. four different sides) around the car 201. For example, they are arranged facing perpendicularly to one another, thus being directed towards four perpendicular sides. At least one attention direction of the user may be used to determine at least one scene camera among the scene cameras. The determined scene camera(s) could capture at least one scene image that may contain at least part of the object of interest indicated by the at least one attention direction . . . “) ;
based at least in part on the received selection from the third device (see Wang ¶ [0135] “ . . . further comprising selecting the at least one scene camera among a plurality of scene cameras mounted to the vehicle according to the at least one attention direction . . .”);
The motivation to combine Wang with the combination of Hodge and Redmon is described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 16, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches further comprising: transmitting an indication of an identifier of the first device (see Hodge ¶ [0095] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein) ; and
receiving an indication of the set of cameras of the second device based at least in part on the identifier of the first device (see Hodge ¶ [0056] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein)
In regard to claim 17, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches further comprising: associating an identifier of the second device with a user account(see Hodge ¶ [0055] as described for the rejection of claim 5 and is incorporated herein) ; and
authorizing the user account to establish mappings that provide other user accounts access to respective combinations of cameras installed on the second device, the cameras comprising the selected camera (see Hodge ¶ [0096] as described for the rejection of claim 5 and is incorporated herein)
In regard to claim 18, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches further comprising: receiving, based at least in part on establishing the connection, an indication of the set of cameras of the second device (see Hodge ¶ [0059] as described for the rejection of claim 6 and is incorporated herein)
In regard to claim 19, , the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches further comprising: receiving a second selection of a second camera from the set of cameras(see Hodge ¶ [0059] as described for the rejection of claim 7 and is incorporated herein) ;
receiving, from the second device, a second set of visual data associated with the
second camera based at least in part on the received second selection of the second camera (see Hodge ¶ [0059] as described for the rejection of claim 7 and is incorporated herein) ; and
transmitting, to the third device, the second set of visual data concurrently with or
in place of the set of visual data (see Redmen Fig. 2, ¶ [0018] as described for the rejection of claim 7 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine the references is described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 20, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang teaches further comprising: determining an identity of a user of the first device (see Hodge ¶ [0081] as described for the rejection of claim 8 and is incorporated herein) ,
wherein the set of visual data indicated to the user is based at least in part on the identity of the user (see Hodge ¶ [0082] as described for the rejection of claim 8 and is incorporated herein).
Claims 3, 9, 12, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodge et al. (U.S. 2020/0367056 A1; herein referred to as Hodge) in view of Redmon et al. (U.S. 2020/00294164 A1; herein referred to as Redmon) in further view of Wang et al. (U.S. 2016/0065903 A1; herein referred to as Wang) as applied to claims 2, 4 – 8, 10 – 11, 13 – 14, and 16 - 20 in further view of Suthar (U.S. 2018/0102051 A1; herein referred to as Suthar),
In regard to claim 3, the combination of Hodge, Redmon and Wang teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to (see the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein) :
The combination of Hodge, Redmon and Wang fails to explicitly teach,
However Suthar teaches
transmit, to the second device based at least in part on establishing the connection with the second device(see Fig. 6 ¶ [0060] “. . . A smart phone mobile device is shown in the dashed box surrounding the first automobile hardware camera system 605, indicating that the driver of the first vehicle has a smart phone with the web application installed to access the DMV hosted roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640, thereby allowing an alternative to capture video data and automatically transmit the video data to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640. In some embodiments, the first automobile hardware camera system 605 includes internal/embedded wireless connectivity devices (such as 4G connectivity). In these embodiments, the 4G connectivity provides automatic connection to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640 such that video data is captured and contemporaneously transferred to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640. . . .”) , an inquiry as to whether the second device is configured with cameras accessible by the first device to share visual data obtained by the second device (e.g. by authentication) (see ¶ [0060] “. . . Authentication of the driver's account (subscriber account) may be automatic, and allows the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640 to receive the video data from the first vehicle and save it in the authenticated driver's video data DMV account 645 (or subscriber account for any entity hosting the cloud service 640, such as a vehicle manufacturer, etc.). . . “ ; and
receive, from the second device based at least in part on transmitting the inquiry, an indication that the second device is configured with cameras accessible by the first device to share visual data (see Fig. 2 ¶ [0038] “. . . FIG. 2 conceptually illustrates a roadway incident video capturing process 200 for capturing video data by a dash camera system of a vehicle or a mobile device with a mobile app and allowing a user, such as a driver of the vehicle, to specify whether to retain video data locally or provide to host by web application . . .”) , wherein the set of visual data is received at the first device based at least in part on receiving the indication (see ¶ [0022] “. . . a subscriber driver account is possible that ensures that video captured by the hardware system in a driver's vehicle (or their mobile device with user-registered and authenticated web application installed) is a true representation of the roadway incidents as occurred proximate to the driver's own vehicle and the time period during which the video was captured (as confirmed by time-stamp meta-data) . . . “).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate a system and method for implementing a roadway incident video reporting system that captures video of a roadside incident using vehicle dash cameras and transmits the images using a separate mobile device, as taught by Suthar, into a system and method for pairing a mobile device separate from the vehicle system with video capturing devices of the vehicle, to capture images from the vehicle’s cameras, the mobile device using an application that can capture live-streaming video from a camera mounted on a vehicle and transmits the captured video to a remote device, wherein the camera is part of a plurality of scene cameras mounted on a vehicle, and providing means to select a specific scene camera as taught by the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang. Such incorporation provides a process to assure that the transfer of the video data to the external device is authorized.
In regard to claim 9, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, Wang and Suthar teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: transmit, to the third device based at least in part on establishing the communication session(see Redmon ¶ [0016] as described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein) ,
a second set of visual data (see Suthar ¶ [0061] “ . . . The second automobile hardware camera system 610 is connected by video cables to retro-fit front and rear dash cameras. Unlike the factory-installed integrated dash cameras of the first vehicle, the retro-fit dash cameras of the second car have been installed aftermarket (i.e., after sale of the second vehicle, the retro-fit dash cameras were purchased and installed into the vehicle). A tablet computing device is shown in the dashed box surrounding the second automobile hardware camera system 610, indicating that the driver of the second vehicle has a tablet computing device with the web application installed to access the DMV hosted roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640 . . “) , the second set of visual data being captured by a camera of the first device (see Suthar ¶ [0061] “ . . . the driver of the second vehicle may use the tablet computing device to upload and store the video data, since the web application on the tablet computing device may have automatically retrieved the video data with the intention of holding it until the driver connects to a WiFi or other wireless connection (e.g., 4G data connection) outside of the second vehicle . . .”), wherein the set of visual data of the second device is transmitted to the third device in place of or concurrently with the second set of visual data(see Suthar ¶ [0059] “ . . . each driver/user may be registered with the DMV and have a video data DMV account 645 in which to upload their video data captured in relation to roadway incidents it wishes to report. . . “).
The motivation to combine Suthar with the combination of Hodge, Redmon and Wang is described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Suthar enables multiple visual data from different cameras to be transferred to a third device.
In regard to claim 12, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, Wang, and Suthar teaches wherein the first device comprises a second set of cameras (see Hodge ¶ [0054] “ . . . mobile device 104 is a smartphone with one or more cameras, microphone, speakers, wireless communication capabilities, and sensors . . .”) , and
wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to: receive an inquiry from the third device requesting an indication of available cameras at the first device (see Suthar ¶ [0060] “ . . . the 4G connectivity provides automatic connection to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640 such that video data is captured and contemporaneously transferred to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640. In some other embodiments, the web application can be configured to connect to the first automobile hardware camera system 605 via a wireless connection, such as Bluetooth, and when connected, to retrieve the captured video data and transfer to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640. Thus, after the dash cameras capture video data and the first automobile hardware camera system 605 stores the video data locally on the removable memory storage device, and the 4G connectivity device or the web application retrieves the video data and starts to transfer the video data to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640. In connecting to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640, the web application uses the smart phone to connect to the communication tower 625, which then passes data to the gateway 630 and through the cloud to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640 . . .”); and
transmit, to the third device, an indication of a third set of cameras available at the first device, the third set of cameras including the set of cameras of the second device that are accessible by the first device and the second set of cameras of the first device (see Suthar ¶ [0061] “ . . . he second automobile hardware camera system 610 is connected by video cables to retro-fit front and rear dash cameras. Unlike the factory-installed integrated dash cameras of the first vehicle, the retro-fit dash cameras of the second car have been installed after market (i.e., after sale of the second vehicle, the retro-fit dash cameras were purchased and installed into the vehicle). A tablet computing device is shown in the dashed box surrounding the second automobile hardware camera system 610, indicating that the driver of the second vehicle has a tablet computing device with the web application installed to access the DMV hosted roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640, in a manner similar to the way the first automobile hardware camera system 605 worked. However, it is possible that the driver of the second vehicle has configured the second automobile hardware camera system 610 to simply retrieve and store the captured video data, with no intention of automatically uploading the video data to the video data DMV account 645 of the second vehicle driver via roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640. In such case, the driver of the second vehicle may choose to manually provide video data to the DMV later. For instance, after the driver is done traveling, he or she may remove the removable memory storage device and attach it to a computing device outside of the second vehicle, such as stationary desktop computer 650, which connects to the cloud via access device 635, and subsequently connects to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640 to upload and store the video data in the second vehicle driver's video data DMV account 645. Alternatively, the driver of the second vehicle may use the tablet computing device to upload and store the video data, since the web application on the tablet computing device may have automatically retrieved the video data with the intention of holding it until the driver connects to a WiFi or other wireless connection (e.g., 4G data connection) outside of the second vehicle. Either way, the driver of the second vehicle (or the drivers of the other vehicles) have options at their disposal for configuring the automobile hardware camera system to work in the way that best suits their needs and constraints. Yet another option is when the driver of the second vehicle may capture video data by using the on-board camera of the tablet computing device with the web application installed, thereby allowing for automatic storage (locally) and transfer to the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640. . . .”).
The motivation to combine Suthar with the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang is described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Suthar provides a means to incorporate the cameras of both the vehicle and mobile device as being in a same set of cameras.
In regard to claim 15, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, Wang, and Suthar teaches further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device based at least in part on establishing the connection with the second device(see Fig. 6 ¶ [0060] as described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein) , an inquiry as to whether the second device is configured with cameras accessible by the first device to share visual data obtained by the second device(e.g. by authentication) (see ¶ [0060] “. . . Authentication of the driver's account (subscriber account) may be automatic, and allows the roadway incident video reporting cloud service 640 to receive the video data from the first vehicle and save it in the authenticated driver's video data DMV account 645 (or subscriber account for any entity hosting the cloud service 640, such as a vehicle manufacturer, etc.). . . “ ) ; and
receiving, from the second device based at least in part on transmitting the inquiry, an indication that the second device is configured with cameras accessible by the first device to share the visual data(see Fig. 2 ¶ [0038] as described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein) , wherein the set of visual data is received at the first device based at least in part on receiving the indication (see ¶ [0022] as described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Suthar with the combination of Hodge, Redmon, and Wang is described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 21, the combination of Hodge, Redmon, Wang and Suthar teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the third device based at least in part on establishing the communication session(see Redmon ¶ [0016] as described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein) ,
a second set of visual data (see Suthar ¶ [0061] as described for the rejection of claim 9 and is incorporated herein), the second set of visual data being captured by a camera of the first device(see Suthar ¶ [0061] as described for the rejection of claim 9 and is incorporated herein) , wherein the set of visual data of the second device is transmitted to the third device in place of or concurrently with the second set of visual data (see Suthar ¶ [0059] as described for the rejection of claim 9 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Suthar with the combination of Hodge, Redmon and Wang is described for the rejection of claim 9 and is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
There are prior art made of record which are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. They are listed on the PTO-892 accompanying this action.
/JAMES N FIORILLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444