DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
Receipt is acknowledged of the Amendment filed July 9, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on July 9, 2026 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 6, 11, 14, 18, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alves (6,747,687).
With respect to claim 1, Alves teaches system for managing parking on a segment of a street, the segment of the street comprising a plurality of parking spaces (a ticketless parking system that automatically tracks vehicles entering and exiting a parking area to determine parking time: figure 1, column 2, lines 55-67, column 3, lines 61-67, column 4, lines 4-41, and claim 1), the system comprising: a first license plate reading (LPR) camera positioned to monitor vehicles entering the segment of the street (entrance video camera 104 positioned at the entrance for providing real-time images of entering vehicles. See figure 1; column 2, lines 53-63; figure 2, entrance camera/matcher process 202; column 3, lines 8-24; column 4, lines 26-30 and column 7, lines 21-29 recite capturing the full license plate image); a second license plate reading (LPR) camera positioned to monitor vehicles exiting the segment of the street (exit video camera 116 positioned at the exit for providing real-time images of exiting vehicles, figure 1, column 2, lines 64-37; figure 2; column 3, lines 39-52; column 4, lines 26-30 and column 7, lines 21-29 recite capturing the full license plate image); a remote networked computer system that is networked with each of the first LPR camera and the second LPR camera (entrance camera/matcher process 202 and exit camera/matcher process 204 communicating over Ethernet LAN 206 with PC/server 222: figure 2, column 3, lines 8-37, column 3, lines 53-67, and column 5, lines 16-49); the remote networked computer system configured to receive image data from the first LP camera and the second LPR camera (transmitting image messages and optional compressed vehicle images to PC 222/server from both the entry and exit subsystem; figure 2, column 3, lines 25-37, column 3, lines 53-67, column 6, lines 17-33), and to determine based upon the image data (matcher 110 compares vehicle images/vehicle detection tags to recognize the same vehicle, figure 1, column 2, line 33 - column 3, line 6, figure 2, column 3, lines 53-67): a time of entrance of each vehicle entering the segment of the street (applying a time-stamps to each entering vehicle image using clock signal 107, figure 1, column 2, lines 58-61); a time of exit of each vehicle exiting the segment of the street (applying time-stamp to each exiting vehicle using clock signal 120, figure 1, column 2, lines 64-67); and a dwell time for each vehicle entering and exiting the street (output 124 automatically provides length of stay according to the time of entry, figure 1, column 2, line 67 – column 3, line 6; step 242 calculating time of stay; figure 2, column 3, lines 61-67; and automatically determining time of stay in the ticketless parking system, column 4, lines 4-41).
With respect to claim 2, Alves teaches the system, wherein the remote networked computer system is configured to determine whether each vehicle that enters the segment of the street is authorized to park in the plurality of parking spaces (upon entry, the entry matcher compares the vehicle detection tag against a database of prepaid patrons. If a match is found, the vehicle is identified as a prepaid patron and if not, it is identified as a regular patron: column 5, lines 22-40. Additionally, the entry matcher maintains a prepaid patron database and adds/removes authorized patrons, column 5, lines 41-53, column 6, lines 1-16).
With respect to claim 6, Alves teaches the system, wherein the remote networked computer system is configured to determine a class rule for each vehicle entering the segment of the street (the entry matcher compares the vehicle detection tag generated for each entering vehicle with a prepaid patron database. If a match is found, the vehicle is identified as a prepaid patron, otherwise, it is identified as a regular patron. Thus, the remote computer classifies each entering vehicle into one of multiple classes based on stored rules; column 5, lines 22-53 and column 6, lines 1-16).
With respect to claim 11, Alves teaches the system, wherein the remote networked computer system is configured to determine whether each vehicle that enters the segment of the street is associated with a parking pass (The vehicle detection tag associated with each entering vehicle is compared to a prepaid patron database. If a match is found, the vehicle is identified as a prepaid patron. Therefore the system determines whether the vehicle is associated with a stored parking authorization (parking pass); column 5, lines 22-53; column 6, lines 1-16).
With respect to claim 14, Alves teaches the method of monitoring vehicles entering and exiting a segment of a street, the method comprising: capturing image data automatically with a first camera of a vehicle passing through an entrance to the segment of the street (entrance camera 104, column 2, lines 56-67); transmitting automatically to a remote networked computer system the captured image data of the vehicle passing through the entrance (the captured images are transmitted over the LAN/Ethernet to the entry matcher/server, figure 1, column 3, lines 29-55); recording automatically a time of entry for the vehicle passing through the entrance (entry time is recorded for the detected vehicle, column 5, lines 22-53); determining automatically an identification of the vehicle that passed through the entrance (vehicle identification is determined using the vehicle detection tag generated from the captured images, column 4, lines 24-67, column 5, lines 22-53); capturing image data automatically with a second camera of the vehicle as it passes through an exit to the segment of the street (figure 1, exit camera 116, column 2, lines 56-67); transmitting automatically the captured image data to the remote networked computer system of the vehicle passing through the exit (exit images are transmitted to the exit matcher/server, figure 1, column 3, lines 29-55); recording automatically a time of exit for the vehicle exiting the segment of the street (exit time is recorded, column 6, lines 17-39); determining automatically an identification of the vehicle that passed through the exit (exit matcher identifies the departing vehicle using the vehicle detection tag, column 6, lines 17-39); and determining automatically a dwell time that the vehicle was present on the segment of the street (the length of stay is determined from the entry and exit information, column 6, lines 17-39).
With respect to claim 18, Alves teaches further comprising determining whether each vehicle that enters the segment of the street is authorized to park in a parking area located along the segment of the street (upon entry, the entry matcher compares the vehicle detection tag against a database of prepaid patrons. If a match is found, the vehicle is identified as a prepaid patron and if not, it is identified as a regular patron: column 5, lines 22-40; figure 1, column 2, lines 56-67, column 3, lines 29-55, column 5, lines 22-53, and column 6, lines 17-39).
With respect to claim 21, Alves teaches the method, further comprising the remote networked computer system determining a class rule for each vehicle entering the segment of the street (the entry matcher compares the vehicle detection tag generated for each entering vehicle with a prepaid patron database. If a match is found, the vehicle is identified as a prepaid patron, otherwise, it is identified as a regular patron. Thus, the remote computer classifies each entering vehicle into one of multiple classes based on stored rules; column 5, lines 22-53 and column 6, lines 1-16).
With respect to claim 24, Alves teaches the method, further comprising the remote networked computer system determining whether each vehicle that enters the segment of the street is associated with a parking pass (The vehicle detection tag associated with each entering vehicle is compared to a prepaid patron database. If a match is found, the vehicle is identified as a prepaid patron. Therefore the system determines whether the vehicle is associated with a stored parking authorization (parking pass); column 5, lines 22-53; column 6, lines 1-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3, 4, 7-10, 15-17, 19, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alves in view of Nerayoff et al (2014/0039987), hereinafter Nerayoff.
Alves’ teachings are discussed above. Alves however fails to specifically teach the remote networked computer system being configured to automatically generate a parking citation for vehicles not authorized to park in the plurality of parking spaces that have a dwell time for the segment of the street that exceeds a grace period.
With respect to claim 3, Nerayoff teaches wherein the remote networked computer system (network 110 provides communication among the system components, including the cameras and server system 140: paragraphs 0013, 0017, 0018) is configured to automatically generate a parking citation (server system 140 may determine that a vehicle is improperly parked and issue a citation by mail: paragraphs 0014, server determines parking violations: paragraph 0018) for vehicles not authorized to park in the plurality of parking spaces (server system 140 determines when use of a destination location conflicts with restrictions, including no-parking areas, limited-time parking, resident-only parking, etc.: paragraph 0050) that have a dwell time for the segment of the street that exceeds a grace period (keeps track of how long each vehicle has occupied its respective destination location and monitors specifically street segments: paragraphs 0014 and 0050; grace period: paragraph 0056).
With respect to claim 4, Nerayoff teaches the system, wherein the remote networked computer system is configured to automatically call a tow service or a booting service for vehicles not authorized to park in the plurality of parking spaces that have a dwell time (paragraph 0050) for the segment of the street (paragraphs 0014 and 0050) that exceeds a grace period (after determining a parking violation, server system 140 may request the vehicle be towed: paragraph 0069).
With respect to claim 7, Nerayoff teaches the system, wherein the remote networked computer system is configured to: determine automatically that a parking violation has occurred (determining when usage of a destination location is in violation: paragraph 0018; and server determines when a vehicle violates parking restrictions including no-parking areas, resident-only parking etc.: paragraph 0050) by the vehicle while the vehicle is located within the segment of the street (paragraphs 0014 and 0050); and issue a parking violation notice to an owner of the vehicle corresponding to the parking violation automatically by the remote networked computer system (citation is issued to the registered owner of the vehicle: paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
With respect to claim 8, Nerayoff teaches the system, wherein the parking violation is a result of the vehicle exceeding a grace period, exceeding a purchased parking time period (paragraph 0069) or exceeding a maximum parking time (the system provides a grace period after a vehicle becomes stationary before determining that a parking violation has occurred, allowing the driver time to pay for parking: paragraphs 0050 and 0056).
With respect to claim 9, Nerayoff teaches the system, wherein the parking violation is determined to have occurred immediately upon automated recognition that the vehicle is a member of a class (describes various classes: paragraph 0050) of vehicles prohibited from parking in the segment of the street (server system 140 performs decision making based on recognized information, including determining when the use of a destination location is in violation: paragraphs 0018 and 0050).
With respect to claim 10, Nerayoff teaches the system, wherein the remote networked computer system is configured to determine whether each vehicle that enters the segment of the street is owned by a resident of a residential area in which the segment of the street is located (the server determines violations for resident-only parking: paragraph 0050).
With respect to claim 15, Nerayoff teaches the method, further comprising: determining automatically that a parking violation has occurred (determining when usage of a destination location is in violation: paragraph 0018; and server determines when a vehicle violates parking restrictions including no-parking areas, resident-only parking etc.: paragraph 0050) by the vehicle; and issuing a parking violation notice to an owner of the vehicle corresponding to the parking violation automatically by the remote networked computer system (citation is issued to the registered owner of the vehicle: paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
With respect to claim 16, Nerayoff teaches the method, wherein the step of determining automatically that a parking violation has occurred by the vehicle (the server performs decision making to determine when use of a destination location is in violation: paragraph 0018) is performed before the vehicle leaves the segment of the street (tracks how long the vehicle occupies the destination location and determines whether a violation has occurred: paragraph 0050).
With respect to claim 17, Nerayoff teaches wherein the parking violation is a result of the vehicle exceeding a grace period, exceeding a purchased parking time period or exceeding a maximum parking time (paragraph 0069 and the system provides a grace period after a vehicle becomes stationary before determining that a parking violation has occurred, allowing the driver time to pay for parking: paragraphs 0050 and 0056).
With respect to claim 19, Nerayoff teaches the method, further comprising automatically generating a parking citation (server system 140 may determine that a vehicle is improperly parked and issue a citation by mail: paragraphs 0014, server determines parking violations: paragraph 0018) for vehicles not authorized to park in the area (server system 140 determines when use of a destination location conflicts with restrictions, including no-parking areas, limited-time parking, resident-only parking, etc.: paragraph 0050) that have a dwell time for the segment of the street that exceeds a grace period (keeps track of how long each vehicle has occupied its respective destination location and monitors specifically street segments: paragraphs 0014 and 0050; grace period: paragraph 0056).
With respect to claim 20, Nerayoff teaches the method, further comprising automatically calling a tow service or a booting service or summoning a police officer for vehicles not authorized to park in the parking area (after determining a parking violation, server system 140 may request the vehicle be towed: paragraph 0069).
With respect to claim 22, Nerayoff teaches the method, wherein the parking violation is determined to have occurred immediately upon automated recognition that the vehicle is a member of a class of vehicles prohibited from parking in a parking area along the segment of the street (describes various classes: paragraph 0050) of vehicles prohibited from parking in the segment of the street (server system 140 performs decision making based on recognized information, including determining when the use of a destination location is in violation: paragraphs 0018 and 0050).
With respect to claim 23, Nerayoff teaches the method, further comprising determining automatically whether each vehicle that enters the segment of the street is owned by a resident of a residential area in which the segment of the street is located (the server determines violations for resident-only parking: paragraph 0050).
In view of Nerayoff’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the parking management system of Alves to incorporate the automated parking enforcement techniques taught by Nerayoff. One would be motivated to include automated parking management as to reduce the need for manual monitoring and citation issuance, thereby making parking enforcement more seamless and efficient.
8. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alves in view of Spasokukutskiy (8,374,910), hereinafter Spasokukutskiy.
Alves’ teachings are discussed above. Alves however fails to specifically teach the remote networked computer system being configured to automatically summon a police officer for vehicles not authorized to park in the plurality of parking spaces that have a dwell time for the segment of the street that exceeds a grace period.
With respect to claim 5, Spasokukutskiy teaches automatically summon a police officer for vehicles not authorized to park in the plurality of parking spaces that have a dwell time for the segment of the street that exceeds a grace period (the parking authority receives the enforcement alert, generates a dispatch order for at least one enforcement officer, and communicates the dispatch order to the enforcement officer; upon detection of a parking violation, the analysis module sends an enforcement alert, and the parking authority dispatches an enforcement officer in response: column 4, line 20 – column 5, line 33 and column 6).
In view of Spasokukutskiy’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the parking management system of Alves to incorporate the automated enforcement dispatch techniques taught by Spasokukutskiy. One would be motivated to include automatically summoning an enforcement officer in order to reduce the need for manual intervention, while also allowing for fewer officers to always be on-site awaiting potential violations.
9. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alves in view of Turner (2011/0213656). Alves’ teachings are discussed above including wherein the processor is configured to: receive payment for a parking time period (re claim 12). Alves however fails to specifically teach the system further comprising a kiosk, which includes weather resistant housing, a processor, a memory, a graphical user interface, a microphone and speaker, and a payment acceptor disposed in the housing, wherein the processor is configured to: receive payment for a parking time period; and transmit notice of payment to the remote networked computer system, wherein the kiosk is provided to the segment of the street and networked with the remote networked computer system, the kiosk including a charging port and electricity supply, the kiosk configured to allow a vehicle parked within one of plurality of parking spaces to be plugged in for recharging.
With respect to claim 12, Turner teaches the system further comprising: a kiosk provided to the segment of the street and networked with the remote networked computer system (figure 19, paragraph 0046; the kiosk is publicly accessible in cities, shopping centers, parking locations etc.: paragraphs 0084-0086), the kiosk comprising: a weather resistant housing including first and second sides (the kiosk is an outdoor/public charging station); a processor disposed inside of the housing (paragraph 0043); a memory disposed inside of the housing and coupled to the processor (paragraph 0043); a network interface disposed in the housing and coupled to the processor (paragraph 0049); a graphical user interface disposed in the housing and facing outward from the first side of the housing (touch screen display: paragraph 0051; a microphone disposed in the housing (paragraph 0051); a speaker disposed in the housing (paragraph 0051); and a payment acceptor disposed in the housing (card reader or RFID reader: paragraph 0055); and transmit notice of payment to the remote networked computer system (paragraph 0065).
With respect to claim 13, Turner teaches the system, further comprising a kiosk (EVCS/EVSE kiosk – figure 19) provided to the segment of the street (the kiosk is publicly accessible, networked smart charging system for drivers parking their cars: paragraph 0084) and networked with the remote networked computer system (the EVCE/EVSE is controlled by a back office server communicating via a wired or wireless network: paragraph 0008, paragraph 0045 also teaches communicating to a server through a network), the kiosk including a charging port and electricity supply (electrical connectors: paragraph 0045, electric current control board: paragraph 0045), the kiosk configured to allow a vehicle parked within one of plurality of parking spaces to be plugged in for recharging (electrical connectors for coupling the kiosk to an electric vehicle: paragraph 0045 and charging begins after the vehicle is connected to the selected charging port: paragraph 0081).
In view of Turner’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the parking management system of Alves to incorporate the networked EV charging kiosk of Turner. One would be motivated to include a networked EV charging kiosk in order increase the functionality of the parking system by accommodating electric vehicles while allowing the charging station to communication with the existing management system.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See attached PTO form 892, Refence Cited.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [allyson.trail@uspto.gov].
/ALLYSON N TRAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
July 30, 2026