DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 56-64 in the reply filed on 09/04/2026 is acknowledged. It is noted that the group I set forth in the restriction requirement included claims 46-64 and applicant grouping appears to be a typo. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claims 46-64 are included in Group I for examination on the merits.
Claim 65 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46-53, 55-57, and 61-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding et al. (US2017/0210634) hereinafter Badding in view of Weber (US3404210) and Solomon et al. (US4139375) hereinafter Solomon.
Regarding claim 46, Badding teaches:
A system (Fig 3-4: sintering zone 22) comprising: one or more conductive elements (Fig 3-4: gas bearings 26, 28; [0039-0040]);
an electrical source configured to cause Joule heating of the one or more conductive elements by applying one or more electric currents thereto, so as to generate a first temperature ([0039-0040]); and
controlling the electrical source to apply the one or more electric currents to the one or more conductive elements, so as to sinter the precursor material via radiative and/or conductive heating at the first temperature ([0039-0040, 0045]).
Badding does not explicitly recite each conductive element constructed to be positioned at a distance of 0-1 centimeters from a precursor material.
However, Badding teaches a range of values for the distance that overlaps with the claimed invention (Fig 3-4: gap G1; [0054]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the distance as taught by Badding that overlaps with the claimed range.
Badding does not explicitly recite a first temperature in a range of 500 °C to 3000 °C, inclusive.
However, Badding teaches a range of values for the first temperature that overlaps with the claimed invention ([0045]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the first temperature as taught by Badding that overlaps with the claimed range.
Badding does not teach a controller configured to control the electrical source to apply the one or more electric currents to the one or more conductive elements.
In the same field of endeavor regarding resistance heaters, Weber teaches a controller configured to control an electrical source to apply one or more electric currents to one or more conductive elements for the motivation of independently and selectively operating multiple heating elements (Fig 1: power supply 10 temperature sensitive elements 8a-c; col 3, ln 37-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the same invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Badding with the controller as taught by Weber in order to independently and selectively operate multiple heating elements.
Badding in view of Weber does not teach the first time period being in a range of 1 second to 1 hour, inclusive.
In the same field of endeavor regarding sintering, Solomon teaches a range of values for the duration of a sintering period that overlaps with the claimed range for the motivation of sintering metal parts (col 1, ln 6-8; col 5, ln 21-26).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller as taught by Badding in view of Weber by choosing the portion of the sintering duration as taught by Solomon that overlaps with the claimed range in order to sinter metal parts.
Regarding claim 47, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Badding further teaches wherein the one or more conductive elements are configured such that, during the sintering, the one or more electric currents do not pass through the precursor material ([0039-0040, 0054]).
Weber further teaches the power source 10 supplies power separately to the heating elements, and therefore current would not flow between the separate circuits, i.e., through the precursor material.
Regarding claim 48, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Badding further teaches during the sintering, the precursor material is spaced from at least one of the one or more conductive elements by no more than 1 cm ([0054]).
Regarding claim 49, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Badding further teaches wherein: the one or more conductive elements comprises a first conductive element (Fig 3-4: gas bearings 26; [0039-0040]) and a second conductive element (Fig 3-4: gas bearings 28; [0039-0040]), the first conductive element constructed to be positioned on a first side of the precursor material, the second conductive element constructed to be positioned on a second side of the precursor material, the second side being opposite to the first side (Fig 3-4), simultaneously applying heat with the conductive elements ([0045]), and sintering the at least a portion of the precursor material via radiative and/or conducting heating at the first temperature for the first time period, and during the sintering, the one or more electric currents do not pass through the precursor material ([0039-0040, 0054]).
Weber further teaches the electrical source is configured to cause Joule heating of the first conductive element by passing a first electric current through the first conductive element and to cause Joule heating of the second conductive element by passing a second electric current, separate from the first electric current, through the second conductive element, so as to generate the first temperature, the controller is configured to control the electrical source to apply the first and second electric currents to the first and second conductive elements, respectively (col 3, ln 37-52)
Weber further teaches the power source 10 supplies power separately to the heating elements, and therefore current would not flow between the separate circuits, i.e., through the precursor material.
Regarding claim 50, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 49.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach wherein a direction of the first electric current passing through the first conductive element is the same as a direction of the second electric current passing through the second conductive element.
However, Badding teaches that heating elements 38 are wires that run in the same direction (Fig 3-4; [0039-0040]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the current can only run in a limited set of configurations, i.e., either same or the opposite direction along the wires.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried to have the current run in the same direction and there would be a reasonable expectation of success since the prior art teaches passing a current through wires running in the same direction.
Regarding claim 51, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 49.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach during the sintering, the precursor material is in direct contact with the first conductive element and spaced from the second conductive element.
However, "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Functional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. See MPEP 2114. Badding teaches the first and second conductive elements can be used to press the object to be sintered into shape ([0052]). An operator may simply insert a film between the precursor material and the second conductive element for the prior art apparatus to be capable of performing the above function. See discussion of Eisele in the alternative rejection of claim 51 below.
Regarding claim 52, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 49.
Badding further teaches wherein the precursor material is disposed between the first and second conductive elements during at least part of the sintering (Fig 3-4; [0052]).
Regarding claim 53, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 49.
Weber further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the electrical source such that, during the sintering, a temperature of the first conductive element is different than that of the second conductive element (col 2, ln 2-7).
Regarding claim 55, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Solomon further teaches a conveyor strip holding the material (Fig 1: belt 12).
Badding further teaches conveying the precursor material between a first conductive element of the one or more conductive elements and a second conductive element of the one or more conductive elements ([0083]).
It would be apparent that the prior art teaches wherein a portion of the conveyor strip is positioned between a first conductive element of the one or more conductive elements and a second conductive element of the one or more conductive elements and controlling the conveyor strip to convey the material between the first conductive element and the second conductive element.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach the controller is configured to control the conveyor strip to convey the material between the first conductive element and the second conductive element.
However, it has been held that automating a manual activity is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(III).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have automated the functions performed by the prior art apparatus by modifying the prior art controller to control said functions.
Regarding claim 56, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 55.
Solomon further teaches wherein movement of the precursor material by the conveyor strip defines the first time period (col 5, ln 27-32).
Regarding claim 57, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 55.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not explicitly recite wherein the controller is further configured to, at an end of the first time period, advance the conveyor strip to remove the sintered material from between the first and second conductive elements while maintaining a respective temperature of the first and second conductive elements.
However, Badding teaches a continuous sintering process ([0047]). Solomon teaches advancing the conveyor at a constant speed, including after the material has gone through a sintering period to remove the sintered material from the sintering zone (col 5, ln 27-32).
Therefore it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art teaches wherein the controller is further configured to, at an end of the first time period, advance the conveyor strip to remove the sintered material from between the first and second conductive elements while maintaining a respective temperature of the first and second conductive elements.
Regarding claim 61, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Badding further makes obvious wherein the first temperature is at least 1000 °C ([0045]; see art rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 62, Badding teaches:
A system (Fig 3-4: sintering zone 22) comprising:
first and second conductive elements constructed to be positioned with respect to a plurality of separate precursor pellets (Fig 3-4: gas bearings 26, 28; [0039-0040, 0075]), at least one of the first and second conductive elements being spaced from each of the precursor pellets (Fig 3-4: gap G1; [0054]);
an electrical source configured to cause Joule heating of the first and second conductive elements by passing electric current through the first conductive element and simultaneously passing electric current through the second conductive element, so as to generate a first temperature ([0039-0040]); and
controlling the electrical source to apply the electric current to the first and second conductive elements, so as to simultaneously sinter the plurality of precursor pellets via radiative and/or conductive heating at the first temperature for a first time period ([0039-0040, 0045]).
Badding does not explicitly recite a first temperature in a range of 500 °C to 3000 °C, inclusive.
However, Badding teaches a range of values for the first temperature that overlaps with the claimed invention ([0045]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the first temperature as taught by Badding that overlaps with the claimed range.
Badding does not teach passing an electric current through the first conductive element and simultaneously passing another electric current through the second conductive element and a controller configured to control the electrical source to apply the electric currents to the first and second conductive elements, so as to simultaneously sinter the plurality of precursor pellets via radiative and/or conductive heating at the first temperature for a first time period.
In the same field of endeavor regarding resistance heaters, Weber teaches a controller configured to control an electrical source to apply separate electric currents to one or more conductive elements for the motivation of independently and selectively operating multiple heating elements (Fig 1: power supply 10 temperature sensitive elements 8a-c; col 3, ln 37-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the same invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Badding with the controller as taught by Weber in order to independently and selectively operate multiple heating elements.
Badding in view of Weber does not teach the first time period being in a range of 1 second to 1 hour, inclusive.
In the same field of endeavor regarding sintering, Solomon teaches a range of values for the duration of a sintering period that overlaps with the claimed range for the motivation of sintering metal parts (col 1, ln 6-8; col 5, ln 21-26).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller as taught by Badding in view of Weber by choosing the portion of the sintering duration as taught by Solomon that overlaps with the claimed range in order to sinter metal parts.
Claim(s) 51 and 54is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding in view of Weber and Solomon as applied to claim 46 and 49 above, and further in view of Eisele et al. (US2017/0229424 of record) hereinafter Eisele.
Regarding claim 51, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 49.
In the alternative, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach during the sintering, the precursor material is in direct contact with the first conductive element and spaced from the second conductive element.
However, Badding teaches the first and second conductive elements can be used to press the object to be sintered into shape ([0052]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding sintering, Eisele teaches during the sintering, a precursor material is in direct contact with a first die unit and spaced from a second dies unit by a separating film for the motivation of separating the second from the component to be sintered ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Badding in view of Weber and Solomon
Regarding claim 54, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach a pressure mechanism, wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure mechanism to at least partially press at least one of the one or more conductive elements against the precursor material during the sintering.
However, Badding teaches the first and second conductive elements can be used to press the object to be sintered into shape ([0052]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding sintering, Eisele teaches a pressure mechanism that at least partially presses at least one of dies against a precursor material during the sintering for the motivation of providing a uniform and oriented movement of the die (Fig 5: piston rod 56; [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Badding in view of Weber and Solomon with the pressure mechanism as taught by Eisele in order to provide a uniform and oriented movement of the die.
Badding in view of Weber, Solomon, and Eisele does not teach wherein the controller is configured to control the pressure mechanism to at least partially press at least one of the one or more conductive elements against the precursor material during the sintering.
However, it has been held that automating a manual activity is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(III).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have automated the functions performed by the prior art apparatus by modifying the prior art controller to control said functions.
Claim(s) 58-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding in view of Weber and Solomon as applied to claim 46 above, and further in view of Spencer et al. (US2004/0247479) hereinafter Spencer.
Regarding claim 58, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach a mechanical arm configured to move the one or more conductive elements while heated over the precursor material, wherein the controller is further configured to control the mechanical arm to move the heated one or more conductive elements to a next portion of the precursor material.
In the same field of endeavor regarding sintering, Spencer teaches a mechanical arm configured to move a heating element while heated over a precursor material and controlling the mechanical arm to move the heated heating element elements to a next portion of the precursor material for the motivation of controlling the temperature profile using relative motion of the heating zone ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Badding in view of Weber and Solomon with the mechanic arm as taught by Spencer in order to control the temperature profile using relative motion of the heating zone.
Badding in view of Weber, Solomon, and Eisele does not teach wherein the controller is further configured to control the mechanical arm to move the heated one or more conductive elements to a next portion of the precursor material.
However, it has been held that automating a manual activity is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(III).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have automated the functions performed by the prior art apparatus by modifying the prior art controller to control said functions.
Regarding claim 59, Badding in view of Weber, Solomon, and Spencer teaches the apparatus of claim 58.
Badding teaches a continuous sintering process ([0047]). Solomon teaches advancing the conveyor at a constant speed which determines the residence time of the sintering (col 5, ln 27-32). Spencer teaches movement of the heating zone can be continuous ([0045]).
Therefore it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill that the prior art teaches wherein movement of the heated one or more conductive elements by the mechanical arm defines the first time period.
Claim(s) 60 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding in view of Weber and Solomon as applied to claim 46 and 62 above, and further in view of Krall et al. (US3609199) hereinafter Krall.
Regarding claim 60, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 46.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach wherein at least one of the one or more conductive elements is a conductive carbon element.
In the same field of endeavor regarding sintering, Krall teaches a conductive carbon element (Fig 1-2: graphite rods 13; col 1, ln 31-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the heating elements as taught by Badding in view of Weber and Solomon with the graphite rods as taught Krall and the results would have been predictable since the prior art teaches graphite rods as suitable heating elements.
Regarding claim 63, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 62.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach wherein at least one of the one or more conductive elements is a conductive carbon element.
In the same field of endeavor regarding sintering, Krall teaches a conductive carbon element (Fig 1-2: graphite rods 13; col 1, ln 31-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the heating elements as taught by Badding in view of Weber and Solomon with the graphite rods as taught Krall and the results would have been predictable since the prior art teaches graphite rods as suitable heating elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 64 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 64, Badding in view of Weber and Solomon teaches the apparatus of claim 62.
Badding in view of Weber and Solomon does not teach wherein the first and second conductive elements are constructed to heat to a respective temperature for sintering the plurality of precursor pellets at the first temperature within 10 seconds of application of the respective electric current thereto by the electrical source.
The remaining prior art of record fails to teach or suggest wherein the first and second conductive elements are constructed to heat to a respective temperature for sintering the plurality of precursor pellets at the first temperature within 10 seconds of application of the respective electric current thereto by the electrical source in combination with the remaining claimed subject matter.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of the claim, the claim is indicated for allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741